Sime Darby Auto Performance opens Porsche Centre Penang – includes nine service bays, parts warehouse

Official importer of Porsche vehicles in Malaysia, Sime Darby Auto Performance, has officially opened Porsche Centre Penang – the country’s third such centre after Sungai Besi and Glenmarie. Located on the mainland in Seberang Perai, Porsche Centre Penang is a 3S (sales, service, spares) centre accessible from Penang Island via the first Penang Bridge.

“We are thrilled to be moving into Penang with our third Porsche Centre in Malaysia. This new 3S Porsche Centre will enable us to deliver a higher level of customer satisfaction and a unique ownership experience for all Porsche owners and enthusiasts in the northern region,” said chief executive officer of Sime Darby Auto Performance Arnt Bayer.

The RM15 million facility resides upon 102,524 sq ft of land, with a built-up area of 35,575 sq ft. It has space to accommodate up to 10 cars in its showroom, while an air-conditioned dialogue reception area features two bays and an after-sales reception area, including an integrated Carrera Lounge. The workshop features nine service bays, with a warehouse for parts on location as well.

A variety of merchandise can be purchased from the Porsche Driver’s Selection range, with apparel, personal accessories, toys and even interior furniture (try and spot one in the images) available.

“The new Porsche Centre Penang marks another milestone for the Porsche growth in Malaysia and is a bold statement of SDAP’s commitment. I strongly believe in the long-term potential for Porsche in Malaysia and I am convinced that this latest addition to the Porsche dealer network will support our growth path and assure an outstanding customer experience,” said managing director of Porsche Asia Pacific Martin Limpert.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Irwan on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:23 am

Premium car brands are expanding. Strong economic growth, GDP is booming. Malaysia On Track To Become High-income Nation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Y U Fuk on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Which country are you talking about ?! Malaysia ? Correction: Booming Inflation & On track to become a high COST nation. With the high cost of bring in a CBU, how many keretas does Porsche hope to sell up north ? Or is this showroom a new toy for the rich ?

• Most Porsche in Malaysia is recon unit, I think Sime Darby will have a hard time selling their new car. 9 service bays is cater for all the old recon unit currently on the road?

• Commenter on Mar 20, 2017 at 10:32 am

SDAP sold 430 new Porsches last year alone. That’s hardly what you call a hard time…

• if not mistaken, porsche sold more cars than ford (cars) and peugeot last year.

• BowArrow on Mar 17, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Am i the only one who having trouble viewing any image on this website at all???

• Mikey on Mar 17, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Most car company are trying to consolidate if not close some unprofitable outlets in our dire economy BUT Sime Darby Porsche is opening up a 3rd outlet in Penang.

What does that tell U about our distribution of wealth ?! No wonder many people here say the Rich are getting Richer.

Pity the poor people like Me, john, Kunta & our friends who get upset every-time our Gov announce they are increasing the fuel price.

At least some of us like john & me decided 2 take the BMW ride ala MRT in-order 2 save some $$$ for the rainy days.

• Tax the rich, so tak kesah

• A Aziz on Mar 17, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Benar. Zaman sekarang sudah lumrah Rakyat melihat seisi keluarga memileki Nissan Skyline R35, Porsche Cayenne, Bentley, Mercedes G-Class, Range Rover & Motorsikal berkuasa tinggi Harley Davidson & BMW…

Rakyat perlu lebih berusaha, bukan jealous

• Sounded familiar …Blue Bentley?

• Y U Fuk on Mar 17, 2017 at 11:13 pm

But according to Irwan, Malaysia has a booooooming economy and on track to become a high income country coupled with good GDP growth. ???….if the figures are to be believed !!!! Eyes are bigger than the stomach syndrome. You can fool the poor some of the time, but you can’t fool the poor all the time ! This looks like Sime Darby’s new ego-centric toy. These cars are a joy to drive in Europe, with great roads and safe drivers ! Over here, with the bad roads and louts drivers you will likely be the ‘Late Mr. Motorist’. No fun LAH !!! Who you are trying to impress ?

• Kunta second hand car dealer on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Work harder dont complaint