GALLERY: 2017 Mazda CX-3 with G-Vectoring Control

The new 2017 Mazda CX-3 has been on sale since February, but the launch of the facelifted Mazda 3 and MX-5 RF gave us our first look at the revised B-segment crossover, which looks nearly identical to before – apart from the new Machine Grey hue seen here – but carries a few choice updates under the skin.

As we’ve previously reported, the new model is available as before in a single 2.0 litre petrol trim level, priced at RM138,373 on-the-road with insurance. That’s RM3,230 more expensive than before; the older model is still being sold at RM135,082. Included in the price tag is a five-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package.

No changes on the outside, but the interior does feature a new three-spoke steering wheel from the CX-9 SUV, along with a new Active Driving Display – the head-up display is now full-colour and has increased brightness, contrast and definition for improved legibility. An eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat has also been added, with two-position memory that also saves the positioning and brightness of the HUD.

Otherwise, standard kit is the same and includes LED head- and tail lights, LED fog lights, 18-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, leather and suede upholstery, a glass sunroof, automatic air-conditioning, automatic lights and wipers, paddle shifters, cruise control, an MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, six speakers and a reverse camera.

Safety kit has also been carried over – six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist and ISOFIX child seat anchors.

Under the skin, the biggest addition comes in the form of the new G-Vectoring Control system which modulates engine torque to optimise vertical load on each wheel, improving steering response and stability. The steering and suspension systems have also been revised for improved ride and handling in concert with the new technology. There’s thicker rear windscreen glass and increased sound insulation, too.

The engine remains unchanged – a 2.0 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine produces 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. All that is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

Browse full specifications and equipment of the Mazda CX-3, and get the best offers on a new car on CarBase.my.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hopefully you won’t be able to sell any unit for this syok sendiri pricing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
    • I am a proud owner of this latest CX-3 GVC and I definitely love this car. I am not saying it is value for money but it is really depending on your needs and this is a very subjective matter. If you happened to enjoy fun driving and a bit of premium feel, this car will put smiles on your face. You can surely own one if you can afford and willing to pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
      • Gila M on Apr 29, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Went to peugeot showroom and madza showroom. Closed doors for both different cars, the mazda is like tin kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • FairPlay on May 03, 2017 at 10:28 am

Better to close your mouth. Otak kosong. Unconstructive statement.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 04, 2017 at 10:42 pm

cakap ini mahal….tapi mini countryman lagi mahal

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:43 am

Loving the body curves of the girl. Sorry Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • turbo pls on Apr 29, 2017 at 6:20 am

g vectoring or z vectoring as long as the engine is still the boring 190 ish newton meter 150ish horsepower, who cares if this car can carve bend like a lotus? its a crossover that should performs like what it intended to do.. drive to work, do daily routine sending kids to school not taking it to ulu yam on sunday drive… all we need is a good strong engine that when you trod the throttle can give u the push in your back… all
    marketing gimmick to make customer feels theyre the next schumacher on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Apr 29, 2017 at 10:56 am

To be honest, I was more attracted to the girl rather than the car. The CX3? OVERPRICED!

• Mikey on Apr 29, 2017 at 5:17 pm

1)NO one make a B-segment SUV better than this CX-3, quality wise – Fact.
    2)IMO, No one make a Sexier small SUV than this CX-3 currently on the market – Debatable.
    3)It is one of the safest small SUV – Fact.
    4)It is also one of the Best handling small SUV – Fact.

On the other hand, this SUV happen to be :-
    1)One of the smallest/cramped SUV
    2)The most expensive small SUV

I guess U cannot have everything Right ? It is a question of what U want in a small SUV. If U want quality, safety & handling, look no further bcos all this traits comes at a Price.

Not all cheap things are Bad but definitely Good things never come cheap. There is always a Choice 2 buy or Not.

• shere khan on Apr 29, 2017 at 9:53 pm

204nm at 2800rpm? Is this turbo engine or n/a? If n/a then thats some torque figure to take. Rev 3k already max torque…