G30 BMW 5 Series M’sia teaser shows Display Key

It has begun – BMW Malaysia has started teasing the new G30 BMW 5 Series ahead of its launch tomorrow. So far, the company has released two images, the first being a typical shot of the car’s Hofmeister kink.

But it’s the second photo that piques our interest – it shows the smartphone-like Display Key, which features a touchscreen that shows various vehicle information. The key comes as standard with the 7 Series in Malaysia, but its inclusion as part of the 5 Series’ kit list for the local market is surprising, considering that even the RM1.2 million i8 sports car doesn’t come with it.

Beyond the key, it’s unclear what level of kit the G30 will come with. In other markets, the executive sedan is available with a host of new technologies, including an arsenal of semi-autonomous driving functions, Remote Parking, Remote View 3D, wireless smartphone charging and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, although, as usual, don’t expect many of these options to be found on our cars.

At launch, expect the range to consist of 520d and 530i models, with the possible addition of the 540i as a limited-run range-topping variant. A lower-powered 520i should also feature when the inevitable locally-assembled (CKD) models arrive – propelled by a detuned version of the 530i’s 2.0 litre mill – as well as the 530e plug-in hybrid to take advantage of tax breaks for CKD hybrids and electric vehicles.

Read our review of the new G30 BMW 5 Series from Lisbon, Portugal here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I wanted this for my Gen 2

• proton oh proton on Mar 28, 2017 at 12:27 pm

wish you all the best BMW… still believing one day our nation car will have those features. Unless removing deadwoods from pro-tong include CEO as well.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:59 pm

How to have? Still sleeping. Belum bangun tidor also.

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Better wait 1 year and buy 2nd hand. BMW 5 series first year alone lose about RM120k to RM150k

Then 2nd year onwards it just loses RM20k, the 3rd year RM20k and so on.

Let the first buyer suffer with the high depreciation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • heybadigol (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:52 pm

The special key is just gimmicky. It’s so large, almost as big as a Motorola Startac. And you need to remember to charge it. Just use the app, which you can install on your smartphone, and has the same functions.

• If only this key has phone function. It be the coolest looking phone ever!

• old horse on Mar 28, 2017 at 7:32 pm

BMW screwed up this time of their internal design..just too much similar..

• Beemer on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:01 pm

No need rush to buy. Wait 6-12 months then will have at least RM50k promo, or pre-register or ex-event car or Premium Selection, etc.

If u see the prices of 3, 5 & 7 series few months after launching, u will know what i meant. Re-sale value also suffers.

Be wise people, esp with BMW.

• Alan Smithee on Mar 29, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Wow, BMW great moves, keep it up! I really expect to see the display key!!