Vehicle warranty void with third-party mods – Perodua

In response to inquiries from customers on vehicle modification, Perodua has released an official statement to provide some clarity on the issue.

According to Perodua Sales managing director Datuk Dr Zahari Husin, vehicle owners who “perform any alteration to the vehicle via a third party” will result in their vehicle warranty being null and void. Keep in mind that this is standard practice for many car brands, as unwarranted modifications can result in unwanted liability.

Instead, he suggested that those who are looking to customise their Perodua vehicle should opt for current accessory items listed in its GearUp or Perodua accessories’ catalogues.

“Our well-trained and experienced aftersales team is also capable of evaluating whether your vehicle can support further upgrades in terms of your entertainment needs or other electronic requirements in a safe manner,” Zahari noted.

He adds that customer safety is paramount to Perodua, and discourages owners from installing any performance-modifying accessories such as bodykits, engines parts and electrical systems.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Lets see if bashers will bash my P2 for the most obvious most facepalm Q&A.

Oh but my special packages is fully covered in the inevitable eventualities (which I expect). Of cuz not by P2, but…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 10:16 pm

What if I modify my Axia and put third party ABS and VSC?

Is that wrong? I am just looking to get a safer car. Since my pariah car company cannot give me VSC and ABS, what is wrong if I make my car safer?

I am just following Malaysian Government findings. They said, if all cars had VSC, we can reduce deaths and accidents by 45%

By the way Perodua, can I ask something. All your cars sold in Malaysia are also sold in Japan. Under Sirion and Passo names. All of them got VSC and ABS.

Why Malaysian Myvi and Axia got no VSC and ABS? Our lives in Malaysia not important ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
      • roller on May 26, 2017 at 12:57 pm

3rd party ABS and VSC?
        Wah manyak pandai la lu

LOL

• sub_zero on May 26, 2017 at 6:15 pm

since when in consumer market is there a off product for VSC and ABS installation/modification?

VSC and ABS is factory only product is not where you as a consumer can get a hand and install like some car modification

if your favourite car manufacturer doesn’t provide it then suck it up and look other brand

• Fk The Poor on Jul 21, 2018 at 11:28 am

Nah mate, u should just take the public transport since u too poor to even afford a car with VSC and ABS. Work harder.

• Axia ori on May 25, 2017 at 5:00 pm

See Told u so. P2 mods kaki

• Sound System on May 25, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Is changing the head unit, speakers or maybe adding power amplifier with subwoofer also voids the warranty?

If it does, then Perodua please put in the optional list for sound system upgrades as most current stock sound system is very basic and blunt. Some people prefer better sound system than body kits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
  • tokmoh. on May 25, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Why is this an issue?

It’s been that way for the longest time, and will continue to be so for everyone out there.

• sub_zero on May 26, 2017 at 6:17 pm

basher not satisfied with their sampan and lousy axia and myvi want to pimp like real ah beng pimping

• daniel tan on May 25, 2017 at 5:08 pm

nobody mod conti or luxury car.

only ppl mod this cheap national car
    el cheapo car cannot mod………
    what the point to buy it lol.
    puik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • why people renovate their house?

• Jimmy on May 28, 2017 at 11:56 am

Renovate house need approval if it involves structural safety.

And if anything goes wrong, you go after the contractor who did the renovation, not the house developer.

Similarly, if anything happens due to the car due to 3rd party modding, the the complain should be taken up with the mod shop and not P2. Whether the mod shop can do anything after the fact is a different story.

• ‘Safety is paramount’ — from p2 that sells cars without ABS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 25, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Hope about audio speakers? Since the factory ones are crappy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • How can installing bodykits affect the engines and wiring. Should have kept silent rather than coming up with this kinda of stmts. The bodykits are much more cheaper at accessories shop than your cut throat shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Petoron Sagu on May 25, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Ekkkk eleh….. Dah takut la tu. Petoron geely dah beli. Nnti p2 bole bungkus.

Anyway…. Can your gear up fitting price same like kedai brothers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Kenny Fang on May 25, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Is Perodua entitled to void warranty for the whole car for any modifications made to the car which has nothing to do with whatever the owner is complaining? This sort of policy can be challenged in court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • landan on May 25, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Very funny statement, customer safety is paramount but no vsc on offer on some models. It is not safety but profit which is paramount to p2. What would the gear up accessories do to enhance safety. You cannot simply void warranty , it just show how greedy and irresponsible P2 is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Lexus Bezza TRD on May 25, 2017 at 8:31 pm

P2 bezza owners may alternately mod with ViOS TRD package, sure gets TRD peace of mind warranty. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Bejja on May 25, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Safety is paramount but Axia low spec don’t have ABS at all and also not VSC at most variant in all models except high spec Bezza… what kind of joke P2??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Zafran on May 25, 2017 at 9:39 pm

There are so many keyboard warrior.Write much but dont know policy.Feel pity to all your comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Apesal semua nak bash P2 ku ni? Tak aci lah. Mana kwn kwn P1 basher ku semua pegi?

• Nvm…those ppl increase the speed to underground

• Please define the term “perform any alteration to the vehicle via a third party”. Publish the fine print for the sake of your customers (but do you really care?).

Does changing tyre from Silverstone/ Kumho to more efficient & better tyres deemed as alteration? Does installing high performance air filter to gain better combustion efficiency affect warranty?
    How about retrofit reverse camera which significantly reduce risk of car park accident?

So as a customer we need to talk to your aftersales team & they can advise us on the upgrade? What if Perodua doesn’t have the upgrade that we need? Please take note we appreciate reverse camera & passive / active safety features more than chrome door handle, chrome window garnish, chrome scuff plate & rear bumper kit.

Please do listen to what customer want rather than direct us to what you want to sell, which doesn’t bring any significance to our hard earned money.

I don’t respect you with your datuk. But jangan kasi malu your “Dr” la. You study hard to earn it. And I do not expect such an ambiguous statement from a Doctorate holder.

Whatever la Datuk Dr., I am happy with my 13 years old kancil turbo whenever I miss stick shift. Vroom! Vroom!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • This thing already apply in all car company. Honda or Toyota also same. So what is the problem? If Honda or Toyota say this, all shut their mouth……

• Vini Vici on Feb 19, 2019 at 12:19 pm

If Toyota comes up with such statement when they are selling cars with 2 airbags while others have 6-8, we will bash them even harder!

• Vincent on May 26, 2017 at 9:59 am

This declared statement and this report is not details enough!

Changing tyre, wiper, battery which is not from P2 will resulting warranty void? What is the logic behind?

What about adding tinted, few pieces of side kits?

I believe it is the time P2 learn some lesson after so many years of success!

Let hope Greedy can turn around P1 in a year!

• If I put a “I LOVE PERODUA” sticker, kira void kah? Itu modification wor.

All manufacturer are using this clause to avoid warranty. While I understand that some modification DO affect car performance BUT please don’t make it a blanket reason to avoid provision of warranty. It must be case by case

• Ben Yap on May 26, 2017 at 10:32 am

if change the perodua logo to toyota, warranty also void?

or now warranty under toyota already?

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 26, 2017 at 12:21 pm

“Our well-trained and experienced aftersales team is also capable of evaluating whether your vehicle can support further upgrades in terms of your entertainment needs or other electronic requirements in a safe manner,”

Wow, well-trained, seriously? here’s a review for a perodua service centre

Advantage – got refreshments however no more ice cream and toaster from a few years ago

Disadvantage – this place has workers doing weird stuff like using cardboard for his tool box and draining fluids from the car directly onto the floor.

My Experience with this place (during several visit to this service center) –

When my mother owned a 2001 Perodua Kelisa (manual) – Car was producing black smoke out of the exhaust. This Perodua service station said it was the exhaust manifold causing the issue. They asked us to replace it at a 3rd party shop down the road. So we did and it did not fix the issue. We ended up getting it repaired at a petron gas station shop which replaced the throttle body which got rid of the black smoke. So this Perodua service station could that identify the cause of the problem correctly.

My mother currently own a 2015 Perodua Axia Standard G (manual) – this service center installed a part that the dealership we bought the car from said was optional. Also they warned to installed an optional gear up accessory. Thankfully my mother noticed it on the receipt and prevented spending an additional MYR80 on that day.

11 October 2017 – they didn’t bother to “program” into the Perodua Axia computer when next service

5 April 2017 – It took them 45 minutes to start working on my mother’s car after first entering the service center. The area you can collect brochure, price list and leaflets was a mess. All pricing list for parts didn’t contain anything about Perodua Bezza, Perodua Rusa and Perodua Nautica. Also to note that they should put a cover over seat to prevent seat from getting dirty however they didn’t bother to place one on the passenger seat when the mechanic was in passenger seat when my mother was taking a “test drive” Also the receipt half English, half Bahasa. Also they didn’t bother the remove the old sticker. Also didn’t bother to fill in service & warranty booklet.

• kucing on May 26, 2017 at 4:43 pm

install door visor… waranty void!!

• Bebert on Oct 28, 2019 at 7:01 pm

seriously warranty void? installing door visor?