Perodua maintains 2017 sales target of 202k units despite Jan-Apr 4.1% boost, all models top segments

Malaysian auto sales isn’t out of the woods yet, despite a predicted slight rebound in total industry volume (TIV) by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) and the continued climb of on-form Honda. Market leader Perodua admits as much, despite having sold 64,700 vehicles in the first four months of the year, a 4.1% year-on-year gain.

In a press conference at the carmaker’s Moh Ke Ganu media drive, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh attributed the Q1 surge to carmakers clearing carryover 2016 stock. “Whether this is a true reflection of industry strength is uncertain,” he said.

There are “glimpses of hope”, he said, citing encouraging economic data and reports by market watchers, but “we also need to be cautious as the market continues to be challenging.” Perodua is therefore maintaining its 2017 sales target of 202,000 units, the P2 boss announced.

Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin shared that hire purchase approvals continue to be a challenge for the carmaker, which sells entry level models. The P2 sales chief says that the HP approval rate situation is “tougher than last year”, a sign that there’s no relaxation in the more stringent criteria applied by banks. This has been a longstanding challenge for Perodua, and is a result of its low and middle income target market.

Zahari said that the HP approval rate, which used to be over 60% for the brand, is now below the 50% mark. Taking this into account, the fact that P2 has not just maintained sales but improved on last year’s figures is very impressive.

One might remember Honda proclaiming that its BR-V – which has been an instant sales success in a new segment for the brand – is now the best selling MPV in Malaysia, outselling local models such as the Perodua Alza and Proton’s Exora and Ertiga. Perodua concedes that the BR-V did indeed outsell its Alza in one particular month (by a margin of seven units), but all its models – Axia, Bezza, Myvi and Alza – lead their respective segments year-to-date.

Aminar said that Perodua is working on new products in accordance with product life cycles (the Myvi and Alza have been described as “ageing” products despite sales figures that are still strong), but in typical Perodua fashion, declined to elaborate on the replacement models or their timeline.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I like Perodua’s unpredictability. Both in its new product timeline and its product suddenly and violently sliding off course due to lack of VSC. Keeps the suspense going.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 19, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Where is Proton going to hide their face? One is making so much money and the other is bleeding so much of money and sales are so bad despite 90% of its orders are made by the Government.

Pity Perodua. have you ever seen many PDRM Perodua cars? Only a few. All their cars are Proton.

Proton gets so much of help from kerajaan and yet, 202,000 vs 70,000 sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Albert on May 19, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Kunta
        If perodua cars have campro engine n punch cvt gearbox,do u think 200k units is attainable 2017?
        Cos of daihatsu/Toyota inputs…the PERCEPTION FORMED is favorable to enable car buyers to go ahead with the purchase.
        Likewise,if protong has daihatsu/toyota inputs,its sales wont be ailing.
        So,the thing called PERCEPTION is where protong failed miserably.
        PERCEPTION involves quality,affordable pricing,ease of spare parts,uptodate technology n good after sales service.
        It is a COMPLETE PACKAGE to enhance the buying decision.
        So perodua is definitely on track to achieve its sales target,even in bad times.

• williamloh on May 19, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Perception? Perodua is local manufacturer la. What Toyota and daihatsu you talking about… They stronk because engine and good gearbox.

• Jean Shih on May 19, 2017 at 5:20 pm

P2 is risking Malaysian life by producing low safety standard at higher price.P2 just took advantage of heavy excise duty on foreign cars and claimed they are the best choice for low income people.P2 neglects on proper safety equipment justify their greediness and profit eccentric company.As a national carmakers supported by government policy they should be generous on people safety by implementing higher standard in all aspects.People buy P2 coz they have to not coz it’s the best.What we should do to prevent them denying our rights? There is only one option.Vote for change people!

• Tok Guru on May 19, 2017 at 11:00 pm

People still have the rights to make informed choices. Are they really neglecting consumers? I think that is far from the truth. People for one knw what they are paying for these days. End of the day it is our money. Our own money. We have to be smart and make right choices. We cant accuse people of being greedy or depriving us of certain things in life. We as consumers should do the research. We should do our homework. We should make the best choice that suits our own life. Then only we can be happy. P/s even if we had all the safety features in the world in one car, could we still guarantee a 100% that it will be safe? No right? Just my opinion. Tolong jgn kecam saya. Tq

• And who is the culprit of high excise duty on foreign cars?

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 19, 2017 at 3:10 pm

You know why Perodua do so well? Well, because they are so humble.

Even making so much of money also, I hear Aminar just drives a Bezza to work. And Datin uses a Myvi at home. This is what you call humility.

Proton directors and CEO? Company losing money also all use Audi A8L with drivers. RM700k car.

This is why Perodua does so well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Huh? Now only u knows how gr8 my P2 is kah? Come out from cave lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Lack of VSC suspense you? Guess the dropping sales of Proton with VSC will kill you then.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 19, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Though I am very supportive of Perodua, I must admit one thing, their cars still don’t have VSC and ABS (Axia)

In Japan, Daihatsu and Toyota sell all their cars with VSC and ABS compulsory.

But in Malaysia, they take all these safety features out to untung lebih.

And who owns Perodua? It is UMW. And who owns UMW? It is our beloved Government.

In one hand Government says having VSC will prevent 45% of accidents and deaths. In another hand, Government enourages car companies to sell cars without VSC.

Flip Flop.

VSC was made compulsory in Europe 12 years ago. And ABS was compulsory 15 years ago.

Perodua is still selling cars without safety spec introduced 15 years ago.

Come on Perodua, we Malaysians deserve better. Our lives are important you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on May 19, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Exactly.

Instead of selling GearUp bs, try offer optional VSC for RM3k topup. Believe me, people are very willing to pay for it.

So why not make it easy, everyone gets VSC, easier to assemble as all units along the production line gets them, customers loves safety, their profitability increase.

Bezza Advance alone makes nearly half of entire Bezza sold. Their target market are not people who can afford to change car that often, so the one time they buy it, they made sure it has VSC. For the rest, they wish they can afford it, but have to face reality their budget won’t allow it.

Give VSC to all is the greatest CSR Perodua can ever commit.

• Tok Guru on May 19, 2017 at 10:49 pm

The whole range of axia cars now have ABS. Yes VSC not yet

• Wake up Kunta on May 21, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Axia has ABS (since 2016) , but no VSC. Many ppl have pointed this to you many times but you keep repeating the same mistake.

• Lcians on May 19, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Poodua 38% milek UMW mantap !

• Silthice on May 19, 2017 at 2:38 pm

Perodua is lucky as they don’t have to bare the R&D cost. What they to do is simple, just request to rebadge Toyota Cayla/Daihatsu Sigra as the New Alza. Sure will boost the all new Alza sale and overatake the BR-V & Ertiga. The fan at the rear sure works better rather than a single front blower. If want to further strengthen their sale, bring in the all new Kenari that has been rumored for quite awhile. If afraid not enough timeline to make it this year, just change the badge like the ertiga. Faster and Malaysian don’t have to convert again into JDM cars.

• Proton is doing rebadging of perdana and ertiga too. How is the sales?

• Dun worries. We will still contribute bonus to mother company toyota. Kesian mereka.

• Mikey on May 19, 2017 at 3:16 pm

I-Say-Man P2. Don’t la tell us that U sell 64,700 vehicles in the first 4 months. U are putting pressure on P1 & john la like that.

Without VSC on most of your models also U wolup/beat P1. I wonder how much more if U equipped your cars with VSC later. hehehe. Cheers…

• Mikey on May 19, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Congratulation to Honda for being the best selling MPV in Malaysia. There must be something Honda doing is RIGHT.

• Any idea when the new Alza coming out?

• Kennytkg on May 21, 2017 at 9:02 pm

What happen to p1 partnership?