New Hyundai Elantra spotted – non-turbo with bodykit

We have here the new Hyundai Elantra that will be launched soon in Malaysia, once again spotted in Shah Alam, this time by reader WM Lee who was stuck behind the upcoming sedan at the traffic lights. This follows previous sightings and a dealer reveal, which gave us a good look at the C-segment contender.

Here’s what we know so far. There will be two variants of the new Elantra. One is the Elantra Sport, which comes with a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDi turbocharged engine that puts out Civic-beating 204 hp and 265 Nm in its home market. There, the blown motor is paired to either a six speed manual gearbox or a seven-speed dual-clutch auto, but we’re only getting the auto. Variations of this T-GDI motor also power the Tucson SUV and Veloster Turbo.

Not all will want (or need) a turbo engine, and there will be a non-Sport Elantra expected to carry a naturally aspirated 2.0 litre Nu MPi engine with a six-speed torque converter automatic – a powertrain package that serves other current Hyundai models. It’s the GLS-badged car seen here.

From L-R: Rear end of the new Elantra sans bodykit; rear end of the turbocharged Elantra Sport

The Sport comes with a unique grille (chrome slats aren’t full width, discreet ‘Sport’ badge on one side), larger bumper air intakes (note the C-shaped chrome element with LED daytime running lights) and a more elaborate headlamp design. The Sport’s rear comes with a diffuser, twin exhaust tips and a ‘Sport’ badge. Different rims, too.

That’s the factory look, but it looks like Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has worked to “sport up” the GLS with an aftermarket bodykit. With no boot spoiler, it should be a four-piece set, and the rear portion integrates a diffuser with two fake exhaust tips, one on each side. There’s also a silver border for the pipes. Not very subtle to say the least, but few add-on bodykits are.

It shouldn’t be long now before the CKD locally assembled Elantra AD makes its debut. Like what you see?

GALLERY: Hyundai Avante Sport, Korean market

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra Sport, US market

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kelab kunta paid kb warrior on May 04, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Habis la Civic. Those who bought will cry like new born baby. This is more powderfull

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
    • Kelab talkok kinte on May 05, 2017 at 8:06 am

Civic has its own sector, elantra has its hatdcore supporters also

• why the color follow the dull gold yellow myvi 1.3 premium X color? aiyooo… should go for the bright yellow one like bumblebee…

• This norman elantra come with torsion beam same as cerato.Only turbo model come with multi link suspension..

• Fake exhaust tips. Lets see if bashers will hentam or they just hyppos.

• Gargantia on May 04, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Just telling the truth…

Interior air-corn dash look 90’s design !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Gangnam Style on May 05, 2017 at 8:30 am

90’s or 60’s it can still beat Civic on straight road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Basher story on May 04, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Later basher will come here to bash P1 for Hyundai achievement. Copy paste.

• One word, ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
  • Bernard on May 04, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Simply not attractive….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Mehh..still cant beat the civic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
  • Zakar Naik Kunta Turun on May 04, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Honda and Hyundai is offering turbo. What has happened toToyota? Toyota is stillusing old technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Will the Sport get the independent rear suspension like it has overseas?

• On the other side of the world, the Elantra continues to be one of the best selling cars of North America. Here, due to market sentiment and unrealistic price by SDAC, Hyundai is like second class auto player. Hope they price it competitively.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Cantiksssss but need to see how it drives.. no doubt engine is powerful.. but if steering lifeless like current models,don’t want

• enzo611 on May 09, 2017 at 11:21 pm

Yeah.. looking forward to see how it fares in terms of driving dynamics when compared with civic & Mazda 3

• omg the exhaust pipe is too ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • thepolygonal on May 05, 2017 at 9:09 am

The only reason this might sell is when it’s priced way lower than the civic. HP and Torque? Go test drive for the feel… European.. heavy and strong… Japs… light and capable… Korean… heavy and capable.

• elantra is a bit heavy on May 05, 2017 at 9:33 am

Civic acceleration is faster than elantra turbo even when it has lower horsepower. Average 0-200 for civic can be done within 26 seconds, which has same acceleration as bmw 328i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • camtakpro on May 05, 2017 at 10:03 am

The exhaust tip like plastic surgery gone wrong. Other than that, the plastic surgery on the rest of the body seems good.

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 10:08 am

No comment as I’ve NOT seen or drive anyone of this Elantra. It is more interesting 2 read all the comments that has been posted than the article itself. Keep on posting guys. Cheers …

• Why no comment on fake exhaust tips, since u oso like comment so much on that other car even thou u urself admit not seen it too. Hehehe.

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 4:55 pm

U have proven that U are smart when U engage your brain. That is a GOOD reply I must say. Please engage with your brain the next time U answer ALL the other reply by NOT being lazy.

FYI, I’m reserving myself from commenting bcos I’m expecting basher like U who are “Better” than me when it comes to bashing. Please continue your job as U know best. Cheers

• Zoom Zoom on May 05, 2017 at 10:21 am

Interior looks dated where most of the time u r looking at when you r driving. No mood liao.

• Bimmer on May 05, 2017 at 10:25 am

They like to follow BMW special colours lol

• kenny on May 05, 2017 at 10:29 am

i think the bodykits is option, HSDM won’t increase their cost to make the bodykits as standard accessories.

• Ben Yap on May 05, 2017 at 10:48 am

if the “H” is not italic, it will sell better.

• everything is okay except for its front. ahh cmon hyundai. why like that ah. your front make your car like a straight lol

• I want one

• coworking space hcm on Dec 05, 2018 at 10:11 pm

Meanwhile, there’s a wide range of co-working spaces.