Yet another child dies in road accident in Malaysia – parents, secure your kids with seat belts, child seats

A four-vehicle accident on the North-South Expressway near the Seremban rest area yesterday has left a five-year-old dead and three others seriously injured, reported Bernama. According to Negeri Sembilan traffic staff officer ASP Mohd Hafidzal Zainal Abidin, the boy, identified as Muhammad Wafiq Fitri Walilah, died on the spot after being thrown out of the rear seat of a Honda BR-V.

Mohd Hafizal added that Muhammad Wafiq’s father Walilah Karim, mother Sri Yulianty Mukhtaruddin and two-year-old sister Puteri Wafiqah Walilah – who was sitting on her mother’s lap – were also seriously injured. “Initial investigations revealed that the accident occurred when a bus that was heading to Nilai from Seremban skidded and hit the rear of a Honda MPV which was moving slowly because of heavy traffic.

“A Toyota MPV which was earlier in front of the bus diverted into the left lane but was hit in the rear by a car on the left lane,” he said, adding that the occupants in the other vehicles were not injured, and that the bus driver has been detained for further investigations.

This unfortunate incident is yet another reminder for parents to keep their children secured properly in their vehicles. Under no condition should a child ever be left unsecured in a moving vehicle. In 2015, we reported on a similar accident that occurred in Florida, in which the rear end of a Hyundai Sonata was also almost completely obliterated in a three-car pileup.

Unlike the recent tragedy, however, the two children sitting at the rear – one aged 16 months, the other four years old – survived the collision with “what appear to be minor abrasions.” That’s because their mother secured both children using child safety seats, a move which undoubtedly saved their lives.

We cannot stress enough that while the use of child seats does not guarantee a child’s survival (particularly in serious accidents like this), it drastically reduced the forces acted upon the children in the incident in Florida – which in that instance was strong enough to break the 16-month-old’s child seat – than if they were left completely unsecured.

Kids who weigh under 25 kg (weight is a more accurate measure than age) must be placed in a child seat (Group 0+, 1 and 2), and those under 36 kg should be secured with seat belts, together with either a booster seat or booster cushion (Group 3). These are absolute necessities, not optional.

Please share for public information

Posted by Richardt Piek on Sunday, 14 December 2014

More than that, it’s absolutely vital that they be seated in the back, and not at the front. This is to position your kids away from the front airbags in case an accident happens. You should only ever place a child seat or booster seat in the front if your car has a front passenger airbag off switch (not many cars do) – and even then, only as a last resort.

And of course, you should never hold your child on your lap when sitting in front. Apart from the fact that your arms are not strong enough to restrain your child in the event of a collision, you would also be subjecting them to the full force of the airbag, potentially causing a broken neck and a fractured skull, as well as facial injuries on yourself – as the video above shows.

An airbag deploys extremely rapidly, using controlled explosives, inflicting considerable impact on the front passenger if he or she is not secured properly. This can be dangerous to adults who are unfastened, let alone small children, who can be flung backwards violently by an inflating airbag.

Parents, readers, please share this to avoid such horrific tragedies from happening again.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• wahedenator on Apr 25, 2017 at 2:58 pm

That kind of impact will claim death for rear passenger. Doesn’t matter adult or child, seat belt or not, child seat or not!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 178 Thumb down 50
    • kiasu on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:15 pm

You never know mate…just check on the article’s link of similar accident happened in Florida.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
      • Kukubird on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Try to control your kukubird and not have so many kids if you cannot afford to buy car seat for their safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 133
        • jinggo on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Sila simpan kebodohan kamu itu utk anak cucu kamu..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 23
          • Operation Manager on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Want a real safe car, wise choise affordable public German made VW, remember the accident of MYVI cramped to 1/2 size just by a VW Polo Sedan…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 46
          • Koko Ohwai on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:19 pm

So BRV is not that safe of a car. Jepunis overlord not that good after all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 14
          • Frederick Ohwai on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:34 pm

I hope all Proton cars got ISOFIX as compulsory.

• K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Although parents fault but pdrm still fast asleep. Cabinet also tidur instead of making new laws to ensure enforcement.

now every driver whatapping. polis tidur. AES also tidur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 40
      • Cannot compare with Florida accident coz it’s not as severe as the brv above which was hit by a bus….Just look at the pictures in the link provided above for the Florida accident. Was the bus driver using cell phone or high on drugs?

• Asean NCAP 5-star car lembut, cars nowadays getting softer regardless of brands.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
      • lilytan on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:57 pm

AES Kejara terbest!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • AhmadTanChengLockbinlardin on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:20 pm

why the car was not pushed forward when collided? honda BRV invented a rear seats crumple zones ????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • barangzakirnaik on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:26 pm

Japanese cars are just recycled milo tins. Same as Korean. Asean NCAP is a farce. Not regulated and controlled by safety bodies and authorities, unlike Euro NCAP, which is the best standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 35
          • karam singh on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Best standard, IIHS
            Euro NCAP still not enough

• zakirturun on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Proton also Asean NCAP so you’re saying they are also recycled milo tins?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • piper93 on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Cars are not getting ‘softer’ they’re just engineered to have crumple zones to divert the force of the impact throughout the chassis of the car instead of your body. Its flawed to think that cars with hard steel that don’t give is safer considering in an impact, your body will be the one taking all the force. So yes, cars nowadays are lembut but for a good reason.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
        • karam singh on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:38 pm

pity that guy, he never studied physic.

• TheDean on Apr 26, 2017 at 7:26 am

I beg yo differ. Crumple zones are mainly at the FRONT of the vehicle, not the back and especially not when there are 3 rows of seats like the brv. The rear end of these cars/mpvs are actually strengthened to guard the rear passengers.

• AngPow on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:49 am

yes its true lembut is good…but too lembut is disaster…go back and study

• Crumple zone from the from not from the back. You want a car hit you from behind and all your passengers be part of the crumple zone???!

• The bus is higher and missed the rear bumper and floorpan which are supposed to absorb impact of rear collision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Proton, kia, and hyundai used hot stamping, europe too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
        • Y han on Apr 26, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Do understand…4+2 seat (this just hitting market sales. Not safe for full seater) Vs fully 7 seat (adult size)..

• bvc100 on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:16 pm

Try going into youtube and look at older vehicles’ safety level before spouting nonsense.
        Thanks.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:06 am

u know that all NCAP rating has limit.. 0-5 star oni apply mostly when the car collide something similar or less in mass plus the speed of impact. The bigger the mass hit the severe the impact. In this case a bus versus mini SUV.

• NCAP and ANCAP are the equivalent of SPM or STPM or any examinations out there. The criteria are made available so that vehicle manufacturers just design and focus their products to ‘pass’ the exams. The more stars the more expensive their products would be. But we as the consumers have little to choose from. You’ll notice the executives for the manufacturers drive safer cars. Crumple zone tech was introduced to save cost but this case along with others, this zone have proven to be deadly. My condolences to the family, my heart as a fellow Malaysian is with you. I was on the same road same day, different time. That very day also, I observed buses cutting in and out, cars driven by mad people, hoggers still doing 80, meddling with hp… Car manufacturers selling their cars with the slogan ‘most comfortable ride, journey enjoyed bla3’ but whenever jams here in Malaysia, people became impatient. I urge fellow Malaysian to enjoy driving, take your time and plan your travel. Peace yo.

• Benjamin on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:35 pm

It’s not about how bad the impact is or whether the seat will work or not. When somebody buys health insurance, they are not hoping to get cancer, but they buy it anyway because it’s better to have it than to not. And sure, it won’t guarantee you will survive the cancer, but it will definitely improve your odds. Same thing with child seats and seat belts. The only difference is, seat belts come free with the car and child seats are much cheaper than health insurance.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • Donno on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:39 pm

There is no way anyone could survive stitting in the rear seat of the BR-V being slammed from behind with a huge express bus. Nearly all of the rear of the BR-V is crushed by the express bus up till the B-Pillar. Not the best example to avocate the use of seatbelts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 6
      • Professor on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:30 pm

What i don’t understand is why the whole car don’t move forward instead of rear being crushed?

• K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:39 pm

This is definitely parent’s fault. Typical Malaysians, they will spend a lot of money on cars but safety and service they will never do.

It is high time all this putting baby on lap should stop. This is typical kampung attitude.

In Australia, people with kids are so scared not to go into a car that has no child seat. My relatives in Australia refused to let me into the car with no child seat. The law is so strict.

Another issue with Malaysia is cramming about 8 passengers into a car. This also in other countries, people abide strictly.

Malaysians must change their attitude. No money also, they will do anything to bergaya and drive expensive car. Importants things like servicing and child seats they never bother.

PDRM also must buck up. They also, all tidur. Back safety belts also never enforce. All maaf maaf. If not maaf maaf, they makan duit kopi and all settle.

Go see in other countries, even no back seat belt, terus masuk jail. no questions about it. Time for PDRM also to enforce the law. Enough of duit kopi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 87
      • Nancy Liu on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Mr, find a life if you got nothing you can contribute to the society.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 46
        • Frederick Ahmad on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Sis, barking is also a kind of contribution

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
          • Contribution to noise pollution?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
          • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:56 pm

that is not sis, that is mr oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:35 pm

jemput tidur bang. Buat apa bangun?

• Frederick Ahmad on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Bark but no teeth is hopeless too. Bro, dont bark for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
          • Frederick Ohwai on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:31 pm

I hope all our cars got ISOFIX

• john ohwai nancy on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:47 pm

car seat saves lives!

• Isn’t he contributing by giving awareness to the society about our corrupted country? There’s nothing wrong in his comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • No. Hes just being an a hole, as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:34 pm

dont bother about john. he is a paid cybertrooper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Awareness is good but most of his so called “contribution” are baseless and with wrong fact. So what do you call him? Sampah.

• Koko Ohwai on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:18 pm

I hope prices of car seats come down in price

• ur still seating on baby seat bro? considering the most country’s require child ageof 12 years and below must sit in the rear and on a baby seat, i must say, ur comment is very very mature for a 12 year old. just kidding.

anyway, you’re F right.our enforcers here mostly target speeding, talking on the phone while driving, safety belt and driving license only. today’s parents, speechless. you would think with all the time taken into surfing social medias, they would at least know the very basics of road safety. I too still see parents with child on their lap sitting in the front seat.

• barangzakirnaik on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:32 pm

“My relative in Australia refused to let me into the car with no child seat” – K Kinte

So Kunta, you are still a child? No wonder la your comments so childish!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • 4G63T DSM on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Perhaps so. But wont anything that would even in the very least increase survivability be worth a try? It does say the 5 year old was thrown from the car.

• Concern citizen on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:51 pm

I think the child will survive with child seat even on the rear seat. Since child seat is design to wrap the whole body of the child inside the seat rather than strapping onto the seat

• You baca comment banyan bash BRV. It’s a cheap car must be poring somewhere. But did you know that NCAP does not test rear collision. So your mahal X5, Q7 and all 5 star rating does not include testing from rear. Keep that in mind.

• Thank you guys for coming up with the reminder, again and again. Apparently some (most perhaps) parents are still ignorant and continue to take their child safety lightly.

We still hear a child sitting on his or her parent’s lap during accident and this is totally unacceptable. Relevant authorities should take serious action on the parents. This has got to stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • child on driver's lap on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Many parents are still very ignorant. In their mindset, when they’re in the car, it means safe even without seat belts and child seat.

Some can even have their toddler/kid on the driver’s lap. While mostly standing in the middle between front seats, child standing on the front passenger’s floor, heads out from the sunroof and etc.

When nasi dah jadi bubur, then start blaming others for their stupidity and arrogance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • John Doe on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Yes rear seatbelt is important. But this accident the rear seatbelt would’t help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • safety 1st on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:18 pm

and to be fair when comparing a tragedy in florida, the sonata is a euro ncap 5 star rating and marketed to us n Europe, unlike the BRV which is sold only in third world countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • NCAP has no rear crash rating. They only test for whiplash. So don’t bash BRV only SUV has had terrible crash effect from rear collision.

• Having a car seat with that kind of accident still koyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • BR-V a milo tin?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
  • It is always buses and lorries killing innocent victims.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • Ah Kow on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:18 pm

7 airbags pun tak boleh selamat. Gip you 20 airbags also useless. The bus is at fault

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • Benjamin on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:26 pm

It doesnt matter if you think the seatbelts or the childseats would have saved the child or not. That’s not the point here. The issue here is mentality. Our safety in cars should be taken seriously. Seatbelts and child seats should become habitual when we get into our cars, that includes seatbelts in the back too. Our road accident fatality rate is one of the highest in the region and it’s only going to get higher every year with more and more cars flooding on to the roads. Say whatever you want about how ineffective a childseat would have been in this situation. I’m willing to bet that the parents will go on wondering for the remainder of their lives if a childseat would’ve saved their son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • pojie on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:05 pm

Well said bro. I’m also surprised at the number of comments about how the authorities are not doing the enforcement of seat belts and child seat usage. How can we expect other people to ensure our own safety and the safety of our family members?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Henry on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:29 pm

OMG!

• HAHAHAHAHA!!!MILO Tin, buy a SUV which based on the chassis of Honda Brio. No choice lah. U want to act rich but dun have money. This is the result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 52
  • fardly on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:51 pm

this kind of accident is not cause from seat belt, sometime accident throw out people also can save. but you can see this Honda brv totally pack at the back. for me car must have a good protection with use of safety belt and airbag. not just cut cost to make cheap and all people can buy end up blame people cause not use seat belt like this accident. Hello see the car 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • I think the car industry should really think of the safety of their clients. Two examples given but the car safety features offered in the States are totally different leagues all together. Most vehicles available here in Malaysia may cannot enter the market there. On the other hand, it’s easy to blame big vehicles, but my observation is most Malaysian can’t follow the basic rules on the highway. Most simply doing 80-90km/hour on the middle lane causing others to overtake from left. Others changing lane suka hati style. If the authorities want to saman the speeders, please look into the road hoggers as well. Speeders just wanna overtake to reach the destinations fast. Hoggers,…….. well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • An NCAP-passed with 5 star rating vehicle lost it’s rear half after a bus hit it’s rear in a traffic jam?

With all due respect to the unfortunate family, looking at the wreckage, I don’t think having rear passengers safely tucked in with safety belts would have helped at all.

That’s the car that I envied since it’s release.

I think it’s time that the ministry of transport should re-assess the safety standard requirement for brand new vehicles. I mean, just look at Bezza n the Accordana, vehicle stability control should be made as a standard feature accross all vehicles and variants. you will only get the feature in a premium Bezza as well as Perdana.
    Toyota Hilux Vigo in other countries like Brunei have them as a standard feature! Our Malaysian Hilux Vigo mana ada?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:06 pm

This car has VSC.

But in this case, the problem is the shell is lembut like tisu paper.

If use hot pressed steels like in Proton, Volvo, and if buckled up, then got chance to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • But but but, bashers says HPF is shiok sendri wor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • tokmoh. on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:25 am

HPF not syok sendiri, but Campro + Punch CVT is.

Proton would be in so much better shape if they use Toyota powertrain offered by Perodua. Then only proton also tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je.

• bashee on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:10 am

Volvo no, Proton yes

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Dear God, why must children ultimately suffer for the follies of adults? Some will say it’s “fated / takdir” but there is also another saying, “God will help those who help themselves”. Don’t be a passive observer only, be proactive in taking safety steps to ensure the safety of your loved ones.

• fafau80 on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:57 pm

The blame should be on the bus. Still am agreed with a must for child seat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • There is nobody say the child did not wear seat bell, the police officer only mention he had been thrown out from the car…
    Please wear seat bell….

• Dude, a child being thrown out of a vehicle is a concrete evidence proving safety “bell” was not fastened.
      You would be surprised how little impact is required for a non-fastened child get thrown out of a vehicle.
      But you’re right, always wear safety “bell” so that mice know you’re coming.

• fafau80 on Apr 25, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Also to add, the installation of childseat. Is it proper ? Is it have ISOFIX ? I bet 80% who is commenting here didn’t know the jargon. How to fasten/tighten the belt and child seat etc. Go to youtube and learn.

• ismail saad on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:03 pm

aku dah kata kereta jepun macamana pun mesti tin milo..

beli la kereta yang mempunyai ciri keselamatan yang tinggi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • My jepun car have knee and side airbag what. Not to mention auto levelling headlamp, esc, ebd, tcs, isofix and the list goes on…

I dont see any problem with jepun made cars. Its the driver mate.

• Absolute Rider on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Your Japanese car doesn’t come with HPF except the current 10th gen. Civic, Toyota 4th gen prius which can be found in Malaysia.

Things will change in 2017 and beyond, more models from Honda and Toyota will come with HPF just like Proton!

• Not all japanese car are Milo tin..subaru one is the best car in term of safety..no 1 in the world is Volvo even though has been bought by geely

• honduh on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:07 pm

How many airbags does subaru vx get……kia picanto even have 6 airbags fyi.

• Abram m1 kot….

• Leafable on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Volvo will survive this. Also if the child in a child seat.

• 5stars for frontal test only on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Seatbelts are rather useless when the car was squeezed into two third the size. This is the problem when the focus was only to pass frontal test with 5stars. Side and rear tests are totally ignored.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • No, the problem is the bloody bus driver and bus drivers attitudes in general when driving on highways. They drive like they are driving a motorbike. Same with lorry drivers.

• camtakpro on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Nothing to do with child seat. This is a case where the safety ratings need to be updated to consider rear-ward collision. Most cars, especially MPV, probably have zero-star for rear-ward collision vs frontal collision.

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:26 pm

We want ALL to be belted at the back, but in this case it will not help much. My sympathies when someone dies/injured although not at fault.

• The bus driver is ‘sleeping’!Sometimes the heavy vehicle driver forget how heavy is their vehicle …

• Mikey on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:43 pm

What is the moral of the story :-
    1) Speeding without following rules have Dire consequences.
    2) Holding your toddler in front while driving is a no no.
    3) Secure your kids with “proper” seat belts/child seats
    4) Regardless what car U are driving, always practice defensive driving.

Unfortunately, the vehicle involved in the accident happen 2 be easily recognized by our esteem commentators who take the opportunity 2 Hentam/Whack Kow-Kow the brand/SUV.

My condolences to the family/parents for loosing your love one.

• John Cooper on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:45 pm

Jonathan – i read this bit from another daily and its clearer compare to your article, which stated that the bus hit the Honda MPV, but I was wondering if thats another MPV or the BRV?

When contacted, Nilai deputy police chief Superintendent Azrul Hisham Mohd Shaffie said preliminary investigation showed that the bus had initially hit a Toyota Estima, which was in front of the bus, causing the multi-purpose vehicle (MPV) to skid to the left lane, before it was struck by another vehicle. “The bus driver lost control of his vehicle, which rear-ended (the car driven by Walilah). The impact of the crash killed the boy instantly,” he said.

• Zuchie on Apr 25, 2017 at 4:56 pm

From news report yesterday the HRV suddenly stop from moving..say witness from the estima driver.

• Hagar on Apr 27, 2017 at 3:57 pm

The estima driver prolly pushing blame to say the BRV stop suddenly. Defensive driving should allow 3 – 4 sec time distance from the car in front, that way even if the car in front stop suddenly, you still have time to react. But most people just drive chasing the tail of the car in front.

• Tayar Celup on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:00 pm

The bus confirm speeding or use tayar celup. Malaysia should ban tayar celup.

• krejin on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:06 pm

What is the most safe car in our country so far?

• According to bashers, its VW & BMW cuz spending time in workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Mindset on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Maybe volvo. They spent lots of money into safety. BUT volvo never sell well. Kia, hyundai (perhaps p1 too?) also don’t sell well in malaysia despite of safety in mind. Those focus on accessories sell very well. What a mindset…….

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Volvo v90

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Perodua kancil twin turbo with Mercedes emblem in front , yellow colour, with skeleton sticker at the back.

• The safest vehicle on the road you can buy are Volvo FH series truck.
      Safest passenger car you may get are all those luxury full size SUV/CUBV (e.g Volvo XC90, Audi Q7, BMW X5, etc.)

• VtekTek on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Most malaysians will prefer resale value than buying safer cars. I always advise my friends, whats the point of resale value when you get into accident and someone die? Is it worth to risk life with resale value?

• Problem isn’t seatbelts these days.
    It’s the type of metal they use to make the cars.. All macam tin milo. Even the Vios the UMS student drove that was crashed days ago crushed like tin cans.
    NCAP rating pretty much means nothing.

• Barang Naik on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Prices of good brand and quality child seats are double to triple here than in the US and EU. What the heck. Poor income but? Oh well, safety is luxury here. Only riches can afford those little luxury.

• CKD la
    lower the price=lower the safety also
    asean ncap should try collision between cbu model vs malaysia ckd model,try head to head on collision
    c got wat different when impact

• Johnson on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:26 pm

One lane for big vehicles like buses and lorries only. Lorries or heavy vehicles are not allowed to travel on weekends, school holidays and public holidays. A system of Rest period for lorry and bus drivers to be imposed to ensure that they have enough rest along with periodic and spot drug and alcohol test. I stress more on this big vehicles as their momentum is bigger therefore have a longer stopping distance. They are also to be fitted with speed monitoring device which limits automatically the speed of this commercial vehicles with black boxes uploaded via wifi to the authorities or their respective transport company which can be used when required such as in the court of law. No blame culture to penalize the drivers if they were unable to meet schedule. (Within reasonable justification).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • suomynona on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:35 pm

It’s a pity…Yes, seatbelts and child seats could have increase the chance of survival, but it’s also true what people are saying here about the car’s safety. Has anyone watched Clarkson’s Car Years on Youtube (the COTY 2000 episode). In one part of the segment he touched on MPV’s and brought up the issue about the 3rd row seats being so close to the rear of the car’s crumple zone, he would be worried to put his children back there. Plus, the size of this compact BR-V. What if it was a bigger MPV like an Exora? Or a different car with a proper crumple zone like a sedan? Either way the owner probably needs 7 seats.

Another thing is bus drivers. I’m speaking from experience, sending my sis to school in the morning and if you have a bus close behind you on your tail, if you lag behind traffic on the road even a tiny bit, those bus drivers will flash you like a madman. I don’t lag behind traffic often, I’ve been driving for nearly 2 years. But I imagine if other drivers were to get flashed by these impatient guys, it could probably make them panic and could lead to an accident.

Either way, I can’t seem to point the finger on who is to be blamed. In the end, everyone should contribute to safety these days, even car manufacturers.

• Agreed. We as consumers and citizen are stuck with the available choices offered to us. One hand we wanted the best for our families on the road. The other hand we need to provide for them.
      NCAP, ANCAP and all those crash testing are done in controlled environment. At the minimal speed of around 70km/hour. That’s the speed you’ll in parking lots here. More often than not the crash tests focused on frontal and side impact. Less emphasis on the rear impact. Therefore we noticed that most 3 rows vehicles do not offer proper protection at the rear. Most current Nissan Xtrail owners lamented the plastic rear door. On the highway, vehicles are moving more than 100km/hour. Combination of velocity and mass of the moving vehicle, the outcome can be deadly. Defensive driving should be made compulsory in driving schools.

• Bernard on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Don’t waste your time with these msgs. Malaysians will be msians …

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 25, 2017 at 5:49 pm

5 ancap safety only applies on speeds less than 100km/h

• V-tec Fan on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:04 pm

condolences to the family, let this be a lesson to all. please be careful when on the road. jalan raya bukan tempat main main.

• spritzz on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:18 pm

look at the quality material of the car,

• Roti and Air Kosong on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:45 pm

In Malaysia, accidents as such won’t be the last and wont be the first….

Sudah kena Accident, baru teringat and cry here and there….Typical Malaysian.

• transformer on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Hope NCAP or NTHSA will start carry out rear impact(50%) test soon… MFG then will start buck up!

• Kenhero on Apr 25, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Most Malaysian drivers took safety very likely (sometimes I’m one of them). I once saw a father driving his car on the highway with his son on his lap. I was like, WTF, are you doing? Please have some common sense that he is not only endangering his life but so many life of the highway users. I personally feel that the enforcers are not strict enough carrying out their duties. What happen to 5 passengers in a car policy, safety belt for back seat passengers, child in car seat, etc?

• Piggy on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Thanks for sharing. How about “OKU” driver driving opposite way and safe driving tips during silent hours. You need to educate these people too.

• pomen on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:46 pm

gov really need to enforce the bus speed limiter immediately…dont wait for another 2 or 3 years…

• Cars like BRV shouldn’t even be sold in Malaysia. BRV is a 3rd world country car that originated from Indonesia. BRV does not exist in Japan. Only HRV/Vezel is available there.
    Our countrymen should not be duped on buying a BRV as this is not a real JDM car, therefore poor safety as the Japanese wont accept such vehicle. This is just a 3rd world country car.
    I am curious though how a Toyota Vellfire will fare in this kind of accident.

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Apr 26, 2017 at 1:56 am

Totally agree! The other day at a Honda roadshow, I slammed the BRV’s door, feels thin flimsy light cheap and tin milo. Want to know how good or solid a car is made or engineered? The door shut test is a good indication.

• the car is so heavy fully seated anything smash from behind the car stand still

• Heine on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:49 pm

This accident can be avoided. Should concentrate on enforcing law on bus standard safety operations. Many lorries n buses still use rethread tires and bald ones because of cost of buying new tyre is expensive. Government should give subsidies for transport company to buy new tyres.

• Mat Salleh on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Why ppl talk about seat belt or child seat but not talk about the strong body structure of the car? I’ve meet lot of malaysian about their buying car behavior and get shock of their answer. Most of them prefer good resale value and low maintenance over safety feature of the car!! what!!! u gonna be kidding!!?? your LIFE is cheap than those resale value? You can buy a 500k house but choose low safety feature car because of it so called “good resales value” when u sold it off later? how long u gonna sell it? 3yrs? 5yrs? and u gonna gambling ur life in this 5 yrs, praying nothing happen on it and ppl won’t bang u at the back. WAKE UP Malaysian!!! dun danger ur life just because to save little penny! ur LIFE doesn’t worth a little cent that car resale value can give u!!!

• enforcement serious needed.

• Dokgo on Apr 26, 2017 at 5:03 am

Nah. Sport rims is more important for me to buy, shiny expensive new sport rims. While I still have extra money how about new spoilers, and also add some rear bumpers with that.

Car seat is a waste of money.

I can use the money to kangkang my car or make it lowered. Hmm now that I remember, I can use the money that I save from not buying car seat to buy the “be patient I am lowered” stickers and some JDM stickers as well.

• Malaysian driving habit is really odd. Keeping a child in front seat without seat belt was one of the craziest habit along with over speeding, sudden cut without showing indicators.

• crumple on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:07 am

easy to crumple or not, tin milo or recycle, etc.. bla2… even it was german tech car or even any else, because it is only a passenger car, it will be crumple if it was hit by bus guys… bus… big bus.. think rationally mate.. the force is too big for any passenger vehicles out there…

• All new cars have their own safety system. It’s about drivers/ passengers attitudes on how to manage the system worked.

• Ben Yap on Apr 26, 2017 at 10:51 am

cars are tested front and side crash test. how about rear crash test?

• Ali Karim on Apr 26, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Yet another incident that I can’t stand the stupid remarks and conclusions made by stupid authorities and self-proclaimed experts on social media Facebook.
    Will all due respect to the family of the deceased, having 100 airbags, seat-belts, isofix or straightjacket could not have saved anyone from serious injury or fatality on the resent Honda BR-V incident? The rear section was smashed beyond recognition.

The self-proclaimed experts born yesterday will ramble that “speed kills”, drive slowly and check the tire pressure before embarking on a journey. When the fact is, is the morons like these who should be charged for murder. Malaysians with gross attitude issue to even use the signal lever to make a turn, hog the fast lane and the absolute arrogance to no adhere to “IKUT KIRI JIKA TIDAK MEMOTONG”

“Initial investigations revealed that the accident occurred when a bus that was heading to Nilai from Seremban skidded and hit the rear of a Honda MPV which was moving slowly because of heavy traffic”
    You want to drive slow, keep to the left lane. “A Toyota MPV which was earlier in front of the bus diverted into the left lane” and saved his family and of others from an accident. But unfortunately “was hit in the rear by a car on the left lane,”

More than 1000 Malaysians die every year in road accidents, more than those death causes by terrorists. Yet the same boring experts are the cause of this continuous deaths from kopi license, poor literacy, stupidity to not use the turn indicator, the rear view mirrors, arrogance to hog the traffic on the far right lane and total disregard to the “laws of physics”

What’s the point of buying a car with 10, 20 or 30 Airbags when they are too dumb lazy to put on a seat belt or even lift a finger to use the turn indicators?

• Is honda not use stamped hot technology? All new civic and new accord also has a very soft body like Milos tin. Try touch and make little push on honda car bodies, after that you may know honda car is toy car.

• So, u still wanna buy honda car? Don’t waste ur money and don’t put your life in danger. In accord also you can see the joining between iron is very rough work. It will crack very easy during collision.