UMW Toyota announces sales target of 70,000 units for 2017, four new models to be launched this year

At its media appreciation event tonight, UMW Toyota announced that it plans to sell a total of 70,000 vehicles this year, including both Toyota and Lexus models. As is usual, Toyota will almost certainly make up the lion’s share of that figure, with Lexus only being a bit part player in the grand scheme of things.

Assuming that Lexus’ 2017 sales are a repeat of last year’s performance of 1,353 units, that would put Toyota’s projected sales at around 68,600 units, about 5,000 units higher than the 63,757 vehicles the company managed to sell in 2016.

Part of UMW Toyota’s charge for 2017 are four new cars that it is set to launch this year, with the most important one being the facelifted Vios. The popular B-segment sedan will gain new front and rear fascias and a number of other new features to go with the new Dual VVT-i and continuously variable transmission (CVT) that it received last year.

The rest of the anticipated new models are unclear, but their silhouettes – which appear to be the Innova, Fortuner and Hilux – hint at what’s to come. The Innova will likely get the 149 PS/359 Nm 2.4 litre turbodiesel from the Hilux, in order to complement the existing 139 PS/183 Nm 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i petrol mill. The company announced during the MPV’s launch last year that the diesel mill was already being considered.

Meanwhile, the Fortuner could finally receive the oft-requested high-spec diesel model. Currently, the range-topping SRZ is powered exclusively by a 166 PS/245 Nm 2.7 litre Dual VVT-i petrol engine; the 2.4 litre turbodiesel can only be found on the base VRZ variant.

A plusher diesel Fortuner will likely gain a more powerful 177 PS/450 Nm 2.8 litre turbodiesel, also from the Hilux. As for the Hilux itself, we’re not quite sure what updates are in store, but expect it to come with new variants or minor equipment upgrades.

GALLERY: Toyota Vios facelift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mikey on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:17 pm

The small car segment are the most numbers sold hence the MOST important market in M’sia. If U are slow to the game, U have no one 2 blame but yourself.

The Vios is the top seller in Toyota but bcos of your slowness in bringing it here, U have lost the plot. Honda City have already sold thousands & U are just getting started.

Toyota/UMW better go learn from john what it mean by “The Early Bird Catches the Worm”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
    • Vios is dead. Long live City & Persona2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 33
      • dejavu on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:57 am

UMW Toyota previous & current senior mgmt was complacent, sleeping at work..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • Sama L00 on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:34 am

Toyota was the best seller, and it will shine again. Don’t play play with world no1 car maker. Saga and Persona? Forget about it. If the car so good, how can it can’t ever cross JB-SG bridge or Thai border? You have to blind to believe in Proton.

• Persona? hahahaha. If Proton ever shut down, comedy industry in Malaysia will thrive.

• P1 would want to be like P2. Let foreign partner have 51% equity stake to produce kacukan

• Raja Bomoh on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:03 pm

I thought i’m the comedy? Oh well… Looks like Proton is the laughing stock of Malaysia

• I thought this article is about toyota, why dragged in p1?

• Jokes on ur vios bub. Its 6ft under.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • applegreen on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:18 am

Current vios interior design ‘too ah beng’. Women tend to go for honda city

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • mustaffa on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Women tend to go for small car like Iriz. That’s why it is selling well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • otak batu on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Proton is going to die soon. No partnership means no RM1.5B! Expect sales target of 0 unit for Proton in the coming year…

• Michael Goh on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:25 pm

OMG OMG. If UMW targets 70,000, that will beat Proton this year. Proton last year was 72,000. Year before 105,000. This year, sure 60,000 or 50,000

How is Proton going to cover their shame?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • We have no shame, only Syok Sendiri pride. Till death we also have no shame in sucking the rakyat’s billions. Too bad you all pay tax to support a failed company

• alldisc on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:53 am

Honda launched big boot Honda City first in Malaysia in 2003, taking the market by storm. Toyota was late to the market, but do you know that by 2009 Toyota had sold 120,000 vios while Honda only registered 40,000. means, for every 1 unit of City sold by Honda, UMW sold 4 units of Vios. the best selling Vios was of course the 2nd gen NCP93 but UMW saw its market gone with some issues like zinc roof top and not giving more airbags and VSC. when Honda launched the all new 4th gen City (for M’sia), its all too late for Toyota. it will take UMW several more years to be able to match Honda sales again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • Stop selling 2.7L Petrol models on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:31 am

Petrol version of Fortuner is really crazy, ridiculous and promoting wastefulness especially those bought by govt agencies. Most puzzling why govt still buying those 2.7L petrol models? Really rich govt like Abu Dhabi kah?

UMW Toyota better stop selling fuel guzzler 2.7L petrol from its entire Fortuner, Innova, Hiace lineups. Not only it send message of fuel efficiency but also to stop govt from wasting its precious funds. Not sure though for other Toyota models (non-UMW imported) such as Land Cruiser 4.0L V8 petrol also bought by govt. That’s for another day story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Albert on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:16 am

In a 100metre race,u cannot put fat Jho and Usain Bolt .Before fatty reach the 40 metre mark,Usain Bolt already crossed the finish line.
      This is what Honda Malaysia has done.The sales r so good that the BRV takes 3 months to deliver.
      UMW,now u can have rebates kaw kaw,but sales r still lagging behind Honda.
      It is not the car.It is the clumsy distributor called UMW.Mr.Akio Toyoda was so syiok when he launched the 2018 Camry in USA.15 years in a row,the best mid size sedan in USA.HE should come here and start sacking the bunch of clowns here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Michael Kunta Goh on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:20 pm

The new camry looks good. Will be able to take over accord market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 37
  • horrayooi on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:27 pm

Still no temperature gauge for Vios, only two idiot lights. Low cost B segment spec. They have temp. gauge for their C segment and above like Altis and Camry. How much can they save omitting the gauge? Stupid engineers. Honda City also the same. Some kind of cartel dashboard and instrumentation vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • hazzif on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:14 am

have u experience engine overheat? how does the temperature gauge help u back then? if u haven’t experience, then u r an idiot asking for one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • zamer on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:50 am

Hazzif, i guess u do not need temperature gauge for your safety..you only need the feel of high temperature to know your car.

Temperature gauge is very important. It helps you to stop the car earlier rather than let it burn.

The first thing when you get a fever, doctor gets a temperature from your body..that explains everything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • camry owner on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:26 am

the temperature gauge is seriously needed,…
        previously i drove on highway, the temperature gauge show normal level, but once we stop at RNR for rest, suddenly the aircond was hot, the temperature meter showed more than half. Then we need to drive exit the highway at speed around 70km/h to maintain the temperature below half and the aircond was back to normal. Then go to workshop said the 1 of the fan motor not function anymore.

Imagine if there were no temperature gauge, my engine would suffer overheat and cost me more for repair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • Low Budget on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:26 am

They should also install Audible Alarm for overheat situation to complement the temperature gauge.

• Plainbullshit on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:10 am

Trust me you need temperature gauge, for safety and to ensure you from further damaging the car.

• Askedu on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:23 am

RM115K Subaru XV also don’t have temp gauge could be cost saving measure kihkihkih

• tokmoh. on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:32 pm

Lel Toyota now become the proton 2016. 70k sales and launch 4 new models.

This is too sad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:17 am

Not when we are passing off facelifts and mid year updates as “New Models”.

That said, the high spec diesel Fortuner and Innova Diesel would probably do quite well.

• tokmoh. on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:31 pm

The segments they serve are quite low volume, but I suppose very profitable.

• Elchino on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Alas, finally v can get d top specs 2.8 ltr diesel Fortuner! Hope it won’t come too late!

• Autofrenz on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Avanza baru.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • tkhengong on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:34 pm

UMW-Toyota should consider launching an Innova variant and/or offer option with the “captain seats” in the middle row like the variant being sold in Indonesia. When I enquired from the salesman recently, I was told there were many enquiries about the “captain’s seats” variants. I certainly hope the new management at UMW-Toyota wakes up and cater to the needs of car buyers. They have been steamrolled by Honda of late.

• BeemerFreak on Mar 22, 2017 at 9:58 pm

That is not 4 new models, those are just variants of existing models. What nonsense is UMW talking here?

New models are what is not currently available in the lineup including the wish, harrier (which isn’t a JDM model anymore, Borneo motors Singapore is launching it), RAV4 and perhaps a CKD Prius or Prius C.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:12 pm

UMW Toyota and DRB Proton are equally bad. But I would love to see Toyota beating Proton by taking third place this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
  • RavenAii (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Hilux update probably include the ESC tuning and ECU reprogramming, which also probably being the software update for Fortuner to avoid it rolling over in case of sudden manouvre. Since Teknikens Värld said Toyota already planned for a safety update so… let’s wait and see.

• If the additional variants of innova and fortuner are considered part of the new models, there is no way for them to achieve the sales target

• omg legend is here..need brighter rear foglamps, current ones not blinding enough..

• I dun want Toyota brand

• Camrysai on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Get off laa…lousy brand

• honda city type V is THEE car in that price range, its a dignified looking exterior and interior, plus frikkin LED headlamps!, and resr aircond vents!

vios facelift looks like a flowerhorn, and interior looks uninspiring, like first gen myvi

umw need to hv some humility and slash the price by 15k, cuz its not even in d same league

• 70k…not achievable…i predict 55k only

• Bangsa on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Apa benda nak heboh lagi?

• sohhai on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:08 pm

That’s it? 4 not-new-but-added-variant-or-minor-faclift-only models for the entire 2017?? UMW Toyota is looking at another bleak year playing second fiddle to Honda

• What the HELL UMW Toyota? on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:08 pm

What is with all the crap models for 2017? Where are the higher end models?

• 4 models only meh? vios, Fortuner, innova, avanza wtf is that? wtf is wrong with you UMW? Open your eyes..

Bring in C-HR larr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Mar 22, 2017 at 11:22 pm

4 facelifts/variants are not four new models. fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • C’mon Toyota! When will the C-HR be coming to Malaysia?!

• RH-AJ on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:35 am

I don’t see Toyota C-HR on the list… thought it’ll be in by 1st quarter @ which supposedly anytime now.. been waiting for it

• Farbey on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:18 am

I have lost hope with Toyota many many year ago…..

• Vios Owner 2016 on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:04 am

Feel bad after purchasing my Vios. Rattles on tight door, still unsolved after going to SC. I wonder why they put the VSC button next to the handbrake. fuel consumption so-so and pick up not responsive. Wish i can trade in and but cheaper cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • This lesson teach u dun listen aunty talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Albert on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:20 am

Vios quality is like Protong now.Thats why,the rebates r fantastic now.2 years ago,u ask for rebates,u get scolding by SA.
      Now,the SA can even give u part of his personal commission.

• ducatiscrambler on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:23 am

sorry but you made the wrong decision in the first place. I hate those fake plastic stitchings and hard plastics all over the car. So i would say rattling is fairly normal on such a poorly built car with 0 thought going into passenger’s comfort. Next time, make sure you actually “palpate” the car’s interior first. As a rule of thumb, soft plushy material = soft ride. It displays that the car manufacturer give a damn to make the car more presentable and feel nice.

• Askedu on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:27 am

Never too late to trade-in for New ‘Honda Bandar’…some pipu claimed only 5% depreciation/annum for god car kuikuikui

• Henry on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:25 am

No mention of the C-HR. Not coming here?

• CHR Come On on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:04 pm

C-HR might coming next year. I guess Toyota Malaysia waiting for Thailand to start assemble C-HR.

• Benz Gor on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Stupid Toyota! We only need high spec 2.4 diesel Fortuner! Why the need for 2.8 diesel?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
  • nabill (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 1:02 pm

different variants and facelifts considered ‘new models’ by UMW….wow!

• huhuhu on Mar 23, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Hilux might be come with Revo 3.0 1KD-FTV engine lol. Like Brunei Revo spec. 3.0 with 5spds gb.

• Kunta Katakman on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Toyota doesn’t sell because of outdated technology.

• domainicus on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:18 pm

I also was hopping for C-HR. All I get is just frigging vios and the whole bunch of Utes? WTH.

• On the whole, UMW Please do.. do.. reduce the price of the cars or if unable, please provide models compatible to the price consumers pay and the value they pay for. Also, launch more hybrids and energy efficient (EEV) models as the upcoming fuel pricing will revised weekly (Hike up expected). By this, sales will boom. Please refer the pricing of Honda Malaysia for their models. Also, do not take the downhill of ringgit for granted and as a lame excuse to mark up your pricing. I hope the new management will make changes and ‘MOVE FORWARD’ to overcome issues.

• Ibnu bakrin on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:14 pm

They should bring in the Yaris (Europe or USA version), Corolla hatchback (aka Auris), RAV4 and C-HR to Malaysia.

Don’t just updating the current boring models. People need more product to choose to drive daily.

• old horse on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:13 pm

UMW totally lost it…after enjoy the “brand” for years, and they totally dont know how to respond with challenge..
    Thats why UMW need SIME to take over..LOL..

• Plainbullshit on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:03 am

You do know this year everyone is downplayed their target due to economic slowdown?

Silly target lol