SPIED: Toyota C-HR spotted on the road in Malaysia

Fresh from being previewed in Setia City last weekend, the Toyota C-HR has now been spotted on the road in Malaysia. Reader Amirul saw the B-segment crossover leaving the Road Transport Department (JPJ) office in Putrajaya, hinting that the car could be undergoing type approval over here.

Before you make any inferences on the local spec, it should be pointed out that this is likely the exact car seen in the preview – a silver Australian-spec entry-level model with smaller 17-inch wheels and halogen headlights rather than the range-topping Kobe’s full-LED units.

That car also comes with a 114 hp/185 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine mated to a CVT, whereas our cars will likely be powered by a larger 150 hp/193 Nm 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated mill, also connected to a CVT. Front-wheel drive should be standard over here.

There’s no indication of pricing or a launch window as yet, but expect the C-HR to only arrive here either at the end of the year or early next year.

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR previewed in Malaysia

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Let us hope the price is not exorbitant. 4 years we have waited for the 30% price reduction promise. Now, soon another elections around the corner. Don’t know what else empty promises going to be given.

Malaysians are already paying the highest car prices in the world. To make matters worse, our GDP per capita ie our pay packet is one of the lowest in the world.

Let us pray and hope car prices come down. It is unfair that only wealthy people can enjoy cars with safety features such as 7 airbags and VSC. It is unfair that 80% of the rakyat can only afford cars like Axia and Saga, both of which have no VSC and even no ABS (Axia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 59
    • Cave facts says Saga3 no ESC ke? And Axia buyers dun need to worry no ABS cuz they can topup for my special package. No fuss no muss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 57
      • Cave Man on May 18, 2017 at 6:14 pm

you sure Saga got VSC? Looks like you are the cave man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
        • Operation Manager on May 18, 2017 at 8:58 pm

No needed to wait even check the price of Toyota in bolehland, as long as under UMW it will be most expensive price cheap accessories brand. Just imagine Toyota Altis (Altis c/w rear Torsion Beam just like Axia, MYVI, Saga,Vios,City,Almera; while others C-segment like Civic Jetta c/w multi-link suspension better handling). Altis 1.8 kosong still selling at 120k. even worst Toyota Camry kosong selling at 150k~160k.

• Sigh. Why do i need to spoonfeed bashers?

paultan.org/2016/09/29/2016-proton-saga-specifications-by-variant/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 19, 2017 at 9:01 am

Most buyers buy Saga basic. Got no ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
          • Nissan go oso no VSC, why no bash?
            Foreign overlord cannot be persoaled

• How wud u know? Ada data ke?

• Zamri on May 19, 2017 at 9:23 am

saga tak ada esc. tak tahu baca?

• Sendri tak tau baca, complain org tak tau baca. Adoi!

• Oh Wai on May 18, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Sure, Saga3 PREMIUM got ESC. Base Saga3 no need ABS coz they deserve your special package. Wait… They still need to pay RM1888 right?

• Cave Man on May 18, 2017 at 6:19 pm

too many dupes. you are confused between saga and persona

• Laughter Koh on May 18, 2017 at 6:22 pm

ha ha ha ha Saga got ESC!!!

• Too Late on May 18, 2017 at 6:54 pm

No match to the upcoming CRV

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 9:23 pm

ha ha ha ha. He give wrong fact then he thumbs up his own comment. Hello, everybody knows Saga got no ESC so they won’t give you a like for a false statement.

• Tatiana on May 18, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Only 1 variant offered. 1.2T with 6 airbags. Price RM152,688

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Tipooo on May 18, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Achelli 3 variants 100-120K.

• apamau on May 19, 2017 at 11:23 am

If 150k, you think the car can move 2 units ?
      myself very interested, but if RM150k, i don’t wanna be call siao lan to buy the car at that price. i hv my pride though toyota and toyoda dont have and still wonder why sales and profit so bad last quarter

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 18, 2017 at 5:22 pm

I wonder whether Toyota Japan begged the Japan Government for RM1.5 bil soft loan, then cannot pay back, ask another RM1.8 bil soft loan to come out with the CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • hyundai89 on May 18, 2017 at 5:31 pm

bulb rear light, cut cost rims

• comolot on May 18, 2017 at 5:49 pm

how about 1.8 hybrid ?? :'(

• thepolygonal on May 18, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Yalor… the hybrid how?

• Toyota dun belip hybrid is for poor pipu, deswai no hybrid yaris here to compete with jazz hybrid. And their CEO wondering why sales so bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
  • sew chang wei on May 18, 2017 at 5:51 pm

why this otr model macam look very different from what i see on internet…

• 2.0 will sell better

• Mikey on May 18, 2017 at 6:23 pm

I just realized that the back door handle is at the top of the door. Did Toyo made a mistake here bcos I can foresee young children might have difficulties reaching the door handle unless there is a button that can open the back doors.

Looks like U need someone 2 open the door for kids who is Under-tall. Hehehe, john MUST be smiling Now.

• David rosyam on May 18, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Over-short person no problem masa

• waters on May 19, 2017 at 8:47 am

under-tall?
      RIP English.

• Mikey on May 19, 2017 at 9:22 am

waters, this is a comment section hence Proper English is NOT necessary. What is important is the gist/fact. Can’t take a joke is it?

If want to read proper English, go read newspapers or some Novels. You might learn a thing or two here if you want to Humble yourself. Life is too short to take things TOO seriously.

FYI, undertall also mean below average height.

• Now whys u go bashing others for correcting ur Ingland when u tryings correcting mine? Hyppo much?

• Cam-Honda Rupa

• Lcians on May 18, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Scrub…better buy kia sorento which is bigger and better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Toyota Milo Kosong Satu on May 18, 2017 at 7:36 pm

I hope when this toyota C-HR is put on sale in Malaysia under UMW, it won’t be a typical-toyota-milo-tin, devoid safety features and gadgets.

Why izit that Malaysian consumers are denied of such safety features in their Toyota, while they had to pay so much money for it?

Toyota has become greedy and unethical, in the name of business.

Anyway, let this be a clear message to UMW that Malaysian are not easily conned these days.

• Trust me CHR 2.0 na will be most Malaysian choice and will sell better and RV better. 1.2 turbocharged engine for long term will be very lag n slower than Axia 1.0…lolz.

• IGP mom on May 18, 2017 at 8:36 pm

What’s new? Once it hit Malaysian shore, everything also downgraded. Halogen lamp(!), smaller wheel(!!), etc etc … gosh. But when it comes to price, higher and higher and higher every time.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 18, 2017 at 9:30 pm

so low spec

• Sonyman1 on May 18, 2017 at 9:55 pm

such a hot car. must price at 160k with 2 airbags and no esc ya . it will outsell all other cars especially cx5.

• Gracke on May 19, 2017 at 10:45 am

Toyota under by UMW here price won’t be low, and they know you all like them……

• Lu Suka Lu Beli on May 19, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Ppl wanna have gaya of this Toyota, can buy it…..please dont complain you have paid more but got less features compared to the same model in other countries…..UMW didnt force this purchase to you.

Some ppl use their head when buying a car, while use their heart buying a car…..

• kobebeef on May 19, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Australia’s top Koba* trim..not Kobe beef.

• Kunta Alberto on May 19, 2017 at 4:56 pm

NA engine with CVT. No thanks. Go and visit a used car dealer. Tell me how many unsold Camry and Altis gathering dust there, you will be amazed. Toyota is not selling well now, in Malaysia.