JPJ introduces AES cameras in seven new locations

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has released a list of active cameras that are part of the Automated Enforcement System (AES), which includes seven new ones that were planned for this year.

The seven new locations are listed in the attached images, including four new cameras that are installed at various traffic light intersections. These are meant to focus on the particular offence of motorists running a red light.

As a reminder, the AES is now part of AWAS (Automated Awareness Safety System), which also integrates the Kejara demerit points system, and has been online since April 1 this year. Under the new system, drivers stand to have their driving licences revoked should they accumulate a certain number of demerit points.

To ensure a better understanding of the Kejara demerits points system, the department also released a brief guide so motorists will know how many points they’ll collect when they commit any offence (speeding and running a red light).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Bodoh Nasional on Jun 19, 2017 at 3:52 pm

mat rempit gak perlu bayar saman la?

• Ahock on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Plate nomor pon takda. Mau saman apa. Kih3

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:59 pm

I hope the AES cameras dont cost RM1 mil each like before. Champion betul before, charge gomen RM1 mil per camera

Crony Sdn Bhd untung gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • kiddd on Jun 19, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Can someone suggest which app for Smartphone is the best for alert driver before reaching this area..

• MyEG. When it tells u dah kena saman, next time u knows not to speed there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
    • john is otak batu on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Can include in Waze?

• Use Waze la bro

• Scepter on Jun 20, 2017 at 2:57 am

Waze is useless because it won’t sound an alarm for the AES location, only a small blinking point on the screen. The best is to memorize the AES location before travel.

• Err boss, there’s plenty of big big signage to alert you.

• Some pipu dun even bother see speed limit signboards, apatah lagi AES signs.

• AhKeong on Jun 19, 2017 at 3:58 pm

rm300 poorer already

• kimball on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Saman dan denda AWAS membebankan rakyat dengan perbelanjaan tambahan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
  • Shud not have reveal the places, just put up a few white boxes and let pipu guessing game. Then all will slow down automatically.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
    • Doc Sin on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:37 pm

That’s actually quite foolish of you to say so. They should install cameras in places with high numbers of traffic accidents due to speeding and notify the public about it. You have to stop thinking about “money and saman“ mentality and rather think of it as a method to slow drivers down in dangerous areas. Safety, after all is priority. Lives matter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • There will be some with genuine cameras but out of 1000 white boxes, u wun know which has it and so will automatically slowdown when see each one. That makes AES success.

• ex-VGM staff on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Nice. Then put 100 white boxes but only 7 have AES

• 4545er on Jun 19, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Why the camera now facing backward ? Saman ekor ?

• Meadows on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Kempen hapuskan YB Kunta Kinte , wabak merbahaya.

• Turboman on Jun 19, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Rakyat bayar beli kamera, Rakyat yg kenna Saman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Please take an big example from the First World Country, where they give early notice to the driver about the upcoming speed trap.

Please don’t place a hidden camera and then saman us for ridiculous speed limit at certain areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • WonderPets on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:56 pm

remove one digit from no. plet. Take picture oso no worries.

When police stop you, just say glue not strong….and the no. just dropped off…

Mintak maaf and off you go…..

• Mokmok on Jun 19, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Then one day someone’s car stolen and the police can’t detect it as the registered number missing one letter/digit. The police also kena kaw2 being accused taken bribe and having teh tarik all day long. Facepalm!

• Sam Kuntaik Loo on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:34 pm

That’s why i say, Malaysian motorists should be just pulled off from the road and to be thrown inside Kamunting and Simpang Renggam (former ISA or EO detention center) as long as possible as many of them are bloody not fit to drive. Removing one digit from number plate, that’s bloody genius to substantiate my above comment. Just wait for PDRM to knock your door and drag you into lockup.

• Mummy Yummy on Jun 21, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Relex bro…..It’s Malaysia…..Everything is possible….

• WAZE can work together with highway companies. Reward people for driving within speed limit. E.g give 50% discount on toll rates. See how many people want this reward. Although this won’t happen la..

• Peace on Jun 29, 2017 at 6:20 am

What’s your problem guys? We are in the game. Just slow down your car in selected areas