New Subaru XV spotted in Malaysia ahead of launch

Just a few months after making its regional launch debut in Taiwan, the all-new Subaru XV has now been spotted in Malaysia, thanks to paultan.org reader Yeah Yung Ee. This unit here was sighted in Segambut, close to Tan Chong’s Segambut plant (where the current XV is manufactured).

This rear view shot of the XV shows us the crossover’s taillights, which are largely similar to the latest Impreza hatchback it is based on. There isn’t any distinctive badging to determine just what XV variant this is, but it will likely carry the updated FB20 2.0 litre direct-injected four-cylinder petrol engine.

For Taiwan-spec XVs, the powerplant serves up 154 hp and 196 Nm, paired to an improved Lineartronic CVT and Subaru’s trademark Symmetrical AWD system. The XV also comes equipped with X-Mode (like on the Forester) in Taiwan, providing better control when driving at low speeds over loose surfaces.

Underpinning the new XV is the Subaru Global Platform that not only boasts improved rigidity (+70%) compared to its predecessor, it also offers a lower centre of gravity. Other improvements include a quicker steering ratio (from 14:1 to 13:1) and the introduction of Active Torque Vectoring.

In terms of equipment, LED headlights, an 8-inch audio system, dual-zone automatic air-conditioning, multi-info display, cruise control, electrically-adjustable driver’s seat (manual front passenger), leather dash, sunroof and 18-inch alloys can be found on the highest-spec XV in Taiwan.

We’ve been told back in June that the new XV will be introduced in Malaysia by the fourth quarter of this year. Like the soon-to-be outgoing XV, the new one will also be locally assembled (CKD) in Malaysia by the end of 2017, with deliveries expected to take place early next year.

GALLERY: 2017 Subaru XV 2.0i-S (Taiwan-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• applegreen on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:02 am

Like Subaru XV
    Dislike Toyota CH-R

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
    • Better than HRV, CHR, CX3, ASX and other small crossovers in all aspects because the Symmetrical AWD system is amazing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • Yes, SAWD is amazing. Better than others… but in SOME aspects only. All cars have their own unique selling proposition which appeal to diverse consumer needs. I bought XV because it was the best choice that meet my criteria.

Having said that, my XV serves me well so far and I’m sure the new XV will do even better.

• (Like) Proton Boyue.
    (Dislike)Subaru XV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 76
  • Pic taken in front of TCMA Segambut

• Con toyoda on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:21 am

The interior is Way too good looking than that overhype toyoda!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Whats with HRV/ Innova rear lights?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • Exactly ! the rear lights are so fugly !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Manly on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Harv n innova are AhBeng vampire rear light….this is more manly

• Being toothless vampire is more manly? Maybe its body oso sparkles in sunlight and has smoky looks, huh?

• thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:22 am

I wonder if this will launched before CHR.

• Gringo on Aug 08, 2017 at 8:31 pm

“We’ve been told back in June that the new XV will be introduced in Malaysia by the fourth quarter of this year. “

• Ganesan on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:54 am

I am so excited. Can’t wait for this. BTW, I am not Subaru salesman.

• Johnson Amigo on Aug 08, 2017 at 11:55 am

yo yo yo what’s up with the urinal bowl like dashboard design?! one of the worst design in recent suv dashboard we have seen for sure! exterior wise, failed bigtime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:28 pm

so much better than chr

• tkhengong on Aug 08, 2017 at 12:52 pm

I was informed official launch will take place in the first week of November and delivery commences from January 2018. Typical of Motor Image. I am eagerly awaiting to upgrade from my current 2016 XV. The Impreza, the car it was built on was voted Japanese Car of the Year 2017. I certainly hope MI sells the car with its full safety suite too.

• Eternalgl0ry on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:04 pm

If they equip it with the eye sight and mode x. I sure buy

• Don’t buy the current xv. Body strength is 70% weaker than the new one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Wait end of year, get diskaun 30% price reduction.

• Rigidity is not a direct comparison of strength. Get your facts right first before commenting.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Hope the high spec has all the bells and whistles to compete with the rest of the class

• tunaseng on Aug 08, 2017 at 1:56 pm

0-100 in 11.6x sec

hrv can do 0-100 in 10 sec n 200kmh top speed

• Khairul Anuar Abdul Hamid on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:07 pm

I’m seriously considering this over the CHR. My thought is that the CHR can go jalan-jalan, but the XV can go jalan-jalan even when there’s no jalan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Once you have driven many kms in a Subaru with Symmetrical AWD like I have, you would wonder why not all cars have this.

• Somebody on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:10 pm

It’s design looked more like a facelift to me

• camtakpro on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:14 pm

XV killed C-HR even before arrival.

• Henry on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:24 pm

IMO, this XV is a better bet than the CH-R.

• Chong on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:38 pm

Considering hot climate in Malaysia, rear air vent should really be provided for a car of this size these days.

• Manson on Sep 21, 2017 at 2:00 pm

I own a Xv 2017, believe me the aircond is more than enough for you even without the rear air vent.

• ahmad on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Equipped with hydraulic power steering or electrical power steering? My friend told me, current one is hydraulic PS. Feel slight hard compared to EPS

• willy on Aug 09, 2017 at 2:41 pm

no wonder the cornering experience sucks while test drive, although its basically a solid car

• littlefire on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:19 am

@willy, I am not sure which car or suv you compare which you think cornering experience sucks. But if you really into petrol heads, hydraulic power steering are preferred compare to electrical power steering due to the heavier feel which you can get good road feedback compare to electric power steering which will always be light.

Hydraulic power steering can tell you your car is driving on a loose surface or normal road or if your car is driving too hard on corners. Please google good steering feedback.

Electrical power steering is only good for city drive as it is easier or lighter to park or turn in tight space and most modern car are using it to help cut fuel consumption at first as it will not drag or sip engine power.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:24 pm

It looks nice AND it can actually be taken offroad, so its not all show. Find some slippery road, and you can even drift it.

• I prefer this new XV to CH-R. No doubt CH-R is a handsome car but interior is too claustrophobic for me. That’s my opinion.

• Subaru Global Platform is the major change for this new XV which is not something u can see. The improvement is everywhere in the car.

• Teacher Mpamire on Aug 09, 2017 at 3:16 pm

What wen wrong here.?..iTs Good value today and future…Subaru

• And yet people will still go for korean brand lol

• willy on Aug 09, 2017 at 2:44 pm

for a car RM145k original price tag, its not attractive unless theres more than 20% discount

• Bernard on Aug 09, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Only the Subaru wrx sti was a winner…

• Manson on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:49 pm

I just bought one unit this January, and I never regret my decision, I had test drive cx3, hrv, Peugeot 2008, Kia sportage, Hyunda Tucson and none of the above got better handling than Subaru xv, it’s very fun to drive and it looks very sporting with crosstrek bodykit, although the interior is slightly boring but overall I’m satisfied with the purchase.