Peugeot 3008 named European Car of The Year 2017

The second-generation Peugeot 3008 SUV, unveiled in May last year, has just won the European Car of The Year, beating a field of entrants comprising the likes of the Alfa Romeo Giulia (second place, 296 points) and the Mercedes-Benz E-Class (third, 196 points). The Volvo S90/V90 (172 points), Citroën C3 (166 points), Toyota C-HR (165 points) and the Nissan Micra (135 points) completed the list of ECOTY nominees.

A total of 31 vehicles were nominated for the 2017 European Car of The Year award, with seven finalists selected before a panel of 58 jurors cast their deciding votes. The Peugeot 3008 SUV takes on the mantle from the Vauxhall/Opel Astra, winner of the 2016 ECOTY award. Recent ECOTY winners also include the VW Passat (2015), Peugeot 308 (2014) and VW Golf (2013).

Where Malaysian interest for the second-generation Peugeot 3008 is concerned, the SUV is slated for arrival on our shores in the second quarter of this year – very soon, then. As before, petrol is the way to go with the French marque’s SUV, with a 1.6 litre THP and six-speed automatic transmission pairing expected.

Pricing for the 3008 is yet to be confirmed, however it can be expected to move upwards from the RM158,888 commanded by the facelifted, previous 3008 SUV. Even if it does turn out to be more expensive than before, the 3008 SUV will bring sharper looks inside and out compared to its predecessor, with the latter being notably more premium in appearance than before.

The driver gets a high-resolution, 12.3-inch screen as the instrument cluster, while an eight-inch touchscreen on the centre console takes care of infotainment duties. Meanwhile, although Malaysian specification is still yet to be known, available equipment for the 3008 includes a panoramic sunroof and a hands-free tailgate, with a 10-speaker Focal Premium sound system and a Driver Sport Pack optionally available.

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Rubbish car and brand.
    Year 2012. Brand new RM 168k. After 4 years selling at RM 42k.
    Car value drop at 75%. The owner must be crying selling the car.
    May be the used car dealer take it at RM 25k or lower than selling it at RM 42k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
    • azhar on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Proton 3008 coming soon !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Mar 07, 2017 at 3:03 pm

where can i get that? quite a bargain..

• holofanboi on Mar 07, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Perghh Azam tulen siot…LOOK UP.

2012 Peugeot 3008 1.6 Turbo RM44,800 Only!!!

• Donald Dedak on Mar 07, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Peugeot in King of Depreciation in Malaysia. Only buy a Peugeot if you are SUPER rich cause in 2 years, your car becomes 70% less.

In terms of prices, Peugeot car parts are so expensive, all the owners now are crying like newborn baby.

Those suckers who bought the Naza Peugeot 206 many years ago all nearly committed suicide after seeing their maintenance cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
          • Enough With This Brand on Mar 07, 2017 at 9:39 pm

This is so true. Within 3 years a 110k car can drop to 25k….but who cares about RV right? If you were one of the extremely lucky ones that had no major issues with your car, then yes, RV is nothing but do you think you are so lucky….and when you finally decide it call it quits….your so called “conti-car” is worth less than a 5 year old Myvi.
            The parts are so bleeding expensive and fragile…always damaged for no apparent reason. Exterior plastic trims need to be changed annually. Parts availability is another joke, sometimes need to wait for months.
            The cars have a high defect ratio but the service center staff are even more defective than the cars. Some service centers can outright refuse to submit warranty claims and tell you to go to another branch to submit your warranty claims because they don’t want to “fork out for the parts first”.
            It will be a humbling experience and a true test of your patience when owning a Peugeot. Good luck and god bless the owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • Kunta Kinte on Mar 07, 2017 at 6:18 pm

In Europe, Peugeot is known s a poor man’s car. It is so low class, even the French themselves look down upon it.

But in Malaysia, Peugeot becomes a high class car with fat pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
          • Jepunis used cars sold cheap in Europe

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 09, 2017 at 3:13 am

I’m in Europe. I’m European. Stop talking bullshit.

• manxx on Mar 07, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Rubbish mindset! Only look at the car resale value!
      Are you implying that you can judge a car better than COTY judger? lol dont joke please
      I like your sense of humour

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Mr manxx. Simple math and simple calculation. U buy 2 cars. Car A with average rv and the car B with very bad rv. Price the same at 168k and loan for 7 years.

After 5 years, u sell car A at 75k while car B u can sell it the highest at 42k. Outstanding balance with the bank let say around 35k.

So, with car A u get xtra money 40k while car B u will only get 10k. Can u see, with car B, u dont even get ur downpayment that u have paid before.

So at the end of the day, who is the smart buyer? Which car that will give u profit? Definitely car A. I dont know if u still didnt get the point. After all, it’s all up to us. U want to be a loser or the other way round.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
        • Go for the car that you like best in terms of the looks and drivability and of course within your Budget. People that keep talking about resale value then better go buy a proton or Perodua. No matter how much the car depreciate or cost after a number of years you also won’t lose that much because the selling price is cheap.

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 09, 2017 at 3:17 am

I don’t buy a car to sell it. It’s not property or shares. If the best day of car ownership is the day you get rid of the junk you bought, maybe that is a bad thing.

I’d rather enjoy the time with my car, and lose a bit money in the end, than to suffer all the time driving something miserable, that I have spent more on to begin with, only to get a bit more back at the end. I never wanted to sell the French cars I owned/still own. Doesn’t matter how much I get paid for them. I want to keep these cars. I’d never feel that way about an ordinary Japanese car.

• If u still insist to buy the car. Just buy. If u buy, the manufacturer and the salesman will be the first to get the benefit. But as human, how long u can hold the car, most of us roughly around 4-6 years. So, at this point, we must see at our self.
      By the time u want to sell tbe car, the manufacturer will not help you. It’s totally ur self. This is why we must buy a car with at least average rv. Not bad rv. Other wise, we will be the one that suffer. Not the manufacturer. We must be a smart buyer. After all, not all of us is rich to suffer huge losses when the times come to sell the car. Tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
      • tipu kuntak on Mar 07, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Property is investment, not car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • ganni on Mar 07, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Dude, your point are acceptable..but u cant say all the car which has the bad RV in Malaysia are rubbish.. that is nonsense..the conclusion is, if u can afford this sort of car and brand, just go for it..the driving pleasure is different..and if you do really care about money, car is not a good investment. just go for the property instead..

sometimes i dont understand why some of you are really concern abt the RV..what you have to do are think before you buy..if you can afford the conti cars (which are most of it have the bad RV), just go for it..otherwise, you have a choice for the Japanese car…simple as that..and for a safe side as well maybe it will not harm your wallet a lot..who knows then..

most of the people who were opted for the contis are because of the driving enjoyment and pleasure deliver by the contis…so the choice is in your hand..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Mokmok on Mar 07, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Mr Azam..Different people with different point of view, some said wanted good RV, some wants driving pleasure, its not that who buys Peugeot stupid or not smart enough to think about its RV, but they want the car itself..Its subjective man..

• kadajawi (Member) on Mar 09, 2017 at 3:20 am

Why? Why would I want to sell my car? I’m happy with the car I drive. There is no need to upgrade, I don’t see a point in upgrading. Of course if I had bought a crappy car that has good RV, I would indeed want to get rid of it. But instead I bought what I liked, and I’ll just keep driving it until it won’t drive anymore. And then I’ll try to fix it. Until it makes absolutely no sense to do so. And might still try to fix it. Did that with my last car. I still own it, got it running again, despite having bought a new car.

• thepolygonal on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:31 pm

One of the better looking cabins :D Come on guys, it has been some time since a cabin looks this good. Rear center seats no transmission tunnel blocking the way. Well maybe become next Proton tiga00lapan or something like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Das Auto on Mar 07, 2017 at 4:30 pm

VW Tiguan > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Samson on Mar 07, 2017 at 4:35 pm

NAZA, keupayaan tiada bandingan dalam aktiviti pengilangan, pemasangan dan kekuatan sistem pengedaran automotif di dalam mahupun luar negara.

• kereta_lembu on Mar 07, 2017 at 1:33 pm

Can anyone care to explain how a car’s resale value can be determined? Over here, we know the champions of resale value are Japanese cars but also limited to Honda & Toyota. From what I know, Nissans and Mazdas also suffer from bad depreciation value. Sometimes I wonder if people are really that daft? Conti cars, though more expensive to maintain but it brings more value in terms of safety and comfort etc. If you talk about reliability, for sure it should affect certain models and not the entire brand itself. So, I guess resale value = popularity. It must be real easy to be a Honda or Toyota salesman. No need to explain so much about what the car can do, just say that it has good resale value :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Yup. Resale value = popularity. I don’t think Toyota can keep on brag about their RV in the future if they still insist to sell carp car today.

• Why Conti cars have such bad RV? Used to own one and seeing people around me, it’s the reliability, maintenance cost and spare parts. They have a higher chance of breaking down(our weather and traffic probably), servicing them requires trained mechanics for Contis, and the parts i dare not mention. You may pay rm50k for an old 3 series but maintaining it could cost another 20k.

• justsomepissedoffdude on Mar 07, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Beautiful car, here’s to hoping it comes to malaysia

• intermilan on Mar 07, 2017 at 3:58 pm

At reasonable price of course.

Sadly, malaysians mentality, perception and concept on cars’ residual values will not change. This point and the fact that not many will fork out rm150k (est) for a peugeot or could afford too, in the first place, shall relegate the new 3008 as a low volume seller in Bolehland.

Anyhow, congratulations to Peugeot for winning the ECOTY again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • guest on Mar 07, 2017 at 3:50 pm

No 4WD option?

• P1 Cleaner Than Your P2 on Mar 07, 2017 at 4:41 pm

No Sir, only FWD, although the car has Grip Control as an option in Europe, I don’t think our country will get that feature :(

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 07, 2017 at 4:58 pm

P equals proud, pride, performance. Proud because the car has motion and emotion. Pride because its not too common on the road. Performance, as the word suggests it has turbo high pressure engine which is miles better in output than a Preve turbo, the Preve turbo has a very poor engine torque even though it is forced induction.

• Peugeot fan on Mar 07, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Bring in the China version with longer wheel base & bigger engine, then I will buy one.
    I’m the owner of 408. Peugeot will make you smile when you driving it. Car depreciation & maintenance to me is secondary. Of course you must make sure you can afford it before you own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 09, 2017 at 9:19 am

not surprised…its judges are french