Honda Malaysia celebrates 250,000-unit City milestone

There are now 250,000 units of the Honda City on Malaysian roads. The milestone unit – a top-spec City V facelift in Modern Steel Metallic – was delivered to new owner Tan Kian Hui at Honda dealer Tiong Nam Motor. The lucky owner bagged service vouchers worth RM1,000, three accessories packages (Modulo, Urban and Utility) worth RM5,300 and Honda merchandise.

The 250k total is a conservative one, as it excludes those sold here before Honda Malaysia (HM) was established in 2001 (remember the Type Z?). HM sold 61,000 units of the big booted second-gen City, and 84,000 units of the third-gen sedan.

The fourth and current generation City found 100,000 homes from March 2014 to December 2016, and in that period, accounted for 38% of HM’s total sales. The City has been leading the segment since 2015, and at the end of 2016, it had 39% market share.

Without a doubt, the current City has been instrumental in pushing Honda to where it is today in Malaysia. The brand has been the top non-national marque for two consecutive years now (2015 and 2016); and by finishing 2016 second in the overall sales chart, it is the first foreign brand to be No.2 in recent history, coinciding with Proton’s decline.

“We express our sincere heartfelt thank you and appreciation to all 250,000 City customers. Customer support and feedback have pushed us to set the benchmark for B-segment cars in each generation. Their support and belief in the Honda brand have enabled our models to achieve segment leadership positions including the City which is the B-segment leader,” said HM’s MD and CEO Katsuto Hayashi.

Improving a model that was already leading the segment should mean that the City will continue to stay ahead of its rivals. The City facelift, launched early this month, is certainly off to a flying start. The order book had 2,000 names 10 days after it was launched; now, it’s 2,500 bookings.

The refreshed car gets a Civic FC-style face and more features for the same money. Prices range from RM78,300 to RM92,000. View our spec-by-spec comparison with full galleries to learn more.

As sweetener, HM is currently running the “Best Time to Get Best Protection” promotion offering Ecotint RayBarrier Splendour window film at 61% or RM1,350 off. The “Digital Treasure Hunt Wall Contest” runs from now till March 22. Happening at all Honda dealerships, it’s open to all Malaysians who walk-in.

GALLERY: Honda City V

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Doc Sin on Mar 17, 2017 at 5:56 pm

My father is still driving the “big booted” City after almost 240,000km. He loves his car.

I can’t wait to earn enough so that I trade in his “aunty” car for something a little cooler. =)

Till then, he’s happy that his car has served him well.
    As a petrolhead, I absolutely detest the old CVT transmission with the fake 7 speed paddle-shifters.

But having said that, for a 13 year old car, the seats and interior still looks pretty top notch. Exterior looks like “synonym for donkey”.. But that’s his fault la, he only washes his City when he has to see clients. Lol.

My father is awesome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • joholan on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Vios orso 250,000 milestone 5 years ago!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 26
      • alldisc on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:31 pm

now i think 400k.. but vios has slowed down a lot in the past 2 years.. city may catch up fast

• Operation Manager on Mar 17, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Pity msian, where is the 30% car price reduction promised BN…? Since City at the 4th generation in 2002, the price remain RM90k across from 4th-gen(2002-2008), 5th-gen(2008-2013), 6th-gen (2013-2017/current). After CKD Tax Duty reduction, & +EEV incentives, the actual Honda City price now should be below 60k. (India sell Jazz / WRV below 60k) But Honda City is very smart & greedy because of 80% sily buyer, marketing strategy to top up accessories VSC (500), LCD player (~1.5k), cruise control (500), etc… total top up below 5k cheap accessories but selling 30k extra with net profit extra by 25k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:26 pm

Cannot la bro. If Big H reduce their price, P1 & P2 how la ??! Oh I finally get it. Your tactic/logic is 2 make P1/P2 2 reduce their prices after H reduce their price so that the Rakyat can enjoy cheaper price. What a Brilliant idea. Cheers … bro.

• Albert on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:03 pm

Today,if u r on the road,looking for new cars…u probable will bang into a new Honda if u r careless.
      I went to the setapak honda showroom.Omg….the guard told me to park elsewhere.There isn’t any parking cos people r all over the service centre/showroom.
      Everyone is excited about the BRV and new city.
      JUst 500m away,u can have your Toyota serviced without making reservations.
      Toyota salesmen …busy with their handphones.Hardly fresh walk in customers.
      See the contrast.
      Anyway,Honda….congrats….this is your BLOCKBUSTER year of the BRV and City,and coming soon CRV.
      Honda…the power of dreams
      Toyota(UMW) …the power of daydreaming

• alldisc on Mar 17, 2017 at 9:19 pm

honda does have the cheaper spec city, selling at 78K. anything lower than that, will makan Proton sales – another DRB subsidiary

• Bash Basher on Mar 18, 2017 at 10:00 am

I don’t think Honda should be the one concern about the rakyats burden. It is clearly NOT THEIR RESPONSIBILITY. They are here for business. They are only responsible to provide us a SAFE and RELIABLE car to the rakyat.

IT IS STRICTLY THE GOVT BIG RESPONSIBILITY TO CARE FOR US. After all, we paid billions of tax to them every year. They are the ones who should lessen our burden.

We suffer paying tax in hope we are able to live a better life under the GOVT’s care. But not in Malaysia. I do not feel like the tax I paid is WORTH IT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • The thing what u feel may be right, but then ask anyone IN THE WORLD if they feel that their taxes is being used properly, and I GERENTI u all will say a BIG NO. Not in Jepunis overlordland, not in South overlordland, not in EU saurkrautland, not in Trumpland.

So this feeling of urs is mutual anywhere in the world. Its normal, but thats how the world is today.

• Kelab talkok kunta on Mar 19, 2017 at 12:34 am

The new model honda city will shoot up overall honda sales

• Aero (Member) on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Congrats HMSB on reaching the 250k City milestone !

MAA won’t say it, but I’m guessing the City is the no.3 or no.4 best selling sedan car here, after the Saga, Bezza and maybe Persona.

And although the City nameplate has stayed in the same segment (B-sedan) since the 1990s, newer models have grown massively in size since then. Now the City has excellent family accommodation (rear AC vents, very good rear legroom, huge boot) and above average safety. You don’t need to spend extra to buy a decent sized C-sedan or D-sedan anymore, nowadays B-sedans are very spacious and not ‘basic’ anymore.

The other good news is that City prices have stayed roughly the same (after adjusting for inflation) for the last 15 + years. In 1999, the third gen City Type Z (CKD) was around RM80k, and now the sixth gen City V (CKD) is around RM92k.

Anyway, good luck HMSB and hope you guys can keep up the good work on the airbag recall. But please don’t slack off on QC and aftersales, from what I’ve gathered, there are many customers who got problematic Hondas (join the FB groups). And please bring in the FC Civic hatchback, don’t assume Malaysians won’t buy it… lately, every single new Honda has broken sales records even though the economic sentiment is weak. It’s now or never. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • I wud say it and its rival, vios, became cheaper throughout the years. When they 1st came out, all spec were >Rm80k. Now, low spec is below that and mid-spec is just a tiny bit more than 80k.

• John Geli on Mar 19, 2017 at 11:06 am

You no longer praise Proton?

• ben yap on Mar 17, 2017 at 7:42 pm

most of the malaysians live in the city. of course they will buy honda city.

try renaming it as honda village. no one will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
  • Actually the first modern Honda City with fuel injection started selling in 1997 not the 1.5L Type Z that came out in year 1999 . The 1.3L SX8 was sold by Kah Motor as a CBU Thai unit. Those CBU Thai units have better assembly quality than Melaka assembled ones.

• Annoynimouse on Mar 17, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Well, like the Vios, it is a pretty decent car for the masses that does everything right.

• Honda Winner on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:10 am

Congrats Honda on reaching the 250k City milestone! Malaysia starts aware correct choice to choose, instead of branding promotion with less safety features – (UMW).

• panjang on Mar 18, 2017 at 9:57 am

This is nothing to be proud of. The figure is less than a quarter if compared to the actual best selling Honda model in Malaysia.

• bukapintubayartol on Mar 19, 2017 at 8:13 am

Dang, I miss my Type Z!

• Wish to upgrade my 16 year old Iswara on Mar 20, 2017 at 8:38 am

Congratulations to you Honda Malaysia!

Looking forward to own a Honda City someday…. (sniff, sniff)