Toyota Sienna facelift unveiled – new looks, safety kit

Toyota’s Stateside MPV offering, the Sienna, has been facelifted for the 2018 model year, offering revised looks as well as a number of added safety and convenience features.

The new front fascia looks to have been inspired by the new Camry, and features a slimmer upper grille, a gaping lower grille and vertical fog lamp enclosures for a more assertive look. The sportier SE model’s side skirts are also now fitted on all variants.

Inside, the Sienna benefits from Toyota’s new Entune 3.0 infotainment system with navigation and App Suite Connect as standard; the LE, SE and XLE gain Entune Audio Plus with Safety Connect and a Wi-Fi Connect hotspot. The Entune 3.0 Premium JBL Audio system on the top-spec Limited adds Dynamic Navigation and Destination Assist, along with nine speakers, a 10.1-inch subwoofer, Sound Staging and Clari-Fi technology.

Other new features include five USB ports for all three rows, an updated Rear Seat Entertainment with streaming support for Android devices, a Bird’s Eye View monitor on the Limited Premium variant and a 4.3-inch multi-information display. The SE trim also receives a laminated front windscreen, while the Limited variant gets new acoustic front side windows.

Safety-wise, all Sienna models now come standard with Toyota Safety Sense P, which includes Pre-Collision System (PCS) with Pedestrian Detection, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control (DRCC) with full speed range, Lane Departure Alert (LDA) with Steering Assist and Automatic High Beam (AHB).

The Sienna was already given a new engine and transmission last year, with a 3.5 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i V6 producing 296 hp at 6,600 rpm and 357 Nm at 4,700 rpm. A Direct Shift eight-speed automatic transmission sends power to the front wheels, with all-wheel drive also available.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• holofanboi on Mar 23, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Taknak Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
  • Toyota now have more safety kits than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • RavenAii (Member) on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:14 pm

That is Toyota USA you’re talking about. Meanwhie in Malaysia with UMW…

• karam singh on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Why did I feel this car have lots more equipment than the Premium Alphard / Vellfire , LOL

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Mar 24, 2017 at 4:31 am

I have a 2016 Vellfire from UMW, and I admit this car has more safety equipment than my Vellfire…

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:46 pm

This is long overdue for a new one, not a facelift.

The original then “all new” Sienna came out in 2010. The 3.5 is quite nice to drive. Handles pretty well and hides its bulk well.

• mariate on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Ahh I guess The Dunphy’s gonna get their new ride for Season 9 Modern Family (If the there any).

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Can you put in a turbo please? If you are not gonna do it, i would rather purchase a Volkswagen Sharan.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Mar 24, 2017 at 11:54 pm

Sienna is a massive panel van not sold in Bolehland.

Only comes in 3.5V6