Kia Sportage GT CRDi diesel now in Malaysia, RM160k

As promised, Naza Kia Malaysia (NKM) has introduced a diesel variant of the Sportage SUV. The new Kia Sportage 2.0 AWD GT CRDi joins the GT Line and KX Line 2.0 litre Nu MPI petrol versions that have been available since mid 2016.

The two existing petrol variants are front-wheel driven, so the new diesel is the sole “Dynamax AWD” option in the local range. With all-wheel drive and in sporty GT Line trim, the 2.0 AWD GT CRDi is in fact the highest spec combo available for the Sportage QL, even in Europe.

UPDATE: Live gallery of the Sportage 2.0 AWD GT CRDi added

Our Sportage CRDi is powered by a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine in the highest available state of tune, which is 185 PS and 400 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 2,750 rpm (there’s also a 134 hp/373 Nm version in Europe). The oil burner is mated to a six-speed conventional automatic gearbox.

The CRDi should be significantly livelier to drive than its petrol sibling, which pushes out 155 PS and 192 Nm at 4,000 rpm. Yes, the diesel has more than double the amount of torque. NKM says that the range is close to 1,000 km on a full tank, while Kia’s official claimed combined fuel consumption is 6.5 litres per 100 km (15.4 km/l).

This top spec Sportage comes with a long list of kit. Standard equipment include HID headlamps, LED DRLs/”ice cube” fog lamps/rear lamps, 19-inch rims with 245/45 tyres, Supervision 4.2-inch TFT colour LCD meter, electrochromic rear view mirror, reverse camera, dual-zone auto air con, leather seats and electric front seats with electric lumbar for the driver.

Also in are keyless entry and push start, a flat bottomed steering wheel with paddle shifters, Drive Mode Select (Eco, Normal, Sport), front/rear parking sensors, cruise control, electronic parking brake with auto hold and a tyre pressure monitoring system. Six airbags and ESC are standard on this Euro NCAP five-star rated model.

Available in Cherry Black, Mercury Blue, Fiery Red, Snow White Pearl and Mineral Silver, the Sportage 2.0L AWD GT CRDi is priced at RM159,888 on the road including insurance. As usual, the NKM warranty is five years with unlimited mileage. For detailed specs and to compare the Sportage’s vital stats against its rivals, head to CarBase.my.

The oil burning Sportage joins the Mazda CX-5 SkyActiv-D (launched in July 2016) in offering a diesel option. The Hyundai Tucson will soon be available with the Korean group’s 2.0L CRDi engine as well. In Thailand, the new Honda CR-V is officially available with an i-DTEC diesel option for the first time. Should Honda Malaysia follow suit with the upcoming CR-V?

GALLERY: Kia Sportage 2.0 AWD GT CRDi

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Naim jerantut on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:29 pm

2017 Kia Sorento 2.2CRDi RM138,388 sahaja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Tucson on Apr 25, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Will it be in the hyundai tucson as well?

• Tricycle on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Diesel, AWD, Electronic brake parking, and long list of features. The best in its range.

Just that the exterior design, Tucson looks better in some way. Can’t wait to see if the CRdi Tucson will be offered as AWD and have these many features..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:09 pm

15 years ago, the Koreans knew their place in Malaysia. For example, they priced their junk Kia Spectra at RM60k.

Now, they have gotten arrogant. They are pricing more than the Japs whilst

1) Quality is lacking
      2) SC still lembap
      3) RV still teruk

The Koreans have become arrogant like Samsung handphone. This is why Samsung is losing market shary heavily to Huawei and Xiaomi.

Now you know why Korean car sales are dying. Sales are so bad. Anyway, those who want to buy this Sportage, just wait 1 year and buy it for RM80k half price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 48
      • W204 C63 AMG on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:48 pm

What bull are you talking about? Samsung market share and average selling price has been increasing. Samsung just reported that the S8 is the best selling phone in it’s history even after the Note 7 fiasco. The chinese makers are grabbing HTC, LG and Sony’s shares. It was Apple that is doing bad this year, it reported its first decrease in shipment volumes in 2016 for the first time in 10 years, and it’s average selling price is also falling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
      • SephiaJane on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:24 pm

15 years ago, Proton Waja was on par with Kia Spectra. Power windows r now OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Mazdarati on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Same $$. Rather buy CX-5 2.2Diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:58 pm

the mazda is small, less power and japanese style. if you like european layout the its either the germans or kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Mazda is well-known for their overpriced car but lack of features. I dont know why people still cant see it lol. Kia Sportage > CX5

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Buy a 12 month old unit. You will see great value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Sportage GT is better than any of its rivals because of the features, good price as well.

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Sad. Missing features as usual

Apple carplay : android auto are missing.
    Lane departure and blind spot warning kissing
    City brake missing

• Ootai on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Resale value of diesel motor vehicles in mesia is still discouraging. So, ask for kaw kaw discount.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:23 pm

You cant have everything bro. No such thing as that. Sportage is a powerful car and no compromise on its safety. What else do u want?

• Maria on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:32 pm

Dear Danny, does it come with smart power tailgate like his big brother Sorento?

• Seems that diesel isn’t as clean as it is made out to be… bad for or lungs. European countries are beginning to ban them from their cities… best to avoid them.

• haha, you hardly see any RM 120K sportage on the road after launching for a year.

With RM 160K, they can keep it on the stock yard and wait for clearance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:02 pm

most of malaysian rather enjoy driving the low powered crv or cx5.. they never know how fun it is to drive a high powered car as daily drive.. 400nm 185hp… 1000km mileage full tank… i rather drive this car than the japs just for the sake of resale value.. but suffer the entire tenure with the slow jap car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • The stiq on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:16 pm

So did you buy one or at least test drive one?

• I think 2.0 CRDi engine is overkill. 1.6l turbo is sufficient, like those in coming elantra sport

• safety 1st on Aug 09, 2017 at 11:42 am

actually i bought 3. what is your point? that i talked baseless?

• R owner on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:51 am

i have a 450bhp sedan in my garage, but when when i’m outing with my family i’m enjoy driving my CRV.. so what ??? safety 1st ?? safety my shit !!!!

• safety 1st on Aug 09, 2017 at 11:46 am

R owner, you can keep your 450hp sedan at home…its not suitable for running errands…in fact in malaysia there is no place for you to enjoy the power, our roads are horrible and 90% of cars on the roads are low powered myvis hondas or toyotas making the average speed between 50kmh to 80kmh only. so your family outing car is crv and you are happy with the 200nm pulling power, i bet you’d be happier to drive this 400nm sportage.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:29 pm

I’d do the same too bro. Sportage GT is killing it!

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Lol its already 2017 and people still have this kind of mindset? Why buy the lack of spec cars like HRV or CX5 when u have a better equipped car like Sportage?

• kelvin yam on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:07 pm

can it run on B10 diesel?

• thepolygonal on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:01 am

Forget B10, most probably B20 in a few years when they want to push up the sawit price. Go the diesel route at your own peril. This RM160k is just above most people’s budget who are looking for these kind of cars. Sad…

• marieta on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:37 pm

No doubt it’s a pocket monster, but tempting as it, let’s not forget Kia position as a most underrated brand in this bolehland and Naza is too greedy pricing it.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Agree. Kia cars are mostly underrated but highly appreciated in Europe.

• Ben Yap on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:49 pm

kia cars are getting more and more ridiculously expensive.

• eddiekee on Apr 27, 2017 at 10:22 am

please don’t bash Kia. other brands also getting ridiculously expensive. Please give examples what brand is considered cheap in Malaysia (please leave out local cars)

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Talking nonsense. Do u know that Sportage rival have less spec, safety but sell much expensive?

• hazamiey on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Bring in turbo petrol please.

• applegreen on Apr 26, 2017 at 2:30 pm

turbodiesel is good, but this sportage is heavy, thats why its 0-100 sprint only 9.6sec. With this figure I expect the next gen cx-5 is smoother and better buy

• kia owner & fan on Sep 14, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Has been enjoying my drive with (204PS over 1300kg) 1.6 T-GDI koup for 2 years. The car is great, stable road handling and zooming down highway with other big brands at ease. 5 years unlimited warranty, much cheaper than Jap at same spec, resale value should be better than hybrid cars and most importantly you get to enjoy your drive everyday. Same like sleeping on a comfortable expensive mattress there will always be someone thinking stupid to spend so much money on a mattress (also no resale value after use). Kia is definitely doing well.

• Rauf h on Nov 14, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Exactly. Besides, its our own money as well. If i like the car, buy the car, i have my own reasons why i wanted to buy it. Other people should respect that. Kia Sportage have better quality compared to Audi Q7 in Australia!