Lexus RX seven-seater to be shown at Tokyo 2017?

Lexus is set to give its popular mid-size SUV offering, the Lexus RX, a seven-seater variant soon, according to Japanese publication Mag-X. The three-row version, expected to be unveiled at the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show in October, looks poised to take on the BMW X5 and Range Rover Sport, both of which also come in a seven-seat format.

Seeing as the current five-seater model looks rather compact and low-slung, you’d expect a people-carrying version to get some sheetmetal changes to fit the extra row of seats. Indeed, it is said that a longer rear overhang is on the cards, along with a more vertical rear windscreen – although the standard model’s 2,790 mm wheelbase is set to be retained.

Even with the extra changes, the rendering above shows that the rearmost seats will still be a fairly cramped affair, with usage limited to children or for short trips. One benefit of the larger dimensions is that with the third row folded, boot space should be significantly larger than the five-seater’s 521 litres.

A seven-seat RX would likely be an important addition to the Lexus lineup, being the brand’s first car-based three-row SUV. Until now, the only way you could cram more than five people in a car carrying the L badge is by buying the Toyota Land Cruiser Prado-based GX or the massive LX, built on the bones of the full-size Land Cruiser. Both cars are ladder-on-frame and lack the road manners of the RX.

GALLERY: Lexus RX 200t F Sport

GALLERY: Lexus RX 350 F Sport

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Good move, unlike Honda Malaysia with the CRV.

• Hazmin on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Toyota Lexus, family-friendly n practical always. Innova, Sienta n Fortuner.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Dont blame Honda Malaysia. They rely on their partner DRB for market research. DRB all bodohs. That is why they even failed and bankrupt Proton.

DRB told Honda Malaysians want 5 seater. Bodoh betui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 33
      • pick from sky? on Jun 30, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Since when DRB told Honda Malaysia like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
      • Bodo kah? HM has their own market research team. Why need to borrow from DRB? Its not like ur toyota, where they borrow from P2 and came out with the wonderous conclusion that MY pipu luvs ur unsafe cars, despite the free falling sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
      • Zuhaimi on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:24 am

bodo tak tahu baca. Kunta say car companies in Malaysia

• But can Lexus price it like CRV?

• If you think your horseshoe crab... on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:10 pm

…isn’t long enough. This one’s for you.

• driven PT on Jun 30, 2017 at 9:22 pm

So the next driven series would be 7 seater SUVs war

• Jimmy on Jun 30, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Personally I prefer sporty SUV to be 5-seater.
    Similarly I think X5e is better than the 5+2 regular variants.

Large full-sized SUVs are excluded.

My opinion for CRV is that for the most expensive fully-loaded top spec CRV, it can be 5-seater; the 7-seater variants are for those cheaper ones.

• ex-VGM staff on Jul 02, 2017 at 2:13 pm

In the nissan xtrail, u can just fold the last row seats flat onto the floor. It will still be a 5 seater at any time you want it. But in case you need the extra 2 seats, it will still be there where else in the CRV it will remain 5 seater. Tan Chong’s decision to bring in the 7 seater version is wise.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 01, 2017 at 2:49 pm

ini real rx…bukan the harrier those recon fler sell

• Better take off the badge and throw into dustbin then put toyota logo