Proton Saga gets optional bodykit, priced at RM1,888

The Proton Saga Premium can now be had with an optional bodykit, for those looking to inject a little more visual presence into their four-door sedan. Priced at RM1,888, the bodykit can also be ordered together with a Saga Premium at RM47,688 (on the road with insurance).

The bodykit includes an under spoiler fitted to the front bumper, side skirts and a rear bumper enhancer. All these items are coloured to match the car’s specified body colour, which in this example, is white.

No changes in other areas of the exterior, with the Saga Premium’s 15-inch turbine split-spoke alloy wheels, front reflector halogen headlamps, front fog lamps and rear fog lamp being retained. Similarly, the interior is as per before as well.

What are your thoughts about the new bodykit for the Saga? Do you prefer it to the styling kit put forth by local outfit TuneD?

GALLERY: 2016 Proton Saga 1.3L Premium

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Unknown on May 18, 2017 at 2:37 pm

Still a proton saga after all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • applegreen on May 18, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Sez the graduates…

• U think smart graduates will spend their hard earned money to buy a RM1.8K bodykit? I dun think so. Proton’s consumer study must be done by their basher salesmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 23
    • probably the smartest move proton made all year. they know a large majority of their saga buyers are suckers to buy useless bodykits at inflated pricing. it’s basically free money for proton to pay their staff salaries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Most Saga buyers are struggling to even make their monthly payments. They got no time to add RM1888 to their loan. Remember, interest rate for Proton cars are higher than non national cars. Don’t know why. From 1985 it has been so.

So better to keep your loan amount small

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
    • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 5:46 pm

there a reason why this is an optional..not bundle together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
  • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 2:53 pm

I still don’t like chrome in the headlamp

• It gips a premium feel. Not too bad looking, but I prefer FLX headlamp shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
  • Bernard on May 18, 2017 at 2:59 pm

For a moment there I thought finally the car is being sold at 1,888 , value for money but sadly it was not to be….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • Shud have spend that money making cars with specs that pipu actually wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 31
    • Err but Saga3 is THE car that pipu wants. Unlike ultraman vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 37
      • otak batu on May 18, 2017 at 5:45 pm

Really? ABS missing on base variant while ESC is only found on topkek spec. This is what the pipu want kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 30
        • Based on the Axia with no ESC? Apparently so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
          • otak batu on May 18, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Oh… Now u change topic to P2 since u can’t bash Toyota. Good, that shows who u truly are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 35
  • Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Bodykits are made 2 enhance the performance/handling of a car. The question is does a Proton Saga need the enhancement(bodykits)?! I say it is a waste of time/$$$.

To be honest, the Saga do not need the bodykits bcos it is suppose to be a honest to goodness cheap sedan car 4 the messes.

It has most of what U expect for a small family sedan. It can seat 4/5 people & have a boot big enuff 4 balik kampong.

My only grouse is the Saga should be sold for at least 5,000 to 8,000 less bcos its a “national” car isn’t it. If P1 needs the support of the Rakyat, they should be generous & HUMBLE la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 16
    • kzm (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 5:59 pm

vios? myvi? mostly aesthetic not for enhancement.. Be realistic for the spec the price is quite alright. U can’t find car with this spec n price in ASEAN country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 6:50 pm

So kzm, asking P1 to reduce the price for supporting our national car is not OK with U isit??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 18, 2017 at 3:08 pm

RM1,888 is quite cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • jibby v2.60 on May 18, 2017 at 3:15 pm

tuneD pls kolos shop. u guys just know how to make a car uglier only. at least this is better than what tuneD offered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • passion on May 18, 2017 at 3:19 pm

i saw a dark grey one with black rims. looked awesome. but the design of this car is an acquired taste though.

• Silthice on May 18, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Should upgarde the infotainment system with touchscreen and integrated with the rear camera. Multi-info odometer panel at least like the Exora plus keyless entry with push and start button at least it is on par with bezza in term of gadgets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Proton just dunno what their customers wants. Pipu want safe and reliable car, not car with fancy bodykits. Already losing sales, still dun know what the customers want? This is what happens when a self deluded brand is riding on the high horse, ignoring their customers in the name of self pride.

Proton leeching our billions is like a ransomware. If pipu dun meet their demands, they will send their pitiful salesman to bash other brands. Already received RM1.5B but still want to demand RM1.8B, rakyat WannaCry over this big ‘virus’.

Expect more bashings incoming from their desperate salesmen here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 15
    • So pls answer my Q below.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
    • tokmoh. on May 18, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Exactly, people want that Toyota powertrain Perodua offered.

Bezza fugly also people buy, Bezza alone sell more than entire Proton sales. Tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je, people want to jimat fc, cheap service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • topkek on May 19, 2017 at 9:34 am

Toyota got US4.6b you jepunis tak bising pun

• So para bashers. If TuneD was a P1 outfit, why P1 need come out with OFFICIAL bodykit, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 46
    • tokmoh. on May 18, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Cuz some nuthead market research company suggest to Proton “bodykit nice nice will improve sales, that’ll be RM20k for my consultation service.”

Proton, being run by nuthead also angguk2 and make bodykit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 19
  • KenJi on May 18, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Dr 17k sudah jd 47k. Ini yg dikatakan rakyat akan dpt kereta murah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
  • Oneder on May 18, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Why stop at just bodykit, why not offer other options for personalization i.e tinting, seat cover, insulation & many other accessories. I’m sure some are willing to spend more on making their car look better & have more function so it’s good business.

• Those other depends on the dealership. But P1 did gips free tint from factory b4.

• Toyota Milo Kosong Satu on May 18, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Again, this proved that Malaysian are only interested with bodykit, bodykit, and bodykit…..and maybe slapping some decals on the car along the way….

So easy to sell car in Malaysia, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Socai on May 18, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Most ah beng looking bodykit ! Even the Perdana BK looks better…the older FLX actually better looking..sack the designer pls!

• xoxox on May 19, 2017 at 8:47 am

buy and drive car is easy…but maintenance is the issue…especially wash the car yourself…you will know which part you hate most… :)

• ??? U can bring to bangla wash, but why not use the exercise to wash urself?

• why dont they listen to people..look at bezza they change the bumper promptly and its significantly enhance bezza at the back..saga?..got further confused.