Ford looking to make RS versions of its SUVs – report

According to a report by Car Dealer Magazine, Ford could make high-performance RS versions of its SUVs in the future. Director of Ford Performance, Dave Pericak, revealed that such vehicles are “definitely an opportunity to be explored.”

“I think customers love performance. I think the definition of what that means for an SUV might be different than what it means for a Focus or for a Fiesta. But I think that we’ve seen, even in the US and globally, that people like aggressive-looking cars, they like sporty, they want the power and pick-up and engine improvement, so I think the answer is yes. SUV customers would appreciate performance, for sure,” he said.

Pericak also stated that current performance SUV offerings aren’t impressive enough, and if Ford were to make a RS SUV, it would be a true performance car. Models likely to undergo the RS transformation include the Kuga, EcoSport, and Edge “If you look at the SUV market right now, there aren’t too many credible performance SUVs out there,” he stated.

He continued: “There are people who have made partial attempts at it and there are different things that have happened, but there are no real credible ones. So, I think that’s an area of some opportunity, for sure.”

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 11:44 am

They make good SUVs but somehow they don’t sell well in Malaysia. A good buy would be a 2nd hand Kuga. Can get a 2 year old Kuga for RM50k. Really worth every sen.

• But then later u bash SD servis is crap, somemore need to wait long neck to book a slot, somemore problems not fixed, somemore spare parts takes months, somemore RV is crap, somemore… oh wait..

• Ricardo on Mar 27, 2017 at 1:43 pm

A 50k Kuga would have clocked 80k km and above. A fairly clocked Kuga of 50k km would be around RM70k.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 1:38 pm

It’s a very good SUV indeed. Quite saleable here in Malaysia. Brand new Kigali is worth every sen. Well done Ford.

• hazamiey on Mar 27, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Good one. But please do not shove manual tranny into a performance SUV like one in Focus RS.

• Mikey on Mar 27, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Seriously, who buy a FORD SUV let alone a RS version. Look at the numbers of FORD SUV on our road. The Ecosport is a failure. It fail bcos it has priced itself out compare to HRV. Even the CX-3 sold more despite it cost 130k.

The Kuga is a better buy than a EcoSport. It has better materials, performance & handling but unfortunately at 165k, they are also deem overprice for a medium size SUV.

M’sian are a demanding lot. Most buy bcos of RV, badge, services, reliability & “cheaper” maintenance beside the cost. For the size/price, there is Tucson, X-Trail, K3, CRV & CX-5 to content with.

My point is, if Ford is making a RS version, please go ahead, just don’t bother importing any here bcos the taxes alone will kill U.

If M’sian really want a Fast SUV, they will Probably buy the Porsche MACAN Full Stop.

• well, good looking FORD SUV, it has to be the 2016-2017 ford explorer, the edge looks better than the ugly duckling of the bunch ford Ecosport…But my personal choice, If available in Malaysia at sane prices, Ford 150 Raptor…but could only dream on….