Mitsubishi Lancer Limited Edition – 9th gen swansong

2017 Mitsubishi Lancer Limited Edition

With no replacement in sight, Mitsubishi is putting the Lancer nameplate to pasture this year, but not before announcing a new Limited Edition model that will act as the ninth-generation model‘s swansong in the United States. Incorporating a number of aesthetic touches and some extra kit, it will slot in above the ES base model when it goes on sale later this month, priced at US$19,795 (RM86,600).

For that money, you get a gloss black finish on the grille, roof, door mirror caps, faux fender vents and 16-inch alloy wheels, along with a sunroof and Limited Edition badging. Inside, there’s a custom pattern for the black fabric seats, as well as red stitching on the steering wheel, gearknob, handbrake lever, armrest and door trim.

Also included are aluminium pedals, black headlining and pillars, gloss black trim with red highlights and a 6.5-inch touchscreen Display Audio infotainment system with Smartphone Link and Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity. The Limited Edition model will be offered until the end of the 2017 model year.

“The Lancer has a long-standing tradition of providing consumers unparalleled value at an attractive price, so it was only fitting we pay tribute to the sedan with a Limited Edition trim offering.

“With the addition of updated styling and advanced technology features, the Limited Edition Lancer is set to appeal to consumers who prioritize aesthetics and enjoy a connected car experience,” said Mitsubishi Motors North America vice president and chief operating officer Don Swearingen.

Still want a Lancer after that? You’ll have to buy one in Taiwan, where a heavily-revised version, called the Grand Lancer, has recently gone on sale…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mcrae on May 05, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Lejen!

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Pity Mitsubishi dont want anything to do with Proton. Otherwise, we can have this beauty here.

I cannot blame Mitsubishi for pulling out. They could not tahan the cronyism, corruption, nepotism and crook vendors and supliers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 75
    • I dun blame Mitsu too. They got sold out and doubleX by their supposed fren fren own pakat jepunis mates. Kinda like a certain pakat here too, eh?

• Zakar Naik Bin Kunta Kinte on May 07, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Mitsubishi has lost its footing here in Malaysia. Even Toyota is not doing so well in passenger cars, only their HiLux is selling. Same goes for Nissan, its Quarter 1 profit was worse than last year, same period. Honda has taken the market by storm and is the only Japanese car selling very well. I expect to see Volkswagen performing well this year as well.

• farghmee on May 05, 2017 at 6:34 pm

dinosor

• Gaviny on May 05, 2017 at 7:14 pm

The styling doesn’t grow old , with a manual gearbox , it is an honest car , it will do what you want it to

• Amongst C segmenters, its now the smallest of them all. Clearly it did not age well.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 8:29 pm

mitsu learn from proton….one old car can sell for many decades

• rally_fan (Member) on May 08, 2017 at 12:29 pm

if you do your research, you would know that many other manufacturers sell “old cars” as new in emerging markets.

• And P1 learnt from toyota. Still selling old vios 13 years ongoing.

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 10:02 pm

What a pity. “If” MMC were 2 sell it at 86,600 Ringgit in M’sia, it will steal sales from other Japanese & Korean C-segment car. Yes john, it will probably outsell Altis too & P1 will … U can take over now john. Cheers

• Huh? But it WAS sold here at 70~80k…

• Mikey on May 08, 2017 at 6:41 pm

U mean after P1 re-badge the Lancer & they still sell poorly. Better work harder john for P1 sake. Don’t be lazy.

• Accord Is Here on May 05, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Looks dated…inside out.

• Proton iz King on May 06, 2017 at 11:08 am

Bye Mitsu Lancer……P1 will overtake you….

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 06, 2017 at 9:19 pm

Mitsubishi will eventually drop their car industry. Sales are dwindling all over. Ditto Suzuki