SPIED: Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo seen in Malaysia again

The fifth-generation Honda CR-V has been spotted in Malaysia again, just a few days after it was sighted making its way towards Genting Highlands.

The SUV seen here is still wearing quite a substantial amount of camouflage as well as the same number plate from the previous test mule. Similarly, it is easy to make out the distinct taillight design, and the twin exhaust pipe setup.

As we’ve mentioned before, the latter indicates a 1.5L VTEC Turbo petrol engine powers this CR-V. Of course, this isn’t much of a surprise as the matter was heavily suggested to us during a media event in February this year.

The CR-V has already been launched in Indonesia, where buyers there get to choose from two variants – a five-seater 2.0 litre NA petrol engine and a seven-seater 1.5 litre turbocharged petrol engine. Before that, the SUV model was introduced in Thailand as a seven-seater, with two engines to choose from – a 2.4 litre NA petrol and a 1.6 litre i-DTEC turbodiesel. An Earth Dreams CVT gearbox is fitted to the petrol engines, while the diesel mill gets a nine-speed automatic.

Honda Malaysia has already revealed that it will launch two more models in 2017, and with the new Jazz already being one of them, we can assume that the CR-V will be the other. It will have to fend off competition from the second-generation Mazda CX-5, which is said to debut in September, according to Bermaz. Which will you be looking forward to most?

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo Prestige (Indonesian-market variant)

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 2.0L (Indonesian-market variant)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Let us hope that Honda Malaysia gives 30% price reduction as promised by the Government to 30 million Malaysians 4 years ago.

It will help Malaysians cause, say this CRV is RM160k, 30% less is RM48k.

Malaysia has now the highest car prices in the world taking into consideration our GDP per Capita is so low.

And it is also unfair that most Malaysians cannot afford better safety specced cars due to financial issues.

It is unfair that only wealthy people can enjoy cars like this CRV with safety features such as 7 airbags and VSC.

It is unfair that 80% of the rakyat can only afford cars like Axia and Saga, both of which have no VSC and even no ABS (Axia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 44
    • Better than that. With CRV, u can get same same with XC90 at half the price. That like janji ditepati 50% reduction kau kau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 41
      • Cave Man on May 18, 2017 at 6:15 pm

what the hell you talking about john? Pls bash with sense!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Operation Manager on May 18, 2017 at 8:29 pm

C-segment SUV Mazda CX-5 (whole car new developed) able selling at 131k; I have no reason why same same C-segment SUV Honda CR-V cannot selling at 131k or cheaper under EEV Incentives. With 30millions of Msian support to make Honda sales become non-national brand NO.1, Honda should now become market leader to tell MAI.MAI.MITI pls think of 30millions msian suffering in high cost living and Honda is willing & ready to give hand to promote 30% car price reduction agenda. For both win-win @50% discount, at least Honda kick-off the very 1st step by selling starting CR-V at rm111k @15% car price reduction.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 9:27 pm

Honda, Hyundai, Toyota, Ford and many others will never do that. Cause they are all government owned. Nearly all car companies in Malaysia are GLC/government owned indirectly.

So, they will never lower their car prices cause they want to untung more!

• Mat Over on May 18, 2017 at 9:44 pm

You guys are dreaming… cheaper cars?
            ringgit dropping, oil price increase, massive inflation… why in the world would Honda drop their prices, they are not Mazda ok… mazda still cannot command that sort of following. But Honda different story.. if you are a fat cat laughing your way to the bank would you reduce prices… dream on la.

• Exora better than this jepunis overlord junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
          • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 19, 2017 at 9:04 am

Only a real fool will say Exora is better thn CRV

• Oni you said that

• In a way it does. It can better fit 7 pipu seating in comfort & safety.

• muzaffar shah on May 18, 2017 at 6:24 pm

huh?

• Too Late on May 18, 2017 at 6:57 pm

CRV will shows CHR the door totally

• Yup it’s all in the mindset. Aim low, shake leg, ask rakyat for donation. Why drive BMW when we can buy cheap with 4 wheels like Saga? BMW also 4 wheels.

• Lim Kit Eng DAP Forever on May 18, 2017 at 7:04 pm

AGREE! We must reduce the car price so that more desperate peasants who can only salivate to the endless dream of so-called “exclusiveness of owning a Japanese car” will finally get a chance to own one! Bet the peasants are very sick of being able to afford only the hideous looking widowmaker named Avanza after having decided against the Alza or Exora! To hell those affordable Malaysian car that come with all the bell and whistles of passive safety features e.g. Iriz etc! All that peasants wanted is to own something “exclusive” without having to work hard like those people who spend many years in uni and when they graduate, late night overtime at work to please the bosses!

• Tricycle on May 18, 2017 at 6:10 pm

Lets really hope that Honda Malaysia will bring the AWD model here. And buyer can have a choice whether to have either the FWD or the AWD.

• Onanodus on May 18, 2017 at 7:02 pm

The 1.6 i-DTEC utilises a 9-speed automatic, not a CVT.

• Turbocharged Kunta Albert on May 18, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Tiguan > CRV Turbo > CX5 > X Trail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Lcians on May 18, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Honda specs currently sucks compared to kia which offers more for your money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Chris on May 18, 2017 at 8:12 pm

Bro, i am driving a Korean car. Do u know this year alone my car masuk kilang for 6th time already? Countless for the past 6-7 years. New was around 160k now less than 10k…. Injector spoil even the Service Centre refuse to change for me said the injector is more expensive than the car and only can give warranty 6 months which, high chances got problem and don’t want to for it . Asked me to sauce out side.

Sent in for normal service, the whole booklet can be missing. Change head lights the cap can be missing…

If you are driving 1, don’t worry, your turn will come.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • Kuinosan on May 19, 2017 at 9:34 am

High time you source for another workshop to maintain your car. The bad service has nothing to do with the Kia brand. Its the quality of service of the workshop at question here. I own Korean and Japanese cars, and to be fair. They are no differencebetween the two in terms of servicing. The only difference is one is willing to rectify your problemd as soon as possible, whereas the other will ask you to wait for ages just to get something simple fixed. And dont’t be surprised if I’m refering to the Japanese brand here. The reason, they are more interested on servicing newly bought cars than to attend to olders cars also bought from them!!!

• I also use Korean car. No problem at all. Used almost 8 years now. No big deal. Turbo also kick in very good. Only experience problem when fuel the car using Petron*s diesel. The car oil filter blocked. The downside of owning Korean car would be resale value (I don’t really care that much) but their reliability, you can count on it. Just make sure you only do the service on their service centre all the time to keep the pace.

• viosfan on May 20, 2017 at 11:04 am

My vios can stand old engine oil for 3 years without changing, it is enginering marvel

• Prospect Buyer on May 18, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Bring in 1.5 Turbo with 5 seater… full spec. 7 seater has useless 2 seater. It is too cramp.. it is just add more unnecessary weight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • DPCraft on May 19, 2017 at 10:55 am

I think there should offer as an option. Because some people don’t need it so it’s extra weight and less boot space.

• ryder0707 on May 18, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Looking forward to buy 7-seater SUV. So Honda/Mazda please bring in the 7-seater version! I’ll buy either one because both is nice :) Unless both CRV & CX-5 got 7-seater than I’ll buy the one with turbo instead hahaha. 7-seater is priority for me because i have 4 kids and D-segment SUV is way too expensive.

• goformpv on May 19, 2017 at 9:56 am

Even kids will curse you with the 3rd row seats space in SUV
      Gud luck!

• ryder0707 on May 19, 2017 at 5:10 pm

Mpv is boring and no fun while driving, that is why Peugeot killed their 5008 mpv, mpv aka minivan is suitable for uncles and aunties hahaha. Any 2.0 mpv accelerate like siput especially uphill genting, test drove many times… really sucks!!!

• Pokok on May 18, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Honda CR-V very likely (if the Honda service guy not lie to me) will only offer 5-seater version for both 2.0 and 1.5 Turbo line up in Malaysia. Pledge to Honda to get 7-seater now for near future add on line up if you looking for 7-seat SUV.

• after so many test drives, when they are going to launch officially……? any idea?

• 2017 is year of SUV. Which to choose: Tiguan, Forrester, CRV, CX5? Dear editors pls guide us later..

• AhBoy on May 19, 2017 at 1:43 pm

If Honda continues to sell so well, they better improve their service side. Nowadays really got to wait and wait just for a normal service. Going to sucks big time if they continue to just sell and ignore the car service department.

• adrms on May 19, 2017 at 4:24 pm

I think they are opening for 1st batch booking already. launching maybe around mid june to mid july, no confirm date till now. But it’s coming soon.

• mackl on May 21, 2017 at 11:40 am

I heard new CRV will be:-
    1) 5 seater
    2) 4 trims: 2.0 4WD, 1.5T 2WD, 1.5T 4WD & 1.5 2WD Premium
    3) 1.5 2WD Premium will come with Honda Sensing [adaptive cruise control, collision mitigation braking system & forward collision warning], power boot, lanewatch, etc.