Scomadi scooters opens Thailand production plant

Maker of the Lambretta-styled scooter, Scomadi Worldwide, has opened a production plant in Thailand, in association with its joint-venture partner, Scomadi Thailand. Named Marin Engineering, the plant is located in Samut Prakan, Thailand, and the company is 80% owned by Pimol Srivikorn and his sister Taya Teepsuwan, with the remaining 20% share held by Scomadi Worldwide.

The opening of a scooter production plant in Thailand transpired after it was found that Scomadi Worldwide’s manufacturing partner, Hanway Motor in Changzhou, China, was producing almost identical scooters to the Scomadi models, and marketing them under the name “Royalloy”. The knock-off scooters were exported to 20 countries, including Thailand, where Scomadi has a strong presence, The Bangkok Post reports.

According to Scomadi Worldwide director Frank Sanderson, a lawsuit is being filed in Thailand against Hanway, and its manufacturing contract has been terminated. The sale of unauthorised Scomadi replicas is blamed for the poor sales of its scooters, with only 8,900 units sold worldwide in 2016.

A separate company, called Scomadi Asia Pacific, has been established, and will be responsible for the distribution of Scomadi scooters in the region. This includes plans to expand into the Philippines, Indonesia, Vietnam and Japan.

In Malaysia, Scomadi is distributed by Motor Legend Enterprise, and there are two models in the range – the Turismo Leggera TL125 standard (RM9,095) and SE (RM9,625). The Scomadi Turismo Leggera TL125 has 9.39 hp at 6,500 rpm and 8.90 Nm of torque t 7,200 rpm available, pushing 100 kg of weight.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:39 pm

OMG, every car and motor maker is opening in Thailand! What is wrong with Malaysia? Why they don’t want to invest in Malaysia anymore?

• Becoz MY pipu hi keras says build in MY no quality one, prefer to buy “imported” even if comes from tomyam, indomee, or balutland.
      MY pipu ke arah 1st world demand.

• Anonymous on Feb 28, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Opening production / manufacturing plant coz of cheap labour.

• Kelab Kunta on Feb 28, 2017 at 12:41 pm

Paul Tan, are you sure the pictures are okey? Gomen want us to do like how TV Direct do, must blur the chest part.

Now even on TV, even sports program, the chest part is made blur.

• Upskirt…

• Papa G on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:31 pm

So now we know where Demak’s Vespa comes from… Or is it?

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:53 pm

RM9k for a scooter is cheap. Hope bodoh Malaysians don’t complain it is so expensive.

If you find it expensive, pls work harder

• basherlogic on Feb 28, 2017 at 1:56 pm

I will give anything to kawin the first girl on the scooter pix

• Mikey on Feb 28, 2017 at 8:29 pm

U have 2 wait in line bro. CPMohan & HugoC are also eyeing. If I’m still bachelor, I will do the same. Good luck 2 U guys. Cheers …

• real basherlogic on Mar 01, 2017 at 11:57 am

Impersonating basherlogic, ptuih
        Use your brain to use other name lor

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:02 pm

The girls are sitting on the scooters, oh didn’t see, mama mia! good looking girls I mean scooters.

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 28, 2017 at 2:02 pm

The girls are sitting on the scooters, oh didn’t see, mama mia! good looking girls I mean scooters.

• HugoC on Feb 28, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Paultan pls provide HDR pic for those girl… i mean those scooters la haha

• superdriver on Mar 01, 2017 at 9:15 am

The first one look very huggable. Would love to ride the bike with her :). Don’t mind if she drives as long can peluk her beautiful waist. The bike honestly is boring and doesn’t have the retro look. Looks like something our dad use to own but will not sell. The retro finishing needs to be more 50- 60s funky look. Once the paint is scratched or scrapped it will look dated as in scrap look than a vintage look.

• passion on Mar 01, 2017 at 12:11 pm

the girls look better than them machines!