Kia Stonic – new B-segment SUV crossover revealed

Hyundai has just revealed its new Kona compact SUV and here’s Kia’s equivalent, the Kia Stonic. It will join one of the fastest growing segments in the auto market, the B-segement SUV. Kia says that the segment currently accounts for 1.1 million sales in Europe each year – around 7% market share – and is forecasted to past two million annual sales by 2020.

“By volume, the B-SUV market is expected to overtake the C-SUV segment by 2020, when more than one in ten new cars sold in Europe will be from the Stonic’s segment. The segment attracts buyers from across the spectrum, with 21% of all customers upsizing from a supermini, and another 15% downsizing from family hatchbacks. Cars like the Stonic also appeal to those looking to replace their compact MPVs,” said Michael Cole, COO of Kia Motors Europe.

Kia says that the Stonic’s design is one of the brand’s most striking to date, but it’s significantly less radical than the Hyundai Kona. It’s immediately recognisable as a Kia thanks to signature design elements such as the “tiger nose” grille and rear lamps that resemble those on the bigger Sportage.

Designed in Europe in collaboration with Kia’s Korean design studio, the Stonic’s blends sharp horizontal feature lines with softer sculpted surfaces. The “Targa” style roof (Kia’s words) enables a two-tone paint finish, inspired by the design of the 2013 Kia Provo concept. There will up to 20 two-tone colour combinations in Europe, with a choice of up to five distinctive colours for the roof – individuality is key in this segment.

A range of downsized turbocharged petrol and diesel engines are available, each paired with a manual transmission. Buyers have the choice of a 1.0 litre T-GDI engine with 120 PS, as well as 1.25 or 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated MPI petrol engines. A 1.6 litre turbodiesel completes the range with the lowest emissions in the line-up. The Stonic is front-wheel drive only.

Kia says that the Stonic offers European-tuned steering and suspension designed to offer an exciting drive, with immediate handling responses and a stable ride.

The Stonic’s cabin is similar to the fourth-generation Rio hatchback it’s based on, but with a range of colour packs for buyers to choose from. The car’s touchscreen infotainment system gets Apple CarPlay and Android Auto as standard. Heated front seats, cruise control and keyless entry are all available. Kia claims class-leading shoulder room and generous leg- and headroom, while the 352 litre boot has a two-step floor.

Also available are active safety tech such as Autonomous Emergency Braking with pedestrian recognition and Forward Collision Alert; Blind Spot Detection with Rear Cross Traffic Alert; and Lane Departure Warning. Backed by a new fusion camera system, the Stonic also offers High Beam Assist and Driver Attention Warning.

In Europe, the Stonic will be sold with Kia’s famous seven-year, 100,000 mile (160,000 km) warranty. It will go on sale across the Continent in the third quarter of 2017.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Designer must be stoned too often that he took a Xtrail and copy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Koreans are clever. They know B segment crossover now are hot selling segment. HRV, CHR selling extremely well.

This is why, car companies need to employ clever marketing team. If you are a car company with a bodoh marketing team, you don’t know how to do market research and see what is the latest trend and what is in high demand. Then you make cars that are not relevant and cannot sell.

Amazing how brilliant the Koreans are. This is why Hyundai and Kia now sell 8 million cars globally per annum.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • Theres no pride at clever to copy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • azrul on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:49 am

They are at least 7 years late to the party. Nissan Qashqai went on sale in 2006, Juke in 2010. Mitsubishi ASX in 2010, Subaru XV in 2012.

• NoKia 3310 on Jun 21, 2017 at 5:14 pm

Honda BRV tail lights?

• Albert on Jun 21, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Kia malaysia selling around 400 units monthly.
    This is totally disgraceful..for a distributor around more than 20 donkey years.
    Perhaps,they r not interested.They got big APs to sell exotic cars n more into real estate big time.
    This new model,if ever made it here,what difference does it make?
    Just pathetic.
    It wont be cheap.Just keep some jobs afloat.

• 12yrsold on Jun 21, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Nothing comes cheap in Bolehland especially when the Gov have to tax all & sundry. Agree with U that it’s pathetic when they only sell around 400 units monthly when they are selling millions worldwide.

• And yet Hyundai often gives gems like i10 & ioniq, meanwhile honda gips value for money car by upspec but lowers prices. Stop complaining and work harder if u think everything is exp.

• 12yrsold on Jun 22, 2017 at 9:38 am

FYI john, I run a 12 years old spare parts business. It’s fairly profitable. At least I don’t have to beg, borrow or steal to make a living.

Who is complaining & bashing here most of the time. The amount of bashing by U alone accounted for almost 10% of the comments says it all.

Though I must admit that I do enjoy reading some of your trash & it make me BERSYUKUR & thankful to god for the little that I have.

• Only 10% I bash when I need to bash. 90% I bash mindless bashers.

Doing business requires a lot of research, getting facts right is utmost importance b4 jumping in otherwise is sure phail.

Deswai when u wanna share something, getcha facts RIGHT, and ur customers/readers will appreciate it. Ur not the only one doing business.

• stonic …sotonic sotongnic?

• Brandon on Jun 21, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Smart ones buy Toyota CHR.
    Kimchi no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • bring the top spec with 1.0 liter turbo engine output 120 ps with price under 77k that would be nice