DRIVEN: Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L facelift – more shine

While SUVs and MPVs have taken away much of the D-segment sedan’s glam and dominance, the arena continues to be an important one for carmakers to be in, especially so for Japanese brands because it remains the pinnacle of standard warfare before things move higher into the sub-brand realm. As such, a lot of it is bragging rights to be leader of the pack.

Which is what the Honda Accord happens to be – the ninth-generation made its local debut in 2013, and last September, the facelift arrived in the country to continue the game. Since its debut right into February this year, the refreshed car has been the market leader in the segment, with 2,400 units shifted during the period.

Granted, it’s not a terribly large number in the grand scheme of things, but its annual volume of 5,000 or so units chips in with its contribution to the cause, in this case Honda Malaysia’s bid to achieve sales of 100,000 units in this calendar year. We already know the pre-facelift to be a clean, efficient performer, but what does the facelift bring to the table? We find out with a drive in it on a road trip to Kuantan.

Like with the pre-facelift, three variants of the locally-assembled Accord facelift are available, the range made up of the 2.0 VTi, 2.0 VTi-L and 2.4 VTi-L, priced at RM144,800, RM153,800 and RM172,800 respectively. The refresh doesn’t alter anything mechanically, the changes left to exterior tweaks and some minor revisions to the interior, with additional equipment also finding its way on.

Exterior amendments to the car – which measures in at 4.935 mm long, 1,850 mm wide and 1,465 mm tall – are subtle but add refinement. The new grille – with a large chrome bar linking the headlights – that introduces the automaker’s Solid Wing Face to the car doesn’t have the flow of the Civic, but works well enough.

The rear hasn’t been reworked much, save the introduction of redesigned LED tail lights with triple light guides and a reprofiled valence – which now has a chrome strip running across the width of the unit – being the fresh cues. The facelift also introduces a wider rear number plate garnish.

New headlights – automatic halogen units with LED DRLs for the 2.0 litre variants, and full-LED headlights units on the 2.4 litre – and new slimline LED fog lamps across the model range round off the exterior

Both 2.0 litre and 2.4 litre engines are carried over unchanged from the pre-facelift. The 2.4 litre Earth Dreams Technology twin-cam i-VTEC engine – which replaced the K24 when the car made its debut – continues on with 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

Likewise, the 2.0 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine, which offers 155 PS at 6,500 rpm and 190 Nm at 4,300 rpm. Both engines are paired with the automaker’s familiar five-speed automatic gearbox, which is starting to feel a bit long in the tooth.

No complaints about its general performance – it hauls the car around in good order, but you can’t but help feel that an extra cog at the very least would improve the range and scope of the presentation by quite a fair bit.

This was certainly the take during the Kuantan drive, which had the car running most of the given two-day course on the highway. Driven sedately and at lower speeds, the ‘box – via the 2.4 VTi-L – remains ably composed, but push it hard and the scale offered by the available gearing complement starts to feel short.

Much of it has to do with response and, to a lesser degree, refinement. This was never that apparent with the old K24, which had a lazy take-up and didn’t expose the transmission, but the 2.4 litre EDT is a far livelier unit, and its racier low-end pull right into the midband exposes the five-speeder’s aging character a fair bit.

Aside from that, the 2.4 litre variant – which made-up virtually all of the fleet on the drive, and so was the only unit trialled – is energetic and willing, effectively a world away from the previous-gen and that languid K24. It lends a lot of vitality to the car from a dynamic point of view.

While we never got to try out the 2.0 litre, word is that it has to be worked harder to get results, and based on the EDT’s workings, the disparity between the 2.0 and 2.4 litre’s behaviour is a thing of the past.

The Accord has always driven well, and the current iteration is no different. Its handling is keen, and reaction to steering input is clean and predictable. The steering itself is light and vague in communication, but the chassis ably masks the sterility of the rack and keeps involvement levels decent.

Ride aspects are very good at speed, and that composure remains constant cruising along, with even long-wave undulations causing very little issue to the car’s poise. The suspension can feel a bit fidgety at low speeds, but though secondary aspects are busier, the Accord doesn’t come across as overly hard riding.

The cabin plays its part – road noise levels are low despite the presence of 18-inchers, which are those from the pre-facelift but now done in a two-tone finish (the 2.0 litre variants ride on 17-inch units, also two-toned), and the seats provide good support and adequate levels of plush over long distances.

No alterations to the layout, but the interior continues to be inviting, with new refinement coming in the form of new trim, with a wood grain and piano black/silver accent combination going on the 2.0 VTi-L and 2.4 VTi-L.

Elsewhere, the instrument panel features a new spindle pattern background to improve appearance, and there’s also a new font for better legibility. The i-MID and infotainment system have also been updated, the 7.7-inch multi-info display and seven-inch touchscreen audio system now coming with with Apple CarPlay compatibility, along with MirrorLink, HDMI and WiFi hotspot functionality.

The level of kit has also been bumped up slightly. All variants now feature push-start ignition with smart entry and six airbags, the last only available on the 2.4 litre model previously. Elsewhere, the Honda LaneWatch blind-spot camera that was also only on the 2.4 before is now found on the 2.0 VTi-L.

As it went well into the evening, the drive also gave the chance to try out the performance of the all-LED headlamps, and the report card on this one scores high marks for illumination aspects and the amount of light spread, with a quick side-by-side against the halogens showing how much better the LED unit’s levels of throw and emission were.

All this adds more shine to an already very solid offering. Nothing has been changed in how the Honda Accord facelift drives and performs, but there hasn’t really been a need to, because it remains a very competent offering in this regard.

A subtle exterior remake and the addition of new kit and features may not sound like much, but it’s more than enough to carry number nine on until the tenth one appears, and the numbers that will assure continued market leadership will attest to that.

You can compare the specifications of all the Accord facelift variants at CarBase.my

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Copypaste Kunta on May 27, 2017 at 7:33 am

The front design looks sharp especially the light. Back light shall redesign sharper shape

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • targa on May 27, 2017 at 10:27 am

I prefer the pre-facelift model, looks less Beng-ish with less chrome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
      • Kuan Tan on May 27, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Camry, Hybrid sportier, high tech, comfy and Lexus class build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Like I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars. Accord or Camry, you will be enjoying the car anyway. Don’t waste your money on kimchi cars or outdated car (new Perdana).

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on May 27, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Camry is 10x time better than this! Toyota is number one.Toyota is king of the world.Why settle for cheap brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
      • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 27, 2017 at 4:31 pm

The Obsidian Blue Pearl color looks modern and sophisticated. I like

• Nancy Liu on May 27, 2017 at 10:00 pm

Mr kunta has no life. He only put fake copy paste story. Keep repeating.

• Tok Guru on May 27, 2017 at 11:29 am

Epic nickname !!! Copypaste kunta.. made my day LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Our car prices are cheapest in the world, deswai we should be grateful. I don’t understand why pipu must complain about car prices. I buy cash…no need loan even

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
      • When too exp, complain too exp. When janji sudah ditepati, complain RV gone. How leh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 9
        • Tok Guru is John Ohwai on May 27, 2017 at 1:24 pm

what a dumb statement. And then answer himself

• Rooney on May 27, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Proton turun edi, harge DRB Honda bila turun??

• Price for Honda is already turun compare to others Japs brand.

• Tok Guru on May 27, 2017 at 12:34 pm

I agree with john. Mesia got cheapest petrol and cheapest car prices in the world.

• Tok Guru on May 27, 2017 at 12:23 pm

See who running DRB, all Proton clowns only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • Since when Proton got DRB?

• Nazri on May 28, 2017 at 9:38 am

We need a Geely CEO to run DRB. We need more staff from Geely China to take positions in DRB. Then Honda cars will be cheaper like geely. Can sell 750,000 cars like Geely

• Smart Malaysian on May 28, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Technically it’s a boring car and nothing to shout about

• Firdaus on May 27, 2017 at 8:02 am

5 speed automatic??? Haha.. dinasour..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 13
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 27, 2017 at 8:04 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 545 Thumb down 865
    • Copypaste Abang? on May 27, 2017 at 10:12 am

Read the same boring thing again and again

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 372 Thumb down 260
      • Lee Kok Wei on May 28, 2017 at 8:57 am

same like how we hear every year Proton losing billions.

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni? Which world u came from that has bog std cars RV higher than purchase price?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 341 Thumb down 256
    • Tok Guru on May 27, 2017 at 11:17 am

Nobody likes u kunta kinta…u have 22 dislikes as of 1130am 27/5/17.

Hahahahahah

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 344 Thumb down 314
    • JJPTR on May 27, 2017 at 2:17 pm

You no money just keep driving your 10 years old myvi quiet quiet la.We rich people don’t even care the price cheap or expensive..More expensive more grand our social status.Not like you buying myvi asked soo many SA who gives biggest discount.We want it we just throw in cash.No question ask and no ask for discount.We just need to be treated like a king and vvip.Just sign the paper and drive the car home.You happy I’m happy.

• Ford Power on May 28, 2017 at 12:52 am

Don’t buy lohr… It’s a free mkt.. Not communism.

• Lee Kok Wei on May 28, 2017 at 9:01 am

keep up the good work Kunta!

• Basher fighting for his dupe life! oh wai oh wai oh wai!

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 27, 2017 at 8:25 am

Why our Honda According top of the range has only 6 airbags and in US, the car got 10 airbags. Why is this so?

Is it because DRB is GLC owned and the Government cannot be neutral and instruct DRB to give more airbags and higher safety spec?

In the US or any country in the EU, Governments are independent from car companies. They will intruct car companies to up the safety spec whilst maintaining low price. If car companies refuse, the Governments themselves will sue the car companies or won’t renew their license.

Here, how is Government going to sue DRB? It is like suing themselves.

So how to fight for the rakyat for better safety spec?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 148 Thumb down 207
    • With honda suppliers, u r never sure if the airbags r safe. So 6 is a nice compromise between ur deathtrap 2 airbag camry, and 10 grenades pointing at driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 62
      • Tok Guru on May 27, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Better buy our Perdana. More luxuri. Cheaper also. We must sapot our own products!

• B4 demanding other brands to up spec, better ask ur jepunis overlord why gip only 2 airbag in camry.

So how to fight for the customer for better safety spec?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 50
      • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 27, 2017 at 1:34 pm

better question is why our local cars gip only 2 airbags but take and suck rakyat billions??

• U mean Persona & Exora & Preve & Suprima is not local cars? Then where it comes from?

• john tarakuluk on May 27, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Bcoz your life if so cheap to be sacrificed.You want 10 airbags? Go migrate America then.This is Malaysia you don’t like airport is always waiting for you to fly out.

• Ford Power on May 28, 2017 at 12:54 am

Buy kimchi la.. Got options in market oso complain. Demm so hai..

• Big executive car, good acceleration but poor cornering car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • safety 1st on May 27, 2017 at 10:23 am

9.7 second on a dinasour gearbox with boring exterior looks…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • targa on May 27, 2017 at 10:26 am

Yeah, this is the first modern Accord without double wishbone suspension.

• You are very wrong sir…you should know now they added extra bar at the front which makes it more agile…yes…i owned one

• Civic, city FL, jazz FL front

• Nelson Chong Ah Keat on May 27, 2017 at 8:46 am

Wha so nice liao. I like the leflesh coz feel not so flesh also. Same car liao but better bet for money coz more things u get. 2.0vtl best buys. Sure got liscount. Maybe 20k liscount can buy. Power car liao

• Ahmad Sabri Husaain Al hani on May 27, 2017 at 8:47 am

Syukur tak beli hari itu. Dah kena refresh. Nak booking satu. Mana delaer bagus kat Klcc ?

• Bang, Just beside rootbeer A&W. ada Toyota UMW…

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 27, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Dealer honda terbaik klcc dekat bas stop sebelah lori nasi lemak kukus depan etiqa twin, boleh nampak dari kedai louis vuitton klcc. Syukur alhamdulillah, ini kereta terbaik jalan balik kampung. Terbaik.

• Johnson Amigo on May 27, 2017 at 9:29 am

very dated dashboard design, the korean equivalent is much more nicer imho..skip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • Speedometer copy from Volvo FM. Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • There’s a new leader for this segment… Optima GT…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
  • Much better buy than Volvo China cuz same same at halft the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Basheer on May 27, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Proton China much better buy then. Same caveman logic.

• But bashers alredi said MY pipu dunwan all local products & local made cuz no quality half past 6 job. So better wait for jepunis thats half price of overpriced Volvo China.

• there he is on May 27, 2017 at 11:23 am

sien la. walao stupid camera lane change. jsut give blind spot on both mirrors la.

• suomynona on May 27, 2017 at 1:32 pm

You’re gonna look left when you want to manoeuvre to the right is it?

• klguy on May 27, 2017 at 11:25 am

ugly interior

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 27, 2017 at 11:51 am

no chance for this to be perdana

• Headline is review of 2.4l vti-l but the articles’ highlight pictures are of the 2.0l vti-l? For sake of consistency PT should be using just pics of the 2.4 and let the 2.0pics stay in the gallery as the readers here are now confused at what they are looking at.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Anthony Lim (Member) on May 27, 2017 at 1:19 pm

It so happened that it was the car available on location, and I felt the images made for a neater presentation. But yes, for reasons of clarity, the inlines have as such been revised accordingly (pun unintended). In any case, to clarify, with the exception of the wheel design and headlights, everything is identical externally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
      • No worries Anthony, didn’t mean to nitpick. I know the 2.4 facelift quite well, I’ve been driving one for about a month so far ;-). Thanks for your revision, it shows your focus on our feedback (pun intended).

• Mikey on May 27, 2017 at 2:27 pm

What is wrong with this Accord facelift that there is so many basher complaining about?? I’m Very sure many will want to park this car in their home especially the 2.4 vti-l.

It comes with most of what U would expect from a D-segment sedan & then some. The front lighting are updated & comparable to modern lights. The interior are as good as any in it’s class. The 18-inch wheels fill the arches nicely.

I agree that the 5-speed auto are Old school but bullet proof & reliable bcos it has stand the test of time. If U think this transmission is outdated, maybe U should test it out first & feel how smooth is the shifting & its no slouch mind U.

Common guys, is this car that bad?? No one put a gun to ask U to buy this car. If U have the $$$, U can always CHOOSE another like the Mazda6, Camry or the latest Optima if U like the POWER that comes with it. To each its own.

Am sure those who just bought or took delivery of their new Accord is smiling & enjoying while driving over the weekend & probably laughing at us commenting here in PT.org. Cheers guys, it’s the weekend.

• azrul on May 27, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Terrible rear suspension

• In this article. perhaps you should mention 1 important thing. Does this 2.4L worth the RM19k extra from the 2.0Vti-l ? Most people in this country bought the 2.0Vti-L spec. And who why anyone wants to get the 2.4L variant when the 2.0L can make do with lower price, lower roadtax ?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on May 27, 2017 at 5:44 pm

Consider a used Sonata. Great value for money

• Holofanboi on May 27, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Anthony, did you test the 2.4’s 0-100? :3

• ryder0707 on May 27, 2017 at 8:46 pm

If you can buy this 9th gen Accord with discount go for it, it is still a good reliable handsome executive car. Haters/bashers as usual talk like they own a sport car but in real life they can only afford P1/P2 cars so just ignore/pity them. 10th gen Accord will be announced end of this year and expected to arrive in Malaysia 2018. So you if you are willing to spend extra, just need a little patience.

• Malaysia Driver on May 28, 2017 at 12:19 am

Segment D cars now must meet the minimum specs as follows:

1. Engine – Output to have at least 200hp with 0 to 100km at the low side of 8 secs;

2. Exterior – LED headlamps, LED foglamps, LED Taillamps including Signal Lamps plus Active Bending Lights, 17 inch alloy wheels or bigger, Auto Wipers, Auto Headlamps;

3. Interior – Leather Seats, Powered Front Seats, Memory Seats (Min Driver Side), Min 6 Speed Gearbox, 8 Inch or bigger Head Unit for the ICE with Mirrorlink, Bluetooth, DVDs, 360 Degree Camera, Park Assist Front and Back, Apple CarPlay/Andriod Auto, HDD enabled with 40GB min storage, 10 Speakers 400w sounds system, FHD Front and Back DVR, Sunroof;

3. Safety – TPMS, TRC, ABS, VSC, BSM, CTA, HSA, ACC, CAA, LKA,DAC, min 7 airbags (Fronts, Sides, Leg);

Honda makes the mistake by not equipping the Accord 2.4 with more power engine and specifications so the buyers switched to other more attractive offers (such as the Camry Hybrid);

• homeboy on May 28, 2017 at 9:38 am

better buy a beemer…….At least more glam and recognizable.

• Honda Fan on May 28, 2017 at 11:21 am

Owing and still driving a Honda, until Honda could solve the NVH problem for all the models, there will not be another Honda for me.

• thomas yoong on May 28, 2017 at 2:23 pm

For the kunta kinte repeat commenting the Accord US price is $22k , that is the base price . Anyone can check online and build the car with specification . Final price will be around $30k without govt tax and delivery fee . Please compare with same specification against local Accord .

• Platform wise..this is the same as the one that was donated to proton..that 2.4 earth dreams engine may have a new name but it shares 90% of its internals with the old k series engine…it’s retuned..has a updated ecu and injectors..that’s about it….Even the Civic 1.5 turbo engine that almost every Malaysian is jizzing about is taken from the old 1.5 vtecs that used to run in the city generation 2…

the fact of the matter is..it mind sound like im bashing honda..but these are facts…through clever rebranding and updating ‘enough’ parts…

Honda has managed to extend the lifycycle of their engineering for 2-3 generations…that’s not necessarily a bad thing and lots do it..but Honda has managed to stretch it through 3 lifecycles (and people go insane about viois having same engine and gearbox..this is an entire brand and range of cars!)..

but calling it ‘new’ tech is a little sad…that 5 speed gearbox is not long in the tooth..it should be buried…

But none of this matters..because most Malaysians jizz at anything with a H badge on it..just like their fathers and older siblings did about 10 years ago with the ‘T’ symbol…Those that in the know..will understand what I’m saying…sadly..most won’t and think I’m a bashing rival brand salesman…… Sekian…