Proton hybrid, PHEV and EV models in the pipeline

The new roadmap for Proton’s future will also include hybrid and electric vehicles, it has been confirmed today. When asked about the introduction of new energy vehicles, chairman Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar said that these products are very much in the pipeline.

“Yes, this is something that we will embrace, and Geely has embraced the technology,” he said. “This is one of the highest reasons why Proton needs a strategic partner, as we can get immediate access to EV technology.”

Board member and Geely vice president and chief financial officer Daniel Donghui Li added, “Geely will provide a transmission which will not only be able to handle a few cars, but will also be flexible enough to be equipped with new energy solutions, including hybrid, plug-in hybrid and pure electric. We will also provide new product development, including our new models and also hybrid and electric cars.”

Li also said that while Geely has made a significant investment in these technologies, the same is not expected of Proton. “Geely needed to invest tens of billions of dollars to do all this new product development,” he said. “We do not ask Proton to make all this kind of additional investment. So Proton will only need to invest on the production and plant upgrading, quality improvement and the introduction of new products.”

Geely currently builds the Emgrand EV300, an electric version of the Emgrand (née Emgrand 7) sedan. Power comes from a 95 kW (127 hp) electric motor and a 41 kWh lithium-ion battery, resulting in a real-world range of 300 km, a zero-to-100 km/h sprint time of 9.9 seconds and a top speed of 140 km/h. The car takes seven hours to be fully charged, and can also be fast charged to 80% capacity in 45 minutes.

The company is also working on a plug-in hybrid powertrain in conjunction with Volvo – it consists of a 180 hp 1.5 litre turbocharged three-cylinder engine paired to a 55 kW (74 hp) electric motor, a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission and a 9.7 kWh lithium-ion traction battery.

Headline figures include maximum outputs of 247 hp and nearly 400 Nm of torque, as well as a projected zero-to-100 km/h time of 6.5 seconds and an electric range of over 50 km. The technology is being developed for use in cars built on the Compact Modular Architecture (CMA), including the new Volvo XC40 and the Lynk & Co 01 SUV.

GALLERY: Geely Emgrand EV300

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• THE PLAN on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Finally there is a plan…but when ?? If more than 1 year i will lose interest..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
    • Every1canTalk on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Hahahahaha.. potong statement since 2012..
      1. Proton hybrid – now set to enter market end-2015
      2. Proton hybrid car production starts end-2014 – MITI.
      3. Proton electric car coming in 2014, Parliament told
      4. Proton to come out with hybrid car by end-2014, to bring an EV into the market by the end of 2015

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
      • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:35 pm

We have heard of Proton Hybrid since 8 years ago. One thing about Proton, they talk big and nothing happens.

I am so surprised. They don’t even have a good sales record and now, they are venturing in unknown waters. Proton should first focus on whether their Boyou can sell first or not.

Judging from past Chna cars like Cherry, rakyat don’t really trust China cars. So, how is Proton so sure their life saver Boyue will save the company from sinking?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 12
        • Huehue on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Buy Proton now b4 they becum collectibles!

Campro & wonky power windows ltd edt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 39
          • Pls come to the 21st century. U still living in the last one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 34
          • My england is bad on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:25 pm

Lol power window prob is history ady, you stay too long in cave la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 33
          • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:25 am

power windows is still a problem but more so the dwindling sales. Without Government orders, they hardly sell 20,000 cars even to the public per annum

• chock on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:39 am

power window problem history because no one is buying proton anymore. IF there are any problems all the cars are in protons yard!

• proveme on Oct 01, 2017 at 11:18 pm

Gomen buys a lot from P1? Prove me

• chock on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:49 am

IT wont. As long there is perodua keep coming out with brilliant products. Proton will always be behind the game with or without mainland support.

• Oh wow. They won’t miss you.

• Kelab Penyokong on Oct 01, 2017 at 12:12 am

Salah satu sebab industri automobil di Korea Selatan berkembang maju adalah kerana sokongan daripada rakyat mereka sendiri. Rakyat Korea sangat menyokong kereta buatan tempatan.
        Hal ini berbeza dengan perkembangan yang berlaku di negara kita. Sebab kita bercakap tentang 500,000 orang pekerja tempatan yang bergantung pada ekosistem automobil. Jadi rakyat Malaysia perlu menyokong kereta buatan tempatan, tak kesah la jenama Honda mahupun lebih baik Toyota.

• Can trust? Or 5 years later the system auto kaboom, resulting in million vehicle recalls?

• Problem is, will Proton kaboom after 5 years? And will MY pipu pay for all the problems to fix it?

• Meanwhile P2 still waiting… waiting… waiting…ZZZZZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
    • thepolygonal on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Impressive China!

No longer can see when P1 rim change or 2tone color. They call facelifts…Saddingss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
      • Unfortunately P2 beat P1 to the punch by calling their new colour change Mivi as facelift….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 31
        • Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:26 am

At least P2 makes money. P1 meanwhile is still begging for tongkat and money

• Trading life for money is not something to be proud of. P1 still values their owners and users life.

• blackcat on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Oh… Like this means P1 copy P2 lah. P1 copycat…

• EV Dejavu..

PT – https://paultan.org/2014/10/14/proton-ev-2017-under-rm100k/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • That was MAI. And Madani? Oh well. Less said better.

• Dug Ong on Sep 30, 2017 at 5:02 am

john can’t accept facts, only myths. Bashers life

• Dug Ong on Sep 30, 2017 at 2:10 pm

Please refrain from using my paultan handle. Be a man.

-The real Dug Ong

• Bro. Even ur nick got kena hijack. So sori for u. But go after that mofo mercilessly.

• Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:28 am

ha ha ha. Evidence to show, Proton tok kok. Same like people here who say we have cheapest petrol and cheapest car prices in the world.

• seem more promising then iriz ev before

• balldisc on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:47 am

Emgrand EV : 0-100 in 9.9 secs.

JB to penang in 4 days (recharge 7 hours every 300km, top speed 140kmh)

• Problem is, will MY pipu willing to pay at LEAST Rm80k for P1 EV car with all the bells & whistle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Chock on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:23 pm

talk nonsense again. The last time you had your own Lotus company designed you a series hybrid 1.2L engine. What happened? Then you had the proton emas car. What happened?
    Then you had Detroit electric electrifying your proton/elise what not. What happened?
    Anything managed by you all all tak jadi….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Rightwinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Talk nonsense? This the new CEO’s plan you’re whining about. I thought with the new mainland chap on point and calling the shots you guys would be happy???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Teatime on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:10 am

Nothing to do with CEO, it’s Proton’s minum teh tarik culture

• notakata on Oct 01, 2017 at 11:29 pm

So by your logic, it’s jepunis minum sake culture that made them to produce takata airbags?

• chock on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:41 am

Should have mainland descended Malaysian to run proton in the first place and it wont end up like this!

• Chock on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:24 pm

a 247hp proton will be priced in a market with ZERO sales! LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Jim Hong adnan on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:40 pm

For God sake can stop all the nonsense publicity about proton? It’s all geely and proton is just a dead company a zombie brand. Hiw any cars in Malaysia are assembled and are PHEV. DO THEY MAKE ANY NOISE LIKE THIS. Enough please. Nothing will make proton to be liked again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • immafanbuoi on Sep 29, 2017 at 8:25 pm

“We do not ask Proton to make all this kind of additional investment. So Proton will only need to invest on the production and plant upgrading, QUALITY IMPROVEMENT and the introduction of new products.”

• Nowball of us know how backward proton is in product development and business strategy. A foreign company, half proton’s age is so much advance. When others are are ready flying, proton is still learning to walk and still wanting breast feeding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 36
  • Flatpack on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:43 pm

redline 12k!?

• lolpanda on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:49 pm

that’s because most electric motors are single-speed and can rev to a much higher RPM than a combustion engine.

• Jimmy on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:39 pm

Why I didn’t see: improvements in aftersales service is in the pipeline?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • chock on Sep 30, 2017 at 10:31 am

Hey DRB:

Modenas is the next one going to go to Chinese hands…
    And next is Poslaju, do apa business pun tak jadi one…

• In the pipeline? The pipe must be a very long one. Jauh ke atas dan main layang-layang.

• nasilemak lover on Oct 01, 2017 at 7:27 pm

finally i have a reason to buy car

• Kleeo on Oct 02, 2017 at 3:53 am

I’m a 30+ middle class Malaysian who drives a secondhand car right now. Gonna get a new car (regular 4-door hatchback or sedan) but I’ve decided to wait for the first decent & affordable electric car to hit the Malaysian market. Not a hybrid, mind you. It has to be a 100% plug-in vehicle. I don’t know how many other Malaysians are like me (holding back their cheque books)… but if any car company, Proton included, wants my money, they’d have to hurry up be the first mover.

• Recardo engine mana on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Good luck