Volkswagen can still halt Tesla juggernaut – Diess

Volkswagen started its push into electrification relatively late following the costly Dieselgate debacle, but company boss Herbert Diess thinks it can still take the game to US electric car maker, Tesla, according to a Bloomberg report.

“We see Volkswagen as the company that can stop Tesla, because we have abilities Tesla doesn’t have today,” Diess said, and what Volkswagen lacks in first-mover advantage, it can compensate in global scale and manufacturing expertise, he added. Having claimed the title of world’s largest automaker from Toyota last year, the next aim is to make electric vehicles more accessible to mass-market buyers, Diess said.

The Wolfsburg-based automaker has in recent weeks signed off on the final design for the first of its pure EV I.D. models, called the Neo. The all-electric hatchback is said to be targeted at the European market in a price range similar to the diesel Golf’s, and is tipped to have a range of up to 600 km on a full charge.

Later on, VW’s push for electrification will continue with models such as the Crozz, which is said to go on sale worldwide in 2023 including their largest market, China. This will be complemented by a larger model, the Lounge, which boasts of a longer wheelbase and more cabin room for the US market.

More manufacturers are focusing their efforts on electrification, particularly with new legislation in Europe; the French government is set to ban sales of petrol and diesel-powered vehicles by 2040. Norway has set a similar goal for 2025, while Germany has proposed a 2030 target and, more ambitiously, India as well.

On the automaker front, Volvo has announced that all of its cars will be of at least hybrid electrification from 2019, while Tesla is projecting sales of 20,000 Model 3s every month from December, as it ramps up production; BMW meanwhile is set to launch its i8 Roadster next year.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Redux on Jul 13, 2017 at 12:08 pm

VW, why U no bailout P1?

• Neo? Proton boleh saman juta-juta nanti

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 13, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Before you try to stop Tesla, come to Malaysia and sort your DSG issues. Poor owners, cannot even sell their cars also because nama busuk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 59
    • lao yee on Jul 13, 2017 at 5:05 pm

DSG soon become history when a fully electric car doesn’t needs gear!

• Tired on Jul 13, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Seriously, I’m sick of this Kunta. Can Paul Tan please just ban this guy. There are so many of us who are just tired of this man.

• tiredofBS on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:24 pm

We r all sick of him…bt admin somehow closing an eye on it…its freakin annoying

• VW, Yes you can.. please bring us good EV cars and DSG will be history.. I m looking forward German Engineering

• Elon musk’s goal is not to dominate the electric car market, tesla’s products are expensives, but the main aim was to awaken the sleeping giants like vw , n toyota to produce accessible electric cars for the masses , n therefore change the overall global landscape of automotive industry

once this has been achieved , he would’ve succeded

• He wud have only succeeded to burn billions $$$. Better to concerntrate on R&D and gip his patent end to end FOC to any manufacturer (not just the engine tech).

• 12yrsold on Jul 14, 2017 at 9:15 am

Seriously john, would anyone give away any patent that can generate $$$?? Even a loosing entity like P1 “sell” their 49.9% to Geely. There is no free lunch in this world bro.

• Well, ur just new here so i forgip u. paultan.org/2014/06/13/tesla-motors-patents-anyone-can-use/

But this patent only covers motor and controls. The ‘stomach’ of the system, the battery, still is proprietary and not cheap. Elon shud gip this patent free too if hes sincere about mass EV.

• 12yrsold on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Yeah right. Just ask Elon Mask to give U everything for Free. Your mentality of asking it for free show U need clutches or TONGKAT to survive.

Please work harder & not ask things for FREE. The world or EM do not owe U a living man. Get a life.

• Tarakbaca on Jul 14, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Tongkat is everywhere kid. Go amd read more

• The title was for a moment abit misleading
    Volkswagen can still chellenge Tesla, than diess

• Ksatria on Jul 13, 2017 at 3:48 pm

stop bitchin’ & build affordable EVs already!

• Proton Supporter on Jul 13, 2017 at 10:37 pm

This! See this Proton!

This kind of spirit that Proton must have to survive in this business. Always fight the best. Be the best or nothing.

Here in Malaysia, even Perodua also cannot challenge. And then keep talking about going global somemore.

Fighting spirit must always have.