Toyota Vellfire is Malaysia’s most frequently stolen car

At the annual media briefing by the General Insurance Association of Malaysia (PIAM) yesterday, the umbrella body revealed that the insurance industry saw the lowest growth rates in recent years in 2016, while claims remained high at RM5.02 billion. The latter is attributed to Malaysia’s high accident rate as well as rising medical costs.

It wasn’t a great year for Malaysia’s insurers, which fortunes are linked to the automotive industry. With 46.2% of the pie, motor insurance is the biggest contributor to the business, way ahead of fire insurance, the second largest class at 18.5%. Auto sales saw a decline for the first time in 2016 after six consecutive years of growth, falling below the 600k mark for the first time since 2009.

There was a bright spot however, and it’s the decline in vehicle theft. In his presentation, PIAM CEO Mark Lim pointed out that the police and customs have done a good job in crippling car theft gangs and syndicates, working together with the Vehicle Theft Reduction Council (VTREC), a multi-stakeholder organisation set up by PIAM. The number of reported stolen vehicles was down 20% to 19,307 units last year.

Breaking down the headline 20% figure (19,307 thefts vs 24,154 in 2015), saw reduction in vehicle theft across all classes – private car (-16%), motorcycle (-24%) and commercial vehicles (-9%). The statistics do not take into account recovery of stolen vehicles.

What’s interesting is the “most wanted” list. The models you expect to see are high up in the charts, but there are some surprises as well. The chart just above this shows absolute theft figures, which is expectedly dominated by national car models, as the majority of cars on the road are Protons and Peroduas. The Proton Wira is once again the most stolen vehicle in Malaysia, retaining its “crown” from 2015.

The Toyota Hilux is second, just like in 2015. But unlike the Wira and most other top 10 entries, there was an increase in the number of stolen Hilux trucks in 2016, proving that demand for the Toyota pick-up among thieves is stronger than ever. The Toyota Vios enters the chart in 10th place, replacing the Honda Civic.

What’s more pertinent is the chart for the most frequently stolen vehicles. This list counts the number of thefts over the total number of that particular car model on the roads, for theft frequency. Here, the highest ratio belongs to the Toyota Vellfire, which saw 114 thefts relative to nearly 55,000 units on the road.

Besides the luxury MPV, 4×4 vehicles are also in demand. The Hilux is of course on this dubious podium, along with the Mitsubishi Pajero, while the SsangYong Rexton is in eighth place. Rexton aside, these hardy vehicles are also in high demand in neighbouring countries. The desirable Proton Putra’s presence here is understandable, but we’re scratching our heads on the Peugeot 508’s number four spot.

If you don’t know, now you know. Toyota Hilux and Vellfire owners, be careful.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW TOYOTA on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:11 pm

curi also want curi barang bagus.dont curi those always make trouble…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • john doe on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Hilux is the top stolen pick up in sabah & sarawak..
    it will end up either dissemble become spare parts at ah beng workshop or crossover to kalimantan (sold to people working in palm oil plantation)

• Hmm.. so I should buy Korean cars since they are not represented in the charts at all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • kiddd on Feb 24, 2017 at 12:44 pm

First sign Proton already sign mou with geely..
    ‘PTOTON SATRIA’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • So sad, even thief are no longer interested in Proton :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Peugeot 508 break down so often and low RV forced some owners to arrange for their car to be stolen. Left keys inside with a crate of beer for the car thieve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
  • sohai on Feb 24, 2017 at 1:02 pm

who say the korean junks nobody steal? couple of entries in the top 10 list.
    when they can’t find parts for the junks, this is what happens.

• Ben Yap on Feb 24, 2017 at 1:16 pm

why thieves still wanna steal vannette?

it’s not like it’s a high demand van.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • your comment clearly shows your ignorance.

the nissan vannette is popular because its cheap and easy to fix and multi purpose.

its also easy to steal as its tech from last decade.

google my friend.

• Sub_zero on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:10 pm

It’s a well made robust commercial vehicle, so popular along with it’s rival toyota hi ace but no longer in production looooooooong ago

Things is there’s still a lot in working condition and parts are getting rare, so you know, it’s vicious cycle

• I would suggest if possible the paultan team could write an article on ways to improve your car security system and what systems are there on the Malaysian market that are reliable and affordable. Also thoughts on kill switches and GPS trackers etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Regretfulpeugeotowner on Feb 24, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Peugeot owners probably hired someone to get rid of their own cars, then went on to claim insurance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Ollie on Feb 24, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Same as vellfire, mostly bought by shady characters, arrange for robbery when bank starts calling to pay up

• intermilan on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:43 pm

This fellow must be VW owner too.. Hahahaha

• Funny part is, how come Honda City not in the list?

• PROMEZ56 on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Velfire because there so many of them in the roads la

• LaunaBetta on Feb 24, 2017 at 3:53 pm

insurance company should impose extra loading to those high risk vehicles rather than increase the insurance for all vehicles.
    this is not fare for vehicle over with lower risk being stolen but have to pay high insurance premium.
    Insurance company mau untung sahaja.
    when paid premium coverage …as per market value, when claims … less than 80% of market value, if accident, the replacement parts if not OEM grade.

• A.K KANU on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Yeah, especially in Kuala Lumpur downstream urban area. But becareful, lock your car or your motorcycle. The most safest city in Malaysia is Putrajaya city, the perfect place to live in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Maqsiat Club Attendee on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Many thieves like to steal Vellfire ah Futt but no thieves like my HiAce aka Master People Mover… LOL

• Rev counter on Feb 27, 2017 at 9:39 am

Looks like vans such as vanette & hellfire are very popular wt thiefs here in boleh land

• Garfield on Feb 24, 2017 at 5:59 pm

Hilux owners should replace their alarms as soon they take delivery anyway (and I believe, most Toyota vehicle owners). This week a bastard Hilux parked and blocked my car, without leaving any contact no. I can’t blast my horn because it’s spoiled (and it’s rude anyway to other people in the office area). I shook the Hilux like hell in the thought that the alarm would be activated, but to no avail. No wonder it’s easily stolen

• Prabanathan Loo on Feb 24, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Replace their ‘crap’ stock standard alarm in their toyotaik. this will give a reason for sucker UMW to void the warranty.

• You Am Double-U on Feb 25, 2017 at 12:09 pm

there’s a cinis saying ‘if old 1 not gone, how new 1 will comes?’ This is our secret strategy to stay top on best selling brand LOL

• Maqsiat Club Attendant on Feb 25, 2017 at 11:58 am

Hilux owners should file a class action suit with Uxx

• If they want to steal, whatever means of protection you put in the car will be useless.

• Ah Kai on Feb 24, 2017 at 9:40 pm

Nissan Vanette & Toyota Hiace? Wahh…so hot meh?

• Hafiz on Feb 24, 2017 at 11:27 pm

This report does not say anything to why this happen.. I’m sure there must be some easy hack technique to open the car door and run… It’s Toyota locking system.. Kan? Rather than report.. Research what this happen and what owner can do… Ape la..

• Maynard James Keenan on Mar 04, 2017 at 4:25 pm

I’m sure that if they report it, even you might consider trying to steal it

• alldisc on Feb 25, 2017 at 1:29 am

Danny, I believe u understood it wrongly. The vellfire is not the most frequently stolen car. At 114 stolen, the figure translates to 1 vellfire every 3-4 days. More than 600 hilux were stolen last year, averaging 2 hilux lost in each day. Hilux has a more frequent cases. Why the vellfire was listed high is because the calculation is against number of policies.

• Maqsiat Club Attendant on Feb 25, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Mr Bean’s car proven thief proof

• Velfire are mostly “orang kaya” cars….Maybe there are bags of cash inside too….

• The numbers are from the insurance angled, aka theft claim. So it is not a pdrm number.
    It could mean that:
    1. Theft with only 3rd party insurance is not here, since there is no claim.
    2. Theft count is again based on claims… So some cars be stolen more than once.
    3. Total is actually policy count. Which may have duplicates as well.

• Submarine on Feb 26, 2017 at 11:12 am

“If you don’t know, now you know. Toyota Hilux and Vellfire owners, be careful.” Sounds like Vellfire n Hilux owners share the same taste as thieves :)) Just sayin’

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Feb 26, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Consider a used Starex.

Not only will you be guaranteed theft free, you will also get a great deal buying a 12 month old unit.

Family will be safe. No thug in their right mind will steal a kimchi

• Illegal racers on Feb 27, 2017 at 10:49 am

They stole proton cars , because they want a fast car in cheap method. Stole the car > install plug&play 4G93T@4G63T engine > go drag race > they win > got money