SPIED: Kia Stinger – four-door GT sighted in Malaysia

In February, Naza Kia said it was confident that the Kia Stinger would eventually be brought in to Malaysia. The sighting of a unit in the country suggests that this is shaping up to be a certainty. It may be some time before the car is officially launched though – we’re guessing that the clad mule you see in the photos is an advance unit brought in for evaluation.

Its introduction here is of course dependent on demand and legibility, and the presence of the evaluator may be to seek answers on this front. As previously reported, the introduction of the Stinger would fall in line with Naza Kia’s intention to elevate itself into a more premium market space.

The Stinger, which made its debut in Detroit, is the road-going manifestation of the four-door, rear-wheel drive Kia GT show car from 2011. It marks the Korean automaker’s entry into the compact executive sedan market, and the 4.8 metre-long offering is set to go up against the likes of the BMW 3 and 4 Series, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and Audi A4.

A trio of engines are available for the car – petrol options are a 255 PS/353 Nm 2.0 litre Theta II turbo and a 370 PS/510 Nm 3.3 litre Lambda II twin-turbo petrol V6, while the diesel pick for Europe is a 200 PS/440 Nm 2.2 litre CRDi turbo unit. All are paired with an eight-speed auto transmission from the K9.

Two drive configurations are available for the Stinger, a rear-wheel drive layout with a mechanical limited-slip differential and a rear-biased, all-wheel drive system with brake-operated Dynamic Torque Vectoring Control.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Tauke Shah on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:29 am

Stinger or not, KIA is only view as a junk for many people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 80
  • Price it at Accord topkek level, there will be customers. Price it cilaka like Mazda, and they can shove it back to kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
  • Meanwhile, Proton rebadging a 10 years old Honda Accord as their new Perdana and the whole company struggling to sell 40-50k units this year and losing 4 million every day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
  • Tiger88 on Apr 28, 2017 at 11:54 am

Rite price,excellent 3S and special financing from Kia would surge sales of this car.no need to think about resale value that’s for sure for all cars r v down now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • zamer on Apr 28, 2017 at 12:08 pm

right design, right engine power but wrong brand and expect wrong pricing. if a sorento can go up to >170k, then this Stinger can be >250K

This price range, why not Audi A4, C250, 330E and the list goes on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • This stinger should be compared with 5 series, E class, A6, A7, CLS, 6 series gran coupe cause this is sport D segment sedan that bigger than optima & same size/class as cadenza.

• DonkeyKong on Apr 29, 2017 at 12:58 am

The stinger is a compact executive sedan.. It’s smaller than 5-series and E-class.

• Mikey on Apr 29, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Faiz, the article said – is set to go up against the likes of the BMW 3/4 Series,C-Class & Audi A4.

Mr Albert Biermann formerly of BMW’s engineering division was poached to Seoul in 2015 to inject one elusive ingredient that’s been missing from the Koreans’ ever-expanding line-up 2 create the Stinger.

• safety 1st on Apr 28, 2017 at 4:24 pm

zamer, test drive the sorento first before you comment on the pricing bro… i test drove it and i would say the NVH is comparable with my F10 bmw while the space and seating for passengers are wayy more comfortable than my f10. the 2.2 crdi turbo diesel gives out 200ps/440nm also is comparable with 520d. i have second thought of why should i keep paying my rm5k permth f10 when i can buy a better car at 1/3 of the price… beats me. maybe malaysian are all brand snob including me.0

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Morais on Apr 28, 2017 at 10:02 pm

As good as a Sorento is (which is quite good, I must admit), but it is not comparable with a BMW F10.
        Noise : Sorento diesel engine noise is quite intrusive. Wind/road noise will drown radio at speed.
        Vibration : Try resting your head on the headrest, and putting your foot on behind the brake pedal. Sorento gives good massage… :)
        Harshness : Sorento has firm and composed suspension. But F10 has adaptive suspension. Try going through a speed bump. Adaptive suspension is luxury riding.
        Space : Sorento = Winner! You can put an Ikea 3 seater sofa set in it. *WIN* p(^.^)q
        But, one could have bought an express bus if he/she wants space. Can custom install a bed and jacuzzi in there too.
        Sorento’s seat = Firm but Plush (hard to explain, have to experience)
        F10 = Firm & Supportive
        Both good in it’s own way.
        Power : Sorento diesel is torquey, but has to consider horsepower and weight. Good indication is 0-100 time. F10 ~8 s vs Sorento ~10.x s
        Price : F10 ~RM330K vs Sorento ~156K == ~2.1x
        Having said all that, F10 has it’s own downsides and problems which I will not disclose here… :)
        Peace V

• safety 1st on May 02, 2017 at 10:30 pm

morais, one thing i dislike about the f10, is its adaptive suspension.. when put in comfort + , it is too soft that when u drive through speed hump its bounce a few times before settle down.. the kind of bounce that make you sick in the stomach.. when i really need to gun it, the sport setting is not hard enough that it felt softer than the e60msport suspension… and if you choose the normal setting on highway high speed the car felt floaty… i have test driven the sorento diesel and actually
          manage to drive it on mex… to 200kmh.. the wind noise is comparable with the f10… dont take my word.. just request a test drive one and feel it.

• Morais on May 07, 2017 at 2:52 am

From my writing, I assume you would know I have experience with both cars. I personally like adaptive suspension. A pothole is like a pea over 20 mattresses. Never felt bouncy. Sports mode and my butt is like sitting on cement. Bro, is your suspension spoiled? Again, I think it is unreasonable to demand the car to be plush like a S, corners like a 911, for the price of a 5. And driving at 200kmph, your reply astonishes me. 5 is still confident at that speed, but Sorento, with the noise and it feeling floaty, frankly, I dare not. Seriously, have your suspension checked. You might have missed enjoying a good car.

• safety 1st on May 03, 2017 at 8:36 am

and when i talked about space, i meant the seat for the passengger. In the f10, the seat slung backward you basically feel clusterphobic since the windows is set high, and the knee room and leg room is so cramp witht that big transmission tunnel, unlike sorento that has a seat with recline and slide function with flat floor.. it just feel more comfortable to be driven in the sorento than in the f10. i think audi a6 has better seating position than the f10 for the back passenger seats.
          and the 0-100 sprint is faster in the f10 is mainly because it is 1.6tonne and coupled with 8speeds super fast tranny….while this is good if you plan to seasick you parents or children seating in the back seat, it has no meaning for the normal family outing or outstation, all u need is a load of torque to pull when u try to overtake a lorries or bus on 4th or 5th gear… and this thing can pull just as well as the f10.

• Morais on May 07, 2017 at 3:36 am

Yes, the window-line on all BMWs are higher. And centre transmission tunnel. But, didn’t you realise this before buying? Seat, maybe it is a love it-hate it thingy. I agree reclining on second row is actually quite desireable. A6 has a wider rear seat room because it is a front wheel drive, and BMW designs for a near 50:50 weight distribution, which pushes rear wheel forward, and lesser rear room.
            The 5’s acceleration is actually buttery smooth, while Sorento’s is quite torquey. Coupled with with high CG, you feel rocking front and back everytime it changes gear. Yes, and cornering-wise higher CG, body-roll left and right. It will be the Sorento which will cause motion sickness. Now, the next argument cannot be Sorento can be harder as needed and softer when required than an ‘adaptive’ 5.
            Sorento pulls, but figures don’t lie. You statement may be a compliment in disguise in favour of 5.
            But nonetheless, there is no point arguing. If you are not satisfied with a 5 this much, you have obviously made a wrong choice. And you may not be BMW intended consumer.
            Hopefully you will be a more informed buyer in future by reading paultan.org.
            Thanks Paul Tan! V

• monster on May 04, 2017 at 7:54 pm

no la must be >300k for v6

• Maria on Apr 28, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Wow so fast they bring in here!! But I prefer they bring new rio and picanto to our market faster rather than stinger because most people could fork out their money for those 2 models .Anyways nice addition for theirlineup..Price sure 200k++

• Maybe NazaKia try to bring the 1st time ever luxury kia model to Malaysia.

• Gaviny on Apr 28, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Would you pay 260k for this ? Even Mazda a bit expensive also all crying father crying mother

• Who tell you it is RM260k? You work in Naza?

• Who told ya it isnt?

• Gaviny on Apr 28, 2017 at 8:08 pm

It’s worldwide positioning is a 3 series competitor , why do you think Naza would give away profits for nothing ? Even if not would you pay 210k for this ?

• Because it’s sport sedan, RWD, has 5 driving mode, turbocharged engine, tuned quad exhaust pipe, brembo disc brakes, full LED headlights.

• It’s right hand drive?

• mana harga turun? on Apr 28, 2017 at 1:27 pm

if NAZA KIA price it correctly, it will sell like hot cake.Anyway, look at the spec, it will most likely price between 190k~210k. Again buying stinger at this price, i will rather go for recon F10 at below 150k. Jz my opinon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Recon on Apr 28, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Good luck with a recon F10….. bought a recon bmw once and sad to say it’s an expensive regrettable experience, even if you know a good workshop the amount of time you gonna spend there it’s not worth it.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 28, 2017 at 2:00 pm

Correct me if im wrong, but this car is not on sale yet anywhere in the world. Yet, here it is casually in Malaysia. Hope the final version comes here. Its one sexy car.

• White Israelites on Apr 28, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Hyundai Ionic also were the first sold in Malaise.No surprise.You want it just put cash on it.Got lots of cash like me? Spend more on luxuries.No money? Go buy Axia 9 deposit 9 years loan.No job? Stfu

• Non Prabanathan Club on Apr 28, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Kimchi should consider to invest more after sales service in Malaysia.This brand getting well accepted beating all Japanese brands except big T in North and South America,Australia,Europe,Russia and some Asian countries.These proved .Quality and performance exceeding expectation.Time to ditch overrated sushi behind now.Lead by the example by offering more with much value for money.Suchi’s are so yesterday let’s make the world gangnam together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Bernard on Apr 28, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Yes here they will really sting you with the PRICE!!!

• This is the same company that screwed up the pricing and specifications of the Sorento and Sportage. Dont keep your hopes up lah

• Its NAZA KIA that screw almost everything related to KIA in Malaysia.

Otherwise, worldwide Hyundai-Kia is a much more respectable brand.

• Kia lover on Apr 28, 2017 at 5:24 pm

is this car can challenge with vw,bmw and mercedes that have the same engine??if so then i take it…

• Mikey on Apr 29, 2017 at 4:37 pm

The Stringer was conceived 2 rival the Germans main stream A4, C-class & BMW 3/4 series.

It can perform as good & even better the trio in terms of performance but it is NOT a rival to the Iconic RS4, M-3/4 or Merc C-63 YET.

Give them another 5 years, they will improve on this Stringer & then the Germans will then start 2 Notice.

Meantime, buy this Stringer & park it beside any of the Germans Trio & see what is their reaction. Chances are they might LOOK 2 U & ask – why Did U buy this Car & there will be lengthy conversation & U will make many friends & some rivals along the way bcos U Dare 2 be different.

One thing is 4 certain & ie your life will NEVER be Boring anymore. Hope U will buy & own one so that U can share your experience after 1 yr. Cheers…

• If this car has got a 5-7 year warranty that is transferable, it will be THE car to buy in the used car market 3 years down the road from launch… it will fall in value due to being a kimchi but will be a well-engineered car with decent if not cheap spare prices ..i think i have found a contender for my future car.. in second hand for of course..