Perodua Myvi reaching the one million unit milestone

It was exactly two years ago to this date when we reported that there will be one million Perodua Myvis on the road by the end of 2017. That major production milestone is now just around the corner, expected to happen this month, half a year ahead of schedule. One million Myvis will make it “the most produced Malaysian vehicle in history,” according to Perodua.

The Perodua Myvi was launched here in May 2005 and was Malaysia’s best selling car until the end of 2014. Interestingly, the Myvi (My Vehicle, Malaysian Vehicle), a reworked Daihatsu Sirion, was supposed to be a “niche” model in what was then a sedan dominated Malaysian market – the great response that cut across demographics caught Perodua by surprise. The rest, as they say, is history.

The second-generation D54T Myvi received the baton in mid-2011, while the facelifted second-gen made its debut in January 2015. Perodua still sells few thousand Myvis a month today, and it’s one of the carmaker’s four core models alongside the Axia, Bezza and Alza – 13,900 units from January to April 2017 ain’t that shabby.

All but a fraction of the one million units Myvis are in Malaysia. 35,400 units of the five-door hatch have been exported since 2006, and of that total, 31,000 have gone to Indonesia as the Daihatsu Sirion since 2007. The balance have been exported to seven countries – Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Brunei, Singapore, the United Kingdom, Fiji and Nepal – as the Perodua Myvi.

Top row (L-R): 2008 first-gen facelift, 2011 second-gen Standard
Bottom row (L-R): 2011 second-gen Extreme, 2015 second-gen facelift Advance

“We are happy yet humbled by the trust given by Malaysians to our brand and we will continue to offer our best in terms of value and services to all Malaysians,” said Perodua CEO and president Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

It’s not perfect, but the Myvi has struck a distinct chord with the Malaysian car buying public by offering decent performance and generous amounts of space at an affordable price. Just like how a generation of drivers once lived and learned in their family Proton Saga, the Myvi is serving that role today.

When asked on the secret of the Myvi’s success, Perodua Sales MD Datuk Dr Zahari Husin said that this is a car that appeals to all regardless of age, gender and race. He’s right, just look around you. I’d like to think of it as the Volkswagen Beetle in a Malaysian context, the people’s car. There’s a third-generation Myvi just around the corner, so we won’t be betting against the nameplate finding another million homes.

Congratulations mate, may you live long and prosper!

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi through the years

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mikey on May 22, 2017 at 9:03 am

P1 Saga should have been the one selling 1,000,000 units. Unfortunately, P1 screw it up. How they screw up ??? The SAGA continues …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • kakilubuk on May 22, 2017 at 11:58 am

Huge difference btw Jepunis & MY mentality.
      P1 Shud have spend that money making cars with specs that pipu actually wants.

• Operation Manager on May 22, 2017 at 2:00 pm

This is VW (Very Worrying)… P2 just put 1 millions Msian life into danger of approved on-the-road vehicle without VSC… under direction of mai.maa.miti, current MYVI (included many others vehicle) still approved selling w/o VSC/TC. This is very sad …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Frankie Gan on May 22, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Don’t let the figures distract you from the facts that P2 selling overpriced cars with so much less safety specifications since their existence even with the protection by the government.What to proud about that? Paying expensive overpriced metal without direct competition? Malaysia auto industries had collapsed since the creation on P1 by old senile fox during early 80’s and P2 just digged the hole deeper in the early 90’s.What made it funny was the old fox said his visionary reason just to make cars cheaper and all Malaysian afford to drive a car.What he don’t tell you was he secured big contracts for his cronies vendoring parts for P1 and imposed exorbitant nonsense excise duty and tax for foreign cars.In fact foreign manufacturers can produce cheaper and better quality even their main plant located far across region and continent.More than three (3) decades Malaysian being fooled by this old fox and current government.Now you all sing along together with his in the name of change? I can’t smack my head more thinking the fact Malaysian is really darn stupid and such a snowflake breed and society.Get rid of him and we still can survive our future.Without him we can rest assure no more disaster in our daily life.

• Pipu dun care about safety that’s why. And if VSC is put aside for both, p1 cars are still much more safer than p2 with better handling

• jasonxer on May 22, 2017 at 5:59 pm

better safety and handling good on paper.

None of that matters if the car breaks down.

Taking public transport even more dangerous with all the crooks around!!

• KenJi on May 22, 2017 at 9:04 am

This is a car that appeals to all regardless of age, gender and race. Bangkitlah Volkswagen of Asia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Ben Yap on May 22, 2017 at 9:05 am

congratulations to Perodua! doing a great job especially updating the Bezza to look better.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 22, 2017 at 9:05 am

This would mean that there are 1 million cars without VSC in Malaysia from Perodua alone!

Malaysian Government already announced last year, if all cars had VSC, 45% of all accidents and deaths can be prevented.

The best part is, VSC was made compulsory in Europe since 2005. In Japan, the similar Toyota/Daihatsu Passo comes with VSC as standard. For over 10 years they have been selling Passo in Japan with VSC

Why our Myvi (Passo) got no VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
    • Tok Guru on May 22, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Oi !!!!…. boring la see same copy paste comment from u jack asses…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
      • tokmoh. on May 22, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Don’t perodua pride themselves making record as fastest responding manufacturer ever? In 6 months, they pride themselves no longer make Bezza too tonggek.

So why not we push for the most crucial feature : VSC. Anytime I’d choose VSC over revised bumper.

Great job, YB Kunta Kinte. We must never tire ourselves and continue to pressure Perodua to give everyone the safety feature we need.

• Tok Guru on May 22, 2017 at 4:50 pm

Well done kunta kinte and tokmoh… u both are heroes…. kipidap go eat karipap …

• loler on May 22, 2017 at 6:23 pm

What? Heroes? Lolololololololololololololololol

• 4G63T DSM on May 22, 2017 at 9:22 am

Good job then Perodua.

The Myvi came in at the right time to capitalize the void left by disgruntled Proton (or shall I say, ex- ) owners fed up with rapidly declining build quality and reliability, absolutely dismal customer and technical service and two decades of being taken for a fool with mandatory and useless “accessories” packages that did nothing but fill someone else’s pocket.

I remember testing the Myvi when it first came out and thought what sort of rubbish it was, and expected no more. Little did I know even this little car, well below what I was expecting was a much better preposition than what Proton could muster.

It was under powered, unrefined, but it did tick many boxes of would be buyers with Japanese reliability, ease of ingress/egress and to drive, decent build quality and loads of space but most importantly, given buyers a viable option that is not from Proton.

I hope Perodua does not rest on its laurels, the market has moved on, with even budget offerings having the full spectrum of safety gear, something that Perodua cars are left wanting. The market and its consumers are watching. We vote with our money.

But I hope they remember, Perodua’s success is mostly due to Proton’s failure.

To the next million then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • Tok Guru on May 22, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Now this is what i call a good comment. Thumbs up bro….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • MahaGuru on May 22, 2017 at 2:10 pm

Good job 4G63T DSM!

Poodua make cars w USPs & specs that pipu actually wants!

• Mustafah on May 22, 2017 at 1:32 pm

That’s right. On a side note, P2 can emphasize on providing more safety features to its cars.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 22, 2017 at 9:25 am

One million unit of Perodua cars that is not equipped with VSC. How many lives were lost, Perodua? Responsible company konon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • mystvearn on May 22, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Janji tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je Poodua. Jimat minyak, murah servis,
      enjin Toyota reliable, RV ada. Klu beli P1, hari2 pening

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Perodua cars not VSC, everyone knows it. Unlike Proton send car with tether hook for testing and remove it in production cars.

• tokmoh. on May 22, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Ini salahan macai macam Tok Guru.

Kunta nak minta VSC pun complaint. Betul apa, memang govt sendiri say VSC can reduce 45% accidents.

Perodua eksyen they listen to customers bcuz they need 6 months only to tutup Bezza’s tonggek, let’s see them listen to our demand for VSC to all models?

• Tok Guru on May 22, 2017 at 4:53 pm

U seriously have a superficial amount of knowledge let alone common sense u common man… why do u resent perodua to the cellular level so much because it doesnt have VSC? Are u saying VSC will solve all our problems?

• jasonxer on May 22, 2017 at 6:14 pm

he want VSC so that he can do even more stupid thing without causing other people or himself to crash.

he just angry that he have no car control to do the stupid thing he want to do. so depend on VSC to solve his inadequacies

• tokmoh. on May 23, 2017 at 11:03 am

I need VSC to protect myself against idiots like you all in Perodua driving like pelesit, endangering other users like me.

At the end of the day, I will be more likely to walk away unscratched, while you got injured if lucky, or dead.

• Not good enough. I guess it’s time now for the newer generation of Perodua Myvi equipped with at least traction control and electronic stability control as standard? Don’t forget, you still have roughly two and half years left till year 2020 to include Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) and lane-keeping active safety systems as standard. We shall wait and see if you could even start include Traction Control as standard on all Perodua vehicles before even aiming for AEB or even lane departure assist as standard.

• Optitron on May 22, 2017 at 10:11 am

Dear Perodua,
    Please bring back the Optitron lights on the meter panel.
    Just because one complain from a mat salleh and you remove that feature seems silly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • kirko on May 22, 2017 at 10:18 am

This is the proof that Malaysian people love hatchback with minimal bootspace of 5-seater, and maximum bootspace when rear seat get folded..

But what about Proton Iriz? Kia Picanto? They are also same class as Myvi! but not popular!

Why bother on 2 airbags on Nissan X-trail? This Myvi also only has 2 airbags nobody bats an eye! See.. airbag quantity also not an issue~

What so special about Myvi anyway?

• sick&tired on May 22, 2017 at 10:35 am

when all options are terrible, you end up picking up the least terrible one!

• landan on May 22, 2017 at 11:01 am

Sadly the 2015 myvi advance is the ugliest of them all. No thanks to P2 designers. Axia also suffers the same fate, the new advance axia is uglier than the last one. P2 could
    use new designers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • I think it’s fine, it remind me of riced gtr skyline,can do vroom vroom

• jasonxer on May 22, 2017 at 6:07 pm

by your theory of ugliness, there are about 200k car buyers a year that still buys the ‘ugly’ car.

if P2 hire your good designers… whoa!!!… crazy. Can sell even more car because it looks good right? 300k? 400k yearly sales? Where would P1 be then if P2 can sell even more cars?

Please give P1 some hope. Admit that it is just your minority problem.
      And that people are not buying P1 car only because they look better

• Hoyhoysum on May 22, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Now Axia might be taking the lead in the future

• Holofanboi on May 22, 2017 at 1:29 pm

Me wonders if they will celebrate the milestone with a performance oriented myvi?

Well…one can hope.

• killer machine

• alex chan on May 22, 2017 at 3:09 pm

one of the world best sports car

• matt farrel on May 22, 2017 at 3:16 pm

cant wait for the millionth myvi to roll out the production line…Perodua should really launch a timer till the millionth car rolls off the factory..and i really cat wait to see the next gen myvi due later this year

• Congrats malaysian compact super car company

• normal_user on May 22, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Things that I wish for the next generation Myvi & Alza:
    1. Sophisticated suspension for Better ride comfort (As good as jap B segments)
    2. Fully loaded safety features with 6 airbags, VSC & perhaps AEB.
    3. Optitron meter (why drop it)
    4. Integrated head unit with full access to Android app while driving.
    5. Toyota Global New Architecture platform.. not the current Sirion / Passo platfom which is an upgraded chassis.

• Aero (Member) on May 22, 2017 at 9:47 pm

The Myvi is NOT “the most produced Malaysian vehicle in history”.

Proton sold over 1.2 million of the first gen Saga, and over 500,000 second gen Sagas up to late 2015. I estimate that Proton has sold around 1.8 million Sagas in 32 years.

Once again, Perodua is caught lying and twisting facts. I won’t deny that the Myvi is a best-seller in its own right. But Perodua should tell the facts as is, and not ‘goreng-goreng until sedap’ for the sake of marketing.

• MenteriPasola101 on May 22, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Things that I wish for the next generation Myvi & Alza:
    1. Sophisticated suspension for Better ride comfort (As good as jap B segments)
    2. Fully loaded safety features with 6 airbags, VSC & perhaps AEB.
    3. Optitron meter (why drop it)
    4. Integrated head unit with full access to Android app while driving.
    5. Toyota Global New Architecture platform.. not the current Sirion / Passo platfom which is an upgraded chassis.

Saya sokong 100℅

• we can what P2 in house can do with an axia platform in churning out the bezza….

I’m curious to see if they have anything in store using the next myvi platform….
    1.5 litre sedan…? to take on the vios and city…?

aim high perodua….aim high….