Volkswagen Vento Allstar and GT editions launched – from RM78,888, added kit at a lower price

We’ve seen the Volkswagen Polo Allstar, now here its sedan sister – the Volkswagen Vento Allstar. The dressed-up special edition of the B-segment sedan was launched today by Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) at Midvalley and will be on display here from today till Sunday (May 28).

Like the Polo Allstar, the Vento Allstar wears subtle accessories, which include black trim strips on the doors, a black boot garnish and and “Allstar” B-pillar badging. Inside, one will find leather seats (“Allstar” printed on the front seats) and aluminium sports pedals, plus floor mats and door sill scuff plates with the “Allstar” script.

The Vento Allstar is based on the Comfortline, which means you get a 1.6 litre MPI naturally-aspirated engine with 105 PS and 153 Nm of torque at 3,800 rpm, mated to six-speed conventional automatic transmission. It’s available in Reflex Silver or Candy White.

Standard Comfortline kit include fog lamps, 15-inch “Riverside” alloys, a height-adjustable front armrest, chrome interior highlights, leather-wrapped steering wheel and gearknob, Climatronic auto air-con, cruise control, Bluetooth and four airbags. The head unit is a non-touchscreen RCD 320G unit.

VPCM says that the extra accessories are worth RM7,000, and the Vento Allstar is priced at RM78,888, which includes discounts. The Comfortline’s original price tag was RM86,888 (or RM87,646 OTR excluding insurance), so it’s more kit and a lower price.

As a bonus, the Vento Allstar comes with the new MY VW Drive App, which shows the driver fuel consumption and driving style tracking, among other car data such as its location. Users can also use it to call for roadside assistance in emergencies. There’s a SIM card in the car that “communicates” with the smartphone app – subscription is free for three years.

The Vento GT meanwhile is a special edition based on the top Vento Highline, which is powered by a 1.2 litre TSI engine with 105 PS and 175 Nm from 1,550 to 4,100 rpm. The turbo motor is mated to a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch transmission.

The GT is an attempt to inject some sportiness into the Vento – launched here a year ago – and it features a bodykit that includes a front chin, side skirts, slim boot spoiler and a rear bumper extension that incorporates a black “diffuser” section. There’s also a 3M “satin” black roof, black wing mirror caps and the lower door black strip that’s also present on the Allstar. There’s a GT badge on the boot.

Also like the Allstar, the Vento GT is available in Reflex Silver or Candy White and gets floor mats and door sill plates with “GT” script. There are also aluminium sports pedals and leather seats. The latter has “GT” printed on the front chairs, and you’ll find a honeycomb-like pattern on the leather covers.

The Highline that the GT is based on comes with all the kit on the Comfortline, but adds 16-inch “Syenit” alloys with a two-tone machined finish and ESC. The Vento GT, with additional kit worth RM9,000, is priced at RM89,888 inclusive of discounts. The Vento Highline’s original list price was RM93,888 (or RM94,461 OTR excluding insurance).

“We not only want to make our cars more accessible to Malaysians, but we also want to give them more options with value added benefits, whilst ensuring that the cars they drive are instant head-turners,” said Erik Winter, MD of VPCM.

If you’ve been keeping track, you might be wondering where’s the LED headlamps and daytime running lights from the updated Vento that appeared on Volkswagen’s Malaysian website yesterday. Well, that’s the update, and these are the run-off special editions. The car with the new eyes is not at Midvalley.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Vento Allstar

GALLERY: Volkswagen Vento GT

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• So with the new VW distributor, it must have hired some ex perodua staff because VW is like perodua now, doing all sorts of comestics only to the cars and give the cars a fancy name….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • David tan on May 24, 2017 at 1:15 pm

I see vw msia is trying to do a lelong here due to poor sales….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Maria on May 24, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Lol i thought the GT version is the same like in Russian one with 1.4 TSI…Finally they step up their game very well

• stock clearing specials
    For the unsuspecting public

• Cash to Trash on May 24, 2017 at 1:44 pm

The bonnet closes with a half inch misalign to the side body panel at the headlights. Shocking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • abc123 on May 24, 2017 at 2:21 pm

those black stripe reminds me of the armband sport team wear when someone passed away….

• Das Auto on May 24, 2017 at 2:38 pm

First step into Teutonic excellence. Solid build engineering, understated cool, technical & roadgoing dominance.

• Continental.
    Added kit.
    Lower prices.

Meanwhile jepunis shippers bash gov for their overlord up prices. Facepalm kau kau.

• ryder0707 on May 24, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Went to the roadshow, seriously its a boring looking car with no “wow” aspect to look at. Throw away the VW logo and you will regret knowing you pay extra for simple, dull & old school interior. Don’t waste your money on this one. If you have the budget go for Honda City or Toyota Vios instead. Even the Korean cars are better in term of design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
    • VW is known for solid engineering not flashy designs. Want flashy? Go for china car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • ryder0707 on May 24, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Hahaha crappy engineering that will end up behind a tow truck…good luck with that!!! Better flashy than boring like hell…gf oso want to vomit…thats why cant even see one on the road!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • kepalabut on May 24, 2017 at 8:59 pm

Salesman for Honda and Toyota please stick to your jinjang.com site. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Ben Yap on May 24, 2017 at 2:58 pm

I’m waiting for the jetta for some dressed up and discounts.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 24, 2017 at 3:34 pm

VW prices keep on going lower and lower. No wonder 2nd hand market collapse. 1 year old Passat to get RM80k also susah. RM fall from RM180k to RM80k……cry cry cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • zamer on May 24, 2017 at 3:37 pm

how many times to launch this polo aka vento?
    hardly see on the road anyway..

just slap the price to 50K, job done..will see a lot on the road

• timi988 on May 25, 2017 at 12:17 am

use highway everyday bro, you can see a lot of vento on the road…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 24, 2017 at 4:01 pm

With this kind of price people are still buying city…really…

• JB_KIA on May 24, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Is GT = Good Transmission or Guaranteed Transmission?

• Not Toyota Fan on May 24, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Made in India punye, kan?

• Firdaus on May 24, 2017 at 4:57 pm

how the dry clutch DSG tahan the hot Indian weather ah?

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 24, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Better get a brand new unsold unregistered 2015 Hyundai SOnata 2.0. Can get RM91,000. It is a D-segment car at B-segment price; leather, all disc brakes, cruise control, six airbags etc, 5 year warranty. Save more than RM50,000 from real launch price of RM150k-RM160k

• kekeke on May 24, 2017 at 6:05 pm

still expensive tough

• Think positive, maybe the “Allstar” accessories might increase the hp and even the top speed also.

• Honda Fan on May 25, 2017 at 10:09 am

Afterall for the buyers in bolehland it is still about reliability and the choice will always be the Japs. However, only when you drive a Vento 1.2 TSi then you know the meaning of Conti vs Japs.

• The center console is still a disappontment…

• Boo Hoo on May 30, 2017 at 3:31 pm

This car is for people who does not need to join the crowd and drive something “flashy”. TSI + DSG combo too advanced to compare with DVVT/i-VTEC/Kimchi + CVT. Lets hear what the Japanese and Korean fans have to say about this. My friend told me his Kia Cerato KX shifts gear almost as fast as my DSG, for crying out loud… btw i dont care about resale value because i can afford it. reliability? get another car. resale value and reliability are over rated and only for people who apply loan “cukup2 makan” or “ngam2 lepas”. correct me if i am wrong :)