Next Suzuki Swift Sport to weigh just 870 kg – report

Fans of the simple-but-fun Suzuki Swift Sport will be pleased to know that the next-generation model is set to shave the pounds in pursuit of even greater driving pleasure, if a report by Car Throttle is to be believed.

The current SSS is no porker, tipping the scales at 1,070 kg with the honest-to-god six-speed manual transmission – but a Suzuki insider speaking to the publication pegged the figure for the new car at just 870 kg. That’s within the 840 kg to 970 kg ballpark that the company gave for the standard version of the latest Swift, and would represent a weight saving of a whopping 200 kg!

Allied to the lighter, stiffer Heartect body is a new turbocharged engine – a 138 hp/220 Nm 1.4 litre BoosterJet four-pot from the Vitara S that replaces the much-loved naturally-aspirated 1.6 litre M16A mill. That would put the power-to-weight ratio at 159 hp per tonne, which eclipses even the 197 hp Toyota 86‘s 158 hp per tonne.

Expect the next Swift Sport to come with the same six-speed manual gearbox and CVT options as before, along with a more aggressive style that includes a large front grille flanked by gaping air vents, a rear diffuser with twin exhaust exits and racy red interior trim. The exterior and interior designs were leaked from a dealer conference in France more than a year ago.

What do you think of a super-lightweight, turbocharged Suzuki Swift Sport? Sound off in the comments section after the jump.

GALLERY: New Suzuki Swift

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:18 pm

What happened to our JV with Suzuki? Proton paid them few hundred million royalty for Ertiga, now apa jadi?

I think we rugi cause I have never seen 1 Ertiga on the road. How to recoup the royalty payment?

Proton should tell Suzuki to compensate them by giving the rights to rebadge the Vitara as Proton needs a SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 77
    • Ruslan Bahari on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:21 pm

You live in the boondocks of course you won’t see the Ertiga. It is for the urban people. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Shamsul Karim on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:45 pm

if our bodoh Proton never action so much and lansi with Suzuki, today, we can rebadge this Suzuki Swift and it will be best seller in Malaysia.

Our bodoh Proton think they are prestigious like Aston Martin. They nego also they think they are the best.

Syok sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
      • ProudToBeNotAMalaysian on Apr 05, 2017 at 9:27 am

of course la proton is so bodoh… just look at those who work at proton, they are all malaysians! HAHAHAHAHAHAH

• bob mali on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:46 pm

pity to you, never seen ertiga on the road.:-P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Uber Driver on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:57 pm

I drive in Klang Valley everyday about 150KM per day. I am an Uber driver. I only seen one Ertiga since launch 1 year ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Operation Manager on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:49 pm

ASEAN NCAP 1-Star Rating.

• Mokmok on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:56 pm

I doubt it..I live in kampung area saw 4 ertiga already, can’t tell on how much cars u spot rather the exact numbers sold..Anyway, why can’t we get turbochargered swift in Malaysia?

• U inside cave of course cannot see ertiga on the road. And stop playing mobile phone while driving

• tg rambutan on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Biasa la..in every article, paid blind keyboard warrior will come in to bash proton or give cynical or stirring comments.

• Tu le lumrah hidup basher. Perlu hentam 500kali baru ada seringgit. Siape le suroh dia jadik basher. Kesian kan?

• Tinggal tg rambutan, sure lah cannot see er3.

• Proton take note … Please rebadged this as the new version of iris

• fanofthisite on Apr 04, 2017 at 7:02 pm

You havent seen any Ertiga on the roads? Sure , sales are not like hotcakes but am sure the ones I have seen on the road arent Suzuki badged Ertigas. Why shld Suzuki compensate Proton or ‘give’ anything. You no make sense. Better question is what other JV if any with Suzuki in the pipeline.

• Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Poor Suzuki, the young kampung awek. This sweet awek kahwin Proton. Then one day, a nice young Ah Moi named Geely came and wink at Proton. Proton stim and immediately left awek Suzuki for Geely.

Now another french kissing chic PSA showing her sexy legs to Proton. Proton lagi stim. Decided to leave Geely.

Now running after French Kissing PSA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 60
    • Shamsul Karim on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Look at Perodua. They are just a rebadger. Yet, they can make so much of money. Bodoh Proton go and screw Suzuki up by making deals with Geely and PSA

• Ah Kow on Apr 05, 2017 at 8:15 am

Rebadge with quality and reliability. I believe Perodua got good management team. Business driven, not keep thousand plus employees to goyang kaki.

• Ben Yap on Apr 04, 2017 at 1:45 pm

anything with better performance, i’m all out for it.

• Accordana Pondana on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:30 pm

aduh! wish this was Proton Swift Sport. Damn dumb our DRB (Dumb Rubbish Bodoh) should get this for Proton than Accordana or Ertiga

• Not needed. Satria neo is a better chassis than SS. Just need to extreme lightening as above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • if only suzuki is still around….
    How to maintain the fella if bought grey market

• applegreen on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:05 pm

I want the 1.4t version!

• Seems high time PT implement IP block to filter this nutjob.

• Shamsul Karim on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:22 pm

ip ban then all your names like notakata, basherlogic and many many more others ALSO cannot use bro.

you also got multiple names….

• If you have driven the 900kg bezza then you should know what are the disadvantages.
    haha

• i see potential on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:34 pm

well well…a new turbochaged hot hatch. but since suzuki is dead here in malaysia i see very big potential to bring it as…wait for it….

New Proton Satria GTI

ALL HAIL NEW SATRIA!

• arowana on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:49 pm

pls rebadge it as the new Suprima S

• Jonn Dol on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:56 pm

I think Suzuki’s closing of their Malaysian operation is way too drastic move. The latest Suzukis are among the best mainstream compact models in the world. Pity Malaysians won’t be able to buy one. Suzuki becoming Proton’s FSP is just unthinkable perhaps almost impossible. Because PSA is the much better in terms of the technology level and the willingness to invest.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 04, 2017 at 2:59 pm

Big deal? My Kelisa is only 760 kg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:08 am

Your Kelisa is powered by a sewing machine and as safe as a cardboard car. The Swift needs to meet modern safety standards, and is rather powerful. Huge difference.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:47 am

You must be blind. The car is not made of cardboard but metal. It has a 1000cc engine ans sewing machine does not have an engine. Mabuk la lu

• Agree, Kelisa is like paper. So easily crushed. Remember the incident, the girl drove against the traffic in Penang and killed someone ? The girl who drove an old Gen-2 walked out like a boss after the head-on collision. The Kelisa driver died on the spot. That is call a live crash test.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 04, 2017 at 3:11 pm

sad we never get to see it

• Perlisian on Apr 04, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Is that possible this suzuki swift will enter malaysia market as proton swift?

• Mikey on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:30 am

If the proton swift do come into fruition, it should replace the aging Satria Neo.

• Henry on Apr 05, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Nope because Proton is going to marry either PSA or Geely very soon but not Suzuki.

• Bernard on Apr 04, 2017 at 8:42 pm

If priced below 50k, that would be great!

• finally i’m ready to offload my mk2 focus. tried swift sports few years back, really nice