Free petrol for motorcyclists every month, for a year

Free petrol? According to Bernama, the Federal Territories Barisan Nasional Youth wing will be giving free petrol to motorcyclists at every parliamentary constituency in Wilayah Persekutuan every month, from April onwards.

The wing’s chief, Datuk Mohd Razlan Mohammad Rafii said the assistance was to ease the burden of motorcyclists, and that they have targeted 117,000 bikers at 13 constituencies to enjoy the free petrol programme for a year.

“We will give to all regardless of their background and political standing. We understand that quite a number of motorcyclists are underprivileged and the government is concerned over its people,” he said

Mohd Razlan was speaking to reporters at the ‘Free Petrol Top Up for Motorcycle’ programme organised by the FT MyPPP Youth Movement yesterday night, where about 600 riders of motorcycles 150 cc and below received free petrol at a station in Taman Seri Rampai. Details of the free petrol programme would be announced soon, he said.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:47 am

then we know that election is here after raya.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:21 am

After raya haji to be more exact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • Why not to Proton owners? We help bought cars that others don’t want and support national pride. Isn’t it time that the gov repay us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Plastik beg bayar 20 sen taknak komplen plak…bolo punya olang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • Hot dog on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:36 pm

memang takde komplen pasal 20 sen saya punya pocket bayar. Free petrol bukan itu apa nama dato yang bayar! … siapa bolo ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Ah Kow on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:51 am

Wah kenapa tahun lepas tak buat macam tu? Tahun lepas takde underprivileged ke? What about those underprivileged who can’t even afford a motorcycle? Gomen ni sangat prihatin betul. Kenapa yeh? Tahun ni takde supply dari Bangla?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Free petrol? duit siapa yang pakai ni?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 4
  • Gaviny on Feb 23, 2017 at 9:57 am

Meaning confirmed next month petrol is going up again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
  • take u rm10….
    give u 20 cents…

do u still happy ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • SoFarSoFail on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:22 am

Sounds like the election is coming soon~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • FREE…???? someone has to pay for it …one way or another…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • sohhai on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:33 am

If this is how the gomen spends my tax money, I’m seriously thinking of not paying taxes anymore

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
  • Manual Swift Sporter on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:47 am

If I have it my way I wouldn’t give it to the ones who refused to queue properly.

• Ben Yap on Feb 23, 2017 at 10:49 am

why they get free petrols while cars pay premium price?

they are not paying income tax and yet get better benefits. Government should give better privileges to people that feed them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
    • Ah Kow on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Third paragraph “government is concerned over its people”

Only motorcyclist below 150cc are “people” thats why they gip free petrol.

Those above 250cc and driving cars are not “People”, thats why gomen no gip free petrol.

Our gomen are Tanjung Rambutan graduates, don’t blame them

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
  • KenJi on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:01 am

117,000 x 5litre x 2.30 x12 months. Wow. Where do u get the money to implement this program? From saudi? Terkejut mak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • truely_passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:48 am

petrol price should be 1.9, they naik to 2.3, take 0.4, give out 0.2 .

• pelik on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:07 am

Sad..
    How much petrol can you fill in anyway? RM10? I don’t get it. Why would anyone spend so much time waiting in que to get RM10 worth of petrol.I wonder how much their time worth?…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Ah Kow on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:10 pm

The question is, how much can RM10 per month help the underprivileged? If it can really help then what about next year? Why this year gomen help but not last year and the following year?

And how do they confirm that the motorcyclist is an underprivileged?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Lets build race track to remove street racing from the road.
        Lets give away free petrol to people who have bikes so we could fight poverty.
        See the logic there?

• That One Guy on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:19 pm

You realize that these are the kind of people who, rather than going out to get a job, prefer to bum around and wait for handouts.

• BOYRACER on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:17 am

How much are they being given? A full tank?

• Corrupted Malaysian on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:19 am

Whose money used? Tax payers money? For political party benefits? Bloody hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • any name on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:36 am

why give free petrol? give free food la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • ae101 on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:39 am

dafuq is this program? Not all kapchai riders are poor. My neighborhood alone can see few mat kapchai have jepun weekend car. So gomen belasah je the resources.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • truely_passion on Feb 23, 2017 at 11:45 am

“free” we all know it isn’t free. just take everything, and remember to vote wisely. this is just short terms happiness, and suffer for the rest of the years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • wawasan2020 on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:04 pm

this is bloody clever.hike up petrol price.hike up everything then give it out free petrol to motorist?best G decision ever in history not only in malaysia.some say universe.this is definately feeding honey before election.we all know what happen later after election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Deadpool on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:53 pm

election soon. stupid, wasting our tax payers’ money to buy votes. queue for that long just for 2-3 liters fuel is it worth it? the G just playing dirty to win votes by doing small stupid tricks. use ur own money la bus turd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Hot dog on Feb 23, 2017 at 12:58 pm

third world country ….

• kereta_lembu on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Giving FREE petrol is good, giving BR1M is also good…but only to those eligible. So, gov will keep milking from the middle class and high income earners to feed the poor. Wah…macam Robin Hood, rob from the rich and give to the poor. But how long can this plan last? When the prices of good go up, it affects everyone. You take from the rich and give to the poor, it will only offset the price of raised goods. Eventually, the free petrol and BR1M will only be used to cover for the inflation, and nothing can be used as extra. Then the rich will also become ‘poorer’ because they are taxed more and they also have to bear the consequences of price hikes. In the end, it involves everyone, not just the poor. Needless to say, the poor will feel the pinch more, but don’t tell me if you’re rich because of your own hard work that you would feel OK to let the gov keep taking from you when the problem is not yours to begin with. Gov needs to create jobs for the poor, and somehow raise their income…when will they learn that it is better to teach people how to fish, than to give them a fish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Ah Kow on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Last week got race track, this week got free petrol, next week got what?

Spending taxpayers money for their OWN benefit is not a wise choice. It will not help the underprivileged, instead it will spoil them.

If want to benefit the underprivileged, provide them with more opportunity to do business or expand their business, ensure youths receive the education they need….etc etc. These aids will help them a LIFETIME if they do their part. FREE PETROL OR BR1M is not going to help anyone a lifetime. Maybe help gomen in GE only….

• pengayuhbasikal on Feb 23, 2017 at 2:59 pm

grrr…gila…

• Syioknya dapat petrol percuma. Syoik…

• Be s3nsible on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Whilst we pay roadtax & insurance these Mat Rempits get away scot free & those always ragut-ing or shooting cases are from these category of ppl they should look at other ways to help the real poor ppl right

• kaizen on Feb 23, 2017 at 5:11 pm

why the best ideas are always come from this certain group of politician? no wonder their party/people are so advance.

• Sutharsana on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:23 am

I dont care what izit…dont forget all malaysian are paying equal amount of tax, making equivalent amount contribution to the country……if they are so generous why only people from federal territory gets free petrol…how bout the others…??? Im sure this suggestion would have came from some moron

• Yeletu on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:23 am

Well who don’t want ‘free’ stuff, is a Malaysian spirit
    But please be transparent bout where the funding comes from etc
    #takbaikijalanfreeminyak “budget tak cukup”

• then after 1 year they said….oh, it costs the gomen how many billions…now need to increase back petrol prices kaw kaw ^^V

just wait for it…it will happen

• VENKAT N on Feb 26, 2017 at 11:55 am

So Chinese wont take MC yaa, haha most of the company the MC 100% utilised by Chinese. Of course nit all Chinese.

• Logic on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Ya people can take this opportunity to earn money by selling the petrol. In the end, burdens go back to all the citizens. Malaysia Boleh Rakyat “didahulukan”

• AaronLee on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:25 am

Free Petrol? Im pretty sure we fking paid for this shyt. Now we’re just getting back half of it. Well played!