Volkswagen Vento Highline now with LED headlights, touchscreen infotainment system – no change in price

Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) has quietly updated the Volkswagen Vento sedan – the range-topping 1.2 TSI Highline variant now gains LED headlights at no extra cost.

The new lamps, which feature LED low and high beams as well as LED daytime running lights, are essentially the same items introduced on the facelifted Polo in other markets. With them, the Vento joins the Mazda 2 and the recently-facelifted Honda City in offering LED headlights in the B-segment sedan class.

A new RCD 330G infotainment system – with a five-inch touchscreen, MirrorLink smartphone screen mirroring, Bluetooth connectivity, USB and auxiliary ports and an SD card slot – has also been added to the kit list, a change extended to the mid-spec 1.6 Comfortline as well.

Otherwise, equipment count on the Highline remains identical, and include 16-inch Syenit two-tone alloy wheels, Cable fabric upholstery, Climatronic automatic air-conditioning with rear vents, all-round auto-up/down power windows, cruise control, four speakers, four airbags and stability control.

Mechanicals have also been left unchanged, with the Highline continuing to be powered by a 105 PS/175 Nm 1.2 litre turbocharged TSI petrol engine mated to a seven-speed DSG dry dual-clutch transmission. As mentioned, pricing remains identical, at RM94,461 on-the-road without insurance.

GALLERY: 2016 Volkswagen Vento (pre-update)

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Vios will offer underside neon lights to compete, cuz they knows their target market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 23, 2017 at 12:35 pm

If VW replace DSG with Punch CVT found in Protons, I will consider buying. Lousy as lousy gets, but at least it WORKS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
      • Punch > DSG > Dino 4AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • 6-speed Super ECT > Punch > DSG

• bolehlah on May 23, 2017 at 7:42 pm

When cannot sell. Everything is possible for VW

• Sama L00 on May 23, 2017 at 4:39 pm

For a lot of new Persona drivers on the road, they are imagining they are driving a VW on the road.
          The power of day dreaming… you need it to tahan Proton quality.

• Stranger on May 23, 2017 at 4:45 pm

And Jazz Hybrid will use lousy DSG

• kane matrix on May 23, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Dude, have you owned a VW to at least comment about DSG, I am driving 3 year old Jetta without any problems whatsoever. You must be living in a cave. Go and chat with real owners who own CKD models, they will tell their cars are perfectly reliable. This issue has already been addressed. Move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • passion on May 23, 2017 at 11:30 am

good!

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 11:49 am

I have a feeling the whole article will be focus on the 7-speed DSG “dry” dual-clutch transmission instead of ALL the goodies/improvement by VW. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • passion on May 23, 2017 at 11:55 am

the LEDs should be offered for the 1.6 as well. its the best seller.

• andrekua on May 23, 2017 at 12:05 pm

All these offer really shows how much consumers in general being ripped off by auto manufacturers in Malaysia.

• mr1031 on May 23, 2017 at 1:37 pm

the biggest ripper of all >> gomen tax

• CKD here, then minimal tax. unless all savings kena sapu by brandholder.

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 4:51 pm

john, CKD for <1,800cc is 75%(excise duties) & 10%(sales tax). U call that minimal?! Take a rest john, U are "working" too hard.

• When car is quailified for EEV status, then excise down to 25%. And mana lagi ada sales tax now? Nak tipoo siapa?
            Reason U dun see savings cuz ur toyota gasap semua. Wanna blame go find ur overlords, not gov.

• Mikey on May 23, 2017 at 8:37 pm

john, if what U said is true about EEV status that its only 25%, then where is the saving? Assuming(75 + 10 = 85 less 6% GST = 79% less 25%EEV)= 54%

Where is the 54% saving? If I continue saying where it went, this comment will NOT be posted.

• The reason u dun see bigger savings is cuz of brandholder profit margin. If calculations were that simple, u wud boycott selling for ur employer by now. Or maybe not, still to pay ur late bonus.

• Henry on May 23, 2017 at 5:53 pm

Repeat a lie often enough and it becomes the truth.

• U mean like the scam VT/Mazda trying to shift blame to gov? Nice try.

• hazamiey on May 23, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Jib the ripper

• Leafable on May 23, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Aggresive marketing. But we like it. Well done Volkswagen.

• Jonn Dol on May 23, 2017 at 12:37 pm

It’s about time, perhaps VW a bit too late to introduce those two items (proper LED lights & Infotainment System) into the local Vento, when the Japanese competition already have these features much earlier.

• applegreen on May 23, 2017 at 12:46 pm

The car looks much nicer. A few years ago it is more expensive and you dont get the arm rest

• Socai (ori) on May 23, 2017 at 12:57 pm

most earlier buyers generally pissed off wit such marketing tactics, culprita includes Toyota, always give kacang putih one by one

• seancorr (Member) on May 23, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Free Mirrorlonk on the Vento but it’s a cost option for the Tiguan? Where’s the logic in that?

• Kenny Fang on May 23, 2017 at 2:04 pm

LED headlights are not suitable for buyers of B-segment cars costing less than rm100K. They are very expensive to replace and will burn a hole in the pocket of their owners who are probably from the middle income group. Having shell out one month’s salary for one (1) headlight will make anybody jump.

• Gud LED lights will last the lifetime of the car and more. Provided them foreign lords supplier is gud and not OEM from alibaba.

• RejimKejamGanas on May 23, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Gaya mesti ada. No VSC and 2 airbags also ok, but must have LED DRLs.

The Vento highline at 96K OTR should have got an upgrade with curtain airbags, not just LED DRLs.

• seriously tempting