2017 Mazda CX-5 Malaysian official price list – five CKD variants; 2.0G, 2.5G, 2.2D AWD; from RM136k

Click to enlarge price list

The new 2017 Mazda CX-5 is yet to be officially launched in Malaysia, but here’s a price list with all the variants that will be available from launch, with their prices of course.

It looks like the second-generation Mazda CX-5 will be available in five variants and three engine options. The mid-size five-seater SUV, which will rival the new Honda CR-V and Nissan X-Trail, is CKD locally-assembled in Kulim, Kedah from the start this time around – no initial CBU batch.

The local new CX-5 range starts off with the 162 hp/210 Nm 2.0 litre 2WD, which comes in base GL and GLS forms. The GL is priced at RM136,405 on-the-road without insurance, while the higher spec GLS is yours for RM150,291. If you need a bigger engine, the 2.5 GLS is powered by a 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G engine with 192 hp and 257 Nm of torque. The 2.5 GLS is priced at RM164,886.

Like the previous-generation CX-5, this new one also comes with a diesel option. The SkyActiv-D oil burner churns out 173 hp and 420 Nm of torque, and can be had as a 2WD (RM171,539) or AWD (RM182,139). All engines are paired to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission and G-Vectoring Control (GVC) is standard across the board.

If you want your CX-5 in any of the three premium colours – Mazda’s famous Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey or Snowflake Pearl White – add RM2,000. Navigation and leather seats can be added to the base 2.0 GL, at RM1,270 and RM2,900 respectively.

No accompanying spec sheet, but from ads by eager dealers, it’s likely that the base variant will come with halogen projector headlamps, while the others get full LEDs. Petrol are to come with Mazda’s Adaptive Front-lighting System (AFS), while diesel ones get Adaptive LED Headlights (ALH). Two wheel designs will likely be offered – 17-inch multi-spokes and 19-inch five twin-spoke items.

Available equipment include leather seats, a multi-function steering wheel, electronic hand brake (now with brake hold function), rear air-con vents, dual-zone climate control, Mazda Connect, powered seats and rear armrests with integrated USB ports.

Mazda’s i-Activsense suite of safety and driver assistance systems will be also offered here, with Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Smart City Brake Support (front) found on all variants. The diesels will be further boosted by Smart City Brake Support (rear), Lane Keep Assist (LKA), Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) and Driver Attention Alert (DAA). The Active Driving Display head-up display will also be available.

Not long now before the official unveil.

GALLERY: New Mazda CX-5 2.5L Skyactiv-G, Indonesian spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Habis la boyot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 115
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:30 pm

still a winner….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 11
  • Despite having waited and seen how Honda introduced the new CR-V, how can bloody Bermaz with all that time screw up the specifications with mismatched pricing? Even Nasim Peugeot seemed to use their heads better when introducing the latest 3008 (even if no one buys it). As for ETCM, hey don’t talk so loud, their product planners are still sleeping; they have no idea the X-Trail had been facelifted in other parts of the world.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 12
    • Alexander on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:39 pm

U shud wait proton bayu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 12
    • Perhaps you should explain why the specs and pricing are mismatched to you? Because, apart from you having a go at Bermaz, nobody understands what you are talking about.

• Elchino on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:19 am

Active cruise control or passive? Looks like CRV has more specs at a lower price!

• zuozi on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:51 am

this is CX 5
          to compare with CRV should wait if CX8 or 9 arrive in malaysia

CX 5 can only compare with HRV similar range vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
        • zuozikiro on Aug 30, 2017 at 11:58 am

for me CX 5 similar range vehicle can only compare with HRV not even close to CRV

unless mazda malaysia import someone call CX8 someone call CX9 then you can only comapre to CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Mazdarati on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Best of segment. Mazda’s Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM) and Smart City Brake Support on all variants.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 56
  • Eternalgl0ry on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Only in malaysia where mid size suv is more expensive than a large size suv

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 96
  • Anything But Proton on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 160
    • nemesis on Aug 28, 2017 at 6:15 pm

off all the above 200ps/443nm power with best nvh in class is sorento crdi

• xcrossx on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Tow truck friend > tiguang
      Crampy >CX5
      Okd design > Forester
      No RV > Sorento
      So so interior > CRV
      Nothing special > X-Trail, Outlander
      The best > Bayu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • camtakpro on Aug 28, 2017 at 7:01 pm

lol high tech > CRV ?

only top variant 2wd crv has those goodies.

Low spec CX5 already have AEB.

as far as pricing + equipments goes, this new CX5 > CRV.

• Jack Lee on Aug 28, 2017 at 8:13 pm

High tech > CRV ?

Are you dreaming?

• Results are based on what? What makes one better value than the other? What makes one more high tech than the other? What is the difference between dynamic drive and handling?

• Dynamic drive > xtrail
      Handling > xtrail
      Practical > xtrail
      Expensive > CRV
      Best Value > Forester (rm113k)
      Off road > mazda 2.2 diesel AWD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
      • wawasan2020 on Aug 29, 2017 at 12:52 pm

full of plastic and antique model >>> xtrail car of century

• Nenek kau on Aug 29, 2017 at 4:13 am

Car of the year > 3008

• It will be good if it comes with radar cruise control.

• Greedy UMW on Aug 28, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Thank you Bermaz for announcing your CX-5 price.

Now we see on the road price with insurance:

CX-5 2.0L GL (base spec): RM140,440 = C-Segment SUV, kosong spec
    CX-3 2.0L: RM138K = B-segment SUV, full spec

We see how the Greedy UMW management price their C-HR 1.8L. If they price it around RM140K memang UMW management bodoh and greedy. Better take CX-5 then, bigger size.

I believe the highest C-HR should price is at RM128K (including insurance). It should price lower than CX-3 as it is a 1.8L car and the spec is not as good as CX-3.

• too much.. on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:01 am

I like what u say on UMW n it is true.. but too bad it won’t happened on bolehland, an less burn all the AP or open tender on each AP licence.

• Insider on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:16 am

Lower than RM128K, around HRV price

• Gaviny on Aug 28, 2017 at 8:08 pm

If you can afford please get the diesel , you won’t regret it

• awg1031 on Aug 29, 2017 at 1:18 pm

but the diesel cost’s so much, not to mention plus the loan interest rate..is it worth the saving??

• The idea is that not much ppl will get the diesel, and soon Bermaz is going to throw it cheap, maybe will close to the petrol model.
        Now that’s the time to grab it, I did just that for the old model, in term of power response and fuel economy, you won’t regret it.

• Ivankokky on Aug 28, 2017 at 8:11 pm

The diesel can drink B10 ?

• Michael J. Bong on Aug 28, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Does it come with built-in “nyek nyek” sound after rain?

• Heskey on Aug 29, 2017 at 2:04 am

What’s standard optional accessories? It should be either standard or optional.

• thepolygonal on Aug 29, 2017 at 8:47 am

Somehow it doesn’t look so ‘new’.. more like a facelift rather than a new platform.. especially the back. Sales should be good from previous model owners if they want the updated looks. Meanwhile Honda, Hyundai… has moved on to a smaller turbo’ed engine. Hard to sell this indeed with this kind of pricing.

• dimitriy on Aug 29, 2017 at 9:25 am

Subaru Forester 2.0i @ RM114k is worth to buy.. dun believe me? Have a look at its spec n it cost u only RM114k.. stil cant decide? Go and test drive it. Put CRV, XTRail, N this CX5 down the drain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • kereta_lembu on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:09 am

Subaru salesman detected!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • dimitriy on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:02 am

lol. im the next SUV/crossover buyer.planning to buy 1 at the end of 2017 due to massive rebate/offer. so ofkos ive surveyed CX5, XTRAIL, CRV & Forester.
        @rm114k, Forester is the best value for money among its competitor. Sadly, CRV lowest spec with kedekut features-but-mahal stil won many heart of msians.

y dun u test drive a forester and do a zig-zag corner, take a sharp corner at a considerable high speed? if u realy a driver-person, u can feel the AWD realy stick to the road with minimal body roll (SUV level).

• Abang…hope u will downgrade when Bayu is launched soon.

• ayoyo on Aug 30, 2017 at 6:31 pm

agree that forester have good driving handling and value for money.. tested the car.. hate CRV dont have this… but i still go for CRV for its design and 2nd hand value…..

• Thanabalan on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:07 am

Subaru Forester 2.0i-P brapa harge?

• Henry on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:18 am

Approximately 130k with insurance. If you have NCD the price will be lower. But it is 2016 stock.

• What he said is true. Go test drive first. Subaru win.

• fairy stories on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:20 am

The design is too boxy like in 90’s

• Henry on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:34 am

Yes, good value. The trade-off is the cars are 2016 stock.

• toffeemoose on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:04 pm

WAnted to test drive it at Puchong showroom (couple of months back) but the SA all think I got face problem..and never even bothered to raise their face to talk to me.so I left…

It was a pity cause I was really eyeing the XV actually and was ready to take it if the test drive goes well..

Now..waiting for my loan for the discounted CX5 to approved

• Tahar on Aug 30, 2017 at 2:50 am

Yeap ,starting from year 2011 , most subaru forester engine have piston oil control ring that wears off prematurely .

Never heard of this problems from CX5 , CRV or X-Trail except people always complaining about the CRV and X-Trail CVT gearbox giving always slack and gutless acceleration .

CX 5 uses proper torque converter 6 speed gearbox that is more responsive and give better acceleration

• WhatYouNeedToKnow on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:45 am

Second generation is more like nice make-up with old drivetrain is that what consumer really want ? Mazda should offer 2.5 turbo Sky-ativ for second-G. Cx-5. so long zoom zoom fun. and AWD’s “computer system” is rubbish (too much of traction slips diagonal test) so concluded to me that defeat the point of affordable premium. I support Mazda because great small company compare to some of rival. hope mazda dont forget about their consumer.

• WhatYouNeedToKnow on Aug 29, 2017 at 11:58 am

forget about cx5 crv tiguan and the rest.
    Maybe should have a look on new Haval H6 (w/new interior)
    Something more amaze ahead in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • hukaka on Aug 29, 2017 at 12:09 pm

2.2 diesel 4WD rm 180K,ow……

• Ridiculous Pricing on Sep 01, 2017 at 10:27 pm

2.0 petrol 156k
      2.2 turbo diesel 176k
      that’s ridiculous la for pasang turbo 20k different

• Carbon copy on Aug 29, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Copycat of the mercs on those interiors! I thought Honda is famed for that , now Mazda joined in the fun! Lol!

• Eye-catchingSUV on Aug 30, 2017 at 1:11 pm

the new launch Haval in china come with 2 type. blue and red as exterior different. the interior of H6 is brilliant pleasant in eye sight. would pick the blue variant simply handsome for my taste. the cost almost similar to geely boyue yet is more torque than boyue. in term of cost and spec of H6 is way better than most of rival. yet exception for forester’s premium drivetrain. peace & happy merdeka!

• ayoyo on Aug 30, 2017 at 6:44 pm

CX5 no doubt its a good car , but the cabin space kill many SUV buyer. unless im a dwarf

• old horse on Sep 01, 2017 at 3:20 pm

the hadicap is…new car launching without Apple CarPlay or Android Auto supported? …nah..

• BermasBerjayaA$$WHOLE on Sep 04, 2017 at 2:51 am

Ridiculous Overpriced and make no sense when the blind lead the blind (Cx5-Crv market)
    1. 130k-140k would rather wait for premium machine drive-train AWD that’s all new Subaru XV better than Cx5 2.0 gl/gls
    2. 155k-170k would rather pick Kia sportage 2.0d turbo AWD +HS at (160k) instead Cx-5 2.5 gls (170k)
    3. 160-180k would rather get 7-seater KIA
    Sorento 2.0D turbo AWD (155k/180k) or 9-seater KIA Grand Karnival 2.0D turbo AWD (155k/170k) instead Cx-5 2.2D gls

Bermas pricing it in the mist while or consumer easily fooled in the mist.