DRB-Hicom reiterates all parties that have submitted a bid for Proton are still present and accounted for

Another week, another statement – DRB-Hicom today issued a follow-up announcement to that made last week regarding the status of the interested parties bidding to become Proton’s foreign strategic partner (FSP).

In case it hasn’t been made clear, all the automakers that have submitted a bid are still around. “There have been news reports stating that we are left with only one bidder. I can confirm that all parties that submitted bids for Proton are still in the running and DRB-Hicom is still evaluating these bids,” group MD Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said via the statement.

Syed Faisal added that DRB-Hicom is carrying out a detailed evaluation of the bids, and that the conglomerate was going through the tail-end of this meticulous process.

“There are strengths and capabilities of the carmaker that, given a new proven partner that can offer technology, capabilities and new markets, will push Proton as a brand to be reckoned with. This is why our evaluation of the bidders needs to be a detailed one. Proton and the incoming FSP must be able to create synergies that will ensure the success of this venture,” he explained.

Early last week, a news report had indicated that Chinese automaker Zhejiang Geely had pulled out of its bid for a partnership with Proton. This led to DRB-Hicom issuing a statement that said all the original bidders were present and accounted for and were still at the negotiation table.

Geely and Groupe PSA are the leading contenders to become Proton’s FSP. The duo are the only automakers to be named as being in discussions with the national carmaker.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Another big lie. Geely big boss already confirmed there is no deal. It looks like market manipulation here. Some big gun wants to dispose of DRB shares and wants to prop up the shares of DRB with the Geely news.

Securities Commission and Bursa Malaysia need to investigate

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 33
    • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Poor DRB. Still in denial and in shock. International news already quoted Geely big boss as saying they completely don’t want.

Now, DRB clowns, the overpaid clowns, are saying still got deal with the bidders.

This is denial syndrome. Still in shock. They cannot believe they have been rejected.

Superiority complex syndrome too. They believe Proton is Gold and everybody loves to own Proton. Syiok sendiri syndrome.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 10
      • Albert on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:25 pm

All the potential bidders have withdrawn.
        To save face,just pretend the marriage ceremony will go on.(like movie)
        Why? Cos the dowry is easily rm 3 Billion to wipe out existing debts,before any sane company will take over protong.
        Sane people like geely ran away with 100m world record speed.
        Only conned and insane company buy over a gone bust company called Protong…white elephant according to YAB Nazri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • P – Power(Proton)
          R – Rangers(Workers)
          O – On
          T – Time?
          O – Oh
          N – No!

• Kelab tak malu kunta on Mar 30, 2017 at 10:47 am

Hope the new partner will help proton

• Kunta is not malaysian on Mar 30, 2017 at 11:02 am

Whatever proton needs to do, it has to do fast. Industry is changing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
          • Kunta Kinte on Mar 30, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Hope the new partner will slap Proton

• Sgt Scoop on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:34 pm

I remember driving back to the kampung and four out of five cars on the highway would be a Proton.

• Malaysians are patriotic mah. All support Proton. Oh wai… Is that the reason why there are so many Proton on our roads?

• Belilah Proton, demi negara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Ahmad on Mar 30, 2017 at 8:23 am

Beli la Myvi, lebih bagus, tiada masalah, produk negara yang boleh dipercayai.

• Myvi product Jepunis, bukan product Malaysia. Tak patriotic

• Janda Baik on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Proton ni asyik jual mahal. Kalau tak mampu buat kereta, buka kilang belacan saja lah. Lagi untung 1.5 billion sebulan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Ehh.. Nanti belacan pun kena tax macam mana? Ini bukan soal product apa, tapi mentality perlindungan

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:07 pm

I advice PSA, better run away while you can. This is how our monkeys do business. Flip Flop style. Geely just realised this and decided to run as far as they can.

PSA, don’t fall for the tricks of DRB. They are insincere and you will lose out in the end. Your Peugeot name will stink so much because Proton will busuk your name.

This is why even Mitsubishi failed in Malaysia despite being a high quality Japanese car. After a while, because of stinking service by Proton and dishonest service by Proton, everybody associated Mitsubishi brand as Proton Quality.

So, even the Mitsusbihi brand had to die off cause Proton is like a plague. If Proton partners PSA, the plague will destroy even the Peugeot good name also.

PSA must know, this flip flop is very normal in Proton. They got too many cronies to feed. All the vendors and suppliers who give Proton a bad name are still there despite 30 years of milking Proton. PSA or Geely going to get mad with this crony practice. Please pull out. Don’t bear the sins of Proton for ruining people’s lives.

In the 80s, a good Toyota Corolla and a wonderful Nissan 130Y was RM20k. Now, the same car is RM139k. All because gomen wanted to protect Proton, they raised all car prices to ridiculous levels. Globally Japanese cars have not even doubled in price from 1985 to 2016.

30 years people have suffered with high car loans. 30 million people suffered with high car loans plus high interest rates for Proton. No idea why, Proton cars had higher interest rates than other brands. Double whammy to screw the rakyat.

Stay away PSA. Don’t tanggung dosa Proton to the rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 15
      • Graduan bijak on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:11 pm

We love foreign-made Proton.

• Ollie on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Sell Proton and jobs will be lost, vendors close shop, Malaysia will remain a third world country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
        • Malaysia Boleh on Mar 29, 2017 at 1:20 pm

You are one of the them, P1 failure to compete and unable to produce quality of products because this kind of mindset; only care about getting salary without more efforts and contribution to our customers, lastly, I don’t think MY will backward due to P1 fallen, more opportunity for job and investment will coming without nation car protection policy I believe.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 29, 2017 at 11:02 am

Pathetic thinking. PSA is not foolish enough to follow everything that Proton’s request. A compromise shall be achieved. This is a golden chance for PSA to break into the S.E.A market big time.

• Kunte Berkudis on Mar 29, 2017 at 11:47 am

I just assume that you are a Malaysian. Is that a comment that you should be throwing out? Give a bad name about our very own product and also our country? Why dont you go out and tell bad thing about your mom, how does it feel buddy? Regardless of whatever happens, whatever deals, we must and ALWAYS support our country. You, are the kind of people that shoud just leave the country. Gives so call “fact” but yet only based on ur own fantasy assumption just to make the story REAL. Japanese car globally did doubled the price as what you claimed. A simple google also you so lazy to do, only know how to comment bluntly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
        • ahmad on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:16 pm

what so proud about a national product whereby the quality is kangkong quality? don’t you feel ashame of such product?
          Proton is like a prostitute, inviting so many partners to be in bed. Also after 30 plus years still need breast feeding. PROTON = Potential Risk Of Tingkap Otomatic Non-functional

• 12yrsold on Mar 29, 2017 at 4:57 pm

So PT, why wait, just put the alike rubbish comment to bora bora island, dun even publish it!

• Muntakunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:32 pm

This Kunta speaks so horribly about proton. Dude, I do lot like the Preve nor the perdana. But I like the new saga very much. Why do you have to speak so badly about proton? Are you even Malaysian, I hope not, because if you are………….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Go hollande on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:10 pm

Kapal selam, Ploton, keletapi pon kasi Pelancis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • lolkat on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Chinese black ops. Don’t play play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Are you a George soros speculator here? Keep your ideas to yourself. Let the deal happen, whatever the outcome is!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 74
      • Wedding of the century…can’t wait.

• Kelab thumbup own post kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 12:15 am

Useless to talk to somebody who has no life and no confident in reality

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:32 am

Everthing also blame Soros and Yahudi. Sendiri curi pun tak nampak

• Ruslan Bahari on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Kalau nak recycle aja komen, nampak sangat keyboard warrior.

• Rakyat diperbodohkan Proton

• old horse on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:27 pm

isnt that stupid? or wayang kulit and end of days Geely still and will winning it all? nego with cina man ? you be swollen !
    All they want is lotus and thats how smart they are in branding investment. Protong? throw under the garage..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Absolute Rider on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Yes, Geely or I would say Li ShuFu wants Lotus. Now 51% buy in Proton as Geely’s entry level models, Geely as itself is mid ranger and Volvo is the premium models.

After few months, buy 100% Lotus. Proton later might sell off.

At the end, Proton….
      and
      Geely have their own mid range models, premium Volvo models and Lotus sport cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:43 pm

And is that a bad thing?

Geely has the resources, Volvo can supply the technology.

Proton after nearly 2 decades, never made Lotus profitable until just recently. Enough is enough.

Let the tongsan show how it’s done. Don’t be surprised they can transform Lotus to the point it becomes as well desired as Porsche, can profit at least USD 17k per car.

Cannot believe? When they bought Volvo, everyone laughed thought they’re stupid. Volvo only good in safety, everyone else also safe what, everyone else can make 5 star crash test car what?

Yet, thanks to tongsan, Volvo broke its own sales record 3 years in a row. The media adored the new XC/S/V 90, XC60.

Volvo > all
        Geely > all

• Absolute Rider on Mar 29, 2017 at 7:29 pm

Of course I know Geely can do that. China companies now many of them full of extra cash and capital.

Geely Chiarman, what he really wanted is Lotus. According to Paultan post, Proton could become entry level models under the whole Geely structure as Geely is midranger and Volvo is their premium.

I’m sure Li ShuFu will buy all Lotus stake from Proton….. No need to talk much after that :)

• Accountant's Assistant on Mar 30, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Please be aware that Lotus is still probably not making a profit on an annual basis. It had positive cash flow in August 2016 according to what I read. This simply means its outgoings were less than incoming funds for that month. Virtually any business can be manipulated to be cash-flow positive for a short while. For example by booking sales as incoming income during a period but not paying vendors or loans over the same short period in question.

• thepolygonal on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:25 am

Right on Absolute Rider. Geely is missing the sports division and Lotus (if acquired) will fill that gap. They will use Proton plants to manufacture for export into the right hand drive market. Proton remain malaysia only brand. They just want your plants not the cars.

• Ok ma. If Geely bought, Proton can complement the group.

Volvo – Premium
        Geely – mid range
        Proton – no frills

• Kelab Pembenci Kunta on Mar 29, 2017 at 6:59 am

Proton still got tongkat issues. Who cares about Lotus when you are losing RM4 million per day? Now it is survival.

See Volvo. Government of Sweden so humble. Government of Sweden allowed the sale of Volvo. Then Geely pump in USD12 billion to feed Volvo workers.

• azrai on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Whatever la proton..haih..penat dah aku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • I know, I know… Proton can use their under-capacity factories to build kitchen sinks and toilet bowls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • SpongeWai on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:36 pm

stop talking nonsense, Mr DRB-Hicom

Geely already withdrawn the bid, so nowFrench President here for two-day visit and i think he is currently in talk Peugeot-Proton bid for FPS

• Albert on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:29 pm

French President said,ok we buy Protong on condition…u buy 100 of our latest submarines…canggih n syiok and 20 rafale war planes.
      Deal or no deal?

• Let Proton crash to cut overcapacity.

• Hammy on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Jual mahal betul Proton ini….

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:06 pm

Tipu. I think all the bidders decided not to waste time with Proton and meet their ridiculous demands and terms. Meanwhile they’re trying to pujuk Peugeot and Geely. Proton, I told you guys dy… Sell underwear better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Proton should just be an automotive recycler, take all the rusting cars from the junkyards across the country and process these rustbuckets into something useful. You can’t really expect proton to make cars anymore right… if they knew how to sell cars they wouldn’t be in such deep sh*t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • pondan on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:33 am

Proton Underwear – “Exciting and exhilarating”

• Bashers says cannot jual to China, just like FC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • EverGood on Mar 28, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Worry share tumble!

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:40 pm

Simple reason why Proton is doing this now. Their shares rocketed when the news that Geely is their potential FSP, which makes their company value higher. Now Geely says no, their shares will drop and the company’s value as well. If more potential FSP drops their interest in Proton, their shares will reflect it and so does their company’s value. This is why Proton is desperately trying to shore their value higher with misleading but technically true announcements.

• Limbo on Mar 28, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Who gives a shit ?
    I don’t.

• Ruslan Bahari on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:00 pm

You’d think those that believe Geely has pulled out would wonder why they themselves haven’t “reaffirmed” their so-called withdrawal. Twice! Truth be said, they probably thought PROTON would call their bluff and meet their demands! Hahahaha.
    Fact is, PROTON makes crap but it has valuable assets that will appeal to carmakers.

• Enough with this nonsense.

• Karma Surely Coming on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Whoever deals with proton, sure business will crumble and suffer. Nowadays, investors are smart and wont fall on DRB tricks…

Karma is coming to Proton…..from cheating rakyat for too long.

• Truth Hurts on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:38 am

Living in denial? Geely already left the game. Proton still shiok sendiri pleasure himself?

• Ahmadjr on Mar 29, 2017 at 8:50 am

Drb is full of shits

• azrai on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:37 am

I think Geely boss just play with the market. Once the good news its shares will soar. But for the time being he said it cannot be la, whatever, shares went down, he bought it heavily. After soaring getting proton shares, he will eventually sold them. Insider trading meh.

• Low Budget on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:43 am

Next week is April liao, they are still going round in circles…

• amarjie on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:45 am

Macam nak reverse saikoloji nak suruh Geely stay in bid je…

• sabahan on Mar 29, 2017 at 10:08 am

Dont afraid of losing while you can learn something that will benefit you.
    Dont be greedy if people offered you priceless knowledge with a higher price, then you reject the offer because of the higher price.
    You are a not so success company, choose wisely whether you want to continuing to become a failure or better carmaker….
    If you dont know how to decide? ask Paultan.org and crews!!!

• Why are you so worked up? Chill out.

• FireAce on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:27 pm

All the bidders are still around because they didn’t officially retracted the bid. Whatever money they already spent for this “adventure” is sunk cost so might as well don’t do anything extra that will cost more money/man power/time.

They are just waiting it out and let the process die naturally.

• Abang Hashim on Mar 29, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Mana DS Idris Jala ?
    He is supposed to overlook the transformation plan for Proton & is never seen.
    Remember Pemandu’s goal to achieve high earning society status in 2020 ?
    Yet we are still at basement level negotiation. How to progress if it’s taking ages choosing a right FSA from 2 candidates?
    Opportunity don’t come knocking twice so pls pls get your act together and move on.
    And stop harping on Tg Malim plant capacity.
    Our neighbours can offer similar packages if given a chance too.

• It took 1 week for Proton marcomm dept to come out with this post. Talk about efficiency.

• Abg ajis on Mar 29, 2017 at 9:40 pm

Aiyooo , why rakyat Malaysia want to see Proton tutup kedai , kalau Proton tutup kedai thousands of people lost job , all Proton vendors bankruptcy , baru you all satisfied ,

• Gillette on Mar 31, 2017 at 9:05 am

Firz Zen, you’re doing just about the same as your intended audience have done, speculate. From your beefs, I can tell your version of speculation are all from the reads in regard to the matter. Only difference is, yours is an educated one. In fact, you reminded me a lot of my friends in the financial sector, they speculate.
    I look forward to your debate in defending yourself as not speculating. This will be interesting.
    Face fact, buddy. Nobody is doing any joy-bidding here. Everyone’s in it for a reason and pretty much anyone could have guessed it. You’re just stating the obvious and try to make yourself feel smarter but you know what? Give it a rest.
    Let PT fans comment whatever they want here. Its fun reading their comments. I like to see what people have to say and see how john taunt with obnoxious remarks.