New Land Rover Discovery previewed virtually in Malaysia – December 2017 launch, 3.0 V6 HSE

The new Land Rover Discovery, which was revealed late last year, is being previewed for the first time by Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia, albeit virtually. There’s no physical fifth-generation Discovery on display at the company’s Bangsar Shopping Centre roadshow (happens from now till Sunday), but there’s a Samsung Gear VR mobile headset that can give you a virtual walk-around of the SUV.

Wearing the Oculus-based headset will give you a good preview of what to expect when the new Disco lands in Malaysia. That will happen either in December 2017 or early 2018, we’re told. The initial variant to expect is the Si6, which is powered by a 340 PS/450 Nm supercharged 3.0 litre V6 engine, paired with a ZF eight-speed automatic transmission. The rugged full seven-seater SUV will arrive in a high HSE trim level.

To recap, the new Disco sports a new look that’s a big departure from past cars, but in line with today’s range. It retains the model’s signature stepped roofline, which accommodates the Disco’s customary stadium seating configuration. Speaking of seats, the new Intelligent Seat Fold tech allows one to reconfigure the second- and third-row seats using controls at the rear of the vehicle, the central touchscreen and even remotely via a smartphone app.

There’s also a new dual-purpose Powered Inner Tailgate. When raised, the fold-down panel at the leading edge of the load area operates as a practical load restraint, but when lowered the 285 mm overhanging section doubles as a bench for seating or changing muddy footwear for instance, while sheltered by the new one-piece tailgate.

Utility aside, go-anywhere ability is also a Discovery strength. It’s achieved with a combination of off-road geometry and advanced technology. Ground clearance is rated at 283 mm (up 43 mm) while a maximum wading depth of 900 mm (up 200 mm) puts the Disco in a class of its own when tackling waterlogged tracks and flooded roads. Off-road driving tech includes LR’s multi-mode Terrain Response 2 system.

The new SUV’s aluminium monocoque architecture contributes to a 480 kg weight saving compared to steel ladder construction. The company says that its integral link rear suspension delivers good handling without compromising the superb ride comfort (it’s amazing, really) that has defined successive generations of the Discovery. Full details, gallery and videos in our initial report.

GALLERY: Fifth-gen Land Rover Discovery

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sammyhas0value on May 17, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Land Rover products are irrelevant in the Malaysian market as a result of their stratospheric prices. To further rub salt in the wound, the situation isnt helped by their pathetic resale value. Try buying a RM800k Range Rover and you would most probably lose 50% of its value over 2 years. Besides, their after sales service is also rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Very true. In the UK, Land Rover for 10 years in a row has been awarded the most problematic car amongst 100s of cars. According to Warranty Direct, it is the No 1 Breakdown car and No 1 Warranty Claim car. 10 years in a row title holder.

For a British, it is ok when you are paying 30,000 pounds for a problematic car.

But when you are paying RM1 million for a problematic car, then it becomes a different story

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • John Ohwai Kaki Dupe on May 17, 2017 at 11:37 pm

Land Rover Engine to big CC for mesia. Road tax mahal

• Stranger on May 18, 2017 at 10:37 am

Read this exact same comment months ago. You have archive or template for every post?

• RavenAii (Member) on May 19, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Bashers words never change, in 10 years time he still probably post the same thing even though things have changed.

• funkyMonkey on May 17, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Mafia’s dream ride……

• sammyhas0value on May 17, 2017 at 7:06 pm

I expect this one to be another over priced product that will sell in tiny numbers.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Dont worry. Brand new RM800k. Then within 1 year, you can buy it for RM300k.

In 2 yrs time, it will be RM150k.

Nobody in Malaysia dare touch Land Rover or Range Rover cause the parts are JLR pricing aka Jaguar pricing.

If you are fine changing your bumper for RM50k, go ahead and buy this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • After reviewing all comments..i hereby declare this product as D.O.A.

• U put too much trust into paid bashers. Why not put that faith into my new scheme with 20%….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 3:35 pm

john, 20% only ka? That chap kena questioning by MACC wo. U should give 26%. At least the 6% U pay GST 2 make it Legit la. Hehehe.