Proton’s plan under Geely – return to profit “as soon as possible,” focus on Malaysia, ASEAN markets first

It’s still early days in Proton’s partnership with Geely, but the latter already has a few rough ideas of what it has in store for the Malaysian carmaker. The most pressing part of the agenda would be to plot a sustainable future for Proton, on which the Chinese conglomerate will collaborate with co-owner DRB-Hicom.

Speaking with reporters after the signing of the definitive agreement today, Geely chairman Li Shufu said, “We want to turn Proton and Lotus into profitable companies, and for their development to be sustainable moving forward. For Proton, we hope that we can help it regain market share in Malaysia, and also expand into ASEAN markets. For Lotus, we want to help it penetrate the global market.”

Li Shufu was not able to provide a timeline for Proton’s return to profitability when asked, but said that Geely would want the company to be back in the black as soon as possible. “I cannot give you a definitive timeline now, but rest assured we have a good, solid plan that we will put in place soon, and we will announce it in more detail in due course.

“We believe it will not take a long time because we have strong confidence in the growth of the Malaysian automotive market, and also in Proton,” he said.

DRB-Hicom managing director Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar also weighed in on the capital expenditure that will be channeled into Proton, which he said would be dependent on the company’s business plan and its long-term product planning strategy. “One of the first things that we [Geely and DRB-Hicom] need to do together is to put our minds together to develop a business plan. From there we will know more.

“Whatever spending [we will make] will depend on what Proton will be, in terms of its long-term product planning [such as which market segments the company will enter]. Only when a deep discussion on that has taken place can we come up with an amount,” he said.

Geely executive vice president and CFO Daniel Li Donghui laid bare the amount of cash the company has injected into its subsidiaries. “After Geely bought Volvo, we provided more than €3 billion (RM14.4 billion); we also provided [the London Taxi Company] with more than £300 million (RM1.6 billion) to develop pure electric London Taxis and build a brand new, modern plant.”

In the near term, Proton will initially focus on Malaysian and South East Asian markets – it has been reported earlier that Geely will not enter these markets, so Proton will have the space to establish a foothold there. Other export markets will only be considered once the company has managed to do that.

“First, Proton needs to stop losing money and turn itself around,” said Li Shufu. “The priority now is to strengthen its presence in Malaysia and ASEAN markets first – that is where its core business is. Once it has become profitable and has a sustainable development plan and products, then of course it can have plans to export to other countries. There is no limit to it.”

Lastly, Li Shufu said that Proton’s more than 30 years of experience in research and development will be beneficial in helping Geely develop right-hand drive cars. “Proton will become one of Geely’s global R&D centres, and will focus on right-hand drive research and development and market adaptation,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2017 at 6:52 pm

There is only one way Proton can return to profit. Sack the current management and bring mainland people as management of Proton. This includes the CEO.

After all, DRB has failed Proton the past few years, so why retain the same deadlogs? The same BOD is running Proton.

They will still insist on their same ideas to Geely. Bring in fresh new blood.

Infact, bring in the CEO, CFO from Mainland to turn the company around.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 12
    • Same L0rrrr on Jun 23, 2017 at 9:53 pm

it is boring to see same posts from you every time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 51
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jun 25, 2017 at 11:03 am

Proton Bayu launching Raya 2019, when SUV excitement died. Always late. Market already saturated with Myvi 4 door hatch, baru sibuk nak jual Iriz. Tak laku. Proton never learns!

• Yahaya on Jun 23, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Never in wildest dreams, Volvo P1800 and Proton Saga on same bed.
      And now you gon’ be with me for the last ride…

• Redidiot on Jun 24, 2017 at 4:53 pm

So petrol stations hiring banglas is not ok, but replacing locals at P1 with mainland Chinese is ok. Effing hypocrite that’s what you are. What say you about the tens of thousands Vietnamese displacing locals in Pg FTZ factories?

• Azli Hashim on Mar 13, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Banglas are not more skilled than malaysians but mainland chinese confirmed more skilled than proton management. If not why proton need to sell to China and why China is buying the world??

• Mark from Predator XR on Jun 24, 2017 at 8:45 pm

There’s nothing to change about the CEOs that’s originally works for Proton. What those CEOs need to change were just their mind .They always thought that Proton is the only “best brand” in Malaysia and they doesn’t even trying to export their vehicles into just a simple “ASEAN” market.(let’s don’t talk about the international market) . Let’s take an example, Hyundai – Kia started their car manufacturing company in around 30 years ago which is after the 70s where they stopped their communism war in their country . They hired a lots of designers from worldwide to design their every single vehicle. They can even became the most well-known brand over the world especially in US . Proton starts off their business in the 80 but they still doesn’t learned anything new yet . Proton CEOs should change their mind into these examples and hire at least someone that is good in design and leading the company into a best brand

• Not only the management. Should sack from top to bottom including the marketing, accounts, hr, manufacturing and service. And stop blaming vendors for your own failure.

• Redidiot on Jun 25, 2017 at 11:25 pm

So petrol stations hiring banglas are not ok, but replacing P1 mngtment and workforce with mainland Chinese is ok??? What say you about the tens of thousands of Vietnamese displacing locals in Pg FTZ factories???

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 23, 2017 at 6:55 pm

Proton just lost their 250 acre Shah Alam land to DRB. The land is worth RM4.5 billion in todays value. The Gross Development value of that land is probably much much much more than RM4.5 billion.

Can DRB please return this land to Proton so that they can sell it and pay off the RM1.5 bil and RM1.1 bil loans.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 4
  • Tok Guru on Jun 23, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Well done Geely. You only have to do a very few things right in your life so long as you don’t do too many things wrong..

• Like someone said The Proton badge is a liability and not an asset therefore rebadging this Boyue as Proton will be a big mistake by Geely. Just look at Inspira which is a good car but failed under Proton.
      Don’t make the same mistake again.

• tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Cut down ertiga and accordana, saves a lot of cost of paying royalty.

Bring in Emgrand GT, cheaper than accordana, better equipped too.

Focus MPV market on Exora refined only, the last hurrah before new gen Geely MPV hits the market.

Faster ready the new powertrain to plonk into saga and persona.

And of course, time to cut down on cronies vendors. Renegotiate a better term, if they refuse, goodbye.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • tokmoh. on Jun 23, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Also, the Boyue can replace jpj, polis etc fleet of Fortuner.

Padan muka UMW. Overpriced junk Fortuner, proof is very poor sale in private market. The only fortuner ever saw are the govt dept’s fleet.

Now with Boyue, goodbye Fortuner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
      • Hazmin on Jun 23, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Rakyat hadap folks wagon, Proton V90 T8.

• JPJ alredi change to Xtrail…

• Buat pun belum sudah syok sendiri kata replace fortuner. And the proton clowns still wondering why they are still failing.

• asal bukan p2 on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:19 am

Because deathtrap p2 is cheaper and pipu dun know it is under specced

• YB Albert on Jun 23, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Protong…..the ball is at your feet.
    No more excuses,soft bailout loans,tuang kerja,mediocrity,union mogok etc.
    30 years of FAILURE has to come to an end.
    Kunta,we shift our bashing to Underperforming UMW and Naza,deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Jonn Dol on Jun 23, 2017 at 8:02 pm

One thing for sure, China has the Money.

• Sack designer on Jun 23, 2017 at 8:59 pm

To make profit, Geely must do this first for Proton: Sack the designer!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 23, 2017 at 9:08 pm

If Proton thinks this China man will just stupidly pump money in without any check & balance control, then they better wake up.

No more free tax payers money to spend lavishly as Proton pleases. No more lepak-ing, numerous teh tarik breaks with karipap & mee hoon. No more overseas lawatan sambil enjoy for the executives. The 30+ years of honeymoon is OVER. Finish dah. Habis.

Now let’s see if Proton is willing to work hard, work smart, change attitude, change work ethics, change crony vendors ….

Proton only have ONE CHANCE at this. The China man will not wait forever nor will he keep stupidly pumping in money.

Succeed or Fail? It’s now down to Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • 240GLT on Jun 23, 2017 at 11:04 pm

With Volvo on MY side. Impossible is nothing!!

• tokmoh. on Jun 24, 2017 at 6:40 am

Indeed, and Proton couldn’t ask a better partner than this.

They need cash? Geely proved they can provide a lot of it, they gave Volvo €3bil (THREE BILLION EURO) after acquiring them, London Taxi £300mil (massive for such a small company that only makes cab for a single city). With such vast resource at their disposal, they can do anything as long as it is necessary to succeed.

Need technical support? Consultation from Volvo and Geely is literally free, abang tolong adik mah.

Need independence? Geely “only” owns 49.9%, so control is still within our own hands. Careta has article how Geely never meddled in Volvo’s business. Even in Volvo China’s plant, Geely does nothing and give Volvo the full freedom to do what they wanna do. It’s the direct opposite of Ford, hence why Volvo can succeed. At the end of the day, Geely only wanted results, if giving freedom is necessary, they proved they can give exactly that.

There is no more excuse to fail. Just don’t waste the resource, technical support and freedom Geely is providing. Work hard and be honest, I’m confident Msian will be able forgive Proton and give them a chance once again. In time, they will realise Proton by merit, makes great car with great service at affordable price. There is no doubting the possibility of this.

Many sceptic wants Proton to fail. That Geely is evil and only cares about Lotus, that they can always throw away Proton for dirt cheap in the next few years. Prove them wrong. Prove your worthiness to Geely. After all, Geely is ever happy to have more sales.

Then Geely will be happy to invest more in Proton, more R&D budget allocated to Proton, creates more job, pay tax to govt, giving back to society. So Proton, work hard for your own sake, for the Malaysian public, for the nation. You can genuinely be our national pride.

Geely > all
      Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
      • ExProton on Jun 24, 2017 at 9:25 am

High hope, but I wonder if staff attitude commensurate with this thinking…
        I think Proton has higher hope of be successful with Geely at the helm…

• Turbocharged on Jun 24, 2017 at 11:39 am

Thorbaek tokmoh

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 24, 2017 at 2:19 pm

I have noticed, since the oust of Mahathir, Proton cars had shown improvement in their build quality and finishing.

The most apparent changes is the new enchanced Iriz. When I sat in the car, little faults which I notice previously when Iriz alwas launched 3 years ago were gone. The plastic-bottle-cap aircond knob, now return real tactile feel. The sharp edges on the steering wheel and door cabin, which previously cut my finger, is now smoothen out. The power window button panel, which previously shown sign of lossening when you lift the button with your finger, now sit firmly on the door panel. The dashboard gaps and solidness of the fitting now feels like a Honda CKD standard.

The test drive is even better. The old, dreadful, sluggish, jerking, throttle lag of the old Iriz is completely gone. The automatic Iriz now move with a new found urgency and throttle lightness that is akin with Japanese cars. The cabin is significant quieter, without the constant drowny bomb from the rear exhaust which add on to driver’s fatigue. It is a very pleasant drive, not to mention the fantastic dynamics of the Iriz chassic is fully retain. The Iriz is now a complete package. And you don’t need to buy a manual to fully enjoy it.

I can genuinely sense Proton start paying attention to small details and reacts to customers’ feedback promptly. I have a chance talking to Mr. Abdul Rashid, the CEO of Proton Edar during an event in one of Proton’s showroom recently. At first, I didnt knew who he was. He acted like a regular staff, enthusiastically explaning the safety features of new Proton cars to visitors.I only know who he is half way through our conversation. We exchanged thoughts and I saw him driving to the event in an – Iriz. He also show me all the service records of his household Protons through the Proton app in his cellphone. Now, that’s what I call a CEO who really believe in his product.

Being a past Proton’s customer who suffered much during the Waja – power window rosak era, I used to hate Proton and curse them to hell (and they deserve it with their past arrogance and stupidity).

Now, with the recent development, I have finally convinced and ready to forgive Proton by giving them a chance. I have driven home a brand new Persona last week as my runabout car. Solid handling (as usual for a Proton), new found refinement, a smooth CVT (though not as smooth as a Jazz, but Proton is getting there), coupled with good practicality and 1.6 vvt engine thrown in with 5 years free service, it is very good value for money at 59k.

And my Persona comes with a new Window based HU (replacing the previously not-so-well-recieved Andriod HU) and stock Goodyear Assurance tyres (replacing the Silverstone Kruzier) . This shows Proton does listen to customers and react to them.

I have laid down my money to support Proton again after so many years. Now with Geely money coming in, I really hope it is for the better. Come’on Proton, make Malaysian proud again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
        • fanofthisite on Jun 24, 2017 at 11:24 pm

Iriz was when M was back

• This essay cut and paste from previous posts. Proton, you want to post in forum pun coordinate sikit lah. This ” i have a chance meeting up with abdul rashid… ” statement has been used previously. Even the sentence also same.

Even posting in forum also they kelam kabut … what is more in buiding car.

• nosushi on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:28 am

But not as bad as jepunis, airbags are killing instead of saving lives!

• Mohammed Razib Zainal Abidin on Jun 27, 2017 at 10:04 am

Proton must spend alot R&D $$$ to improve forum posting.

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 27, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Hi keyboard warrior@ “Amoi” who accused me that my comments are fake and myself being a Proton staff, I have a video for you.

I make this video to put your allegations to rest. I am indeed a Proton Persona owner and I don’t work for Proton. Included in this video are some of my thoughts about the recent Proton cars, why I buy the Persona, and some fit and finishing refinement which I noticed Proton has improved since the Iriz. I am a real person and I am not in anyway, copy and paste my essay on Proton cars.

Pls click on this video: https://youtu.be/4AdtBm82YTU

To anyone watching this video (especially Amoi) , you are welcome to contact me at 018-2071922. I am more than willing to share my car ownership experience and let’s have an automative chat if you are a car enthusiast like me. Cheers! and happy motoring!

• Malaysian Driver on Jun 27, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Hi keyboard warrior@ “Amoi” who accused me that my comments are fake and myself being a Proton staff, I have a video for you.

I make this video to put your allegations to rest. I am indeed a Proton Persona owner and I don’t work for Proton. Included in this video are some of my thoughts about the recent Proton cars, why I buy the Persona, and some fit and finishing refinement which I noticed Proton has improved since the Iriz. I am a real person and I am not in anyway, copy and paste my essay on Proton cars.

Pls click on this video: https://youtu.be/4AdtBm82YTU

To anyone watching this video (especially Amoi) , I am more than willing to share my car ownership experience and let’s have an automative chat if you are a car enthusiast like me. Cheers! and happy motoring!

• Raw mean war on Jun 24, 2017 at 12:43 am

Now you do it again. Later proton will profitable, but not by you. Leaning on the wall doesn’t make you look cool. It just show how lazy you are

• safety 1st on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:30 am

If like that p2 also same. No quality car but leaning against daihatsu name

• HokkienLang on Jun 24, 2017 at 1:25 am

BoYue in Hokkien sounds like Boh Ewww aka No oil

• P2onStandby on Jun 24, 2017 at 1:37 am

Buckle up Perodua ! I believe in challenges, bring improvement.

• Better Warned on Jun 24, 2017 at 9:49 am

Proton is terminal for 30 years….Nothing can save it. Geely oni interestd with Lotus. If biz not making marney, Geely will ditch Proton in no time….

• jamal on Jun 24, 2017 at 10:05 am

good strategy by focusing on asean market.

• Panda Rule on Jun 24, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Geely has now acquired duty-free ASIAN market and makes Lotus profitable from the global market. Watched the 18min video, the DRB-HICOM CEO emphasis on a lot of expansion program for Proton and settling of Govt soft-loan (1.5B) which the Govt giving 1.1B for R&D grant (best Ah Long). Plus repayment to loan to local banks.

Since Geely (49%) share will only invest for 49% of whatever total sum of DRB-HICOM suggested expansion needed by Proton and nothing more. If Geely doesn’t agree to that investment for expansion, ugly thing happens.

Geely has the challenge to expand their products brand to the ASIAN market dominated by Japanese brands. Good luck.

• Wah lauuuu on Jun 24, 2017 at 4:15 pm

If any Geely officials were reading this, forget abt the lazybump Proton ppl, please convert the suv into a 7 or 5+2 seater. Fit it with 1.8 turbo or 2.2 diesel engine with affordable price without cutting corners.I can almost guarantee Geely Proton plant will run full capacity to meet demands.

• pondan on Jun 24, 2017 at 8:26 pm

the dead wood will drag geely down. same case to rover and bmw. bmw is smart to ditch rover and take the crown jewel “mini”.

if geely is smart, dump proton and take lotus a year later.

• Jimmy on Jun 24, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Treat this as a new beginning.
    Try to work out on a target selling price rm68,000 for a basic Boyue, which has 6 airbags and ESP, reverse sensor and camera, fabric upholstery, basic audio with bluetooth and most importantly a reasonably good perceived quality especially the dashboard. Make sure the SUV does not have significant issues in the first three years when most people is in hot love with their new vehicles; no rattling sounds. No major issues on door handles (inside out) and power windows. Good aftersales service and efficient warranty claims, with minimal pain to owners.
    I just worried that the vendors will supply lousy materials to Proton; the parts just look like those from Boyue but they are flimsy deep inside. This basic Boyue should serve as good ‘semi-sample’ for people to try to rebuild the confidence and reputation, under Geely umbrella of course. Once you have establised these, then you can slowly add a bit here and there to slowly jack up the price.
    There can, at the same time, be a better version priced at, say, rm86k, which has TPM, leather seats, better audio unit, front sensor, larger alloy rim etc ‘luxury’ items.

It is too ambitious trying to encroach on the pricing territories of Japanese SUVs, especially the HRV.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 24, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Just can’t wait for Geely to divorce Proton

• Sudahlah proton. Whichever partner they work with, they will praise angkat that partner tinggi tinggi. Starting from mitsu, honda, suzuki and now geely. What else is new?

• amoigila on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:38 am

Nothing new from you too. Always think like a loser

• Think like a loser is still better than always being a loser. Hahahaha

• Proton Vendor on Jun 25, 2017 at 7:53 pm

I hope Geely is not entirely clueless what kind of trouble they got themselves into. DRB has been sucking Proton dry. Troublesome Proton has no real chance of surviving when DRB took over.
    DRB under its subsidiaries are already major vendors for many proton parts. When it took over many more parts were given to DRB-link companies.Even new DRB-linked company were created to supply proton part. Part price were inflated. Even vendor for collecting scrap changed to Alam Flora. They played it well because when Proton ownership changed hand, they had already secured 5-7 years worth for overpriced part supply through on going models.
    And Government will not simply let proton close shop. DRB are confident Govt will continue to inject cash to Proton to survive. The money will be used to pay unmet volume to vendors (Satria, Inspira..) and also part supply for current models. Proton keeps making cars that cannot sell and keep pulling parts from vendors it cannot pay. When the cash do comes in which vendors will get paid first? you guessed right.

Losing its 250 acres of land to DRB is a shame. But im not surprised. DRB has no intention of bringing back Proton to green when they know they still can profit when it still in the red.

The real winner in this whole saga is DRB. Shame.

• John Tongsan on Jun 26, 2017 at 5:09 pm

I bet in 5 years, Geely will surrender and quit after wasted/loss-making total RM5 billion or RM1 billion loss per year on Proton.

So come June 2022, let’s visit this page again and see who’s the next Pak Sanggup to marry Proton again.

• pearjai on Jun 27, 2017 at 5:26 am

Erm geely,master of cloning premium car brand,especially European brand, but they don’t dare to sell cloning car for world market,just inside China only…..if u know the disaster naza sutera that use hafei lobo than u all so becarefull lor with prc product..etc dongfeng,jbc,Jac,tuah,Chana,cherry,Joylong,faridplacer,jinbei….geely dare to give unlimited mileage warranty?

• Belasahajela on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:33 am

Bla..bla…bla..bla…semua nak kata pandai cakap pun bukan…bodoh ada la…jadi simpan la bodo tu sikit ya…dah la komen semua dlm english…konon mat saleh la can speak english…puiiiiiii

• Karma Coming on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:56 am

30 years wasted by Proton. not to mentioned billions of RM gone down in drain. In 30 years also, Proton has single handedly created the tak-apa attitude becoz the “Tongkat” given to them.

Fast forward today, with lots of manufacturers with new car models launched every now and then, biz transaction lightning fast, more informed consumers, hi tech, gadgets, etc…
    What makes Proton gonna survive this time round, even with a China partner?

Looks like 30 years of karma is real, and its gonna bite Proton real hard.

• 1st order of business should be, kick out leeches.