If a Proton-Geely partnership happens, here’s what Proton may get to share tech with – Geely’s line-up

Yesterday, it was reported that Zhejiang Geely is expected to bid for a tie-up with Proton, supposedly as early as this week. The national carmaker is currently in the midst of securing a foreign strategic partner (FSP), and reports have placed Geely and France’s Groupe PSA as the potential candidates.

According to people familiar with the matter, the Chinese automaker has pitched to Proton’s owner DRB-Hicom that it will offer the Malaysian carmaker some of its latest vehicle technologies. These include that used to design Geely models such as the GC9 sedan and Boyue SUV, and will also include small car tech it developed with Volvo, the sources revealed.

The latter will likely include the new Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) that will underpin Volvo’s 40-series models like the XC40 coming this year, along with a string of Geely models. The new platform has been designed with electrification already in mind, with Volvo models getting a T5 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid variant designed exclusively for it.

The sources added that by offering Proton some of its own technologies, Geely is looking to break into right-hand-drive (RHD) markets, tapping into these via Proton. Such a move would give the Chinese firm entry into the global RHD market, which it has no presence in currently.

If a Proton-Geely partnership does eventually happen, what would Proton get to share tech with? We take a look at the Chinese automaker’s available vehicle model line-up, which is quite comprehensive, as the gallery below shows.

Aside from the GC9 and the Boyue that have been bandied as possibilities, new models such as the GL and GS as well as the Emgrand EC7 could well be picks. Still, we’ve thrown in all the available models listed on the English version of its website to offer a better overview of the automaker and its design philosophy.

Some of the older cars look a tad dated styling-wise, but the Boyue – which arrived on the scene at the end of last year – leads the new charge for the automaker. The SUV offers a fresh take on things, courtesy of former Volvo designer Peter Horbury, who heads Geely’s design studios, of which there are four. The centres are located in Gothenburg, Shanghai, Barcelona and Los Angeles, and employ around 300 designers.

Based on the photos, the interior looks premium enough, and the specifications being tossed about indicate that the Boyue is pretty loaded too – there’s an eight-inch display screen and Apple CarPlay/Android Auto in the mix, and safety kit includes lane departure warning and adaptive cruise control (ACC).

For the Chinese market, the 4.5 metre-long Boyue gets two engine choices. The first is a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated unit on the base models. Paired with a six-speed manual, the mill offers 140 hp and 178 Nm. The other is a 1.8 litre direct injection turbo, which can be had in two output tunes, depending on transmission chosen.

On the manual, the Euro 5-compliant 4G18TD is good for 160 hp and 250 Nm, while for the six-speed dual-clutch automatic version of the SUV, the numbers go up to 181 hp and 285 Nm. The six-speed DCT is built by Geely’s Australian subsidiary, Drivetrain Systems International (DSI).

In some foreign markets, the Boyue is offered with a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated unit, in place of the blown 1.8. Both the 1.8 litre turbo and 2.4 NA units are also to be found on the GC9 sedan, which made its debut two years ago. The car is known as the Borui domestically and as the Emgrand GT in some export markets.

The luxury sedan – which measures in at 4,596 mm long, 1,861 mm wide and 1,513 mm tall – is also available in a flagship 3.5 litre form, and all engine variants feature a six-speed auto transmission as the partnering drivetrain. Again, it all looks quite plush from the photos, and kit on this one includes LED headlamps, a heads-up display, a 13-speaker Infinity audio system, a 360 degree camera and ACC.

Meanwhile, the GL sedan, GS SUV (which is available in both Elegant and Sport versions) and Emgrand EC7 are equipped with 1.8 litre and 1.5 litre NA units, though the automaker’s new-ish 1.3 litre turbo is also available for all three vehicles.

Power output for the small blown mill varies from 127 hp to 131 hp in these applications, though torque remains constant at 185 Nm. As for transmission choices, there’s a six-speed manual, six-speed DCT and a CVT on offer.

Elsewhere, the rest of the automaker’s Emgrand lineup consists of four models, while the standard Geely range is made up of nine vehicles, all working with normally-aspirated 2.0, 1.8 and 1.5 litre mills.

What do you think of the Geely model line-up? Also, do you think some of these offerings will do well locally and around the region if they are assembled here in right-hand drive form? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section below.

GALLERY: Geely Boyue

GALLERY: Geely GC9 Borui / Emgrand GT

GALLERY: Geely GL

GALLERY: Geely GS Elegant and GS Sport

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand EC7

GALLERY: Geely FC3

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand X7

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand 8

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand 7

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand 7 RV

GALLERY: Geely GC5 RV

GALLERY: Geely GC5 sedan (New)

GALLERY: Geely GC7

GALLERY: Geely SC7

GALLERY: Geely GC5

GALLERY: Geely GX2

GALLERY: Geely GC2

GALLERY: Geely MKCROSS

GALLERY: Geely MK

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• not bad at all, but the reliability is still questionable. hopefully with the partnership both maker can improve a lot in terms of quality and reliability of their product.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
    • kiddd on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:26 pm

yeap..
      the question is, how about quality and reliability.. bocoz our g suck so much blood from marhien people since our tax very insane figure, we need the vehicle with last longer lifetime, maybe 20 or 30 years still on the road..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
      • Madani on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Our Proton very good already, quality like BMW and Volvo, what’s there to improve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
      • Hayenadeblue on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:53 pm

I really hate it when people come here to talk about govt. and politics. Just leave us all to comment on cars/bikes. I can read politics from utusan or malaysiakini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
        • Politician on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:01 am

Proton is always about politics, without politics there will be no protectionism

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • kiddd, you’re biased towards govt. Your comment reflect that your eq is damn low. Proton Saga first edition still on the road till today so what are you talking about???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Get outa ur cave, kiddo. Now everyone can ride BMWs

• Virosh on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:26 am

Proton needs a strategic partner to take their cars to the global market. Thats how they plan to make more money right? So why geely? Why not PSA that has so much more experience and technology. They are much better at getting their cars to the global market compared to geely. Sure geely has Volvo which is a big plus point, but the French have a lot more to offer in my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Md Faisal on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:18 am

Just shut Proton down. Wasting rakyat money. Or sell fully to China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
        • Wasting ISP bandwidth as well. Proton news everyday just to make the brand more famous than it is. Today talk sell, tomorrow no sell later on borrow loan, don’t know what kind of kindergarten management is this

• Raja Celup on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Rebadge is still Proton’s No.1 expertise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Clean Slate on Feb 23, 2017 at 7:10 am

Hopefully the doors will close properly unlike the PWD car.

• What I am most looking forward to is the moment they rebrand Proton to Geely. That would be so fun. Imagine makcik kampung praising you for buying a geli pondana.

• Selva Kumar Subbiah on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Geely started in 1998. It is 13 years younger than Proton. Geely is thus only 18 years old

But Peugeot started long before World War 1 It is more than 50 years ago. The company was founded in 1810. In 1882 it was a car manufacturer

So which do you think has more tech for Proton? 18 year old Geely vs 100 year old Peugeot??

Geely sells 400,000 cars. 90% to China only.

Peugeot sells over 2 million cars per year. Globally.

Unfortunately Geely will get this deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 28
    • Ahmadjr on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Geely have more cash than psa. They also own volvo which probably have more patents. But the best part is, geely let volvo run almost independently by swedish workers and let them be creative and innovative. That’s why volvo keep improving. If we want our proton to build ugly cars, yeah the french excel in that part

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
      • Henry on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:56 pm

Yes. Geely is the right partner. Forget the French.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • Virosh on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:35 am

Who says geely has more cash than PSA? PSA has acquired way more assets and tech than geely as Peugeot and Citroen are much older

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
      • ducatiscrambler on Feb 22, 2017 at 8:00 pm

I had to drop this comment to give you a reality check. How can you be so dense? Volvo has got talent, and they have the capability to design a well built product. “That’s why volvo keep improving”. The reason why we have this post today is because of failure of P1. The reason it is up for grab is because they cannot be creative and innovative like you said. French excel in ugly cars, what Malaysians are good at? We can’t even build a proper car and make it compete in an open market, you think you have the privilege to look down on others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Lpost on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:58 pm

“geely let volvo run almost independently by swedish workers and let them be creative and innovative.” Geely knew that they are stupid & cant be more creative that ppl in volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Kelab kumar kunta samasama tipu on Feb 22, 2017 at 11:12 pm

If geely can pay more, why not.. Cash is king, who bother abt history

• Geely also own London Taxi

• KeepCalmDontHate on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:34 pm

Proton will definitely find those ww1 technology useful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • KimDotCom on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:45 am

Nah, prewar stuff also ok lah, not that it will going to survive like the Beetle

• PSA is probably busy with the Opel/Vauxhall deal.

• tokmoh. on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:16 pm

It’s not unfortunate. Proton should be thankful Geely is willing to invest in you.

Geely > all
      Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • John Geli on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Beggars cannot be choosy.

• Beijingjaya on Feb 22, 2017 at 11:03 pm

I don’t mind losing a national brand than losing money and dignity.Worldwide laughing stock proton.Go China.I can balik tongsan happily

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Sometimes there is no need to look at history. I dont have a peugeot, but from my friends, i know they sucks big time.

• Geely celebrate 30years anniversary in 2016

• thepolygonal on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:25 am

If Peugeot said they will give Proton to rebadge their RCZ to be Satria Super Neo selling at Satria price, then I support Peugeot.

• Neh...Wrong figure on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Geely has sold 765,800 cars in 2016, which is 50% increase in volume. Dec 2016 sell 108,200 cars, Jan 2017 sell 102,600 cars. 99% sold in China.

This year forecast is 1 million by the company as they will come out with a new MPV about Estima size and LYNK&CO 01 SUV.

If put in Volvo 534,000 cars last year, Geely Group (parent of Geely Auto and Volvo Car Corp) is selling 1.3 million.

Not trying to say Geely is better than PSA but the fact is they are catching up in very fast pace.

Best to let PSA comes in if they want aggressive design, technology expertise & global marketing.

• Mr Fakta on Feb 23, 2017 at 7:52 pm

Apple starts making phone years before Motorola

• I rather buy GEELY GC9 than a Hondana.I don’t even mind the name change to GREELON or PREELY.As long it is not proton cost i know the quality is superb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
    • Ernest Tan on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:41 pm

The GEETON or PROLY version of SUV is rather good looking. Quality wise need to be confirmed though.

• i have seen this car in real life when i was in China, definitely far better than Hondana. it should be compared against 5series or E class instead.

• OTW to be global on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:34 pm

If Proton-Geely deal pulls through, the Boyue, GC9, GL, GS and GT models looks promising. Take those platforms, redesigned the exterior, put upcoming T-GDI engine and Jatco transmission, increase build quality and Proton should be on its way to be global. Other Geely models seems so outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Celup on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Beat Perodua here first before day dreaming about jaguh global.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Aikon on Feb 23, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Why this fascination with beating Perodua? IMHO, it is better to sell outside if the cars can be made to be more affordable for foreign markets. Profitability should be the objective then perhaps chase for market share.

• Proton is cheaper in Australia than Malaysia FYI. Why? Malaysians subsidise for Mat Salleh mah

• I am Malaysian working in Middle East.. driven the GT and Boyue SUV… It’s better than the korean cars.

• kintakinte on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Check from web info, Geely has exceeded 100k vol in last month Jan sales figure, with Boyue model under supply badly, selling 20k per month but booking is crazy high.
    If maintain the momentum of Jan Sales figure, believe 2017 might hit >1 million car sales. Check the price of boyue, almost similar price range to HRV, but similar or slightly large size compare to CRV. CRV ? Yes CRV. Boyue spec is crazily plenty, with those features such as 360 camera, ACC, LDW, auto-parking, auto braking, fully leather, apple car play, voice control, countless airbag, 1.8T 181hp, auto this and auto that … put the CRV/HRV/apa-V into shame.
    Their flagship sedan, GC9, even astonishing, selling at Altis price only in China … what a stealth. It’s branding is the only weakness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Since Geely acquired Volvo, their cars have improved tremendously.

Geely > all
      Volvo > all

• Beijingjaya on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:56 pm

Soon will be Geely > Volvo > Lotus = Gevolo or Geevollot

• Hmm.
        French “reliability” or China “quality”?

• otak batu on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Do you have enough cash to ‘save’ Proton if you don’t like the partnership?

• ahmad on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:07 pm

January sales high becoz of Chinese new Year la. dumb

• nates on May 24, 2017 at 6:14 pm

One of the advantage of this China company is they now how to make everything cost less. Now everything are made in china. This Geely is not a small company. They sell more car in a month than Proton sell a year. If they can sell that much car, than I think there shouldn’t be any major problem to their car.

• Kalun on Feb 22, 2017 at 6:43 pm

I would rather choose Geely instead of the French Peugeot. The current Geely CEO is ambitions and have an aggressive leadership. He literally fired the previous Volvo CEO in his hospital bed while recovering from an Heart Attack because he underperformed.
    If Geely were to buy Proton stake, the malaysian cronies will peed their pants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • Henry on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:03 pm

The current range of Proton cars is rojak. Honda, Suzuki and its own Campro. There are so few common parts. The spare parts inventory is enough to kill them. Some bright idea.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:53 pm

How can u say p1 range is rojak when they have oni 8 model?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
      • Henry on Feb 22, 2017 at 8:30 pm

I think you don’t know how to read or comprehend. Go post somewhere else.

• Kamikaze Sepukku on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Its rojak in the sense of almost all models are pathetically poor sales except Saga. Selling in each segment just for the sake of filling the gaps regardless of profitability while stretching itself thin until needing 1.5 billion karipaps and sinking DRB cash piles each year with billions of losses burned.

Let’s see how Geely gonna cure this cancer, either it will become huge turning point in global automotive history or the craziest suicidal corporate disaster ever recorded.

• Beijingjaya on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Honda frame to build Perdana – Suzuki rebadge to build Ertiga – Mitsubishi rebadge to build Inspira – Campro Renault Engine on – Persona,Suprima,Exora and the rest of it.That’s not rojak to you? You just need a cucumber,sengkuang,pineapple,mango and gravy to make rojak.

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:00 am

Should p1 accepts PSA proposal there s a good chance to get some Toyota models like the Citroen C1/peug 107/Toyota aygo and the pro ace vans.

• tokmoh. on Feb 22, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Thanks Anthony for this post. With this, it should effectively shut anyone’s mouth that doubts the might of Geely.

Some in support of PSA, I suggest they put their money where their mouth is and buy a Peugeot. Rubbish reliability, expensive maintenance, lousy typical NAZA after sales service, really pathetic RV, yet still want this to be the next Proton?

Geely > all
    Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • John Geli on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Finally ‘rescued’ by China Geely. Hi hi hi hi.

• PSA most likely give Proton some old platform and keep the latest model for their own brand..

• Ex VGM staff on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:06 am

Such practise (give old platform),is normal if u r buying license to rebadge. Look at Rover 200, 400 and 600 which are all rebadged Honda Ballade, Honda Concerto and Honda Accord Ascot. The only way u want to have latest tech platform is by collaboration in new model development like Mitsubishi Carisma /Volvo V40 or Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT86.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Feb 22, 2017 at 8:07 pm

China engineered designed car with
    Proton assembly, reliability, build quality and aftersales.
    Good luck.

• matt farrel on Feb 22, 2017 at 8:23 pm

If Geely becomes the new owners of Proton..i would be more than happy to buy a proton..cause i feel that proton cars as of now…have a lot of potential to be really good..but they cannot be that because management is so lax in P2 and engineers are often bothered by management, who tells them to save money here and there so management can take fancy vacations and stuff..

So later on..when Geely takes charge, first order of the day..sack all the management and unnecessary staff and bring in new people to run the company..I am pretty sure that Proton will thrive again one day after the right leader steps in

• Geely have 300 designers. Proton basically have 1 and his name is Azlan. The rest in Proton are all draughtsman for Azlan. Only Azlan’s design is approved since he is the head. Other designs > trash bin

• Azlano is reponsible for the ugliness of all protons from the pondana exposed butthole to the super ugly persona

• Reflection on Feb 22, 2017 at 8:34 pm

This is how the British gringe when an unknown Malaysian automaker bought Lotus years back….

• Silthice on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:21 pm

So which model/platform suitable for all new Exora? As Proton wanted to make brand new Exora rather than improvise the current obsolete platform…

• Hassan JB on Feb 22, 2017 at 9:40 pm

With all that is offered on the table , P1 has nothing to offer except for its assembly plant and to a certain extend the Lotus Brand.
    No need spending millions on R&D when the final product still sucks.
    This is a no brainer deal so just sign on the dotted line & show me the MONEY !!!

• Geely Kaur on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:11 pm

But…but..If partners with PSA, proton will get PRINCE engines…WRC tech…and flying carpet ride…

• Aikon on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:02 am

Prince engines huh…hmmm…

• tokmoh. on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:04 am

But every week have to go workshop, wait forever for parts from France and charged cutthroat price.

Do not want.

• Maqsiat Club Attendant on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:19 pm

Hi Tony, how about another write up titles? “If a Proton-PSA partnership happens, here’s what Proton may get to share tech with — PSA’s line-up”

• Hayenadeblue on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:45 pm

I dont mind the partnership. But if they go for it, its okay too. Looks like this Geely is not fond of cvt, which i like. Come on Proton, please leave cvt behind. And get their tranny! Not only to Proton, but if honda and toyota leave cvt, it will be grrrrreaaattt.

• Hail China Xi Xinping on Feb 22, 2017 at 10:47 pm

The most important is cash flow.GLEETON have what it takes to make use the Lotus technology and produce better design with performance and reliable.Look at proton history.They own Lotus for many years but cashless in fact in huge lost and debts.How to invent better cars?

• Not being racist, but don’t want to see history repeating itself with the “Citroen Proton Tiara”…… siap

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:25 am

I wonder why someone would be so quick to criticize the Tiara. We had one.

And FWIW, we got on when it was heavily discounted to 27K, just 3k more than the kosong spec Kancil. And given what it was, it was the most comfortable small car I have ever driven. It had unusually long suspension travel, enabling it to float over speed bumps and road imperfections. Served us well for 15 years.

The Tiara’s failure was due to Proton support of the car, and not the car itself.

• Really? on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:36 pm

Tiara is the most comfortable car you driven? Really?

• Eleusine Indica on Mar 01, 2017 at 10:55 am

I almost felt off from the car because of the crappy passenger doors back when my mother owned a Tiara while I was still a kid. The Tiara end up sold as scraps since there are no buyer. Hell, comfort wise, I enjoyed the harsh bouncy old Ford Ranger Hurricane that my dad owned more than that death trap Tiara

• Your standard of “comfort” must be really low.

• EnergyAnalyst on Feb 23, 2017 at 8:41 am

Some reports suggest Geely is only interested in Lotus. Are we not too ahead of ourselves to believe Geely want to help Proton?

• wow…their car design are light years ahead of proton ^^

• Chancellor on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:07 am

That Geely GC9 Borui / Emgrand GT could be the new Proton Chancellor

• thepolygonal on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:34 am

Wah if this deal really make it through, then Proton starts selling the Boyue and Borui below RM100k, this might just revive the whole brand. Look at the Borui… with some Jag XJ DNA.

• john is otak batu on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:35 am

“Potong” need Geely money & aggressive mentality in today international auto market. Not angmoh/mat salleh style with tongkat policies. Pls close this deal to China man once & for all. End the rakyat’s 30 years nightmare/suffering for good.

• passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:36 am

thank God its not PSA. we will be doomed just like the pugs in the workshop!

• Mikey on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:46 am

Anthony, why did U say Zhejiang Geely is “Expected” to bid for a tie-up with Proton ? Are U suggesting that Geely have NOT put in a proposal Yet !?

Anyway, interesting 2 know what will/can happen “if” Geely do make an offer & what are the ‘Probable’ models available & technologies that will come with it.

The flagship model shown here does look good on photos & if U did not mention it is a Chinese car, i may have mistaken it for a Japs or Korean build car.

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:07 am

Yes. The dateline is by March. And proton to make announcement before or by June

• Mikey on Feb 23, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Thanks 4 the update Kunta. I just hope P1/DRB/Gov are NOT moving the goal post(date) again if they are serious in a Strategic Tie up.

• From now on Proton will praise Geely tech just like how they did it when they worked with Renault, Honda and Suzuki.
    Don’t be surprised if they say Geely is one notch higher than their previous ‘competitor’ BMW.

• StayFocused on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:30 am

Now, lets say the deal when through, what about AP gov policy as proton is no longer National Car maker. Please abolish the 100% tax that make the car so damn high! As nothing more to be protected!

• i read 4G18

• Sparcov on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:48 am

we need Proton to be able to export it out from the country.

Geely have the muscle power compare to PSA. In terms of cost and production Geely can get better production cost.

China car is improving. PSA car will be expensive to maintain. A failure product like Proton Tiara and Proton Savvy should not be repeated. Both is depending on European technology. We have good AMT system, but maintenance cost cannot be lower down also no point.

I personally will support Geely taking over Proton rather PSA. What i need is a good after sales support and maintenance cost.

• bukapintubayartol on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:29 am

Proton is developing a new engine family. What is going to happen with that technology?

• Rakyat on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:33 pm

We need Proton deported from the country

• I dont care much about the cosmetics. Would rather choose on engine peformance, strength and some added value to the car.

• Zabidi on May 25, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Let’s wait and see if the claim that rakyat livelihood will be much better after the sale of proton is true.

• Bernard on May 25, 2017 at 7:30 pm

We had the chance to get class , finesse and refinement but instead we got Geely:)

• Great..now we can expect all the continental cars will drop their prices due to competition but the only issue is will the government allowed a copycat design to be implemented the country? By the I’m driving Haval H2

• Geely GC9 marketed as Proton GC9 with a selling price of RM80k. Oh yeah, that spells the end of not only Japanese but continental cars. The future of Proton is looking bright.