Introduce mobile AES cameras – road safety expert

A road safety expert has suggested that the government introduce mobile cameras to further improve the Automated Enforcement System (AES), which is part of the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS).

In a report by The Sun, Universiti Putra Malaysia Road Safety Research Centre head Law Teik Hua said the move would allow the authorities to catch errant motorists off guard should they drive above the speed limit or beat a red light.

“The effect of AWAS presently is somewhat limited, because motorists know first hand where these AES cameras are located, and will be more cautious when driving or riding pass them. So instead of using the current fixed AES cameras, maybe we can also introduce mobile ones,” he explained.

Law also wanted the police to be given a bigger role in AWAS and the Kejara demerit points system, saying that the current system is limited in its overall effect as demerit points are only given to those who are caught by AES cameras.

For now, those who are caught speeding and beating the red light by the 14 AES cameras installed nationwide, are subjected to the demerit points. Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai had previously stated that additional AES cameras will be installed at more crash hotspots nationwide.

In the first five days since AWAS was implemented, 13,096 summonses have been issued, of which 11,556 of them were for speeding. “I think this (huge number of offenders) is because many still do not understand what AWAS is and the consequences they face, or it is our culture of not being afraid (of the law). Which is exactly why these errant motorists should be punished,” Law said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:47 am

I suggest them to install AES at busy traffic light junctions. Most accidents happens there and far more dangerous to civilians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • I support your suggestion but will it capture the plates of motorcyclists?

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:46 pm

I guess that is where the police enforcement comes into play to check and punish these rascals. Check their driving riding licenses, roadtax, insurance number plate registration and the legality of their vehicles on our roads. This is basic stuffs, they can’t even do it right. Do police undercover or something instead they just sit air cond “ronda buta” in their Preve or Inspira running around with blue lights flashing around

• Carlover on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:14 pm

AES Vendor good money.

• Ismail on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:19 pm

I don’t agree with u
          .what do u mean Ronda buta ?
          If u see a police vehicle would u still break the law ?U try and see .

• Albert on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Only 14 AES cameras nationwide.
      So,1 state 1 camera only.
      So,what kind of enforcement to give demerit points ,is this?
      Each state needs at least 20 such cameras.I think all the taxpayers dollars redirected to help bailout Protong, Rm 1.5 Billion.
      There r thousands of graduates/experts who can do better planning /implementation of such systems.
      Just shambolic.It is just touch and go.

• intermilan on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:53 am

Beat red light but many kapcai use fake plate number.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:59 am

this no brain fler needs to be removed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Law Teik Hua is an educated idiot. Most people have to speed due to time constraints due to work and our increasingly heavy jam. Instead of speeders, they should be catching drunk drivers and road hogs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
      • MourSss on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:39 pm

You are more idiotic yourself. If there is time constraints, plan ur journey, go out early. As simple as that you lazy bump.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Ismail on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:20 pm

And reply msg while driving

• thepolygonal on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:17 am

All police cars should have a mobile AES. All police cars should take a round on federal highway at rush hour and catch the emergency lane users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • Without people using the emergency lanes the jam would be way worse. How about making proper roads first?

• paparadzi (Member) on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:24 am

“13,096 summonses have been issued, of which 11,556 of them were for speeding”.
    As usual, once again speeding has been vilified. Is all speeding dangerous? Some are but driving 100 km/h on a 90 km/h 6-lane highway most likely is not. Unfortunately for drivers speeding is a very quantifiable offense unlike reckless driving and such.
    I am very much for stricter law enforcement, but please find out the reason for the rule first rather than enforcing it blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • MourSss on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Yes, all speeding are dangerous where ever you drive. The speed limit is there for a reason. It might not be ur kancil, could be ur kancil’s tyre which is not suitable to drive fast. Think safety, drive according to speed limit. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • contarious on Apr 26, 2017 at 4:51 pm

The German autobahn unlimited speed highway has a relatively low accident rate even with cars doing in excess of 200kmph on that road. If a person drives a small car and it can’t be safely driven fast, DON’T DRIVE IT FAST. Its as if the ‘safety experts’ find a reasonable speed to drive on a particular road, then set the speed limit 20kmph slower than that speed.

• safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:27 am

he said it himself, with the aes, motorist be cautios and drive slowly where the aes is located, that show the aes is effective. now you only need to put more aes at accident prone location. the intend of this aes is not to penalise road user but to ensure safety of road user. in south korea, their highways are fitted with hundreds of speed cameras and there are also average speed cameras installed. the function of the average speed camera is, it will capture the vehicle at the beginning of the journey, and for some 10km away, it will recapture again that same vehicle and get their average speed. this is awesome since the driver dont have to rigidly maintain the speed limit but give some flexibility.

• K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:35 am

Beat red light? Everyday hundreds of motorbikes beat the red light. And got 4 polis man at the junction. All 4 polis man just look at the tens of motorbikes beating the lights.

IF PDRM cannot do anything, what about AES?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • MourSss on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:42 pm

I suggest you becom policeman then work out that yourself. Lets see how it goes from there, shall we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Michelle Foo on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:08 pm

I suggest Kinte become the minister since he is so smart… like how he criticise. He must be a bark type but no teeth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • The objective is to reduce accident instead of punishing the motorist. Therefore, motorist should know 1st hand the location of the cameras so that extra precaution can be taken to avoid accident.

• Black Dog on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Thieves also need to know which house not safe to rob?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • paparadzi (Member) on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Actually, yes. Thieves will most likely avoid houses with alarm, CCTV, security or well-lighted. Everything else equal, every thief will prefer the easier ones.

• Mfendi on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Agree. There should not be an element of surprise. In fact, their locations should be on every gps program in malaysia. So that motorist will keep the speed limit in check at those accident prone area.

• in b4 all wud-be lawbreakers will demand for this expert’s resignation…

• Johnson & Johnson on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:46 am

Harap pemandu kenderaan kerajaan mendapat pengecualian daripada dikenakan tindakan pemotongan mata demerit.
    Mereka sering terlibat dalam operasi, mengejar penjenayah, menghantar pesakit atau terpaksa bergegas dari beberapa lokasi pejabat dalam masa yang singkat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Susukotak on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:59 am

kesian.. tak tahu dah ada.baru kena last month. yg belum ada ialah handheld speedcam

• Pokémon? on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:04 pm

Government Suppose to educate the citizen. Not by playing ‘Catch All Yea Can’ game!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • If pipu choose to ignore and dun wanna follow the number on the round signboard, what can any Gov do?

• Redidiot on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:23 pm

What? You mean that kelas Undang2 bertulis is not enough? A legally licenced driver is suppose to know road rules and regulation.

What a nice way to shift responsibility! Thanks for promoting the infantlizing of Malaysian drivers.

• Dun blame Gov. Pipu can always gip bribe to prevent being ‘Catched’

• applegreen on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:21 pm

summon should be double after 12 midnight because motorists tend to break their speed record on that time

• Who is this idiot road safety expert

• Imperial college PhD in Road safety Enginnering. What bout u idiot?

• Prof Emeritus on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Throw your PhD away.. It’s useless for Malaysian drivers…

• I hope the expert’s journey from workplace to his home is lined with hundreds of AES so he gets a real good taste of his own medicine…what kind of idiot is this so call expert…I think he is part of the crony infestation in our current corrupt regime. Wanna get more dedak. Nonsesse suggestion to catch more errant motorist because of speeding..better check why we have stupid low speed limit on a 2 to 4 lane highway.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:24 pm

The concept of speed limits is flawed. Is the maximum safe speed the same when it’s raining heavily and the traffic is bad as when it’s bright and dry and there are very few cars on the road? Is the maximum safe speed of an S Class Merc with advanced safety tech the same as a 20 year old Kancil?

Who is the best person to judge the safe speed of your car driving under current driving conditions; you or some nerd in an office?

• Julian Lee on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:55 pm

pegi mampos la expert konon ni… dah ada aes dan kejara, now nak tambah mobile aes pulak, kepala hotak kau! menyusahkan rakyat jelata ajer…

• RicoT on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Replace speed bumps with speed cameras, road users want smooth road to drive on, not non-standardized speed bumps.

• Fabian on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:48 am

Increase traffic fine to equal 0.5% of car purchase value instead of fix price. People who can afford Ferrari should pay fine what match their affordability.

• troll on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:10 pm

If someone is driving the opposite way on a highway, does your AES detect negative speed?

• K C NYEW on Apr 27, 2017 at 12:56 am

I noticed the AES is not capturing heavy vehicles for their speed limit…why don’t the authority install those camera just for them?