Malaysia highway network is “world class” – report

The Malaysian highway network is said to meet standards and is on par with those of developed countries, and should not be blamed for the rising number of accidents, according to a report by Kosmo.

Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) Road Safety Research Centre head Dr Law Teik Hua said that the government had conducted studies on the highway structures in Italy, the United States and Germany before deciding to use said structures to build the highways here.

“It is undeniable that our roads have potholes and uneven surfaces throughout, but the damage is caused by weather conditions such as the rain and heat, as well as the heavy vehicles that ply the roads,” he told the publication recently.

Teik Hua added that the local highway network also has world class facilities, including rest stops every 60 km as well as parking spaces at every two interchanges. He also said that the highway concessionaires have ensured that there are emergency telephone booths every two kilometres, along with highway patrol services to provide emergency assistance in the event of a breakdown.

“Every highway is also fitted with advanced safety features such as the Integrated Traffic Information System (ITIS) as well as a traffic flow monitoring centre that uses closed circuit television (CCTV) cameras,” said Teik Hua. “In addition, all highways have speed limits set by the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), and if road users followed those limits then accidents can be avoided.”

Teik Hua also said that the attitudes of road users who are oblivious to their own safety as well as those of others are the real culprits behind the spike in road accidents in Malaysia.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Leafable on Jun 28, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Is this a joke? Worst system I’ve ever seen. What do call the UK and Western Europe morotrway? Super Class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 52
    • Geely Kaur on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Their “world” only consisted Indon, Bangla, Burma, Vietnam & MY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 18
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 28, 2017 at 5:09 pm

These are the same type of people who said:

1) Proton is BETTER and HIGHER quality than BMW and Volvo. Proton’s handling also` far far better than BMW

2) Local Universities are FAR better than Oxford or Cambridge in the UK

Anyone can google the above. Came from our Ministers. Not one or two but many Ministers have said the above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 13
        • syer1n on Jun 28, 2017 at 9:36 pm

Even that i can’t confirm the rest, Proton handling is actually really better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Redidiot on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:35 pm

You can’t build an Autobahn replica here and it’ll still be crappy thanks to Malaysian drivers attitude or lack there of.

Just observe how selfish Pg drivers are at the ferry terminal. Dare I say 99% of them waiting at the covered terminal, be they ground or upper level, will never turn their engines off (some even while on the ferry itself during transit) wasting fuel and poisoning the pedestrians- yet the same buggers complain about fuel prices and claim Pg is greener…hypocrites, all of them.

If Scandinavians can put on warmer clothes indoors instead of cranking up the heaters, to reduce their carbon footprint, why can’t the so called smarter Penangites adopt same attitude? Bcoz they’re hypocrites.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 9
      • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:28 pm

well said penanghater! believe it or not, even in capital city KL, rapidKL buses keep their engine running at idle while waiting customers at major LRT station for more than 30mins! smoke everywhere!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
        • Redidiot on Jun 28, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Thank you for pointing that out. If Pg has its fair share of idiot drivers, KL has share of idiots as well, hypocrites all of them. Harga minyak naik je trus complain tapi attitude tak nak tukar lansung. As long as the price does not reflect the scarcity of petrol (and water for that matter) Malaysians would give a damn about conserving.

• Ah Kow on Jun 29, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Good to see people like you all who are aware of our environment, I dare say 90% Malaysian do not know or have concern about it.
            We Malaysia banyak “puteri lilin” all kennot tahan hot, some genius can even sleep in the car with their engine running. Pure genius

• kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Lol..than u want pipu inside bus suffocated? be realistic lar..

• Ah Kow on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:22 pm

If WORLD CLASS, then why still jam har? Federal highway yat7 jam. Especially towards MidValley and Sunway. How is that world class if always jam, sometimes can jam there for 2 hours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • Voiddance on Jun 28, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Cukur la ckit Ah Kow. Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) & Senai Desaru Expressway facing bankrapsi.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 28, 2017 at 8:22 pm

What traffic jam gonna do with best highway? It is more like world class infra but 3rd class mentality road user.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:24 pm

KLIA also said to be worldclass, but look at the service and maintenance….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • DonkeyKong on Jun 28, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Doha international airport is world class. It’s clean but the service is crap, far worse than KLIA. If you’ve ever landed at SFO or LAX or most American airports, just check out how congested, disorganized and slow those airports are. KLIA is so much better than those American airports. If you haven’t worked in the US or traveled frequently to the US before, you wouldn’t know this. Maybe only those cheapskate AirAsia flyers would be bashing KLIA because they hardly set foot there anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
        • Bro. Even cheapskate airasia flyers can see our KLIA2 is so much much better than Narita LCCT. U will cry frozen tears when travelling thru their LCCT into main terminal during winter.

No, these really cheapskate bashers fly in Airsomalia or Airsudan or yg sewaktu dengannya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
          • Nancy Liu on Jun 28, 2017 at 6:13 pm

I have had enough of my expensive perfumes stolen from my luggage at KLIA already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Afeeq on Jul 03, 2017 at 10:07 am

True, same with roads. I live in Texas and the roads here are not as good when compared to Malaysian ones.

• DonkeyKong on Jun 28, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Katak bawah tempurung… try driving from San Jose to Santa Rosa in California.. it’s not even an interstate but it’s far worse than PLUS highway. Or how about driving from Vermont to Montreal.. PLUS highway is much better than that.

Of course, the Autobahn and most European highways are pretty good, but PLUS highway, honestly, to well-traveled people who know the facts, is seriously very well maintained and planned compared to the highways of many other developed countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • How dare u burst their dream of trumpland. In there, the roads r paved in gold, u know. In there, cars r big & cheap, and petrol is cheaper than water, u know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Redidiot on Jun 28, 2017 at 6:37 pm

True, but we still have third world mentality….

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 29, 2017 at 12:47 am

I drove those roads you mentioned. Care to also mention they were also free? I drove from Vancouver to LA to LV to Grand Canyon. Not a single cent. Only toll I paid was the Golden Gate bridge. Never occured to me the roads are any worst.

Drove through Montreal weather? Guess what ice does to your roads? Anyway bad example. Quebec roads are the worst anyway. But they have cheap insurance.

Probably should mention I pay a grand total of 80bux a year for my plate renewal sticker, and this is on a 5.7L v8 on my Camaro (which I paid no more than 10k used). How much road tax do we pay here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • QUOTE :“In addition, all highways have speed limits set by the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM), and if road users followed those limits then accidents can be avoided”

What a joke!! Why Germany has lower accident than Malaysia while they don’t have speed limit on highway?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Bcoz most of the driver there have good mental when driving compare to here? Just imagine with speed limit also our accdnt rate is higher, what will be if no speed limit impose. So the answer must be the driver. Even the German drive in appropriate speed that save for them when using the so call no speed limit road.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 29, 2017 at 3:50 pm

that not completely true..Autobahn do have speed limit.

• alldisc on Jun 30, 2017 at 2:14 pm

True. Only certain stretches have minimum speed limit and unlimited max.

• Paparazi on Jun 29, 2017 at 8:11 am

Don’t know about the highways being world class but many drivers here are world class A holes. They drive slowly on the fast lane, poorly maintained buses and lorries driven recklessly, and motorcylists blocking you from changing lanes then giving you the middle finger. All this happening and more but the authorities are only interested in spending millions on speed cameras to catch motorists who exceeded the speed limit by just a few km/hr. World class?

• ex-VGM staff on Jun 30, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Our human body can safely take collision impact of up to 60kmh, provided wearing seatbelts. Anything more than that can cause multiple to serious injuries, often leading to death. This is reason why our government capped the speed limit at 110kmh. Don’t get mad at ppl driving 110 at highways. Respect them, this message including to Paul tan editors as well who had been bashing slower cars as road hoggers. We share the same road. We pay the same tax and tolls. Respect them.

• World class potholes =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • isengard on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:37 pm

3rd world class. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • boring on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:01 pm

i didn’t know malaysia highway got pot holes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • World Class MyFoot on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Super confusing signboard still dare say World Class?
      Last minute approaching divider only put signboard.

Some case signboard fully blocked by trees.

Sign board covered by AhLong stickers

Confusing signboard, (eg: Turn left to KL, Go straight also KL, Turn Right still KL)

World class my backside la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Dun Blame Weather on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Dun blame weather and heavy vehicles la. If you know weather conditions and heavy vehicles can damage road, then use better quality asphalt or use concrete in those busy heavy vehicles area.

We Malaysian paid lots of tax, now plus GST, we could have afford all these facilities, but I don’t why the road still like shit. Please check on your contractors make sure they use good quality materials.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • 4G63T DSM on Jun 29, 2017 at 12:52 am

Haha weather.

We have no snow, ice and salt here to damage the roads.

And if heavy vehicles damage them, its your own fault for not controlling them.

• John Wick on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Another funny & naive statement, so easy you blame the weather & quantities of vehicles on the road for the caused of potholes, & how you gonna answer about the poor facilities along Pantai Timor Highway in Terengganu? Only can see 1 small mobile petrol station from the entrance to the Kuantan exit. Please study the Thailand highway, how they manage to maintain the condition of the road, & some are even without tolls, before making such funny statement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • World class highway. World class exp toll charges.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:31 pm

ABsolutely brilliant! Just study the thailand way of doing thing!! Their IMAX theatre so much better than our TGV imax!! Imax here is a joke especially the sunway pyramid branch….now back to highway, compare and study please.

• World class would be Japan, definitely not Msia.

• Kuinosan on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:26 pm

World class? Still long way to go.

• haha, our neighbor Singapore really world class la but they diam diam je, why sendiri shiok. Malaysia road traffic accident top 35 in the world, can match with those Africa countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:33 pm

YES!!!! not that we are longer like the african til we mistaken it as gear lever and causes accidents….we are not long neither advance.

• JW Wong on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Another syok sendiri statement by the government.
    Even with the high toll rates, the highway is littered with many potholes and the rest area is not well maintained. All they care is the profit and nothing else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • SUVer on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Ya right world class, this Dr Law should be over studied and still siuman to declare such stupid statement. I’ve been worked at pj for the past over 10 years. The world class route from asia jaya to my office are sponsored by tyre and absorber shop to gives bussiness to them. The mentioned world class system should be in forcing u paying tolls by making the alternatives routes narrower and adding long waits traffic lights.

• World class smace. Segalo bendo world class. Malaysiaku.

• camtakpro on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:41 pm

World class in collection tolls. Period.

• jonn syawal on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Macai lazy to read, all cave facts.

https://paultan.org/2015/10/28/independent-assessment-on-east-coast-expressway-2-lpt2-reveals-soil-erosion-water-retention-issues/

• Smokey on Jun 28, 2017 at 3:57 pm

If world class then all the ramps should be designed properly… not cramp all the ramps into 1 section!

• When2Meets2Boy on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Are they serious? World class by which measure? What’s the benchmark? “rest stops every 60 km, parking spaces at every two interchanges, emergency telephone booths every two kilometres, highway patrol services” are all good, but couple that lack of urban planning (e.g. the the failure to adhere to plans, e.g. DBKL DUKE 2 and developments along LDP), and the multitudes of approvals of exits that adds to traffic woes (e.g. the Icon city exit ramp out of Federal Highway, or the maze that is the KL-Putrajaya highways, or the E37 E38 highway where multiple exits span the 5 lane highway right after bends and blindspots? They’re just kidding themselves to brand the current road networks as “world class”. Reeks of shiok sendiri

• 12yrsold on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Mr Jonathan is using the word “world class” with inverted comma with tongue in cheek I believe. He he he. Good one JL

• Bodo prof recycle old news paultan.org/2015/06/22/malaysia-roads-better-sweden-denmark-wef/.

I summonings WEF to explainings how much belian they receive.

• passion on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:38 pm

blowing your own trumpet? let others judge.

• klman on Jun 28, 2017 at 4:42 pm

katak bawah tempurung. sendiri cakap sendiri syiok

• Citizen on Jun 28, 2017 at 5:02 pm

No need to go Pantai timur highway or any kl highway la.. ‘MALAYSIA’ did they include sabah sarawak..ask them to come see sabah sarawak first la b4 they do survey.. Sandakan, tawau, Keningau no single flyover bridge. Budget allocate for flyover masuk pocket. Our country solely depends on Palm oil from sabah n sarawak

• The problem is, East MY was neglected by the previous kapten for 22years. Now with current kapten, its starting with a bang with PBH. More things r to come, but development takes time.

• Salute. 2017 already. Highway is so dangerous everyday accident for the pass few raya days

• xoxox on Jun 29, 2017 at 8:45 am

i wait to see the so call borneo “highway” has that kind of “world class” or not… :)

• Check out pan Borneo highway.

• safety 1st on Jun 28, 2017 at 10:51 pm

dear dr law, how many developed nation’s highways have you driven on? i have drive. thousands of miles on european highways including the autobahn, french, italy, swiss, japan, south korea, usa. compared to our highways is like night and day. the joints are like a big drain, the surfaces are rough undulating and the manhole patches are so bad it will bent your rims. you dont have to travel far, just drive across to singapore and see how well patches are their manholes.
    any where in the world you wont find as many tyre shops as in malaysia bcoz each malaysian have to correct their car’s alignment so frequent and their car suspension system (bushing/absorbers) are all prematurely failed. its a good business here in malaysia.

• What jaguh kampung mentality is this..
    World class highway wont have left over tire carcasses in the middle of the road that get bikers killed.
    Freaking dangerous guard rail ends that impaled the vehicle on collision.

• Well, the world is class, not the Malaysian highways. Whoever made the statement was syok sendiri..

• JokerD on Jun 29, 2017 at 1:37 pm

I’ll have to consider “world class” as a category. Within it are sub-categories: “A, B, C, D, E classes”…

Tol system —> 200% World Class (A class)
    Congestion level —> World class (A class)
    Highway death tol —> World class (???)

• Joey Paul on Jun 29, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Dear people..the title says network not quality of tarmac. Yes we definitely have one of the best road network. Get your facts right. Calculate how many kilometres of road have we built and road that connects to remote areas. Dear Malaysians…as far as we wish to have good road quality I hope you all provide your best quality as a driver too. No point of asking this and that but drives and act like a third world country. Drive safely and make sure dont be like an animal by throwing away rubbish on the road

• FireAce on Jun 29, 2017 at 3:24 pm

All i know the contract signed by gomen with Highway Concessionaire on the rights on toll hike is “world class” Stupidity/Corruption (pick either one or both that you believe is true)

• Highway Star on Jun 29, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Highway world class but highway users many are worse than third world class.