Bangkok 2017: Chevy Colorado High Country Storm

No new models from Chevrolet at the 2017 Bangkok International Motor Show, so the GM brand brought a Corvette Stingray, a classic truck and a modern day Silverado to entice showgoers. There’s a special edition of the macho facelifted Colorado pick-up truck though, one that’s called the Chevrolet Colorado High Country Storm.

Based on the top High Country version, the Storm is a Thai-only variant with a plenty of equipment and a more aggressive outlook. The latter is made up of a sport bar, 18-inch alloy wheels, door handles, a tailgate handle, outer belt moulding and a rear bumper with parking sensors all in black. There’s also a black hood decal with the High Country logo, Storm body decals and black wing mirror caps.

The show car is in a new Blue Me Away colour, and the five other hue options are Pull Me Over Red, Black Meet Kettle Metallic, Summit White, Satin Steel Grey Metallic and Auburn Brown Metallic.

Convenience features include front park assist and a reverse camera, auto lights and wipers, and a first-in-class Civic FC-style remote-start function. The truck also comes with the Chevrolet MyLink infotainment system, Apple CarPlay and Siri Eyes Free.

The safety kit list counts three airbags (dual front plus driver’s knee), ESC, Hill Descent Control, Hill Start Assist, Lane Departure Warning, Forward Collision Alert and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Priced at 1.028 million baht (RM131,582) for the 4X2 and 1.098 million baht (RM140,563) for the 4X4, the Colorado High Country Storm is powered by a 2.5 litre Duramax turbodiesel with VGT, 180 hp and 440 Nm of torque. The Euro 4 engine is mated to a six-speed automatic transmission.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• This cant be happening?! 140k for colorado in tomyam while it only cost 90k in MY. More than 50% higher! Tak jadik!
    Ini mesti semua salah…

• 90K is for the lower powered variants. The top-spec Colorado is around 130k in Malaysia.

• Hey. Its not my fault that bashers luv to make this kinda asymmetrical comparison when bashing MY.

• 90K is for the lower powered variants. The top-spec Colorado is around 130k in Malaysia.

• Its not my fault that bashers luv to make this kinda asymmetrical comparison when bashing MY. I just follow SOP.

• Grant Leighty on Oct 17, 2017 at 3:20 am

On the Bangkok 2017: Chevy Colorado High Country Storm, there are panels on the bottom of the doors, bumper panel or rocker panels, not sure what they are called. I would like to have these on my 2017 Chevrolet Colordao Zr2. WHere can I get these?