New Hyundai Kona SUV to get EV version, 2018 debut

The new Hyundai Kona SUV, unveiled yesterday, will get a range of engines from a 2.0 litre MPI Atkinson unit to a 1.0 litre turbo triple. Europeans will get a 1.6 litre turbodiesel next year, too. It should cover most needs – there’s even a sprightly 1.6 litre T-GDI for 0-100 km/h in 7.7 seconds – but Hyundai is future-proofing its new B-segment SUV.

At the Kona’s launch event in South Korea, Hyundai vice chairman Eui-sun Chung said that the carmaker will launch a Kona EV model by next year, with Autocar reporting that Hyundai is aiming for the electric Kona to have a battery-only range of around 240 miles, which is slightly less than 400 km.

Hyundai isn’t a stranger to EVs. The Ioniq, which is sold in Malaysia as a conventional hybrid, was designed from the start to have plug-in hybrid (PHEV) and full electric variants, and the Kona could get the latest evolution of the Ioniq EV’s system.

Chung also said that Hyundai is developing an “A-SUV” that will slot in below the Kona by year 2020. This smallest of SUVs will be aimed at emerging markets such as India. There will also be a large SUV that will sit above the Tucson and Santa Fe, to make it a five-model range. This is likely to be a flagship SUV catered to North America.

“Our plan is to develop an A-segment SUV that is smaller than the Kona by 2020 so we can embrace the SUV from A to E segment, so we will also roll out an E-segment SUV that is bigger than Santa Fe. We want a full SUV line-up to respond to our customers’ needs,” he said.

We’ve detailed the new Hyundai Kona, and you can read more about it here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azhar on Jun 14, 2017 at 5:14 pm

still cant brain that fog lights moulding

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Everybody is moving towards EV, PHEV or Hybrid. This is the future. All car companies are moving towards EV.

Except 2 car companies. Perodua and Proton. Both fast asleep. Got no vision about the future. Proton even better, showcased Iriz EV 4 years ago. Then they told gomen they needed to do more research. They took few hundred million of gomen money to do more research. Until today no news.

Proton also promised Hybrid 8 years ago. Until today no news also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 24
    • P1 instead went straight to EV. Hybrid is just a temp solution.

• tarakbaca on Jun 15, 2017 at 5:31 am

There were news, you only tarak baca

• Ah Kow on Jun 15, 2017 at 8:09 am

They can’t even manage their conventional engine cars properly how la to lagak pandai make EV cars.

• They alredi made EV car. And whats the problem with their conventional engine?

• Proton Bayu T8 Hybrid > all

• I would nice to see 1.6 turbodiesel here..

• thepolygonal on Jun 15, 2017 at 8:46 am

Berwawasan betul this company. EV means getting rid of the heavy bulky NA engine with all those piping and belts. Maintenance will be like your house fan or washing machine + aircon… kidding… but basically less complicated than NA engines. Also no more visiting petrol stations and weekly guessing of the fuel price. You decide.

• camtakpro on Jun 15, 2017 at 3:17 pm

Can I have hybrid Kona with Ioniq HEV+ safety and good HU?