Kia Sorento High Spec diesel in Malaysia – RM191,888

Naza Kia Malaysia has expanded the Sorento line-up in Malaysia with the introduction of a new diesel variant for the seven-seat SUV – the 2.2 HS diesel. The asking price here is RM191,888 on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty. You’ll also get four colours to choose from – Imperial Bronze, Snow White Pearl, Aurora Black Pearl and Silky Silver.

The 2.2 HS diesel utilises the same 2.2 litre CRDi turbodiesel as the 2.2 LS diesel, which provides 200 PS at 3,800 rpm and 441 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 2,750 rpm. Mated to it is a six-speed automatic, and drive is sent to all four wheels via a Dynamax all-wheel-drive system.

In terms of equipment, the 2.2 HS diesel is a step up from the 2.2 LS diesel (obviously) and closely matches the 2.4 HS petrol. Standard here are HID headlamps with an adaptive front lighting system are now standard (rather than halogen units on the 2.2 LS diesel). Other exterior kit include LED taillights, front fog lamps that come with a cornering lamp function, a roof rack, shark fin antenna and 19-inch alloy wheels (2.2 LS diesel comes with 17-inch units instead).

Inside, the 2.2 HS diesel is fitted with leather seats rather than fabric ones, with the front two being electrically adjustable (driver’s seat gets an additional lumbar function). The driver also benefits from an instrument cluster that features a 7-inch Supervision virtual colour speedometer and multi-info display, as well as alloy pedals.

There’s also a touchscreen head unit as seen on the petrol-powered 2.4 MS and 2.4 HS, which comes with Bluetooth connectivity, the usual array of inputs (minus a CD player), and six speakers. For added convenience, access to the boot can be accomplished with the 2.2 HS diesel’s powered tailgate.

The safety package remains unchanged here, with six airbags, electronic stability control (ESC), vehicle stability management (VSM), ABS with EBD and brake assist, a tyre pressure monitoring system and ISOFIX child seat anchors all being standard. For further information and specifications of the new Sorento 2.2 CRDi HS, head on over to CarBase.my

GALLERY: Kia Sorento 2.2 CRDi LS

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lee Kum Kee on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Sorento RM191k, CX9 RM320k or Fortuner 188k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:22 pm

15 years ago, the Koreans knew their place in Malaysia. For example, they priced their junk Kia Spectra at RM60k.

Now, they have gotten arrogant. They are pricing more than the Japs whilst

1) Quality is lacking
      2) SC still lembap
      3) RV still teruk

The Koreans have become arrogant like Samsung handphone. This is why Samsung is losing market share heavily to Huawei and Xiaomi.

Now you know why Korean car sales are dying. Sales are so bad. This is why the Sorento failed the last time. There were hardly any sales at all. You hardly can see any old Sorentos also on the road.

Anyway, those who want to buy this Sorento, just wait 1 year and buy it for RM90k half price.

My advice to Koreans, you guys are getting too arrogant. 7 seater nissan x trail can now get for RM130k. Although lower spec but the price still holds after 2 to 3 years. Use maximum for 3 years also, still can sell RM99k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 67
      • tokmoh. on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Ekceli Samsung doing very well.

S8 sales now +30% vs S7 last year during same period.

The problem with Kia and Hyundai in Msia is more to do with distributors lacking commitment. They only care about sales, but after sales lacking badly.

Seriously, Kia/Hyundai principal should fire Naza and Sime Darby, and take control themselves or find more passionate dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • BeemerFreak on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Nissan X trail can’t seat 7 unless you put the last 2 on the roof. Those 2 seats at the rear are smaller than a 911s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
        • Vtecfan on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:03 pm

BRV seat 7 better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
          • LimPek on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Honda car not safe n very weak when impact from behind.
            BRV’s rear side very soft like Taofu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:54 pm

you cant judge the “brand” based on pass model experience. if that is how u think, then nissan will alway be a dutsun honda will still be a motorcub and lamborghini is still a tractor. test drive the car first, if you are too lazy to go to the showroom to test, the. read overseas review about this car. in australia and us, sorento is one of the best mid size suv in the market. it also score the highest safety rating ever at present time beating volvo xc90 and audi a7. now that is some quality if you ask me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • Guys…bear in mind.. a West Phrase
          No BRAND, NO REPUTATION!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
        • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:52 am

Exactly bro. Some people commenting here with biased mindset and not even bother to compare apple with apple. Kia Sorento has great features and its also cheaper than its rivals

• Elchino on Oct 26, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Just go to Starling Mall today (25Oct) & tey r offering a Sorento Crdi at a discount of $16,000!

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:50 am

Exactly. Kia Sorento much more value and cheaper without compromising the safety & features of a car should be!

• Maria on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Yeah the ultimate cramp 3rd row seat santa fe alternative has arrive…well done kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Accord Is Here on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:41 pm

Good luck to u… Kia

• Gaviny on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:53 pm

Pricey , but 440NM , your balik kampung will.be a breeze , silently floating along at 1500rpms

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • ducatiscrambler on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:40 pm

You call that bad consumption habit, to buy a car just to impress people in your kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • iamnotkinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:06 pm

Balik kampung tunjuk kaya. Lepas raya kena tarik keta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:05 pm

he is not trying to show off la dude, what he meant is with full occupancy and luggage this car can still lug all the load with its huge torque making driving this 2 tonne behemouth a breeze

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
    • Kona12 on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Mitsubishi Outlander quieter at 1500rpms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Seoul on Jan 21, 2018 at 7:17 am

And weaker too. Take a look at its power hp and torque curve. At 1500rpm of NA engine you probably get less than 100nm /80hp….as compared to 2.2 turbo diesel of sorento where the 443nm is available at 1750rpm….so at the low rpm the sorento has 4 times more pulling power than that of outlander.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:55 am

Actually Kia Sorento not too pricey compared to its rivals like the Fortuner or Tucson. Safety features of Sorento is amazing!

• Try again on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:08 pm

If this has the same interior as the high spec petrol sorento, the image of the infotainment system is a bit misleading. And the aftermarket system is just cheap and infuriating to use.

The navigation graphic is no where near the one shown in the picture. Also if you are buying this for the digital instrument cluster. Don’t bother. There’s no integration between it and the rest of the vehicle. Playing any music will just say USB.

• marieta on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:12 pm

You got it right on the ICE system…the UVO kia use is not supported here, it’s not even supported in Singapore.

• Carlover on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:12 pm

If people can look past the badge, this is the best value SUV in Malaysia. In the US and in UK, the high spec Sorento is selling at Lexus RX and Land Rover Discovery Sport prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • I likey the Audi interior kuality^^

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:57 am

Exactly. I agreed. The best Mid-size SUV in its class! Good job Kia! I hope the Sorento will get a lot of positive feedbacks from Malaysians

• Kicap cap Tamin on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Nice spec and cheaper than top spec Fortuner. But just heard about trouble with aftersales and parts availability for these new Kias.

Despite the vastly improved cars, it would be a massive shame if the aftersales don’t improve.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:58 am

Aftersales now ok la. Dont hear or believe what people said. Need to own the Sorento first then experience it yourself. Im glad that my father bought the car. Such a family car!

• marieta on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Right stuff but wrong price = never gonna sell…The only people will buy is who want to look ‘difference’ than the others

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 11:59 am

What do u mean by wrong price? Do u know that Kia Sorento is the cheapest SUV compared to any of its rival?

• RM192K?? what a joke, hope can see you increase your sales after this, sales report will told us the story.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:00 pm

At rm190 k is still consider ok. Look at its rival price? Way expensive than this Sorento!

• Ben Yap on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:52 pm

kia cars are getting more and more ridiculously expensive.

i would not pay so much for korean cars.

Even UMW is not doing well coz their toyotas are overpriced and overtaken by Honda.

If kia wants to follow suit, you will be the next to be axe in the malaysian market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Why buy new?

Get a 12 month old unit. You will be surprised by the low prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Are u crazy? Honda is not even cheap! Honda and Mazda sell expensive cars but lack of features. Sorento has it all to be the best in its class bro

• Seoul on Jan 21, 2018 at 7:24 am

It has the same level of NVH as a X5 bmw. Meaning the car is heavily insulated and padded just like the germans. The 2.2crdi producing 200ps/443nm is in the same power range as the bmw X5 25d or the GLE 250d. KIA is made in korea but remember their top design and engineering are from germany. This is the most briliant move to produce high quality car at reasonable price. Just like what apple does. Designed in california made in china.

• hukaka on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Why not including all round view camera since the price update?

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:02 pm

The Kia Sorento does have a rear view camera la bro. Its all in the package

• Hagar on Mar 05, 2018 at 10:35 am

Bro people talking about All Round View, not rear view alone. Rear view camera is considered basic nowadays.

• safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:29 pm

2016/2017 Kia Sorento rated highest safety ANCAP score in Australia, the score point is higher than the latest Audi Q7 and Volvo XC90. Talking about built quality. The Korean has come long way, now even better ever since Peter Schreyer and BMW M division chief albert biermann take the helm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:04 pm

U got me at the quality bro. And Kia recently won the best global brands award for 2017 that should tell something!

• Holofanboi on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Sigh… kia oh kia why must you guys put such a suicidal pricing. You guys deserve to fail if there are no buyers for your vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • MalaysiaDriver on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Obviously the product manager doesnt know his product strength and weakness as well as its position in the local market.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:06 pm

You should do your research first. For rm190 with all these features Kia Sorento is considered as value for money. Their rivals are much more expensive but lack of features u know?

• Hagar on Mar 05, 2018 at 10:37 am

Bro, you kept saying rivals, so when come to pricing it is all in relativity. Could you please elaborate which model are you comparing to.

• autobahn on Jul 22, 2018 at 2:44 pm

The GLE 250D is D segment SUV with 2.2liter diesel 205ps/500nm between 1.6krpm to 1.8krpm. Price at rm480k. The BMW X5 25D not sold in msia, but have the same power range with 2.0diesel too. IF it is sold here, most probably the same price range with the GLE 250d. Now the 2.2 CRDI sorento is 200ps 443nm between 1.7k rpm to 3.8k rpm which means it has broader power range than the GLE 250d. Share about the same power too. With Safety and NVH comfort the same with the GLE. At less than RM200k.

• still got same stuff as HS petrol? come on NazaKia, bring panoramic roof, ice cube head & fog lamps & heated/ventilated front seats.

• Datuk on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:55 pm

My daily-driven ride is the Toyota Harrier Premium-L, with a Kia Forte SX as the occasional ride. I could share that the Kia since Peter Schreyer joined, was a different Company compared to the no-design-direction-and-cheap-as-heck days. My Kia has been as reliable as the Toyota, and Toyota is one heck of a reliable ride. I have been looking to add a diesel-powered (for that additional grunt!) SUV and the options prior to this were only Ford Everest 2.2 (the interior was really bare), Toyota Fortuner (again, specs were lower than the SRZ), and Isuzu MU-X TypeS (workhorse dressed slightly better). The moment Kia announced that the Sorento CDRI now came in High-Spec, I headed to the showroom straightaway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Why would u pay for an expensive car with lack of everything? Get the Sorento already!

• Elchino on Feb 27, 2018 at 11:48 am

You buy the HS now and a few months down the road, they bring in the higher specs GT line Sorento with 8 speed & your HS model will depreciate by 50%

• Elchino on Mar 05, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Anyone knows when d new 2018 Sorento GT line be made available over here

• Nur Farraliza binti Naserrudin on Mar 08, 2019 at 12:50 pm

I’ve driven all-new Kia Sorento Diesel at Jeju this week. What i like is the engine, when we brake to stop after the driving, the engine goes quiet (as if resting) and when hit accelerator the engine automatically running again so that’s a plus point. But being a big car, i feel the seat compartment is not spacious. The car uses foot brake instead of hand brake.