DRIVEN: 2017 Honda CR-V – first impressions of Honda Sensing and the 1.5L VTEC Turbo

Following the opening of the order books for it as well as previews in Penang and Kota Kinabalu, the 2017 Honda CR-V has now made its press debut, the fifth-gen SUV being shown to the media in its local specification for the first time yesterday.

The event, held at a secured location, wasn’t the usual drive session. Aside from a short acceleration/braking test and slalom course run between the current fourth-gen model and the new one, there wasn’t much in the way of evaluating the new CR-V in terms of performance, so the full report on it will only come about after the launch of the car, which is expected to be sometime next month.

The event was meant to showcase the workings of the Honda Sensing suite of safety technologies, which is making its debut locally on the CR-V, and of these, three were highlighted through a brief sampling. Two variants of the CR-V were on hand at the event, both 1.5L VTEC Turbo models – one equipped with Honda Sensing and the other, the previously-unseen Turbo 2WD. All interior shots of the new car have however been embargoed until launch, so we can’t show you what it looks like inside.

As reported earlier, the 2017 Honda CR-V will be available in 1.5L VTEC Turbo and 2.0L i-VTEC versions, with four variants confirmed. Of these, three are equipped with a 1.5 litre turbo, with a sole 2.0 litre normally-aspirated unit known thus far.

The turbocharged line-up consists of a 1.5L Turbo Premium 2WD with Lanewatch and Honda Sensing, followed by a 1.5L Turbo AWD and a 1.5L Turbo 2WD. As for the NA, the 2.0L i-VTEC 2WD represents the baseline model for the new SUV. An AWD version of the 2.0 litre is looking unlikely, and so the Malaysian CR-V line-up is set to be that as reported above.

All the 1.5L VTEC Turbo variants use a 1.5 litre direct injection turbocharged VTEC engine with 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, while the NA is powered by the existing R20 naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre i-VTEC motor with 155 PS and 190 Nm. The entire CR-V range is equipped with Honda’s Earth Dreams CVT transmission, replacing the five-speed auto seen in the outgoing fourth-gen.

The event also confirmed that the complete fifth-gen CR-V range sold in Malaysia will be five-seater versions. Apparently, a survey showed buyers in the target market don’t really look at extra seating as a primary point of consideration, instead placing space and features ahead of the additional seats, and so the decision was made to retain the familiar five-seat layout.

A quick recap of Honda Sensing and its available suite of safety technologies. It groups six items under its umbrella, these being Lane Departure Warning (LDW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Road Departure Mitigation (RDM). Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS), Forward Collision Warning (FCW) and Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC), the last working together with a Low Speed Follow (LSF) function.

The LDW, as its name suggests, monitors the vehicle’s lane position using a monocular camera (positioned between the windshield and rear-view mirror) and alerts the driver if the vehicle is veering out of the lane. It operates at speeds from 72 km/h up to 180 km/h on straight and slightly curved roads, and remains on standby at speeds within the operating range with the turn signals not engaged.

As for LKAS, the system uses the monocular camera to “read” lane markings and, working with the electric power steering system, actively adds corrective steering torque to maintain its position in the centre of the lane. It’s advanced enough to identify painted lanes, cat-eye markers and Botts’ dots and is available at speeds between 72 km/h and 180 km/h.

The RDM also employs active steering input to keep the car in its intended lane, but the system focuses more on preventing drivers from unintentionally leaving a road altogether. When the camera detects the CR-V veering too close to the edge of the road, it vibrates the steering to alert the driver.

If the car leaves a lane marked by a solid line, the system engages braking assistance (via the Vehicle Stability Assist) to provide moderate braking to slow down the car and adds corrective steering torque to bring the car back to the lane.

While the workings of RDM and LKAS sound similar, the Honda Sensing engineers present at the event explained that RDM is a safety function (it works only for about five seconds to get the car back in line), while LKAS is a comfort feature, working unobtrusively in the background.

Next, FCW, which utilises the monocular camera as well as a millimetre wave radar, which has an operating range of around 100 metres. If it detects a risk of collision, the system creates visual and audible alerts to prompt a driver to react to the situation.

Should a driver still fail to react to the impending collision, then the CMBS system can apply the brakes autonomously (in varying levels of brake pressure) to reduce the vehicle’s speed in an attempt to prevent a collision or mitigate the effects of one.

The system can tell the difference between a vehicle and a pedestrian, but in the case of people, is only able to detect adults – it isn’t able to pick up forms under one metre in height, which also means it won’t engage if faced with something like a traffic cone.

Finally, ACC with LSF, which again combines the workings of the millimetre wave radar and the monocular camera. In the case of ACC, it allows the CR-V the capability of autonomously maintaining a desired speed and distance relative to the vehicle ahead, and can be set to operate from 30 km/h up, working up to 180 km/h.

The integration of LSF to ACC allows the system to continue functioning even in start-and-stop traffic situations. Available from stop (or 0 km/h) up to 100 km/h, it automatically adjusts the CR-V’s cruising speed when the vehicle in front changes speed, maintaining a set speed and safe distance from the vehicle in front.

The event saw demonstrations of the LDW and RDM as well as ACC and LSF functions, run over a 500 metre-long straight. For the first, the CR-V was set on cruise to 80 km/h, and once the car had accelerated to 75 km/h, the exercise involved simulating a concentration lapse and steering slack, allowing the CR-V to veer off the lane.

The triggering of LDW was then followed by corrective steering being performed by the system, bringing the car back quickly but neatly into the lane. The workings shown through the exercise weren’t aggressive, and the system itself looks to be rather intuitive – any significant driver input will override the system. On one run, corrective steering input upon first deviation off the lane from the driver meant that RDM didn’t engage.

As for ACC and LSF, the system should prove to be a boon in traffic jams with plenty of stop-start and slow moving conditions. The sampling had the new CR-V following a lead vehicle through a series of stops and starts, with different movement speeds each time. Engaged, the CR-V maintained movement and braking seamlessly.

A note about the distance between cars provided by ACC/LSF. On the move, the distance between vehicles is adjusted based on speed, spacing out (in four distance gradients) as it gets faster, which is reassuring. It’s the space made during stops that will take getting used to, given Malaysian traffic and its drivers.

To maintain safety, the system halts the car at a distance of around four metres from the vehicle ahead each time, but with local conditions and opportunistic drivers, expect that space to provide more than enough leeway for another car attempting to slip in ahead. A more complete trial under normal traffic conditions should see how many times this plug will happen over the course of a jam.

Based on the short sampling, the autonomous system looks thoroughly capable, but drivers will need to orientate themselves to trust the system and resist any urge to press on the brake pedal – any such intervention disengages the system and brings control and input back to the driver.

Aside from the Sensing-based exercises, there was also a short course offering a glimpse of how the new car shapes up against the current in terms of acceleration, braking and agility, with the 1.5 litre Turbo 2WD going up against a fourth-gen 2.4 litre variant.

It’s not light and day, but the turbo offers better pace off the line, and it sounds quieter at that. As for the CVT, first impressions are good – it feels smooth and responsive, with very little rubber banding being evident.

In terms of braking aspects, the performance in terms of stopping distance is about the same, at least from that offered over repeated runs during the brief test, but there’s less diving under hard braking, with noticeable less nose pitch on the new car.

The same can be said about agility aspects, which was demonstrated over a short slalom course, the new CR-V coming across as more planted and with less body-roll evident, though the latter is more pronounced viewed from outside rather than in the vehicle. Finally, a note about the steering – that on the new car has a better feel in terms of weight and response. The new interior also looks and feels much more premium.

The full road test of the SUV at some point post-launch should answer all the questions performance-wise as well as provide the means for a more complete insight into the workings of the Sensing suite, which has been benchmarked against that from Mercedes-Benz, according to the Honda engineers.

No longer a novelty, the raft of driver- and safety-assist tech, but it remains to be seen how much of a premium it will cost. Now that it’s here, the question is, will Malaysian buyers pay for it? The answer, in due course.

2017 Honda CR-V 1.5L VTEC Turbo 2WD (fifth-generation)

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:29 pm

Tryout a used Tucson. Higher spec at a fraction of the price of a new or used CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 29
    • tokmoh. on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:31 am

Rm5k i buy. U said koreans no RV, so that should be a very generous offer, don’t u say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:10 pm

Let us hope the price is right and all variants get Honda Sensing. We don’t really care what models come in, so long as the price is cheap and all got high safety spec

It is not fair only wealthy people can enjoy higher safety spec and the people who cannot afford top most model have Honda Sensing taken out as punishment. Most people can only afford 2.0 basic model.

Let us hope Government keeps their promise to reduce car prices by 30%. 4 years have passed and rakyat kena tipu. Already we are paying highest car prices in the world.

In US, the CRV 2.4 CBU is about US$22k. Comes with Honda Sensing as standard.
        A fresh graduate in the US earns US$4500. (RM21,000)

In Australia, the CRV is at RM94k. Honda Sensing is standard. A fresh graduate there earns AUD$4500 also. That is about RM15,000

In Malaysia, a fresh graduate earns RM2500. And according to EPF statistics, 78.3% of all EPF contributors earn ONLY RM1500 and below.

The car is at RM150k to RM170k. Let us hope gomen keeps their 30% price reduction promise.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 56
        • Shady on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 222
          • WT Fuchhh on Jun 17, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Kangkung turun, RM turun.

Excise kereta & AP tiada turun turun…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • Nancy Liu on Jun 17, 2017 at 2:58 pm

See the repeating post again and again. Find a life Mr. Word harder like what Shady advise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 60
          • Melbourne Resident on Jun 17, 2017 at 3:27 pm

luar negara got no road tax. 5000cc also no road tax. And insurance is cheaper. Dont calculate back. In luar negara currency one to one cheaper than Msia

Maintain cost by the hour but your can buy package….like all parts and labour for 5 years. Still cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
          • our car prices is the cheapest in the world. Rm170k is kacang puteh. I can buy without loan…oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
          • Shady bodopiang on Jun 17, 2017 at 10:53 pm

shady bangang anak haram..bodoh otak bebal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • Brian on Jun 18, 2017 at 8:02 pm

john are you sure cars is cheapest in Malaysia?

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
          Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:30 pm

john oh john, still copypaste the same thing. You keep on saying your gomen has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we must be grateful. But pls pakai hotak. How many people can afford RM388k?

If gomen reduce also it must be for Saga, Axia, Myvi and Persona. Majority people can only afford RM60k and below.

bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 18, 2017 at 4:00 am

u oso same wat? 2×5 same like john. I suspect u n john are same person with diff persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 44
          • Not same same. I only reply stupidity in kind.

• Hazmin on Jun 18, 2017 at 6:59 pm

kau tak siuman ke kata harga kereta kat mesia cheapest?

• Brian on Jun 18, 2017 at 8:03 pm

admin should ban john. All of us fed up with his rants and false and fake posts

• For John on Jun 19, 2017 at 12:21 am

Kunta Kinte. What is RM60k today? If you can only afford RM60k, then go for P1 and P2. Ask them to put P1 and P2 sensing because You can only afford to pay 60k. Really sad to see losers here who only know how to complain. If you cannot afford, just shut up and work harder. The world is fair, the harder you work, the more you get. Money don’t fall from sky. Don’t like here, get out. Go to somewhere else so you can afford to pay 60k for a car. Jangan komen macam orang bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • Retardkunta on Jun 17, 2017 at 4:03 pm

I swear if only i see u in real life…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Diss-illusions on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Hahaha… YB, in one fell swoop you sum up the majority of the Malaysian public. I read your statements with sarcasm/cynicism.

• dtctr on Jun 18, 2017 at 5:30 am

Since when KK summed up majority of public? Why you replied to your own dupe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Most probably this vehicle will get EEV status and guess what, greedy cocky Honda and DRB is not going to reduce the price cause they have been aggressively highlighting all those new gadgets to justify the price of RM170+K (top spec) for a small 1.5T engine.
          If you are not desperate for a car don’t buy now cause pretty soon they will introduce CR-V with I-DCD with 7 seater and if you still insist, there are plenty of other options at RM170K. Add on a few K more and you’ll get BMW X1 (2016).

• kzm (Member) on Jun 18, 2017 at 3:57 am

p/s: can u do comparison with neighboring country? Malaysian want to see

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • Pink Diamond on Jun 18, 2017 at 2:42 pm

neighbouring country got no pink diamond problem

• Hazmin on Jun 18, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Kau nak tengok arah first world atau tengok arah thai dan indon jadi 3rd world lagi?

2020 kami nak jadi first world. 3 tahun lagi. Jadi, kita mesti berarah terhadap first world.

Tapi harga kereta masih 3rd world

• Incorrect. fresh graduates you’ll be lucky to find a job in US or australia. and at $4500 roughly 28% of that is taxed every year not including problably . whereas in malaysia your fresh graduate will be taxed 5-7%? and you can’t convert the money because a bowl of noodles here costs 8-14aud (go ahead if you want to convert)

In Australia yearly car insurance is about 8-10% of the car value(fresh grad driving a usual fresh grad car is obviously more). Road tax/registration is maybe about 4-8% of the car value a year. Road tax on a 8 year old Honda Jazz is about $700-800aud every year (6 years and that’s a new car gone to government and insurance). unemployment rate in the US is about 8.4% U6 May 2017. If you want to dig deeper actual figures are up to 28% because of how they discount the actual numbers. So fresh graduates don’t buy new cars. Australia in the same scam basket as part time jobs are counted as full time jobs (which results in a very low unemployment rate on paper)
          Cheap to buy. Expensive to run and maintain. when you claim insurance the excess can go up to $600 aud a pop.

• Sam Kuntaik Loo on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Furthermore, in Australia, drive like Malaysian motorists and their police will straight drag you into jail.

• ayoyo on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:28 pm

hello, dont think your statement is right. about rich one can enjoy more safety than pool one. just because the honda sensing need extra cost…. if you really think this is the safety feature that must have for a car. then those cant afford CRV high spec and always consider Hyundai ioniq mah.. so many choice out there, why worry on the spec and price…. for those who wants a CRV sure need to pay up a bit and material using also not cheap.

• always compare brand new vs used on Jun 17, 2017 at 5:22 am

why dont u try out a used bmw? its also much cheaper than brand new crv… got brand, safety,power and ofcourse fullest spec too

• Copypaste kunta cerita sama on Jun 17, 2017 at 2:53 pm

The new crv looks more macho. Will see more buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2017 at 9:53 am

In US and Australia, Honda Sensing is standard. Even most basic CRV also got. In Malaysia, they will do their normal style like what they have been doing 20 years. Only top most model have Honda Sensing. So, indirectly, to get Honda Sensing, you got to pay RM170k

Same nonsense with Saga, Hilux and many other cars. Only top model got VSC. So, to get safety, you have to pay highest price.

In other countries, things like VSC is compulsory in all cars no matter how cheap or how basic. Cause Government legislate and make law to protect their rakyat against sneaky and dirty car companies.

In Malaysia, car companies are all owned by the Government. Honda is DRB. SO, Government would create a law to say ALL cars must have VSC or in this case, all Honda must have Honda Sensing cause then DRB aka GLC will lose money.

Which is more important? To make money or to sell safer cars that will benefit the rakyat and be less burdensome on the hospital system should accidents happen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 5
      • Shady on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:47 pm

It’s all about profit here. If you want more you pay more. If you cannot afford, work harde.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
      • CarBuyer on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Dear Master of Misinformation,

Check your facts; the entry level VTi and VTi-s models in Australia and the LX in the USA do not come with Honda Sensing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
      • Our Saga got ESC. So, why bother with Jepunis overlords car? Better buy Proton..oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
        • Pink Diamond on Jun 18, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Please don’t mislead people. Saga got no VSC

• Yes it does. Read the specs
            https://paultan.org/2016/09/29/2016-proton-saga-specifications-by-variant/

• Err. Yes, Saga3 has ESC. So why not consider P1 if looking for SEDAN?

• Brian on Jun 18, 2017 at 8:04 pm

enough of fake news. where Saga have VSC?

• Sick of kunta on Jun 18, 2017 at 11:23 am

Dei Kunta, just get lost from paul tan blog. All of us are sick with your comments. What do you do for a living? Spend all your time here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
        • Sick of john on Jun 18, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Dei john, just get lost from paul tan blog. All of us are sick with your comments. What do you do for a living? Spend all your time here

• KuntaSupporter on Jun 18, 2017 at 7:13 pm

you shd get lost! hail kunta kunti !

• Brian on Jun 18, 2017 at 8:06 pm

What about fake news from you? Like cheapest cars and cheapest petrol sold in Malaysia?

• Pakcik parkson on Jun 17, 2017 at 10:25 am

Pakcik sam is now a top sales man at parkson counter.

• Carbuaya on Jun 17, 2017 at 11:35 am

used 2016 Tucson how much?

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST AND AUCTIONEER on Jun 18, 2017 at 6:49 pm

M so teary eyed now…wat a amazing car..with so many high tech gizmos…to fool all…pls buy this overpriced crap ..its going to be a great year for me..my repo guys bring along nurses trained in shock treatment as my added seamless customers service when we visit you..hope u enjoy it..dont forget to drop by my auctions…this shiity would go for 50k max.

• tishaban on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:44 pm

A health insurance policy is paid annually, and “assists” you after some calamity occurs.

The safety features in a car like Honda sensing is paid once, and “assists” in avoiding that calamity in the first place.

In all cases these two should be complementary, yet many Malaysians will go for the former and gladly skip the latter. This is an unsafe way to save money.

• Potong is now China on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:54 pm

It’s good to have all these tech in a 2017 car but I don’t think this will work well for Malaysians. Most of our roads are old with faded road markings so the system will have a hard time detecting the lane you’re in, also don’t even mention keeping Malaysian driver in lanes when they themselves likes hogging lanes. Secondly, I can assure Malaysian drivers will exploit the LSF function especially when the crv is considered a mid-high-end car and only driven by somewhat rich Malaysians with huge ego that likes tailgating. When there’s an accident and the autonomous braking failed to prevent, the system will then be blamed instead of driver error.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • safety 1st on Jun 17, 2017 at 5:25 am

i’d be very careful if the new crv behind my vehicle.. scared it this sensing thing got a glitch and the driver being a malaysia will rely on it 100% and bang my rear. even the autonomous brake system people tested it with a dummy not real people.. nobody’s dare to!

• Nothing is 100% proof, but if they bang u, then they need to pay. Just make sure dun drive a BRV when that happens.

• Semi- autonomous techs will ensure safe distance when in use. To tailgate, need to off all these functions. Hopefully, HM disallows manual override of these techs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • ayoyo on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:47 pm

haiya.. they not only selling in Malaysia mah.. have many country also selling this CRV with honda sensing.. if this features didnt include, then you guys bombard again saying dont have this and that.. come on. if no need the sensing, then just go for car without it lor….

• RM170k.
    Renault Koleos (Like) or 2.5 CX-5 (Dislike)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 56
  • Elchino on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:10 pm

How did they carry our d survey which confirmed that we prefer a 5 seater over a 7 seater. I have asked around but none of us have ever been asked to give our views. To me, it’s useful to have 7 seats whenever we need to chauffeur our family members around. When not in use, we can always put them down flat! Just read d news abt how locals even pack 7 people inside a 5 seater car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 9
    • their “survey” is done only by Honda staff…HAHA

• artnanz on Jun 18, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Yeah I was hoping a 7- seater as well. What a stupid survey!

• ayoyo on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:49 pm

How did they carry our d survey which confirmed that we prefer a 5 seater over a 7 seater.

Yeah, hell true.. who the heck they ask?!

• I think most people would wait for a minor update/facelift for the below specs
    1. 1.5l Turbo Premium
    2. 4WD
    3. Honda Sensing
    4. 5+2 seats

ETCM, Honda Malaysia is bringing in a lame ass version of the new CR-V so you can have it easy when you eventually wake up your product planners to think about the X-Trail facelift. Don’t screw up this chance idiots.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
  • Petrodollar on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:05 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 208
  • Wait for the i-DTEC version with Honda Sensing System & 4WD!

• Big Family Man on Jun 17, 2017 at 2:20 am

Honda better bring the 7-seater CRV! Stupid survey!

• camtakpro on Jun 17, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Q: Do you like our 5-seater CRV? Yes or No?
      A: Yes
      Majority answered yes, hence prefer 5 seater.

Q: Do you like having ABS & VSA in our CRV? Yes or No?
      Majority answered yes, hence majority didn’t mind not having Honda Sensing.

These are how targeted surveys are done.

• David on Jun 17, 2017 at 3:33 am

Too much information.

One simple question:
    Can the driver sleep while driving in the middle of traffic jam (and not hitting others)?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Definitely not. Honda Sensing features are merely driving aids to help you feel more relaxed. In no way does it offer a full autonomous driving function.

• David on Jun 18, 2017 at 2:27 am

Great help! Thanks Hafriz!

• Amir Azri on Jun 18, 2017 at 5:17 pm

But I prefer to disagree Hafriz because driver can definetely lift off foot from pedal (brake & throttle) and the sensing will take care for it in traffic jam (straight lane of course). Which means can sleep. Hehe

• Pilot107 on Jun 18, 2017 at 7:16 pm

do u recommend new cx5 over this new crv in term of driving dynamic, sound proofing and comfort?

• RDM = Road Departure Mitigation. So what is RDW that is repeated a few times in the article? Proofreading fail

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Yes, indeed. I actually typed CIMB on one occasion, and you could have banked on that one being more spectacular, haha. Thanks for being eagle-eyed.

• Hi Paul … when doing test drive please record the rpm meter at all times. We need to see the engine perofrmance (1.5 T) during normal driving at full load.

• Amir Azri on Jun 17, 2017 at 8:41 am

Anthony Lim, RDW in paragraph 11 & 13 referring to LDW or RDM ?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 17, 2017 at 12:09 pm

It’s RDM, and corrected. Too many abbreviations around, and so it was an unintentional slip. Unfortunately, no Abbreviation Departure Mitigation to help, in this case. Thanks for the spot.

• Did anyone say it was a secret location? It’s a secured event, meaning only those invited can go in.

• Its such a shame that Honda is not bringing in the 1.5 Turbo Premium, AWD, 7 seater version. They are not treating Malaysia with due respect. With regard to the survey, wondered who they asked.

• powerofdream on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:08 pm

7 seaters diesel turbo like thailand please, we do not need honda sensing, most of the time it wont work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • mmmmmmm on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:09 pm

been waiting honda sensing for years. once honda bring in, every other manufacturer will bring their own version. adaptive cruise control is a must!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Should have tested ACC/LSF with typical Malaysian motorist suddenly cutting into your lane without warning and without indicators on. Just to see if the system can predict that another car is about to occupy that space in between you and the car ahead, and hit the brakes, before the other car comes in.

• shame on Jun 17, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Honda do not have midrange (~RM150k) 7 seaters car, they only have BRV (~90k) and oddysey (~RM250k). if this CR-V has 7 seaters and sell around (~160k), the range is complete and ppl will buy it. stupid HM

• zulin on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:52 pm

come on HM 7 seaters ….

• 7-Seater Lover on Jun 17, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Honda CRV 7-Seater > All