All-new Subaru XV 2.0i-P to be priced at RM144,948?

It was previously reported the new Subaru XV will arrive in Malaysia by the end of 2017, and we’ve already spotted the vehicle on our roads not too long ago. Now, what appears to be a price list for the second-generation SUV model has surfaced, revealing one of the variants to be the 2.0i-P.

The XV currently on sale now is available in two variants – 2.0i and 2.0i-P – and these variant offerings will likely be emulated for the new one as well. Looking at the figures, the new XV 2.0i-P appears to be priced at RM144,948 OTR without insurance.

As the current XV has been a locally assembled model since 2012, the new one will follow in its footsteps as well. In March 2016, Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International, revealed the company’s Segambut plant will be able to produce Subaru models that ride on the Subaru Global Platform, which include this new XV.

Later on, at the regional launch of the new XV in Taiwan, we were told that local assembly (CKD) of the new XV will begin in Malaysia by the end of 2017, with deliveries expected to take place early next year.

Based on the pricelist, the Malaysian-spec XV will be powered by a 2.0 litre boxer four-cylinder petrol engine, likely the updated FB20 unit with direct injection. For Taiwan-spec XVs, the powerplant serves up 154 hp and 196 Nm, and the engine is paired with an improved Lineartronic CVT and Subaru’s trademark Symmetrical AWD system.

With the new XV set to make its launch debut soon, Subaru Malaysia is offering some attractive deals for the current XV and Forester, where the former can be had from just RM109,968, complete with a free Subaru bodykit. That is a substantial discount from the price mentioned above, and you can find out more about the Subaru National Day Special, here.

GALLERY: 2017 Subaru XV 2.0i-S (Taiwan-spec)

GALLERY: 2017 Subaru XV 2.0i (Taiwan-spec)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Periasamy on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:19 am

Price naik? Rm3k also can naik?

I though gomen promised us car prices will come down by 30%?

How come can naik again?

Somemore now OTR has NO INSURANCE. Last time OTR included Insurance.

So, does this mean it goes up like RM8k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
    • Periasamy on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:22 am

Subaru has become arrogant. This car same league as Honda HRV. and yet, Honda you can even get at for RM100k after discounts.

Big difference in price. RM100k VS RM145k.

Subaru thinks they are superior to Honda? Do they syiok sendiri?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 22
      • U can get current XV at <110k. And if bargain with SA kaw kaw, can even get <100k. So apalagi mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 36
        • Hisham on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:47 am

nobody is comparing to old stock. Cave facts. Compare new stock with new stock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • Like for like, theres almost no diff between current XV and upcoming XV. Theres no such thing as old stock. Get ur facts right, not cave facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • (Like) Subaru XV.
          (Dislike) Proton Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
        • Pls advise which dealer can give less than rm100k. I hope to book one.

• takNakP1 on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:07 am

you must be joking… HRV & XV same league/category?
        B segment (Jazz platform) vs C segment
        FWD vs AWD
        inline 4 vs flat 4
        1.8 vs 2.0
        sedan road tax rate vs SUV road tax rate

please… check your fact before ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 43
        • Laughing at glenn tan on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:25 am

Hahaha if this is c segment…then what is forester

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
          • XV based on Impreza. Impreza is Csegment. Forrester pulak is SUV segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
          • Nauticar on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:55 am

According to abang, SUV tak laku in Mesia. So how leh

• Basher dun need real facts, they live on cave facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
        • Michael on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:43 am

Cannot stop laughing. XV is C segment??? It is as small as a Myvi abang!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
          • Dun just look at the pictures. Go to a subaru showroom and see it urself

• willy on Nov 07, 2017 at 6:26 am

u all need to know in SUV
          theres only a few categories which are
          subcompact suv, compact suv, luxury subcompact suv, & luxury compact suv

hrv, cx3, xv, chr fall in subcompact categories. while by ranking, cx3,xv and hrv are the top 3

• Lol honda hrv is essentially a jacked up honda jazz slapped with big rims and a wider bodykit. A plumped up jazz for over 100k? Lmao

• XV is AWD. HRV is not.

• ignorance detected

• mivec on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:33 am

Samy, this is pointless comparison, they are not in the same league. When you try to make a comparison between anything, make sure your facts are correct with substance and make sure you are comparing apple to apple, not apple to durian; don’t simply make a statement, ok?

• Khalid on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:29 am

RM turun, car parts naik

• If you cannot afford, buy Myvi la Sami.

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 19
    • applegreen on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:40 am

Early 2013 current XV price list at RM151k with insurance. Later when the sales slump they gave 10% disc, RM135otr. After that RM127k otr with sti package. So if u like this new XV just wait for a while until the price getting below RM135k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 1
  • Price naik but lamp still old traditional halogen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Its by Tanchong. Wait few month later, get 10~20k diskaun on the spot. And further get more diskaun from SA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Perlow on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:50 am

I know why this is happening. Because Subaru got positive feedback that so many people can’t wait to buy this. They cepat-cepat ambil kesempatan la. Banyak licik ini Subaru. Last time, the old version which is the current one, who want to buy? Nobody. That is why murah.

• why is it so hard to launch a normal impreza here?

• Even if CKD here, u gonna have to pay upper Dsegment prices for this Csegment car. Problem with scoobies, their appearance dun look the pricetag.

• nazray on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:04 am

Nice car but the price spoilt la,too expensive. almost same price with CRV, better get CRV since cheap insurance,keke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • u look nice too…:-)

• musangKing-originalz on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:37 pm

beautiful dashboard design if now is 1980s…but now 2018 soon..omg subaru..

• Henry on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:59 pm

If the RM 100+ difference (CR-V 1.5T vs XV 2.0L) in road tax can be a deal breaker then the only car for you is the Perodua Axia.

There is no cheaper insurance. The cheapest CR-V is already 140k+.

• Bslee on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:51 am

With Subaru, you need to play waiting game. Can get 20k discount if you wait enough.

• Honda Fan on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:00 pm

If really price at RM145K, then it is same level as the Forester 2.0i-P. I will take the Forester anytime.

• Zulkifli Abu Hassan on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:54 pm

Forester is ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • Honda Fan on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:54 pm

It’s your own view, I don’t think it’s ugly. I’m driving a car that most peoples will say it’s very beautiful but to me it doesn’t mean much, nothing more important than the drive. Forester can beat most of SUV out there in NVH, comfort, handling and smoothness.

• Mikey on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Smart buyer will Buy the older XV from just RM109,968
    If try harder by squeezing the SA, U may get it even cheaper. Thanks Gerard Lye, I get it. Cheers…

• tkhengong on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:13 pm

I was planning to replace my current 2016 XV 2.0i-P with this latest XV but I need to reconsider now given the price listed. I am wondering if at that price and without insurance, the full EyeSight safety system will be available with the car. If it does, then I guess the price is more acceptable. I bought my XV at RM145K OTR with 3 years free service when it was launched in April 2016. Notwithstanding, lesson learnt – never buy a car within 6 months of its launch; cause prices will certainly drop!

• Henry on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Don’t have to buy so soon. Wait a year or two for special offers which will surely come.

• makan kacang with nasi on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:15 pm

CX-5 look more class and updated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • hoong on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Seriously at this price point? The XV is in the same segment as other crossover hatches in many regions. People including myself have been waiting for this car, but at this price point it will just break the deal. Will Motor Image rethink the pricing? And please don’t be stingy this time with the specs, it’s a fierce competitive segment. If you want a share in it then price it competitively!

• Hi guys, that is merely RRP, not official and final yet. Most probably MI will promote this car by early bird discount, higher trade in value, helping hand programme, etc…

By the way, this is an AWD SUV with moderate off-road capabilities by activating the X-Mode. So don’t compare it with HRV, CX-3 or maybe the coming CH-R.. ok??

If you are looking for a vehicle which is solid, good handling and with high safety scoring, yes, this is the vehicle for you (as Subaru also reckon as Volvo Asia)..

If you are looking for something with style, popularity, vast acceptance.. then you got to look elsewhere..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • mivec on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:17 pm

How about Mitsubishi ASX?

• ASX is the closest car comparison to XV. Dimension, engine output, 4WD. However, no news of the new ASX coming to Malaysia so far.

• johnstone on Nov 10, 2017 at 11:29 pm

They’ll replace ASX with ECLIPSE CROSS someday I think…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:36 pm

with this price…die la…kesian the early takers like the first gen XV…crazy price then cut price until siao

• sohaiandrewlee on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:45 pm

For subaru, just wait when they throw price $25K to $35k because their financials are very tight

• Subaru fans tend to protect Subaru. For current XV, rm110k also not selling good, what do you think for rm145k.

Some said can not compare XV with HRV as they are different class. Yes, it is 2.0. But people will go for Mazda CX5. AWD and 2WD? Doyou sure that most of the people really need AWD?

No need to argue, volume OTR tell you the answer what majority people want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Jack Of All Trades on Sep 09, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Yeah, you’re right. It would be good to maintain exclusiveness of the Subaru marque….. rather than throwing a stone at a Mazda CX5, then it hit another CX5, then another CX5… hahaha…

• We all wait till the price drops 10%
    See seller can tahan or buyer can tahan

• Mazbaru on Nov 03, 2017 at 7:28 pm

I like xv, but will not buy at this price range, if it over Rm130K, i will consider cx5