All-new Subaru XV spotted in Malaysia again – 2.0i-P

The all-new Subaru XV has been spotted in Malaysia again, this time in the heart of Kuala Lumpur (near Sungei Wang Plaza) by paultan.org reader Nicholas Nyy. Our previous sighting of the second-generation SUV was earlier in August, where a white unit was spotted in Segambut, close to Tan Chong’s Segambut plant (the current XV is manufactured there).

The orange vehicle seen here is wearing a 2.0i-P badge at the rear, and is possibly the range-topping variant when it finally makes its launch debut (the other variant being the 2.0i following the current model). A price list for the variant surfaced not too long ago, revealing the retail price – RM144,948 on-the-road without insurance.

The new XV, like the current one, should arrive as a locally-assembled model. In March 2016, Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International, revealed the company’s Segambut plant will be able to produce Subaru models that ride on the Subaru Global Platform, which include this new XV.

Under the hood, expect an updated FB20 2.0 litre boxer four-cylinder petrol engine with direct injection. On Taiwan-spec XVs, the powerplant serves up 154 hp and 196 Nm, and the engine is paired with an improved Lineartronic CVT and Subaru’s well-known Symmetrical AWD system.

As far as equipment goes, the 2.0i-P comes with LED headlights, which is an upgrade from the halogen reflector units (likely retained for the 2.0i) fitted to both variants of its predecessor. There’s also roof rails, a rear spoiler, silver-painted door handles, a reverse camera and a shark fin antenna.

For the Taiwan market, the top-spec XV (called the 2.0i-S) comes with dual-zone automatic air-conditioning, multi-info display, cruise control, electrically-adjustable driver’s seat, leather dash, sunroof and 18-inch alloy wheels.

Safety kit is identical on the 2.0i-S and 2.0i sold there – Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), seven airbags (front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), ABS, brake assist and rear Isofix child seat anchors – all coming as standard. Subaru’s EyeSight driver assist suite isn’t present over there, and it appears we’ll follow suit due to the absence of dual colour cameras near the rearview mirror.

With the new XV set to make its launch debut soon, Subaru Malaysia is offering some attractive deals for the current XV and Forester, where the former can be had from just RM109,968, complete with a free Subaru bodykit. That is a substantial discount from the price mentioned above, and you can find out more about the Subaru National Day Special, here.

UPDATE: We’ve been sent more photos of the new XV by Wong Zhi Zhien, revealing orange contrast stitching for the interior, X-Mode (like on the Forester), hill hold assist, upper dash info display, multi-info display for the instrument cluster and 17-inch alloy wheels.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Looks just like current XV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
    • Sohai on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Sudahlah subaru, who interested off-road vehicles …? twin-tower here is not pokok hutan …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 42
  • shogun on Sep 15, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Finally the new XV has landed! Pity that Malaysia Spec not equipped with Subaru’s EyeSight. A piece of technology that everyone should be using it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Tonto on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:15 pm

(Like) Subaru XV 145k.
      (Dislike) Peugeot 3008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 18
    • applegreen on Sep 15, 2017 at 8:47 pm

But we’re lucky to get 17inch wheels because its cheaper, better FC and better 0-100 acceleration

• nemesis on Sep 16, 2017 at 7:28 pm

154hp/190nm nothing to shout about… the tucson 1.6turbo 190hp/265nm or the sportage 2.0crdi with 185hp/400nm would be better choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Chris Tan on Sep 16, 2017 at 7:49 am

We always get tin kosong cause gomen never puts laws in place for Malaysians to get minimum safety spec. Like Axia and Myvi got no VSC. Gomen still never do anything

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 17
  • Jason on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:05 pm

7 airbags across the board pls MI. Be smart and know that buyers are smart these days. Don’t be stingy like the past already. Price it right as well please.

• azhar on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:06 pm

hold on to your buy until Tan Chong drop price to 120k…happened to previous XV model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • tkhengong on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Totally agree! My 2016 2.0i-P bought during launch month dropped almost RM20K within 3 months of my purchase. This round, I will wait 6 months before I consider to upgrade from my 2016 XV. BTW, I was told the official launch is mid-November and delivery will begin in January 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Passion on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:07 pm

I love the car but the boot space is a put off. And the single AVCS too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Lack of Subaru Eyesight…… Malaysian’s safety not important, Motor Image?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • swktrip on Sep 15, 2017 at 4:37 pm

xv is now 103k. so we wait. no rush

• Good car, bad presentation by MI

• Why have Subaru got no spare parts in Sarawak? 2 months waiting for a bumper, never again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • I heard a lot of about Subaru Boxer engine problem

defective piston rings and fear the excessive oil consumption will lead to trouble down the road.

Wonder had Subaru rectify these problems in this new version?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • what will happen to all those 2016 xv n forrester that remain unsold in their warehouse i wonder…dismantle it? recycle?

• willy on Nov 08, 2017 at 11:56 pm

the only drawback of 2018 version are:
    – 3 airbags
    – no subaru eyesight
    – no turbo
    – no apple/ adroid car play
    – subaru xv price is 98-108k during promo