BMW Malaysia drops 10 models/variants from local line-up – selected CBU models see price increase

Click to enlarge price list

BMW Malaysia’s latest price list effective April 19 has a much shorter list of models compared to the previous price list from January 1. Comparing both, over 10 models/variants have been dropped from the local line-up, and the bulk of them are CBU imported models.

Cars that are no longer on the price list are the 120i M Sport (replaced by the 118i M Sport), 218i Active Tourer, 2 Series Coupe (220i), 430i Coupe, M3, M4 and both variants of the Z4 (20i, 28i M Sport). In the SUV department, absentees are the X1 xDrive 20d, X3 xDrive 20d and the X5 xDrive 30d. The 320d Gran Turismo is the sole diesel model left in the local line-up.

Some of the models that survived the cull have new and higher sticker prices. They are the 420i Coupe (+RM5k to RM304,800), 420i Coupe Sport (+RM6k to RM325,800), 430i Gran Coupe M Sport (+RM7k to RM425,800), X6 xDrive35i M Sport (+RM12k to RM640,800) and the BMW i8 (+RM23k to RM1,211,800).

New entries such as the 118i M Sport and X5 xDrive40e have made some variants redundant

Most of the cars listed above are slow selling non-core models, while some variants have been made less relevant with the introduction of new ones. However, are we seeing the start of BMW giving up on diesels in Malaysia?

The brand from Munich was once the most vocal proponent of diesel power in Malaysia, but the global trend has turned against oil burners, which have acquired a polluting reputation. Interestingly, some mass market SUV players have now brought diesel variants into Malaysia and the Honda CR-V is available in Thailand with an i-DTEC option for the first time.

Also, it’s interesting to see the contrasting strategies employed by BMW and its arch-rival from Stuttgart. If Munich is trimming the excess and sharpening its focus on core models, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is currently attempting to fill up every niche possible – this year, there will be two new models, a facelift, two special editions and 14 variants from the three-pointed star. It wasn’t too long ago that such expansion was associated with BMW, an illustration that the car business is cyclical.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Price increase somemore???? OMG

Whose fault is it ringgit is losing value???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Corona86 on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:30 pm

BMW is the favourite car of all the money game & direct sales people, all the stock market sharks and all the MLM conmen. Deswaii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
      • Ignorant on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:47 am

If you do not know what Direct Selling is, please save yourself the embarrassment and ignorance of grouping Direct Selling with money games, mlm, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • For the sake of chasing market share ….sacrifices made.

• Kunta Kinte Zakar Naik on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Good looking car indeed. I foresee BMW ,Volkswagen, Audi and Mercedes taking over the roads from underpowered Japanese cars,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Where is our 30% car price reduction??? BMW so sneaky. Even EEV savings also they sapu by increasing the 3 series prices prior to EEV savings announcement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 15
  • Scepter on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:17 pm

BMW giving up on Diesels is due to the local palm oil morons flip flopping on the B10 issue. B10 will kill modern high performance diesels.

Too bad, BMW diesels are one of the best engines in the world – great performance with superb fuel economy that will make Honda City users cry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • Get the euro 5. Euro 5 no B10. WTH.. drive a BMW still fill up the car with the old diesel?

• M3 is drop? Mana boleh? Want to drop also drop the Asian variant lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • amarjie on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:29 pm

M3, M4 & Z4 all axed..?

• Dropping 10 models, meanwhile MBM increasing to 17 models. That shows which the rich really prefers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:39 pm

This one I agree with U 100% john. Mercedes use 2 call their brand “The Best Investment on Wheels”.

• ZackyRulez on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm

This seemed more true now –
        “When you’re stuck in traffic, people look at the driver in the Mercedes as a person who has made it in society, and they will envy you.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Joke of the month, what there to look at ah pek? When stuck at traffic, the young Porsche driver will look and wish…ah pek move to the left please.

• Operation Manager on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:14 pm

BMW should focus & promote CKD 3series under EEV incentives to price the retail price below 200k… lower price to gain by the larger market share. See the arrogant MAZDA price so sky high & no rebate, even no extra rebate for 2016 last year made model, now you see how bad Mazda sales in 2017… !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Consumer on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Wtf i want my 520d back

• Redlight on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:23 pm

How come. Bank lelong??

• Consumer 1 on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:03 pm

No no i mean…i got a friend who used 520d until 200,000km the F10 btw….so yeah…since this article says about diesel variants disappearing…so yeah

• TipahTertipu on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:40 pm

big bosses are still buying bmws……but they will tell their employees that company not making profit…….while the bosses enjoy changing rides one after another…

• klguy on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Dun komplen. You don’t see the twists and turns until you are on top of them.

• Ollie on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:45 pm

The x range quite a goner… don’t really care

But can someone explain why Audi A3 has been dropped?? its not available on Audi Malaysia!

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:55 pm

BMW Malaysia is probably not making as much profits as they would have liked. Think Mercedes in general is making more desirable cars than BMW, and this is probably the reason why. Their base/beginner models like the A Class, CLA, GLA are bringing in younger buyers who then buy cars further up the ladder like the C Class. BMW’s base models (the FWD 2 Series AT/GT) are unexciting to look at and to drive. Only the RWD 1 Series hatchback is a worthy beginner BMW, but its so tight inside, and is rather unexciting to look at.

• Class is simply permanent on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Pre-owned price dumping BMW strategy backfired…
      Free service + repair going soon …..

• All I see is Ah Pek... on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:26 pm

and Ah Beng in Merc. Never see young drivers also.

Which class are you in?

• Henry on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Smart move. This is how a company stay lean and healthy.

• Krugmans on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Betui.. lean and healthy like Perodua.

2mil civil servants + P1 wayy too bloated.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Sad to see the 220i coupe go =(

• Tangent on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:38 pm

BMW pon kenna rendah diri….Proton sombong cam biasa.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:54 pm

lol bmw to exit malaysia market?

• Gaviny on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Personally , I have heard BMW diesels and they are the loudest, roughest , engines among all the other diesel makes especially the older units. Compared to Audi, Mercedes, range rover , BMW diesel is as loud as an agriculture engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • HEHEXD on Apr 26, 2017 at 12:58 am

U should know the engine is the most fuel saving compared to others

• Gaviny on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:25 pm

People buying BMW don’t care about fuel consumption , they want recognition and if you drive a lorry engined car , it will bring the wrong type of recognition

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 04, 2017 at 10:47 pm

i didnt know malaysia got audi diesel

• Gundam on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:46 pm

They’re turning into tan chong while Mercedes is turning into honda

• And they axed the F30 320i LCI too. Does that mean it’s going to be limited edition in secondhand market? (Finger crossed)…. Hahahahaha….

• Does this mean that one cannot order an M4 from official channels?