Lexus LC 500 goes on tour of Malaysia – view the coupe in JB, Melaka, Ipoh, Penang and Kuching

It looks like a concept car, but the Lexus LC 500 is a car that you can buy from Lexus Malaysia, having been officially launched here late last month. If you don’t have RM940k to burn, here’s a rare opportunity to get up close with the stunning coupe, as the LC is making a nationwide tour of Lexus dealerships. We’ve done ours, here’s your chance to do so:

Lexus Johor Bahru – August 20

Lexus Melaka – August 26-27

Lexus Ipoh – September 3

Lexus Penang – September 10

Lexus Kuching – October 1

Unveiled at last year’s Detroit show, Lexus’ flagship luxury coupe is the production version of the LF-LC Concept from 2012, with most of what’s good on the stunning showcar retained.

Under the long bonnet is a 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated Atkinson- and Otto-cycle V8 engine that comes with VVT-i and D-4S direct injection. Rated at 470 hp at 7,100 rpm and 540 Nm at 4,800 rpm, the engine directs drive to the rear wheels via a Direct Shift 10-speed automatic gearbox and Torsen limited-slip rear differential (optional in certain markets).

The powertrain pushes the LC 500 from zero to 100 km/h in 4.4 seconds, and if you keep your foot planted on the accelerator, you’ll arrive at a top speed of 270 km/h.

The Malaysian-spec LC 500 also comes with the Performance Package and Convenience Package, the latter featuring Parking Assist and blind spot monitor with rear cross-traffic alert.

The Performance Package includes active rear steering, variable gear-ratio steering and a speed-activated rear wing (raises above 80 km/h). The seat inserts and headliner receive an Alcantara layer, and there’s carbon-fibre on the roof and door sill plates.

The two-door can be had in 11 exterior colours and three interior themes – black, dark rose or ochre as shown here. The interior design is a unique blend of straight lines and flowing curves – it’s very fascinating, so be sure to check out the cabin, and those flush-fit door handles. Remember, RM940k on-the-road without insurance, should it call out your name during the nationwide tour.

GALLERY: Lexus LC 500 in Malaysia

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• safety 1st on Aug 18, 2017 at 10:22 am

Lexus Toyota, simply stunning & safety

• Godzilla on Aug 18, 2017 at 10:51 am

For that rediculous price, better buy the godzilla nissan gtr. Gtr can smoke this lexus easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • Its not about smoke this or that. Its about standing out from the crowds. Look at GTR, it is too common, its not turning head as much as they first release on the road. This, on the other hand, would guarantee you 95% of carlovers and non-carlovers turning their head just to see this beauty. If you want to talk about power, you dont need a supercar to smoke others. Heavily modified Golf Gti or Audi RS7 can easily smoke others. Plus, a man who have got tons of money, they wouldnt care about smoking others or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 11
      • Performancewise on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:42 pm

RM940K just for beauty? Maybe, but not this ugly lexus lc500. This lc500 sekali pandang wowww…2 kali pandang lorrrr… Better get ferrari or lambo if want true beauty, then 110% will turn their head n pandang. Even lexus lfa also not much people pandang and not even the rich prefer to buy in Msia, apa lagi this lc500, not even 95% will turn their head, just jeling sekejap ony lor without turning their head. Nissan gtr even common but still people turn their head and woww. This lc500 lehh…see logo L ony no need see anymore. Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • That is the typical perspective Malaysian people having. Honda and Toyota means RV. Ferarri and Lambo means supercar. Hence, only both brands would make ones look success in life and sporty enough. That is just a useless perspective thats been practise by Malaysian. Everyone should buy any car that they felt suit to them, and not by hearing some douche bag telling them how stupid or useless that car is. So yeah….

• Flyingcar on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:52 pm

U both in different world. 1 want performance fast car but with proper and reasonable price. And 1 want only want waste money for beauty only. I can say 95% supercar buyers are more to performance and of course beauty too. But i can bet not much will buy this LC500. How would u feel if u owner of this LC500 but got smoked by heavily modified Golf GTI? Or smoked by heavily modified proton wira evo3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • Well... on Aug 18, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Well, I would be laughing at those heavily modified Golf Gti because he’s trying too hard to prove that it is fast and good enough to smoke others, not only limited to this LC500. Ill be like , “HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA LOOK AT THAT PATHETIC HEAVILY MODIFIED GOLF THAT HAS BEEN TRYING TO SMOKE ME”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
          • Lololol on Aug 18, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Smoked him back then. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA… He spend less to smoke almostba million supercar. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

• Low2215 on Aug 18, 2017 at 3:56 pm

At my age , speed is not everything , a comfortable car with superb NVH is my criteria in choosing a car .

• zillagod on Aug 18, 2017 at 4:16 pm

Nissan Gtr = Yes
      Lexus Lc500 = No

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Low2215 on Aug 18, 2017 at 11:10 am

A beautiful car indeed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Maybe Lexus thinks ramai itchy nak pergi tengok an interior from the 70s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • this is the ‘showroom’ car.

• Mohd Faiz on Aug 18, 2017 at 11:36 am

the showgal in white pants would be there also? pls update more on this paultan.

• 940K for a Toyota…hmm..better buy GTR or Mustang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • girl in white skirt really2 stunning. i’ll choose her over car btw

• holofanboi on Aug 18, 2017 at 5:18 pm

I feel like im gonna have a ‘Long C 500’ just looking at the two girls in white. The one on the left…hot dang!

Ah crap I’ll escort myself out now.

• hazamiey on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Woww. Didn’t expect so much love on the GTR n so much hate on th LC500 among PT readers. i wonder what kind of weed are these people smoking at? did they know how much the GTR cost when it first landed in bolehland circa 2009 thru grey importers? Fxxking RM700k++! That was about 8 years ago without any manufacturer warranty, when our RM was still around 3.5 against US dollars. So u think the GTR is cheap? This Lexus is a new car with full factory warranty, better interior quality, more comfortable and Lexus asking for RM940k when our currency is 4.3 to USD and 8 years later than the godzilla, when everything are already expensive enough. Do not directly compare with RM300k “tukun” GTR it shows how stupid you are. Have u ever driven a GTR? Yeah its crazy fast but the interior is so drab, noisy cabin and the ride is crashy. It even couldn’t match the ride quality of a clunky E92 M3 with that lovely V8. Try drive those two back to back and u know why some people with deep pocket spent their money on the M3 which is clearly much slower than the GTR. The same case with this LC500. Its not just for pure speed and its not targeted to boyracer. Its for proper gentleman. The girl with the white pants will leave her panties at home when you fetch her in this LC. Or u can have your heavily modified non-standard oddly coloured GTR with so so looking amoi or average tudung-clad girlfriend that u will regretted married after 3 yrs.