Peugeot designs food truck for luxury oyster farmer

Food trucks have typically catered for fast food such as burgers and the like due to its casual, roadside nature, but the Peugeot Design Lab aims to bring luxury oyster farmer, Gillardeau, into the fold. Christened ‘La Marcelle’ in homage to the daughter of Gillardeau’s founder, the customised panel van allows customers to watch the oyster shucker in action as the delicacy is prepared.

Displayed on International Women’s Day on March 8 near the island of Oléron in France, the customised Peugeot Expert provides the oyster shucker with the tools required for the job, along with a hatch through which the oyster shells can be disposed.

Starting with the Peugeot Expert panel van as a base, the adapted vehicle is meant to be an ambassador for the Maison Gillardeau, and the designers at Peugeot Design Lab have incorporated a fridge, storage facilities, water heater, fold-out bar, and yes, even the sink into the Expert’s 5.8-cubic metre interior space.

“The design of the Peugeot Bistrot du Lion food truck, which I found out about soon after it was presented in April 2015, really impressed me. I wanted to be able to offer tasting sessions at markets with a ‘travelling shop’ which allows me to continue trying new things,” said Véronique Gillardeau, co-director of the company.

Once the food truck’s customised installations are stowed away, the kitted-out Peugeot Expert reverts back to its 1.9 m height and 4.96 m length, which enables it to access underground car parks, according to Peugeot.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• C. P. MOHAN on Mar 22, 2017 at 5:06 pm

In our local context I see roti canai and kopi/teh tarik.

• Then later kena fine by gendamarie for menjaja ditepi jalan & menjaja tanpa lesen. Viva le France!

• EnergyAnalyst on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:21 am

The only economically viable option in Malaysia is Durian Truck

• Mau Hu Thang on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:31 am

I love to see this truck is used to sell Chendol and rojak……Bring it on….

• Mikey on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:40 am

Yup, me too. And then the Chendol & Rojak will be charged as a Gourmet dish. Cheers…