JPJ wants a rebrand, does not want to be seen as an inconvenience to the rakyat – new director-general

The Road Transport Department’s (JPJ) new director-general, Datuk Shaharuddin Khalid said he would review the department’s systems and procedures to determine if it is inconveniencing the rakyat. According to a report by Bernama, the former head of Legal Advisory Office of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC) seeks a rebrand for the JPJ, and aims to improve its administrative practices.

Shaharuddin also plans to raise JPJ’s level of performance and mold it into an excellent and top-notch road transport enforcement body in the ASEAN region. “This does not mean that the department was problematic. We (JPJ) are good and we want to bring ourselves higher,” he clarified.

With Shaharuddin at the helm, JPJ will also be working more with related government bodies like the police force and other local authorities. Thoughts, anyone?

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• If you are down and depressed and in need of a good laugh, read this article.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 5
    • Loler on Sep 19, 2017 at 5:12 pm

LOL…Dah terbakar, baru nk drama. Dah langgar, baru nk check driver saman brapa. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • Proton Needs China CEO on Sep 19, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Now Federal Highway everyday got bikes on the fast lane and every lane. No rain and motor lane is fine. Not flooded and no repairs.

there are hundreds of motobikes on the fast lane

JPJ cannot sort this out but want to rebrand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
        • Cendol on Sep 19, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Kampong bikers with no lesen and underage !

• FederalBiker on Sep 19, 2017 at 9:59 pm

Yo dude, im using federal highway back to home everyday with bike, motorlane was closed for repair from university malaya until merc cycle and carriage, its not that we wanted to use on fast/emergency lane. So your point doesn’t make sense. Kthxbye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
          • Jason on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:32 am

Use other roads than. If road close, you think cars can use? What makes motorbike so special that it can travel illegally on roads.

• K....... on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:16 am

@FederalBiker still doesn’t give you all the right to use the emergency lane

• Redidiot on Sep 19, 2017 at 11:07 pm

That’s not JPJ’s jurisdiction.

• Donno on Sep 19, 2017 at 9:08 pm

JPJ, leave all the road enforcement solely to the Police, and matters of public transport to SPAD. Concentrate only on enforcement of vehicle technical standards and registration, as per other Road Trannsport Departments in the world.

And that means please hand over all the speed cameras to the police. It is insane 2 enforcement agencies handling speed limit summonses

• Anonymous on Sep 19, 2017 at 4:08 pm

prove first talk later beb …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • No more ridiculous renewal of driving licences, that serves no purpose other than to fund JPJ Execs way of life. If absolutely must have renewal, include periodic retesting/re-certification! So many drivers now no longer deserve their licences.

• johnnas on Sep 19, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Great! How much are we looking at for this improvement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Ben Yap on Sep 19, 2017 at 4:29 pm

That’ll be a major rebrand.

JPJ also perceived as corruption. That also need to have a major weeding to remove that stigma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • lilytan on Sep 19, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Wanna be more rakyat friendly? U can start with no AES, no annual roadtax, darker window tint and fancy plates. Good luck with that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
  • thepolygonal on Sep 19, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Have a mascot. Each road block, have the mascot run around entertaining the ones who got jammed in the roadblock.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • henry on Sep 19, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Ok. Good that you have the vision. Please prove it.

• The day we don’t see hundreds of rempit on the road is the day we believe him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • So how many times you join them for racing?

• Ramp-it also comes in four wheels and more.

• Ksatria on Sep 20, 2017 at 8:19 am

True!..in SP, Kedah, rempits playground is on the door step of our district Police station lor..but yet..poor JPJ..what can they do

• Kampong Boi on Sep 19, 2017 at 9:39 pm

Don’t create unnecessary traffic jam when you’re conducting your roadblock because you guys like to cramp a 3 lane road into one. Same with PDRM!

• JPJ rebrand just like a wolf in the sheep skin. Dirty and stinky. They job is to collect road tax and make sure they in return make repair road. Educate people on safety. Not just planting land mines on the highways and freeways for their personal gains. Let the big boys traffic police do their work alone

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Sep 20, 2017 at 7:20 am

JPJ is considered successfull if there are no more ridiculous car on the road….no more loud exhaust, no more kangkang, no more extreme lowered….

• You ask for it. If you got lots of summon and can’t renew your car road tax don’t complaint. Just pay.

• 12yrsold on Sep 20, 2017 at 8:54 am

Only JPJ need re-branding meh ?! I think most of our Civil Servants needs that too

• camtakpro on Sep 20, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Go saman right-lane road hogger lah!

• Eugene on Sep 20, 2017 at 7:38 pm

If you don’t already know, then dua kali lima ajalah……

• old horse on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:45 am

We got JPJ, and then we got SPAD…now this SPAD is totally centralized power act…JPJ fights back now..