UMW Toyota launches new showroom in Segambut

UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has officially launched a new showroom in Segambut, Kuala Lumpur located at Pusat Komercial Jalan Kuching, Jalan Kepayang off Jalan Kuching, Kuala Lumpur.

Developed at a cost of about RM1 million, the new showroom serves as an outlet for sales of new Toyota vehicles, and incorporates Toyota’s Next Generation Showroom concept. The showroom can display up to three models and comes equipped with shaded delivery bays, as well as a lounge for customers with various amenities including free Wi-Fi connectivity.

Meanwhile, UMWT is currently upgrading the present 2S (service and spare parts) centre at Kawasan Perusahaan Segambut to meet the increased demand for aftersales services in the area. “The growing number of Toyota vehicles required us to expand our facilities and from our studies, the existing 2S outlet in Segambut requires additional capacity to cope with this greater number of customers.

“Therefore, we are expanding the outlet to cater for the aftersales and in the meantime, opened this new showroom to cater to those who wish to view and purchase Toyota vehicles,” said Ravindran Kurusamy, president of UMWT.

“Toyota’s Next Generation Showroom concept is intended to re-invent the way car showrooms are designed, with the customer as the foremost priority. Customers will now have an experiential environment that is related to the type of vehicle on display,” explained Akio Takeyama, deputy chairman of UMWT.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Malaysia Boleh on Mar 27, 2017 at 5:24 pm

UMW should focus the new model to bring in & boost the sell instead of open more showroom for service, selling high > more SC for services, quite logical sense.

• Why does the Honda facility in east coast cost RM22 million while this is only RM1 million?

• Toyota Gearing Up for exciting upcoming car models. Toyota didn’t get to be Malaysia top automaker by sitting on its laurels but by turning out thoughtfully designed, reliable automobiles.

• You obviously worked for UMW on Mar 28, 2017 at 2:22 pm

How about more fake wood trim, 4 speed gearbox and 2 airbags. Mod please disallow this comment for ridiculing UMW.

• modesto on Mar 27, 2017 at 5:40 pm

really hope to see another distributor other than umw selling toyota cars in malaysia. umw is too long a distributor and has built up enough arrogance to listen to customers’ needs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Albert on Mar 27, 2017 at 9:08 pm

Modesto
      Pls go to internet to view Mr.Akio Toyoda of Toyota Japan launching the new camry 2018.
      15 year in a row sales record in USA for mid size sedan.
      In Bolehland,even Nissan or Mazda is going to overtake UMW.
      Something is wrong here with the distributor,not Toyota brand .
      Shall we petition Mr.Akio to come here to personally sack the bunch of clowns in UMW here?
      YOu wanna a bumi distributor? There r hundreds here,waiting for a chance.
      Look at Honda Malaysia…..it is BLOCKBUSTER SALES 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • No more customers, need more showrooms for what? To store deadwood salesmen like Albert@Kunta kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • I just bought a new Camry hybrid John and I’m not old. Was looking at Honda Accord and decided to buy Toyota coz I believe Camry is a better value car in D-segment. Despite sales drop, it’s still far ahead of Nissan and Mazda. Well, I hope it’s not because of the bad experience u’ve had with Toyota that causes u to resent them.

• consumer on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:05 am

Don’t bother him. He is a Proton salesman that likes to bash Toyota

• In terms of:
        kit = Accord
        Safety = Teana
        Looks = Mazda6
        Presence = Teana
        Value for money = Teana/Accord
        FC = Camry
        Boring unker trying to look young = Camry
        RV = Any other BUT Camry hybrid

Oh, and the fact that they tried to cheat Camry customers in the past. Does that answer ur question?

• Kunta Kinte on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Doomed. Bad choice. Sorry to burst the bubble. How many Camrys you see on the road these days? Passat > Camry

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 27, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Why wanna build more showrooms? Unlike those days, your cars are not selling well. People are going for the likes of Honda ,Mazda or Volkswagen for the non luxury segment. Unless you buck up and start selling cars which keep up with the pace of technology I foresee your showrooms being closed down on after another. Yes, your hybrid cars are superior but certainly you have neglected any advancement in internal combustion engines. Forget about turbo, have you even incorporated direct injection technology in your cars? Nope!

• Why does the Honda east coast facility cost RM22 million while this only cost RM1 million? Hmm…

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:13 am

Aiya.. Last year perodua sold 200k cars. Toyota sold 70k. Remember Toyota owns daihatsu. Daihatsu is partner to perodua. Therefore TMC owns perodua. UMW also owns perodua. Basically TMC and UMW sold almost 300k cars last year. The biggest share in Malaysia. Almost 50%.

• Toyota & Diehatsu/P2. Partners in endangering MY pipu lives with their moving deathtraps.

• Anti Skydancer on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Aiyo, its only a shoplot that display 3 cars and UMW can say its a showroom kah? So new car deliver to customer at roadside? And your marketing people still use skydancer?? Haiyo, where is UMW Toyota standard lah. Macam Proton showroom. No wander people don’t value your brand anymore. Under-investment by UMW.